We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel !”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Copa : Hotel en Playa del Carmen
Ranked #177 of 209 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Nice Hotel !”
Reviewed 11 January 2013

The Hotel is nice, and is according to the price.
Very clean and attention is excellent.
The loacation couldn't be better, it is just in the quinta avenida, where all the restaurants, bars and discos are located.
The beach is very close, just one block away.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mariana H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    19
    19
    18
    6
    6
See reviews for
10
18
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
LA
Level Contributor
57 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2012

Stayed there for one night before our flight home the next day. The hotel has the rustic and old Mexican charm. It has great location and friendly staff. You step outside the hotel and you are in the middle of shops and restaurants. The hotel room is basic but clean. Most importantly, the air conditioning worked well.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wander2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anoka, Minnesota
Level Contributor
66 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2012

Flthy chair for the receptonist to sit on. Computer did not work to confirm our reservation, so we stood for 20 min waiting. We saw the room--I almost died. The bathroom sink looked like it had not been cleaned in a week. There was a puddle of bar soap next to it, a scummy puddle. There were black hairs around the sink. (I do have photos!) The mattress had a tear in the corner that was filthy with stuffing popping through. When I pulled back the drape, the whole curtain rod fell onto the floor. The AC didn't work. There was no safe in the room for valuables, and no way to secure any, as the manager was not there.

We asked to see another room. Same story. There was womens' face powder all around the sink. We stated that we wanted a refund of our (Expedia) money and got it. On the way through the entrance, we passed the mini pool-pond. It was slimy bright green with algae. Disgusting. Worst hotel I have ever seen, by far. Even the front desk guy agreed it was bad. He barely spoke a word of English

Room Tip: Stay away unless you want to sleep in filth with your valuables strapped to your body.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandra W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Playa del Carmen hotels

Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2012

This hotel is so nice, cute & comfy. Very nice courtyard with plenty of trees, lizards, flowers and hammocks to lay in and take in some little mexican treasures. I loved the location of this hotel as it was right in the middle of 5th ave with shops, restaurants, bars all around you, staff was friendly and inviting and helped whenever they were needed, the beach is only 2 blocks away with its gorgeous white sand & beautiful people!! I would def go back to this hidden hideaway in Playa Del Carmen again!!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VanessaRose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 January 2011

Super cute, affordable, charming, safe, friendly staff, central accommodations close to everything you will want and need but basic. Accommodations are a minor step up from a hostel but totally sufficient for the budget conscious traveller. Just don't expect the water pressure or temperature to be great or the bed to be terribly comfortable. Although I generally like this hotel I cannot recommend it for one reason: it is VERY noisy. Since it's located right off of 5th avenue you will have to contend with the noise from shops and restaurants however this is not even that bad as they close around 11pm. The main problem is that due to its proximity to the clubs on 12th street there is no escaping the competing party scene which endures until the clubs close around 6am. I slept extremely poorly the entire week that I was there. As a result even though I generally like the place i will never stay there again because of the horrendous noise pollution. I was also upset because I asked whether it was noisy at night before i booked as I've heard similar complaints from other travellers that have stayed in otter hotels in the area... and they told me it was quiet!! NOT!!! Unless you are planning to party all night every night I don't imagine you will appreciate staying here. It is the rather unfortunate reality of this quaint little authentic hotel. 

  • Stayed January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TRIPTYCH013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2011

This hotel has that authentic Mexican feel - cockroaches and all! We saw three roaches during our week stay which wasn't a big deal (they are everywhere). Worse was that they rooms are kind of dark (lack of windows and lights) and damp and dingy. It was cute but old and maybe a little run down. It also wasn't very secure - felt like anyone could walk off the street and enter the courtyard. And the room keys are the same for each room - we changed rooms three times and the same key worked for all three despite being numbered differently. As three women, we didn't feel totally comfortable. The only bonus is that it is right in the middle of the action and close to the beach. I didn't hate the hotel but I would not recommend it or stay again.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ree29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2010

We stayed here for a week and loved it.The location can't be beat if you want to be in the heart of Playa right on 5th. Ave. 2 blocks to the beach and plenty of places to eat all around you.This is not a 5 star but it is a nice quiet rustic friendly place.The staff were very helpfull and very friendly from the cleaning ladys to the handy man and of course the reception. We will be back.
Thanks again for making our trip a good one.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PigboyCalgary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Colibri Beach
Hotel Colibri Beach
#121 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
201 reviews
0.0 mi away
Kinbe Hotel
Kinbe Hotel
#105 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
630 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Lunata
Hotel Lunata
#86 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
364 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Plaza by Phocea
Hotel Plaza by Phocea
#178 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
132 reviews
0.1 mi away
Maya Bric Hotel
Maya Bric Hotel
#156 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
336 reviews
0.1 mi away
Villas Sacbe Condo Hotel and Beach Club
Villas Sacbe Condo Hotel and Bea...
#148 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Copa : Hotel en Playa del Carmen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Copa : Hotel en Playa del Carmen

Property: Hotel Copa : Hotel en Playa del Carmen
Address: 5th Av. No. 209 Bt 10 12, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#62 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Copa : Hotel en Playa del Carmen 2.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Playa del Carmen's famous Fifth Avenue, Hotel Copa offers 20 rooms & Suites amidst tropical vegetation and a mix of Mexican colors and shapes. Hotel Copa puts you in the middle of the action, whether your thing is to chill in a hammock, sun bathe in one of the most beautiful beaches in the world or party rock all night, Copa is the place to be as its central location is second to none. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and HRS so you can book your Hotel Copa : Hotel en Playa del Carmen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Copa : Hotel En Playa Del Carmen Mexico/Riviera Maya

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing