We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“EXCELLENT FOOD WITH A GREAT ATMOSPHERE!”

La Cueva del Chango
Ranked #53 of 1,238 Restaurants in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$5 - US$15
Cuisines: Seafood, Mexican, Caribbean, Latin, Central American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Romantic, Cheap Eats, Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Cash Only, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: La Cueva del Chango is a unique restaurant-bar, not only in concept but also for the natural setting amongst abundant vegetation and trees. The culinary concept is natural Mexican food, we serve breakfast, lunch and dinner. All the juices are made with fresh fruit and we also have a bar with an ample assortment of premium brands. The wines we serve are mexican, thus offering and ample selection. In La Cueva del Chango we believe in the Mexican cuisine and offer a high quality product at a reasonable price.
Westcliffe, Colorado
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“EXCELLENT FOOD WITH A GREAT ATMOSPHERE!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 December 2013

When we arrived in Playa del Carmen, we walked the beach and town and found this quaint little restaurant. We stopped and had lunch here, which was excellent. We enjoyed the food so much that we had to return for their breakfast. It was just as enjoyable as their lunch. The atmosphere was great and the staff was very friendly. We will definitely dine here again on our next visit to Playa del Carmen.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Hookedontraveling22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,139 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,242
    617
    172
    66
    42
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Central Florida
Level Contributor
22 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Best breakfast, Lunch too”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 December 2013

We almost missed this gem the first time we looked...stay on the right side sidewalk as if you were on your way to the beach on calle 38 off 5th and look right. This is an open air dining experience and the kitchen is in full view. You can see the mayan influence in the architecture and décor which includes a fish and turtle pond.
We are prefer the 'sweet crepes' (3) (crepas dulces -fruta mixta) which are stuffed with fruit, granola, yogurt ... For 74 pesos the best breakfast crepes in town. There is also oatmeal with yogurt, fruit and granola (avena, con todo) for 66 pesos, delicious and filling. There is also black tea (28 peso) (English breakfast or by request) and milk shakes (40 peso) are very popular.
We love soup (sopas) and del Chango is has wonderful lunch selections for 60 pesos.
Of course, there is a lot more on the menus.
If you are a little grouchy in the am (like me), Claudia's smile will snap you out of it.
In a 14 day stay we ate there about 14 times. There is some construction noise (PDC is having a building boom and del Chango is expanding) but it couldn't keep us away.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Twospeeder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2013

We keep returning to this special little place each time we visit the Mayan Riviera and are never disappointed. Fresh seafood and local specialties are always a good choice, and the kitchen never fails to offer a creative twist.

Don't fill up on the totopos, salsa fresca, and guac (you'll be tempted) and remember: no credit cards.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BirdManFL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Gorgeous place - you must go!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 November 2013

If you eat anywhere in Playa del Carmen, make it here!

The setting it just so beautiful, enclosed garden with pond and lovely decoration. Very friendly staff, good coffee. We went for breakfast which was very good.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Miss_Moomin_Troll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
23 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“So good, we had to go back”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 November 2013

First of all: amazing food. The shrimps wrapped up in the chili pepper (can't remember what it was called) were so amazing we had them 2 nights in a row. The guacamole and the mojitos are awesome as well, and the rest of the food (we couldn't try everything) was really good as well.

Very friendly staff, made lots of very good recommendations, nice decor, no complaints.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank luce_lm_TripA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed La Cueva del Chango also viewed

Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 

Been to La Cueva del Chango? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing