We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Food and Atmosphere (and margaritas!!)”

Karen's Seafood Steak House & Pizza
Ranked #159 of 1,280 Restaurants in Playa del Carmen
Price range: US$8 - US$50
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Local cuisine, Groups
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: KARENS is one of the very firts restaurants to open on the famous 5th. avenue. Since 1992 KARENS has conquest the palates of the locals and visitors of Playa del Carmen. The incomparable service and atmosphere, versatile cuisine with its famous PARRILLADAS AND LIVE MUSIC makes KARENS the place to visit by tradition.
1 review
“Wonderful Food and Atmosphere (and margaritas!!)”
Reviewed 19 June 2014

We have returned to karen's everytime we are in Playa del Carmen ... the food is fabulous!! Wonderful atmosphere with great live music and very personable service. LOVE Andrea. See you next year!!!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Deb P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KarenPizza, staff at Karen's Seafood Steak House & Pizza, responded to this review, 27 June 2014
Thank you for your really nice comments. We are very happy to know that you enjoy visiting us. We will be glad to see you again. Please come back soon!

Sincerely: Karen´s Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

802 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    302
    274
    114
    67
    45
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Liberty, Mississippi
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Needs Improvement”
Reviewed 31 May 2014

Always eat at Karens on first visit into Playa Del Carmen. Been visiting since 2009. Wife and I were very disappointed with food quality this last visit. Either this is their new norm are they had an off night. Either way, before we eat here again on our next visit we will be checking views.

Sorry guys! But you missed it this night.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KarenPizza, staff at Karen's Seafood Steak House & Pizza, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
We feel very sorry for your bad experience this time in Karen´s. We really appreciate your comments about those mistakes we committed; they help us to improve the negative aspects. Anyway we hope you could give us another opportunity to assist you in the way you deserve.
Sincerely: Karen´s Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 192 helpful votes
“Drinks served in cans & furnishings could do with a make over.”
Reviewed 31 May 2014

We returned back to Karens, for a drink we were not pushed to have anything to eat as a previous viewer has said, although we did feel a bit cheated in the way the drinks were just served in a cans & bottles. If I had known this I would have just bought one from a local store and sat on a street bench. Not good enough Karens you need to up your game and serve people properly! Such a shame because in the past we have received good service and excellent food on this occiaision it had the can't be bothered aspect to it. We also noticed the tables and chairs at the front of the restaurant could do with a bIt of a makeover.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank leggie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KarenPizza, staff at Karen's Seafood Steak House & Pizza, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
We feel very sorry for your bad experience this time in Karen´s. We really appreciate your comments about those mistakes we committed; they help us to improve the negative aspects. Anyway we hope you could give us another opportunity to assist you in the way you deserve.
Sincerely: Karen´s Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Medford, Oregon
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“great food”
Reviewed 29 May 2014

there were four of us. 2 orderd these huge lobsters i swear they took the entire plate. I ordered Mocajete, absolutely fantastic and one ordered Pizza. We were all stuffed and it was awesome food.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Kyra_casaviveconfe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KarenPizza, staff at Karen's Seafood Steak House & Pizza, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
We really appreciate your nice comments about Karen´s!! They help us to reinforce the positive aspects. We gladly hope to see you back soon.
Sincerely: Karen´s Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Go to Restaurant in Playa Del Carmen”
Reviewed 14 May 2014

Every visit to Playa del Carmen starts with my first meal at Karens, and they never let me down. It is located on the north side of 5th avenue between 2nd and 4th calle north. The restaurant has seats both outside on a patio, and inside where you can get away from the crowds passing by, and cool off in the air-conditioning. There is also a one or two person band playing regularly, mostly traditional Mexican music or covers of popular song with a Mariachi flare. Always great to set the mood.

The menu is extensive and you can find something here for everyones taste: seafood, steaks, burgers, pizza, pasta and a full range of Mexican foods. My personal favourite is the beef tacos (flank steak), filling without overstuffing oneself. From watching other patrons, the kids love the place as well.

There is a great selection of tequilas and other liquors, and usually a 2 for 1 beer special, which I can attest, comes ice cold.

Try it, you won't be disappointed.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank findingMOS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KarenPizza, staff at Karen's Seafood Steak House & Pizza, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
We are glad to read your kind comments. They help us to reinforce those positive aspects to offer a better service each time. We really appreciate being one of your first choices when you and your family visit Playa del Carmen.

We warmly hope to see you soon again!

Sincerely: Karen´s Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Karen's Seafood Steak House & Pizza also viewed

Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 

Been to Karen's Seafood Steak House & Pizza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing