We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“"Friendliest staff you'll ever meet"” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Azul Beach Resort The Fives Playa Del Carmen

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Azul Beach Resort The Fives Playa Del Carmen
Ranked #52 of 212 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
Lapeer, Michigan, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“"Friendliest staff you'll ever meet"”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2014

Excellent service. Clean, friendly and with a lot of activities to do. I would recommend a stay here any time. The staff is A # 1. Bill and Nadia are there for your every need. Israel keeps your glass full, and Abraham and Guadalupe make your lunch experience a pleasure.

Room Tip: The rooms that open up right next to the pool are perfect for families traveling with children. Mom...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Mary H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,550 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,510
    1,184
    445
    209
    202
See reviews for
2,659
1,440
52
79
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,647)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, Canada
Level Contributor
42 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2014

My husband and I stayed her for seven nights for our honeymoon and were stunned by the beauty and the service. We had never been to Mexico before this trip and had never stayed at an all inclusive resort, so we were sure what to expect. The road leading to the resort is a little rough, but don't let that fool you. Once you pull onto the grounds, it is beautifully maintained and very safe.
When we arrived, we were upgraded to a rooftop honeymoon suite and taken by golf cart to our building. We walked and WOW! We were blown away! Our suite had a full kitchen, two bathrooms, a dining and living area, two balconies and a beautiful bedroom including a jacuzzi tub. Then, to top it all off, we had our own rooftop patio that had a lounge bed, couch, bar area and another bathroom. It was way to much space for two people, but sure felt luxurious.
The grounds were beautiful and the winding resort pools were really beautiful and very clean. The winding pools were not very busy so it was easy to relax and stretch out in the sun. The infinity pool and beach were also wonderful. Most of the activities were at the infinity pool or at the beach (side by side), so these areas were much busier, but still not crowded.
We loved the beach beds and thoroughly enjoyed relaxing in the sun while the beach butler brought us drinks. The beach was sandy and the water was warm. There were some vendors nearby, but they didn't set foot on the resort property, so they didn't pester us.
The food at this resort was delicious! We ate breakfast almost every morning at the buffet. The food was good, but the Mayan Hot Chocolate was the star of the show. I had one every morning. We ate most lunches at the burger bar beside the beach. They had a huge menu of burgers and the starter salads were very good. I especially liked the Capreese Salad. The a la carte restaurants were also very good. The Italian spot was great and the pasta was fresh. The service was not super quick, but this was more than ok as we were just enjoying each other's company, and it was vacation- no rush needed!
The spa was also amazing. We had massages and facials. The quality ond service was great. You start with a short hydrotherapy session, so arrive early to take advantage of the hot tubs, plunge pools and steam room. Don't miss an opportunity to relax at the spa.
All in all we very much enjoyed Azul Fives. Don't be put off by the small size, it just means more personalized service. We have already talked about going back, or going to one of the other Karisma brand resorts.

Room Tip: Anything with a private rooftop is amazing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Wood1f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Midlands, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2014

We are a family of 5, 2 adults, just returned from azul fives. We had a 9 hour flight delay on the way home (the dreamliner is great), and even that couldn't stop us waking up with smiles yesterday, after a wonderful holiday!!
Our daughter celebrated her 8th birthday during our stay, we arrived to a room full of balloons and cake, which was lovely!! we had room 604, which suited us perfectly! Ground floor, spacious, 2 bed appartment, Very clean and well maintained, excellent air conditioning.

We loved this hotel, it's beach front location and it's hard working staff, all friendly and helpful. The kids club is outstanding, we rarely use kids clubs, but our daughter and son loved it! Well planned activities, movie nights and glow in the dark discos!!
The entertainment team are some of the most friendliest we have ever met, and do their best to to add some fun to the days/nights. The pool bar staff are great, delicious cocktails to try.

Alberto the concierge was fantastic, very helpful, and made our holiday run so smoothly! We enjoyed all the restaurants, the food was first class, absolutely delicious, and the wines superb, we had the all inclusive package which includes branded drinks and wonderful cocktails, we happily paid to have a delicious bottle of rioja on a couple of evenings. Staff were very helpful, and we never felt rushed.
We enjoyed a few evenings sat outside the gin bar, although it is adults only inside we never felt in the way. We sat playing games with the kids here we were made so welcome. The staff of the gin bar are exceptional, knowledgeable and a delight to meet, we tried special gins, and enjoyed the warm evenings sat outside, crisps and snacks were bought outside for the children, a truly amazing atmosphere!

We had a trip booked one day and actually cancelled it as we were enjoying our holiday so much, we were so chilled, happy playing water polo, eating great food and enjoying the atmosphere of the hotel.

Azul fives is a fantastic hotel, well maintained, and a excellent team of staff. My review echoes all the positive reviews of the other reviews, I would recomend it to any one wanting a break in beautiful surroundings, with good food and drink and a great childrens club (your children won't won't to leave it)!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
11 Thank swrightes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2014 via mobile

We stay for 1 week at azul fives. We encounters a lot of tiny small problems that can be easily fix by the resort management.

- Patio door lock not working
- tons of baby stuff in our room at check in that we had to throw away
-old useless generation iphone dock
-door slamming night and day!
-Door knocking every time of the day!
- useless broke ceiling fan
-only 1 hook in the room
-we got 1 acces card for a family of 3 peoples,
-bed sheet are smaller than mattress so your toe can rub on mattress. Talk with the maid and the thing get solved!!!
-umbrella and services are very rare around pool
-juice bar taste are not constant
-shower door leaking water to entrance floor
-closet sliding door blocked in closed position.
-no hot water 1 morning

Other than that it's a nice resort with nice smiling staff. I recommend this hotel hoping you get a better room than mine.

My advice for restaurant: don't waste your time with "a la carte" restaurant, they aren't special. Buffet is the place to eat and service is great!

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Patatarte22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KarismaHotelsResorts, Director General at Azul Beach Resort The Fives Playa Del Carmen, responded to this review, 24 January 2015
Thank you for taking the time to share your experiences of your stay with us . Your comments will be used constructively however we are very disappointed to hear that you were not wowed by your Karisma experience.

we would like to invite you to contact us at customerservices@karismamexico.com so that we can continue our communication with you

Best regards

mario mathieu
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2014

As the title says very very good indeed and a perfect family holiday. Without kids it would also have been amazing and it is not one of those annoying family resorts with kids everywhere. The balance is just right.

Pools and Beach: Two lagoon pools around the villas and 1 large infinity pool by the beach. The latter had activities (water polo, volleyball) but no pressure to join in at all plus a great swim up bar. The former a nice place to go and relax and get a drink from one of the swim up bars. The beach is fantastic and great swimming; the hotel make a real effort here as it could get dirty with seaweed etc. They kindly loaned us the pier for the day which initially didnt seem much but once there it was amazing amazing and one of the best days we had.
Snorkels can be borrowed from the beach hut (refundable deposit of $30)and boat trips/fishing excursions can be arranged at reasonable prices.

Restaurants. Sea Olive and Oriola grill (lunch only) by the infinity pool were easiest as no need to book. Oriola has great burgers and Sea Olive good day to day grub. They even cooked some fish we caught with no fuss. Flavours (for breakfast and the Mexican buffet ) was great (but somewhat dark). The breakfast was all and more than what you would expect with egg stations and freshly made enchiladas, smoked salmon, cereal etc.
Arezzo i found to be a bit stuffy and slow service; the Sushi bar was good but again slow service. This combined with the need to book are the only negative aspects of the whole place. Not bad really if thats my only criticism.

The food in general is very good and not at all overwhelming or stacked high and churned out like I imagine a lot of all inclusives could be.

Rooms: We had a ground floor 3 bedroom suite for the 5 of us. The hotel needed to put a 3rd bed in the 2nd room and this was done with no fuss and immediately. Some friends had a top floor suite which was nice as it had a terrace. To be honest we spent so much time outside it wasnt used to its max. Depending where you are the beach is maximum 5 minutes walk and a pool is never going to be more than 1 minute walk.

Activities. As mentioned there are activities in the main pool a few times a day, if you want to join in great, if not its no problem and you can sit/lie in peace. There is a kids club which we struggled to get our kids out of they liked it so much and its not about the xbox etc. They just enjoyed it plus they had a themed party each night here between 7-845. A big thank you to the girls here for making it so special. There is a tennis court which offers free group lesson every day at 8 plus if you want you can arrange private coaching.

Location. Its a 15 minute taxi from playa del carmen ($30 if you are 5 pax or over, $15 if you are 4 or under). There is not much else around the resort at all.

Staff. Really amazing. Enthusiastic and so willing to make sure you have a good stay. Notably Ernesto and Israel BOOM, Alberto, Omar and Manuel at the Pool. Occasionally we would tip if someone went out of their way or if it was a regular tipping thing eg suitcases but there is no pressure to at all to do this and its not expected.

Wifi :$50 for 1 device for 1 week which seemed very reasonable. Speed was fine for doing video calls, spotify etc. I didnt see any free wifi anywhere but then i didnt look.

If you are looking for a great getway i would suggest this and it is just that. Thank you for a great holiday.

Room Tip: You can opt for a pool room which may be less private but you have the pool on your doorstep. We wer...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
10 Thank orangejumper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KarismaHotelsResorts, General Manager at Azul Beach Resort The Fives Playa Del Carmen, responded to this review, 28 August 2014
We are delighted that you and your whole family enjoyed your stay! We appreciate the comments and look forward to welcoming you back very soon!

Best Regards

Mario Mathieu
General Manager
gm@azulfiveshotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2014

Just returned from a 7 day vacation at The Azul Fives and I can honestly say this was one of the best and most relaxing vacations that my family has been on. The resort is beautiful, the grounds are well kept and the rooms are modern, spacious and very clean. There is a teens club which my 17 & 14 year old enjoyed, here they were able to meet up with other teens and play pool, games and surf the internet. There were many activities throughout the day which they were able to participate in. However, the best part of this resort were the staff. Our concierge Bill was the most amazing guy, he would greet us every morning with a big smile and "good morning". He always went out of his way to make sure that our questions were answered and our requests were met. He even made sure that my daughter got her bucket of ice and water for the ice water challenge. He became a great friend to my family. Nadia was also amazing, the day before we left she made sure to call us to say "goodbye and have a good trip". The food was good, we thought the Italian restaurant was the best, Alessandro the cook would take the time to come out and talk to us and send us over some special dishes which my kids enjoyed. Overall, we had an amazing time and I usually do not like to travel to the same resort twice however, I would consider going back to azul fives just because of the wonderful staff who became such great friends.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank plalexvic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2014

Our stay at Azul Fives was one of the best holidays I've experienced. Usually I'm not one who enjoys the hustle and bustle of busy hotel resorts; however, my experience here has changed my mind completely. The service provided for was phenomenal. All stuff were extremely friendly, helpful and above all - resourceful. They got you what you needed, when you needed it. The concierges were spectacular; not one failing to provide efficient service. Being only 17 having something to do was a big issue for me, however with the teen club provided for i was kept extremely busy, with the free wifi and gaming systems. The entertainment team at the hotel were perfect. Diego, Manuel, Alex and Victor left nothing to chance in providing everything we needed. There were enough activities available for us including beach volleyball, water aerobics (my favourite), as well as numerous things to do with the mexican way of life. The friendliness of Manuel, Diego, Alex and Victor (entertainment) was outstanding - no-one was left out as they often rounded you up to do the activities without seeming annoying. It was a beautiful location, with perfect staff who made our stay memorable. P.S - thank you to Victor for the emergency glasses, they were needed :)

Room Tip: It is incredibly worth the upgrade to the rooms that sleep 4. An incredibly useful room if you plan...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Erin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa del Carmen
1.8 mi away
Fairmont Mayakoba
Fairmont Mayakoba
#7 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,468 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Royal Haciendas All Suites Resort & Spa
The Royal Haciendas All Suites R...
#42 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,269 reviews
0.2 mi away
Le Reve Hotel & Spa
Le Reve Hotel & Spa
#98 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 787 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.1 mi away
Generations Riviera Maya by Karisma
0.2 mi away
Viceroy Riviera Maya
Viceroy Riviera Maya
#14 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,039 reviews
20.6 mi away
Azul Beach Resort Riviera Maya
Azul Beach Resort Riviera Maya
#6 of 26 in Puerto Morelos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,964 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Azul Beach Resort The Fives Playa Del Carmen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Azul Beach Resort The Fives Playa Del Carmen

Property: Azul Beach Resort The Fives Playa Del Carmen
Address: Predio El Limonar Fraccion 2 | Xcalacoco, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#28 Top resorts Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#36 Luxury Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#39 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#39 Spa Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#43 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#79 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Azul Beach Resort The Fives Playa Del Carmen 4*
Number of rooms: 524
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just 10 minutes from charming Playa del Carmen, Azul Fives Hotel is noted for enormous suites designed for families and friends with up to three bedrooms with rooftop decks. Activities and special experiences foster togetherness for families, couples and groups of friends. The 360-suite hotel offers the renowned Gourmet Inclusive® concept, as well as flexible meal plan options to suit all agendas. Private barbecues highlight family activities, and the Kid’s Club sponsored by Fisher-Price® caters to children. Rooftop Weddings inspire soon-to-be-married couples. The 24-hour room service and full-service concierge ensure memorable vacations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, LoveHolidays, TravelUp, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Azul Beach Resort The Fives Playa Del Carmen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Azul Fives By Karisma Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Azul Beach Resort The Fives Playa Del Carmen Mexico/Riviera Maya

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing