We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Destination Wedding Experience!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Azul Beach Resort The Fives Playa Del Carmen
Ranked #56 of 214 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Amazing Destination Wedding Experience!”
Reviewed 29 July 2014

We went to Azuls Karismina for our wedding in June, 2014, and had 28 guests. The service was outstanding, the food was amazing and the experience was breath taking. We got married on the pier, after changing from the beach. The beach was not as private as we though so once we arrived, we changed to get married on the pier. The pier was so beautiful and each guest was greeted with a signature drink. We would HIGHLY recommend getting married at this private area. We used the Caribou Photo and she was outstanding and extremely reasonable in price and the pictures were better than most $4000 photographers. We had our reception at the sky roof top; INCREDIBLE! We had our rehearsal dinner in Flavors and they gave us this huge private area overlooking the rainforest. The wedding planner, Erin, was so wonderful too. I worried about the hair and make out before hand because of no consultation, but they were so great, I looked amazing and so did my bridesmaids. The resort was smaller, but perfect because we could find all of our guests without having to make calls. You cant call on your phone without paying a large fee so this resort was perfect because you can find everyone. The beach was great with plenty of swimming room. We honeymooned at El Dorado Casitas and it was so beautiful and incredible but very large so we were glad that our wedding was not here.
Heres the important, we used Beach Bum Vacations. This company is so fantastic that I would and do recommend them to everyone. So honest, not pushy or trying to up sell, and all of their suggestions were accurate and in our best interest. Hayley and Nikki were truly incredible and made this wedding easy and stress free. This is the company that you want to use, trust me. It will make your wedding and vacation so unreal. We were also picked up in a stretch limo for being the bride and groom!
We fully trusted Hayley with all of her suggestions and she gave us our dream wedding for an affordable price. We loved every second of our experience.

Room Tip: Get the penthouse resort, very spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
28 Thank Mary Jean M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KarismaHotelsResorts, General Manager at Azul Beach Resort The Fives Playa Del Carmen, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Thank you for such a wonderful review of your stay , it was an honor to be chosen to host your wedding celebrations and it is very heartwarming to hear your glowing feedback . Our aim is to ensure all our brides feel very special and I very happy to hear that we achieved this.
Your wedding celebrations were truly spectacular and the memories created will be treasured for years to come.

we hope to see you again ,maybe to celebrate your 1st anniversary for a trip down memory lane, but whatever from all of us here at the Azul Fives Hotel we wish you a lifetime of happiness together

Best Regard
Mario Mathieu
General Manager
gm@azulfiveshotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,900 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,728
    1,255
    476
    222
    219
See reviews for
2,854
1,524
55
80
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,714)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2014

We are just home after holidaying here for 2 weeks. Our 2 bedroom villa was fabulous and exceeded our expectations. The daytime entertainment at the infinity pool by the beach was exceptional and non stop. My 3 kids, age 13, 9 and 5 had an amazing time and were never bored!! Manuel, Alex, Diego and Victor were outstanding and so friendly towards us all, they completely made my children's holiday. The pool attendants were thee best I have ever come across and Victor was always there to see to our needs and nothing was ever a problem. The hotel atmosphere was chilled and relaxed. There were different shows each night and again the 4 boys from the entertainment team were fab!

The food was lovely and the only restaurant which lacked in service was the beach grill. We waited most days over 15 mins for our drinks and always had to ask for them at least 3 times. It also lacked variation and would have been nice if it offered different food rather than burgers and wraps.

I would also suggest that the hotel looks at their 'no children' policy in the Sky Bar after 10pm, there is no where to go apart from your room.

The wifi costs in the hotel are really expensive & the hotel would do itself a huge favour by offering free wifi.

Aside from a few negatives we had a great holiday.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Yvonne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KarismaHotelsResorts, General Manager at Azul Beach Resort The Fives Playa Del Carmen, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your experiences, I'm glad to hear that your family vacation not only lived up to but exceeded your expectations.
I will pass your praise on to our staff as I am sure they will love to to hear that they have made a difference to your vacation

we hope to see you again very soon

Best Regards
Mario Mathieu
General Manager
gm@azulfiveshotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2014 via mobile

One of the most beautiful resorts I have ever stayed in! Loved the lazy river that winds through the buildings, all the swim up bars! The gourmet corners are a nice change from the usual 'snack bar' I liked the fact that the food was actually different in each restaurant. Loved the tree full of monkeys! Had a fantastic, relaxing stay!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Thope97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KarismaHotelsResorts, General Manager at Azul Beach Resort The Fives Playa Del Carmen, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
wow , thank you for your wonderful comments ! it makes us very happy to hear that the Azul Fives Hotel is one of the best hotels you have ever stayed in.

The monkeys are definately a crowd pleaser and they are native to the area, we kept their natural habitat when this family was found during the construction of the hotel.

I hope to see you again in the future
Best Regards

Mario Mathieu
gm@azulfiveshotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ellesmere, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2014

I came to azul fives with my family for 2 weeks, first time for all of us to Mexico.
My little sister and i had our own suite and our parents had there own, we were suppose to be in the villa but ended up in different ones. The reception staff was quite helpful and did say we could move a couple days into the holiday. The rooms are very clean and in excellent condition, we had a brilliant house keeper called Omar, he was brilliant! The breakfast was very good and have a huge selection to choose from. The waiters can be quite slow at serving you but all n all very good. The pool is well kept and clean but its not cold, it was like getting into a bath so couldn't quite cool off. The Pool bar staff were absolutely brilliant, couldn't do enough for you. The day started off with the cocktail of the day which was brought around to you then every hour or so they would be asking you again. Very nice staff!! There is not alot of restaurants to choose from, (Chinese, Italian, Sea Olive and flavours)! Flavours had buffets on every night, each night different foods but we found that they would tell us one theme and it would turn out to be something completely different. Highly recommend the Chinese though. Beautiful food!
There is something or watch every night, Fire throwers, Michael Jackson, Casino, BBQ beach party etc, and they are all pretty good, but its the same every week just on different days.
The Spa is excellent, so recommend getting a treatment, the treatment rooms are so relaxing and stunning! The beauty therapists are very polite, smiley and again can't do enough for you.
I would say all the staff are pretty helpful and polite apart from some of the night time waiters, they just seem abit rude and slow at times. you can wait a while to get served. While we were there, there was alot of building work getting done (we never got told this when booked) and they were building more rooms, shops and restaurants so will be lovely to go back once its all done.
I would definitely go back to Azul fives but maybe just for a week.

Room Tip: Always book a suite, as the standard rooms are very small, so a few of the guests we met said.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Arabella A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KarismaHotelsResorts, General Manager at Azul Beach Resort The Fives Playa Del Carmen, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Thank you for your glowing review , it was a pleasure to host your holiday and I hope that you will choose the Azul Fives Hotel for your next visit to the Riviera Maya .

Best Regards
Mario Mathieu
gm@azulfiveshotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monmouth Junction
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2014

Just returned from a week here. We did the all-inclusive, as a family of four with two teenagers. It was excelente (word of the day there)! The staff was incredibly attentive, friendly, always smiling and couldn't do enough for you. The grounds were clean and kept beautifully. Victor by the pool/beach always made sure we had towels and an umbrella. Alex, Victor and Diego were like entertainment coordinators and always made sure people were participating and having fun whether with dance lessons, water aerobics or volleyball. And everyone was! The food was far superior to other all-inclusive resorts we've been to. The evening entertainment was great and there was always something to do. We would definitely recommend this resort, whether a couple or a family. And don't skip the coffee house. Coffees were great as were the sweet treats!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank saspir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KarismaHotelsResorts, General Manager at Azul Beach Resort The Fives Playa Del Carmen, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Thank you for sharing you experiences, it was an honor to be chosen to host your holidays. It is very special when our staff are praised for their efforts and I will be sharing your comments with all employees.

Best Regards
Mario Mathieu
gm@azulfiveshotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Broken Arrow, Oklahoma
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2014

I recently spent a week at Azul Fives with 4 of my Best Friends. We were pampered from the time we left the airport to the time we returned. Luca was our Butler for the week and took care of us above and beyond our expectations! He was always checking on us, making sure we had plenty of drinks in the room, booked all of our reservations (dinner, massages, mani & pedi's, and excursions). Anything we needed, he took care of and was happy to do it! We had the 3 bedroom suite with the roof top patio. We even enjoyed a birthday BBQ dinner on the roof top one evening where the food was awesome and we had excellant service AND a birthday cake. We loved the swim up bars and spent many hours down at the infinity pool. Mauricio worked the pool bar at the infinity pool most of the days we were there. We thoroughly enjoyed his personality, and excellant service! The activity guys (Alex, Diego, Manuel & Victor) were awesome! These guys worked hard at getting people involved in the many activities they offer during the day (water aerobics, water volleyball/soccer, sand volleyball/soccer, dance lessons, bingo and more). It's a great way to get everyone of all ages involved and to meet new people. They also promoted/worked the evening activities. We enjoyed Casino night, 70's & 80's show, karaoke, and a fire show on the beach. Great group of guys! All of us ladies had a 2 relaxing massages and walked away saying that was the BEST Massage ever!! The food was awesome. For dinner our favorite restaurants were Tsuki & Arezzo, Flavours breakfast buffet, and the Beach Grills for lunch. We were a little disappointed in the menu at the Sea Olive, we all were hoping for a little more sea food options. If you're thinking about a beach wedding, I would recommend Azul Fives. We were able crash a wedding by watching it from the infinity pool. Beyond beautiful!! Overall, Azul Fives was Fabulous! Excellant friendly service from everyone! This was the most wonderful, relaxing trip I've ever been on. I only wish I was still there! Special thanks to Luca and Alex for making us feel special!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Angie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2014

we arrived at the end of May for a wedding. The reception was really nice and very polite. They take a picture of you and print it directly on your room key (you better dont let humidity ruin your hair before check in).

The room was breath taking which was a plus since we had terrible weather, at least we could enjoy the jacuzzi in the room.

The service in the Spa was excelent, I even did nails, hair & make up and it was very trendy. The variety of the food was also very good, the have a juice/smoothie bar by the gym and they can prepare anything with fresh products. They even take care for special needs such as lactose free products.

Lets just say I would even consider this hotel for my own wedding except for the only negative thing is that the events team messed it up by loosing a very important document that the bride and groom signed on their wedding day and they where supposed to take care of it while the couple was enjoying their wedding. So in case you are planning to have your wedding there just be careful, it could happen to anyone.

Room Tip: If you are more for the wellness I would recommend you to be close to the front desk, since the spa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank traveltiris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa del Carmen
1.7 mi away
Fairmont Mayakoba
Fairmont Mayakoba
#7 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,664 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Royal Haciendas All Suites Resort & Spa
The Royal Haciendas All Suites R...
#44 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,424 reviews
2.9 mi away
Mahekal Beach Resort
Mahekal Beach Resort
#29 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,596 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.1 mi away
Generations Riviera Maya by Karisma
20.6 mi away
Azul Beach Resort Riviera Maya
Azul Beach Resort Riviera Maya
#5 of 25 in Puerto Morelos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,121 reviews
0.1 mi away
Viceroy Riviera Maya
Viceroy Riviera Maya
#11 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,079 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Azul Beach Resort The Fives Playa Del Carmen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Azul Beach Resort The Fives Playa Del Carmen

Property: Azul Beach Resort The Fives Playa Del Carmen
Address: Predio El Limonar Fraccion 2 | Xcalacoco, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#27 Green Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#30 Top resorts Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#38 Luxury Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#40 Spa Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#42 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#43 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#79 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Azul Beach Resort The Fives Playa Del Carmen 4.5*
Number of rooms: 524
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just 10 minutes from charming Playa del Carmen, Azul Fives Hotel is noted for enormous suites designed for families and friends with up to three bedrooms with rooftop decks. Activities and special experiences foster togetherness for families, couples and groups of friends. The 360-suite hotel offers the renowned Gourmet Inclusive® concept, as well as flexible meal plan options to suit all agendas. Private barbecues highlight family activities, and the Kid’s Club sponsored by Fisher-Price® caters to children. Rooftop Weddings inspire soon-to-be-married couples. The 24-hour room service and full-service concierge ensure memorable vacations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Azul Beach Resort The Fives Playa Del Carmen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Azul Fives By Karisma Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Azul Beach Resort The Fives Playa Del Carmen Mexico/Riviera Maya

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing