We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value, great location, would stay there again in a heartbeat!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Copa : Hotel en Playa del Carmen
Ranked #178 of 211 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Reviewed 31 October 2009

Stayed at the Copa Cabana in Playa del Carmen in October 2009 and found the hotel to be cute, comfortable, and a great value, located right in the middle of the action! Located right on 5th Ave., I was close to everything - shopping, beach, convenience store (for my water), ATM.
The hotel is located right next to a restaurant (100% Natural) but I never heard a sound once in my room.. it was peaceful and quiet every night, and I was actually surprised, given it's proximity to local restaurants and bars.
The room itself was very cute, with mexican architecture and tile throughout. I stayed in a Jr. Suite which had a little kitchen, bathroom with shower, a sitting room and bedroom. It was very comfortable and I loved my little room with its bright purple wall.
Staff were great - I had noticed the window in the kitchen did not lock and I spoke to the front desk staff about having it fixed.. it was promptly fixed. I found all the staff to be warm and friendly and ready to offer suggestions on where to go for dinner, how to get a taxi, etc.
The central courtyard at the hotel is very lush and eclectic in its design and I loved the little pool. Not a big pool, but sufficient at the end of the day when I needed to cool off.
I would definitely stay at Copa Cabana again!

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wgreene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (68)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

15 - 21 of 68 reviews

Reviewed 26 March 2009

We stayed for 6 nights at the Hotel Copacabana. The hotel is small and very basic.

If you are planning on walking from the ADO station it is a bit of a haul, but the location is great. If you are not sure where the hotel is it would be very easy to miss. Hint: Next door to 100% Natural and across the street from Tequila Barrel. Check in went smoothly. Our first impression was a bit disappointed as the courtyard was messy with leaves and buckets tucked under stairs, our room was musty and there was definitely mildew stains in the bathroom. But hey we are in Playa!!!! We turned on our AC and went for a walk.

We stayed in a Jr Suite and there were no appliances in the kitchenette, but we really only wanted the fridge and it was there....I am sure if we had asked for more we would have gotten it, as the staff was very helpful. The room consists of a small living room area, kitchenette, seperate sleeping area with TV and bathroom. After we ran the AC for a bit the musty smell went away. As I am very sensitive to mold we were a bit nervous about the bathroom, but unlike previous trips to AI resorts I never had an issue.

The staff at the front desk was great and the language barrier we expected was not there. They answered any questions we had, gave us great directions and suggestions for where to get necessities and such. Our room was cleaned everyday and cleaned well....you would walk in to a clean fresh smell and all surfaces were cleaned. We had a bit of an issue with the toilet not flushing properly and maintenance was right there to try to solve the problem. To be honest it was never truly fixed, but they did try.

Overall we were pleased. At the price we paid we were not expecting anything fancy and our initial disappointment quickly evaporated. Positives:AC worked really well, if you want to watch some TV before going to bed there are plenty of channels available, the rooms are clean and the staff is great. Negatives: Bathroom, was hoping for a prettier courtyard with some seating and needed more pillows on the bed.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Catrina R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2009

We stayed in the junior suite for one night in Dec 2008. This place was quiet and had a tv.

It was nice to stay on Quinto (5th) St., right in the center of all the action.

The room had a full fridge/kitchen and living room area. The sliding door was a little difficult to lock/unlock, and the bathroom shower seemed to spray everywhere except on your body.

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank meliha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2008

Hi everyone!!

this place is soooo cool, we came for a few nites an we stay for 2 weeks, playa del carmen is such a nice spot to meet cool people and the hotel is just around the party!

cheers!

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Marco P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2015 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: November 2015, travelled as a couple
Thank eduardo r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2015
Google Translation

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cinthia n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2015
Google Translation

Stayed: March 2015, travelled as a couple
1  Thank GERCAPP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Hacienda Maria Bonita
Hotel Hacienda Maria Bonita
#144 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
255 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Azul
Hotel Azul
#197 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
78 reviews
1.1 mi away
Olive Hotel & Boutique
Olive Hotel & Boutique
#190 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
10 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
La Rana Cansada
La Rana Cansada
#152 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
70 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Pension San Juan
Hotel Pension San Juan
#139 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
57 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Delfin
Hotel Delfin
#156 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Copa : Hotel en Playa del Carmen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Copa : Hotel en Playa del Carmen

Address: 5th Av. No. 209 Bt 10 12, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#62 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range: £36 - £151 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Copa : Hotel en Playa del Carmen 2.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Playa del Carmen's famous Fifth Avenue, Hotel Copa offers 20 rooms & Suites amidst tropical vegetation and a mix of Mexican colors and shapes. Hotel Copa puts you in the middle of the action, whether your thing is to chill in a hammock, sun bathe in one of the most beautiful beaches in the world or party rock all night, Copa is the place to be as its central location is second to none. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Hotel Copa : Hotel en Playa del Carmen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Copa : Hotel En Playa Del Carmen Mexico/Riviera Maya

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing