We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful local gem! ” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cockteleria Manigua

Cockteleria Manigua
Ranked #493 of 1,217 Restaurants in Playa del Carmen
Cuisines: Seafood, Mexican
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Level Contributor
179 reviews
159 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Wonderful local gem! ”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2014 via mobile

A little off the beaten path but so worth it to find fresh seafood prepared ala minute. The server was friendly& attentive without being suffocating & the meal included complimentary soup ( a spicy flavorful shrimp broth) & small fresh salad. The whole fried fish (similar to snapper) was fresh, light&delicate. Perhaps a little spendy by Mexican standards but not by American. Would definitely highly recommend - get off 5th Ave & experience the REAL Playa!

Helpful?
Thank Caterer4u
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    37
    7
    4
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Paul, Minnesota
1 review
“Excellent ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2014 via mobile

Had dinner here after referral from people at our condo.. Excellent fish dishes & sides. Limbert was an attentive waiter, while not intrusive. The restaurant is very clean and brightly lit... Definitely worth another visit!

Helpful?
Thank Muffy01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andover, Vermont
1 review
“Superb!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2014

My husband and i sought out this place based on Trip Advisor reviews. We found it to be exactly as described. The food was fantastic and the service was superior. Not much ambiance to speak of; harsh lighting and strange décor, but that is not unusual in our experience. I had the coconut shrimp and my husband had the shrimp with peppers, wrapped in bacon and covered in cheese. Both were very good. The meal included a small cup of spicey fish soup, a salad with a sweet italian dressing and chips with salsa. I had the coconut ice cream for dessert. With my bottle of mineral water and my husbands 3 beers the bill came to $50 usd. We will be going back!

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank teranddianetravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greenfield, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
43 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Terrible!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2013

This place is worthy of a Gordon Ramsey intervention. This was the most expensive meal we had in Playa and the worst quality. I had the ceviche that was clearly cooked with huge chunks of stewed onions and tomatoes. My husband had the tuna tacos very greasy and unappetizing. My friend had the coconut shrimp that were ok but very expensive. Her husband had the fish special that was frozen! The owner was overbearing and very sweaty. He took the liberty of sending us a appetizer that we didn't ask for and then charged us a hefty fee for it. The portions are huge and we wasted so much food. Stay away!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank AllisonN774
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Drumheller, Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Worth the walk.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2013

It's kind of an out of the way place, like at the FAR north end of 5th ave. on 40th street. But, like Cheesters, I like any place where the owner of the restaurant approaches your table, and suggests things off the menu, asks how you like it, and tells your to come again, as you are now "family".

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank octaneboost
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cockteleria Manigua also viewed

Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 

Been to Cockteleria Manigua? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing