We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice/ Clean/ Inexpensive” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Villa del Mar

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Villa del Mar
Ranked #35 of 175 Playa del Carmen B&B and Inns
lake george
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Nice/ Clean/ Inexpensive”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2012

This is a nice place to stay w all you need & a great staff with friendly owners. Dirk & Anna are very tuned in to local activities. Great location 2 minute walk to 5th Ave. Looking forward to my return trip asap.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LakeGeorgePlayaguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    76
    36
    5
    3
    6
See reviews for
25
54
14
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton
Level Contributor
21 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2012

Staying here last year was a pleasant experience, but this time I think we ran into every possible problem others have experienced. Check in was long and confusing. We had three rooms booked by three different people. Not rocket science. Dirk went in circles for over 30 minutes before we all were paid up and had our keys. They prefer payment in $US, a pain for Canadians, and charge extra if you want to pay with your credit card. When we wanted to pay in pesos, the exchange was chore, he first told us that $176 equalled 3000 pesos. I'm not a total idiot and made him show me his calculations - surprise - it was only 2300 pesos. Had my mother been dealing with him alone, she would have ended up paying the extra. My mom's room had also been listed with 4 people, there were only three staying. This had been clarified through an email. Dirk took the extra $10 a night (for 3 nights) off the bill when we paid. Anna came back 2 days later and asked for the money! We did make an agreement to pay half - her problem was with booking.com, so we were a little sympathetic.

The 2 rooms booked through booking.com included breakfast, while mine did not - not a problem, I didn't expect it to as i had booked directly with Anna. Dirk made sure we knew that we wouldn't get the meal vouchers. We normally just head out to a juice stand and the bakery around the corner. $5 feeds the 4 of us a nice breakfast. The first morning he handed my sister vouchers for all of us. I thought it was a nice touch of customer service after the awkward check in. No mention of paying for them. I thanked him after breakfast. Next day, same thing. I thanked him again for breakfast - maybe he's making up for the noise? Third day - again. When we went to check out, Anna wanted an extra $60 for the meals! She went right off the deep end when I told her I wasn't paying. She could not understand how I would not pay for something I did not ask for, and really didn't want. Good customer service would have been to apolgize for the error and promise to make it clearer next time. Instead I got shouting and a door slammed. She needs to figure out that if her husband offers something, it's pretty tacky to come back later and ask for the money back.

The guy atthe desk at the time was apologetic and quite nice about things. I did make the mistake of leaving the luggage there while we went for lunch. We had 2 hours after checkout before our bus left.

I really didn't think she might stoop so low, but when we made it to the Cancun airport and were stowing our last few purchases in our luggage before checking in, we discovered the suitcases had been gone through. We have a very specific way of packing and it was completely out of order. We put the luggage on on the bus, we took it off - nobody touched them there. The only place it could have happened was at the hotel. Several hundred dollars in jewellery and souvenirs was missing. Nice - everything from tacky little cloth wallets to a silver and amethyst bracelet were missing. All had been wrapped up and placed in the centre of suitcases inside other clothes. You really had to dig to get at them.

The bar next door was in full swing every day. It did stop at 9pm, but you couldn't stand to be anywhere near your room until then. No afternoon siestas, that's for sure.

Construction on 10th ave made it pretty dusty on the patio.

Overall, it was all things we could have put up with if it hadn't been for Anna and the theft. I would never stay there again as long as she is around.

Room Tip: To avoid some of the bar noise, do not stay in rooms 4 or 5.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank LDA_Edmonton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
annaPlayaDelCarmen, Gerente at Hotel Villa del Mar, responded to this review, 5 August 2012
We value your feedback as we are always glad to receive constructive criticism which allows us to improve our services. We are sorry that your vacation wasn't as satisfying as it was the previous year.
I would like to answer to all of your complaints point by point as I feel they are giving an image of our business that doesn't coincide with our standards, neither with the impression our other guests have had.

As for the problem at the moment of the check-in we recall that you and your family booked three rooms with various rates, demand a discount and wanted to pay in different currencies, all of which created a little confusion. By no means did Dirk try to overcharge you and when he realized that he made a mistake only asked for the price he was entitled to charge. We are honest people and never let our customers pay for something they didn't consume. We apologize, it clearly wasn't our intention to overcharge you but rather a result of a momentary confusion.

When your family booked through the agency the only option to book the Grand Superior rooms in our hotel was for either two or four people, which makes it necessary to book a room for four people if you have three guests staying in a room. We cannot influence the online booking system, but we would like to remind you that out of curtesy we gave you a discount although we had to pay the full price to the agency.

The breakfast vouchers that you received were requested by your sister so that you could have breakfast together as a family. Apart from the breakfasts that were included in the price of the reservation you consumed 12 extra breakfasts that were not included in the price (and that nobody mention being complimentary) for a total cost of 60USD, which is a very reasonable price.
We think that it is very usual to pay for what you consume and it would have been impolite to remind you every day we handed out the vouchers to your family that they would have to pay for the meals which were clearly not included in the rate.

Now I would like to comment on this very heavy and false accusation about one of us supposedly opening your luggage and taking things out. We understand that you were very upset when you wrote this review but you are accusing someone in a temper of a crime and thus causing serious damage to our reputation.
I would personally never steal from anyone and we take all of the precautions to prevent any theft in our Hotel.
We are sorry about your personal belongings being stolen and we cannot tell you who opened your luggage but it definitely wasn't us.
This would have been clear by checking your luggage at the hotel in the moment you got it back from our free of charge storage.

We welcome also your remark about the noise pollution coming from the bar next door that prevented you from having afternoon siestas. We pride ourselves on being one of the most centrally located hotels in Playa del Carmen. Occasionally due to the site of the hotel we experience some noise disturbance. With the support of the local authorities we compel our neighbor to limit the sound level so this problem has been solved for good.

Finally, we understand any inconvenience caused by the building site of the street, which was beyond our control. The 10th Avenue has been beautifully finished since April 2012 and the hotel patio is clean again.

Again, we are very sorry about your dissatisfaction and that your experience with us did not meet your expectations.
Sincerely,

Anna Paola Colombo
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2012

We were in a deluxe king room. Really nice, spacious with huge private balcony. Staff were very friendly & helpful. Nice pool area, if a little shady. Fantastic location in the heart of town.

The fan was very noisy, so we tried using the air con. This was also very noisy indeed and we thought it might even be broken so we switched it off ( we were only there one night so no chance to get it looked at). I was kept awake quite late by the noise from the bar next door. Shame, because apart from the noise it's a great hotel.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SarahGBristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2011

We spent 3 nights in Villa del Mar, right before Xmas, along with our 5 yr old. We had booked online, and Anna the owner was very friendly and a great resource as well. The location is fantastic, 2 mins from the beach and from 5th ave, the center of all activity in PDC. If you want to get away from the craziness of cancun, while getting a flavor of mexico right by the ocean, I highly recommend staying here in PDC.
The rooms were, very clean. There is also a pool, which we did not use, but saw people use it.

Room Tip: Worth it to ask for a room that does not have a view of the street, we did not have a choice, and d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mythreye K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gold Coast, Australia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 December 2011

Booked online through Hotels.com.

Arrived late from Cancun International Airport. Great room, large and spacious with a large balcony.
A few minor things that should be attended to for that extra added experience. Ran out of Toilet paper and was not replaced, an oversite I am sure. Soaps were small and two at the start for 4 days and ran out and not replaced. As I said small stuff.

Next door was a sports club, Well!!! do you think they like there music. Friday and Saturday night they went late. The Staff are very good, anything to help. I think they were going through some staff adjustments thus the earlier comments. The street is going through some repairs and makes it either dusty or muddy after they sprayed the street to keep the dust down. Sounds bad but it was no big deal, as soon as you have hit 5th Avenue you forget all this stuff.

What we did learn is this is a Specialist dive team running the hotel, many european visitors in the Hotel for cave diving, a specialty they provide.

Room Tip: Ask for room 1. King bed and spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mmslocum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
38 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2011

Terrific, welcoming stay at Villa del Mar.

The location is great, the rooms are spacious, spotless and AMAZING. We loved everything and would definitely go back again. Service was amazing. Since there was only one room available, we were upgraded to the better room at no cost. Beautiful villa, beautiful rooms.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Yay_Hanna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beverly, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2011

This review is a bit overdue!!!

I wanted to do a quick trip to the Mayan Riviera last summer. I found Villa del Mar though after reading a variety of reviews of Playa Del Carmen smaller hotels which are often called boutique hotels.

This place was well worth the money. Rooms were spacious and immaculate. The walk to the beach was 5 minutes tops. Dirk and Javier were great at giving advice at what restaurants to eat at etc. Also the main ferry to Cozumel is close by, so you can take a day trip to Cozumel as well. Villa del Mar is also close to the ADO bus stop for those of you who are comfortable taking the bus from the airport.

I also set up a variety of dive tours as well through Dirk's dive shop DiveMex, I was able to do both reef and cenote dives.Through his connections with other dive outfits Dirk was able to get me into more cenote diving when the weather was not ideal for Reef Diving. Dirk also had no problem getting me on a whale shark snorkel tour out of Isla Mujeres as well.

I will always consider Villa Del Mar when visiting the Mayan Riviera in the future.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank a_hartnett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
0.1 mi away
Barrio Latino Hotel
Barrio Latino Hotel
#67 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 645 reviews
0.1 mi away
Playa del Carmen Hotel
Playa del Carmen Hotel
#37 of 175 in Playa del Carmen
3.5 of 5 bubbles 303 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel El Hormiguero
Hotel El Hormiguero
#27 of 175 in Playa del Carmen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Real del Mayab
Hotel Real del Mayab
#15 of 175 in Playa del Carmen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 135 reviews
0.1 mi away
Casa Melissa
Casa Melissa
#14 of 175 in Playa del Carmen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 182 reviews
0.3 mi away
3beca Hotel
3beca Hotel
#18 of 175 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villa del Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa del Mar

Property: Hotel Villa del Mar
Address: Calle 10 Norte And 4 North 2 | Colonia Centro, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 175 B&Bs / Inns in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Villa del Mar 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For Those seeking a cosy, clean, comfortable hotel and Personalised attention! We can highlight the friendly family-style building (a large house with 10 rooms); our location - in the hearth of Playa del Carmen; Personalised our attention During the stay of our customers; plus, That Several details are Very Important in the "without smokestacks" industry.   This boutique hotel in downtown Playa del Carmen is located one hundred meter for Fifth Avenue, 2 blocks from the beach, just minutes walk from the bus station, 10 minutes to the ferry to Cozumel, one hour from Cancun airport and the ruins of Tulum. Rooms at the Hotel Villa del Mar Have air conditioning, ceiling fan, safe, TV, Mini Bar, Security Box and comfortable beds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Villa del Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Villa Del Mar Mexico/Riviera Maya - Playa Del Carmen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing