We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place to people watch on rainy day”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of La Vagabunda

La Vagabunda
Reserve with OpenTable
La Vagabunda is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #66 of 1,236 Restaurants in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$15 - US$30
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Kids, Child-friendly, Groups, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Cash Only, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: 24th y 26th
Description: Traditional recipes hand-picked from the Mexican countryside create the foundation for Vagabunda's bold menu. Using honest ingredients and modern techniques, La Vagabunda presents authentic Mexican & International dishes with a new twists. Also featuring an unsurpassed selection of tequilas, we guarantee you'll find the bright and vibrant restaurant just as exciting as the food. Since 2000 Local's Favorite for Breakfast, Lunch & Dinner
illinois
Level Contributor
146 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
“Great place to people watch on rainy day”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2013

We had walked the beach from. RIU property and looked for place to sit and get cool
Had 2 for 1 drink special. So we decided to try

Had their volcano nachos and they were wonderful. Very cold beers
Did have to keep after our server to check back with us

Sat out under the covered area and watched people as it was raining. No rush by staff for us to leave. They were busy and all the tables were full.


Did like the way they delivered the check. It was in a colorful box. Guess way to keep check from blowing away if windy. Thought that was a unique idea.

May try again if in area.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank buminj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,856 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,535
    936
    239
    89
    57
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
“Very satisfying!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2013 via mobile

Great selection of food to choose from and the service was perfect. Well priced and the free tortillas with accompaniments made it even better! Gerardo was a legend, very helpful and friendly.

Helpful?
Thank Carl B
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
26 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great food, bad service!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2013

Went for breakfast, had a great menu with a variety of choices which is nice. Seemed like most tables were receiving good service though we were not, our server was rude and not attentive. Empty plates sat for a good 5-10 minutes, were never offered refills on our coffee and once we received our bill, the server stood there peering over top of us while we counted our money. Even though a 12% tip was automatically tacked on to the bill, they expect more. Won't go back because of that experience.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Steph M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hilo, Hawaii
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great Restaurant in Playa for over 15 years”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2013

I have been coming back to this restaurant since I first visited Playa in the late 90's and it just keeps getting better, the owner Simone is always there to greet you, the food is excellent and the service is great, the manager has been working there for 12 years so he can recommend the daily specials, great food and service

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lanny H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
34 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Birthday Dinner January 18, 2013”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2013

My wife, another couple friend and I stayed in Playa Del Carmen the week of January 14th. The two husbands were celebrating Birthdays. Decided to walk 5th Avenue and stumbled upon La Vagabunda. Food was good and so was the service. They gave us 2 free shots of tequila in honor of our Birthdays and took photos for us as well.

My meal was the Steak and Lobster Surf & Turf! I cleaned my plate and asked for more. Very good meal, both entrees were delicious.

Everyone at the table liked their meal and our waiter Gerardo was fantastic!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Victor0201
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed La Vagabunda also viewed

Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 

Been to La Vagabunda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing