We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Looking forward to go back to Villa del Mar!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Villa del Mar
Ranked #34 of 168 Playa del Carmen B&B and Inns
Montreal, Canada
1 review
“Looking forward to go back to Villa del Mar!!!”
Reviewed 11 February 2011

Hotel Villa del Mar is a cozy, affordable and very well located little piece of heaven! I looooved it! The hosts were amazing with us and ,I have to mention, they have been amazing diving instructors! The place is very charming, near from everything and we couldn't help but stay very much longer than what we had planned! I recommend it to anybody who stops by the beautiful Playa Del Carmen.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie-Michele
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    78
    36
    5
    3
    6
See reviews for
26
55
14
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 10 February 2011

I stayed for a week in Villa Del Mar and it felt like home! The location is perfect. Close enough from the beach, restaurants and nightlife to walk anywhere within 10 minutes, and still a little retired from the big noise and traffic, making sleep better than on the 5th avenue.
Our room was spacious with a nice balcony on the avenue, access to the pool, nice backyard and convenient assistance from the very welcoming owners themsleves. They know how to treat people, speak many languages and the lady owner is a DIVE instructor, so I was able to get my license and arrange dive trips from the hotel too. At the best prices, having shopped around to check.
I recommend with no hesitation to all fellow travellers.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Planetjogger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Escondido, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 February 2011

Awesome hotel off the main drag.Quiet garden atmosphere.
Excellent staff, clean rooms, mini fridge, comfi bed, balcony, bathroom with great towels and boutique soap.
We loved their attention to detail for such a GREAT price. Lovely gardens and yummy breakfast.
we will for sure be back,
travel on a limited budjet but want to feel pampered, this is it!!!
highly reccommend it!

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marrufo2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coronado, California
1 review
Reviewed 10 February 2011

Great stay!!! CLEAN , excellent service, quaint hotel .perfect location!!! My husband and I are on a budget BUT will not stay just anywhere!!
Felt like our home away from home.this little hotel was so lovely and we will definately be back .

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DMDm69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glendale NY
1 review
Reviewed 10 February 2011

I am not sure why a previous comment from the UK guests was unfavorable. I had a factastic stay at this hotel. The rooms were unbelievably clean as were the sheets an towels !! The staff is outstanding. Courteous and very professional. I highly recommend this hote to all visitors to Playa Del Carmen and I will certainly stay there everytime I visit Mexico. You should too !!!

Stayed February 2011, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank shufi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2011

Having been a member of tripadvisor for some time, I normally only offer reviews for places which are excellent rather than just average or poor (unless I were to stay somewhere terrible). This is usually because, having trawled through the reviews, I manage to find good places to stay.

However, I felt it necessary to write a review following our shock at the experience we had at Villa del Mar.

On a positive, the service we received was very good - all staff were polite and friendly.

We initially reserved 3 nights in advance (whilst we were travelling through mexico) at the hotel purely based on the positive reviews. On arrival, we paid a first night's deposit but made the rookie mistake of not checking the room first.

We are happy to stay in basic accommodation as long as it is well maintained and clean ( and I personally have stayed in many a basic accommodation during my varied travels). However, on entering the room, the sheets were stained, the floor and bathroom door handle had not been wiped clean of what hopefully was just some sort of berry juice (rather than blood - though this was questionable) and the towels were grubby (we did ask for more though). The room was next door to a bar, which, whilst it stopped playing music at 11pm, had a pool/snooker room upstairs and the noise was somehow amplified through our air-con unit, so it was incredibly noisy until 3am or so. Overall, the room (which had a grubby balcony overlooking 10th) was more like a youth hostel than good, clean but basic accommodation.

Unfortunately,there were no other rooms in the hotel available that night (and we arrived late in the afternoon from a mamouth trip across mexico) so we felt we had no option but to stay the one night (having foolishly paid the deposit).

Whilst the staff did offer to switch our room for the following nights, the bad impression from our first and only night there meant that we packed our bags and moved on.

Given all the previous reviews, we were rather shocked to find what we did! Disappointed to say the least!

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank travelwise99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
1 review
Reviewed 21 January 2011

The hotel is in the main tourist area and just a few blocks from a gorgeous beach! The rooms are not fancy, but they are clean and the air-conditioning works well. The hosts are fabulous, approachable and knowledgeable. The pool was questionable. We looked at it, but didn't get in... Overall I would recommend this hotel. You cannot beat the location for the price!

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PghSerbin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
0.0 mi away
Barrio Latino Hotel
Barrio Latino Hotel
#67 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
674 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kinbe Hotel
Kinbe Hotel
#104 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
636 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Hacienda del Caribe
Hotel Hacienda del Caribe
#122 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel El Hormiguero
Hotel El Hormiguero
#28 of 168 in Playa del Carmen
61 reviews
0.1 mi away
Emotionin 5a
Emotionin 5a
#39 of 168 in Playa del Carmen
43 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Nautilus
Hotel Nautilus
#40 of 168 in Playa del Carmen
39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villa del Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa del Mar

Property: Hotel Villa del Mar
Address: Calle 10 Norte And 4 North 2 | Colonia Centro, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 168 B&Bs / Inns in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Villa del Mar 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For Those seeking a cosy, clean, comfortable hotel and Personalised attention! We can highlight the friendly family-style building (a large house with 10 rooms); our location - in the hearth of Playa del Carmen; Personalised our attention During the stay of our customers; plus, That Several details are Very Important in the "without smokestacks" industry. This boutique hotel in downtown Playa del Carmen is located one hundred meter for Fifth Avenue, 2 blocks from the beach, just minutes walk from the bus station, 10 minutes to the ferry to Cozumel, one hour from Cancun airport and the ruins of Tulum. Rooms at the Hotel Villa del Mar Have air conditioning, ceiling fan, safe, TV, Mini Bar, Security Box and comfortable beds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Villa del Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Villa Del Mar Mexico/Riviera Maya - Playa Del Carmen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing