We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice place” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Los Tulipanes Restaurante, Bar & Cenote

Los Tulipanes Restaurante, Bar & Cenote
Ranked #376 of 1,217 Restaurants in Playa del Carmen
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Romantic, Groups, Special Occasion Dining, View, Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff
Lewisville, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
32 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Nice place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2013 via mobile

Nice place. Food was good yet not great. Service was very good.
I do agree place looks very good based on appearance, but food is not as the appearance. Pricey also.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Ivan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GerenciaAyB, Gerente at Los Tulipanes Restaurante, Bar & Cenote, responded to this review, 20 September 2016
We greatly appreciate your recommendation and your good comments. We are glad you have been enjoying your visit We hope to see you soon and will gladly assist you.

Regards!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

178 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    61
    45
    22
    18
    32
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
1 review
“Nice decor, shady practice and undercooked seafood”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2013

Don't be fooled by the upscale appearance, this place should be avoided. My fajitas were so so, but my girlfriend's lobster was undercooked and likely the cause of her case of "traveller' diahrrea" she had the next day (no problems in four days prior in Playa, even at tiny chicken hut where we got a ridiculous amount of delicious food for about $6. Somewhere on calle 2 before you get to the collectivos.).

As others have stated, they will try to cheat you on bill, the only place we've seen anything like it on the trip. First, they charge an automatic "tip" even if you only have two people, something Ive never heard of. this would be fine, except it isn't detailed on the receipt and they don't mention it, you have to question them when it doesn't add up. Many people probably double tip. Next, when i asked to see the itemized receipt a second time to add up the total, the waiter did not want to bring it back, i had to ask firmly three times. He then stood over the table trying to intimidate me while I added up what the total should be. Only then did he tell me about the "tip".

For a third strike, they try to cheat you if you dont use a creditcard or pesos. Our total was around 660 pesos with built in tip of around 20% (beef fajitas, small lobster dish, two beers and 1 mixed drink), less than $60 usd with the 12:1 exchange rate. However, the usd option was written as $70 usd, about 15usd higher than it should be. Basically if you are a drunk or unobservant American, you may triple tip here (built in tip, whacked out exchange rate, your own generous tip).

Please don't reward this behavior with your business.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Andrew W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GerenciaAyB, Gerente at Los Tulipanes Restaurante, Bar & Cenote, responded to this review, 20 September 2016
Good day.
Thank you very much for letting us know what happened during your last visit to Restaurant Los Tulipanes, very sorry about the bad time that you spent.
We will send your comments to the right person to give follow and attention.

Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Playa del Carmen, Mexico
1 review
“Good Pasta, Bad Mexican and a double whammy 'tax'”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2013

We sat down at the restaurant earlier tonight expecting a nicer meal than usual given the more sophisticated decor however I was disappointed with my fajitas which were dry and well overcooked. In fairness, according to my husband the spaghetti bolognese was particularly tasty. It's unfortuante that when the waiter presented the bill they treated us like fools - we queried the fact that our waiter had scratched out the receipt total with a ball point pen and added another 60 pesos to the total for 'tax' but he argued that this was correct even though the menu stated that the prices already included tax. Not a big deal as the meal was only US$10 more than what it was supposed to be but we do not like being ripped off (no matter what the amount!) -our experience was certainly enough for us not to go back and recommend that others who don't like to be diddled don't go there either!.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank KYMMIEJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GerenciaAyB, Gerente at Los Tulipanes Restaurante, Bar & Cenote, responded to this review, 20 September 2016
Good day.
Thank you very much for letting us know what happened during your last visit to Restaurant Los Tulipanes, very sorry about the bad time that you spent.
We will send your comments to the right person to give follow and attention.

Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
31 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“crummy food”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2013 via mobile

shrimp cocktail is shrimp in a bath of some kind of tomato juice. son's hot dog had no description so one would think it would be a plain hot dog. no, it came wrapped in bacon and covered in onions. husbands steak was tough, salty, tough. guacamole tasted like soap. waiter was good, atmosphere is nice. 20 percent tip automatically added to the bill so watch out.

    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank mprice1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GerenciaAyB, Gerente at Los Tulipanes Restaurante, Bar & Cenote, responded to this review, 20 September 2016
Good day.
Thank you very much for letting us know what happened during your last visit to Restaurant Los Tulipanes, very sorry about the bad time that you spent.
We will send your comments to the right person to give follow and attention.

Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
“Piece of Crap”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2013 via mobile

Stay away. The service was good at the beginning and our waiter was very nice, but as soon as we received our food we knew we had made a mistake. The ribeye steak was salty, overcooked, and lacking flavor, and the shrimp cocktail was DISGUSTING. The shrimp is definitely frozen and is served in a glass drenched in a cocktail sauce/juice that made me gag. Please do yourself a favor and stay away.

    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank CopGymnast861
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GerenciaAyB, Gerente at Los Tulipanes Restaurante, Bar & Cenote, responded to this review, 20 September 2016
Good day.
Thank you very much for letting us know what happened during your last visit to Restaurant Los Tulipanes, very sorry about the bad time that you spent.
We will send your comments to the right person to give follow and attention.

Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Los Tulipanes Restaurante, Bar & Cenote also viewed

Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 

Been to Los Tulipanes Restaurante, Bar & Cenote? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing