We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Villa del Mar
Ranked #35 of 169 Playa del Carmen B&B and Inns
Ambergris Caye, Belize
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Wonderful Stay”
Reviewed 17 March 2013

We returned from a quick weekend stay in Playa Del Carmen and ended up spending a night at Hotel Villa del Mar. I have to say that the service is excellent, Location is perfect and rooms are very comfortable. From the moment we spoke to the receptionist we felt welcomed and this was felt throughout our stay there. We would certainly return to Playa and will surely stay at Villa del Mar.
One reviewer said they had a fridge in unit #1 however we were not as fortunate to have the fridge in that unit but I wasn't expecting it and would return even if there were no fridge in the room.
I would definitely recommend they add shampoo, conditioner and lotion in the bathrooms and maybe a couple chairs inside the rooms.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LatinoKing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    78
    36
    5
    3
    6
See reviews for
26
55
14
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2012 via mobile

I wormly recommend this hotel. the receptionist ELena is the best. its clean and wellcoming and beautifull hotel. the flow of water at the shower is poor but all the rest is excellent!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shirshur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NW IOWA
Level 3 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2012

We stayed here for the 3rd yr in a row back in Feb and March. Sorry it's a bit late but wanted to say again how much we love coming here!!

We stayed a total of three weeks here, leaving to travel to another destination for a few days and then returning again. Our stays at Villa del Mar have always been super! We feel the hospitality shown to us while here is exceptional.....especially Anna, who will do anything to make sure you are well taken care of (thanks again for the lounge chair on the terrace:) and the front desk guys who always greet you coming and going and who can answer any questions you have about dining, sightseeing, getting around the city, etc. (who also speak great English!) and the sweet girls who tidy our room and always leave such pretty towel art......they all are here to make sure we are well taken care of.......and we were again!!!

Our favorite room is #1......it is a lg room with a very comfortable king size bed and a private terrace that we love to sit on in the mornings and the evenings. We had a fridge and an electronic safe in our room also, but you would never have to worry about leaving valuables out here, we did all the time and everything was always right where we left it.

The location is about the best you will find in Playa.....1 blk from 5th Ave, 2 blocks from the beautiful beach, 2 blks from the ADO bus station and the taxis, and about 2 1/2 blks from the colectivo pickup area. We always catch the ADO bus from the Cancun airport and walk our luggage to Villa del Mar from the bus station on 5th Ave. Wal-mart and Mega are both about a 10 min walk away. There is a convenience/drug store right on the corner next door if you forget something from home.

Breakfast is offered here for a minimal chg if you want it, sure looked good, but we don't normally eat in the mornings anyway. We ate most noon and evening meals on the famed 5th Ave our first yr in Playa, but found many really good restaurants within a few blks that we eat at now while in Playa (Anna and the guys at the front desk have made many good recommendations for eating!)

The pool is beautiful and clean and set in a jungle setting. This year seemed to be very windy so we enjoyed having the option to sit on a lounge chair at the pool or eat lots and lots of sand on the beach on extremely windy days.

We can't say enough about Anna and Dirk and Villa del Mar.... it is a safe comfortable place at a great value, has great staff, great location, and that is why we keep coming back yr after yr. We plan on coming back here to stay again next yr!

We realize that every reviewer is entitled to their own opinion, and just wanted to give trip advisor ours................we love it here!!!!!

Room Tip: We like the rooms that are not on the road......we have stayed in a couple different ones but prefer...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dale E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mexico City, Mexico
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2012

My wife and I chose this plac ebecause we figured we would spend little time in the hotel. We wanted something close to the beach, that would be clean and quiet and inexpensive. This place fits the bill. For those coming form within Mexico, it is especially convenient because the bus terminal is about a five minute walk. The beach is two blocks away, and the nightlife strip one block away. Guests have access to a pool on an adjoining property. the property was someone's awesome home, and has since been ocnverted into a hotel with maybe ten rooms (?) or so. One thing I thought was weird was that breakfast was extra, but reasonable, US$5/person. The owners, German I think, give good recommendations both for touristy and non-touristy things to do. The rooms are clean and normal. Recommended for people who are looking for good value and location, without the need for excessive fanciness.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank grilango
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2012

It was our first time to Playa del Carmen. The hotel is a few blocks away from the bus station so we walked over. Jorge was our main staff during our stay. He was extremely helpful. He recommended places to eat and exchange money. Our room was very clean. It is a very short walk to the beach and only one block away from 5th Ave. There is a corner store for water and other supplies right at the end of the block. Try Brisas across the street for some good fish. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephanie N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2012

My wife did not stay at Hotel Villa del Mar, but our dealings with this hotel were excellent. Anna was very prompt and polite in helping us with our reservation. If we ever stay in Playa for a short period, we will definitely stay in Hotel Villa del Mar.

Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank deckpk0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Playa del Carmen, Mexico
1 review
Reviewed 21 February 2012

My family and I had a wonderful stay in this hotel because not only we were totally comfortable but also the customer service was great. I have never had an experience like this. The staff was really friendly, the rooms very big, fully equipped and clean, the atmosphere quiet and relaxing. Moreover, the location is perfect: only one block from the 5th Avenue and bus station and two blocks from the beach. We learnt a lot from the owners of the hotel who are always present and ready to help. All in all I would highly recommend this hotel if you are looking for an enjoyable holiday and a pleasant place to stay.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank julieta g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
0.0 mi away
Barrio Latino Hotel
Barrio Latino Hotel
#67 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
675 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Hacienda del Caribe
Hotel Hacienda del Caribe
#122 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
316 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kinbe Hotel
Kinbe Hotel
#106 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
636 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Emotionin 5a
Emotionin 5a
#39 of 169 in Playa del Carmen
43 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel El Hormiguero
Hotel El Hormiguero
#28 of 169 in Playa del Carmen
61 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Nautilus
Hotel Nautilus
#41 of 169 in Playa del Carmen
39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villa del Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa del Mar

Property: Hotel Villa del Mar
Address: Calle 10 Norte And 4 North 2 | Colonia Centro, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 169 B&Bs / Inns in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Villa del Mar 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For Those seeking a cosy, clean, comfortable hotel and Personalised attention! We can highlight the friendly family-style building (a large house with 10 rooms); our location - in the hearth of Playa del Carmen; Personalised our attention During the stay of our customers; plus, That Several details are Very Important in the "without smokestacks" industry. This boutique hotel in downtown Playa del Carmen is located one hundred meter for Fifth Avenue, 2 blocks from the beach, just minutes walk from the bus station, 10 minutes to the ferry to Cozumel, one hour from Cancun airport and the ruins of Tulum. Rooms at the Hotel Villa del Mar Have air conditioning, ceiling fan, safe, TV, Mini Bar, Security Box and comfortable beds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Villa del Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Villa Del Mar Mexico/Riviera Maya - Playa Del Carmen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing