We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful property!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Grand Velas Riviera Maya
Ranked #4 of 215 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 28 April 2013 via mobile

We stayed in February for a birthday celebration and the property was magical!!! VERY romantic and secluded. Not commercialized at all which is wonderful compared to many resorts in Mexico. We stayed in one of the suites and the room was fabulous. My only complaint about the room would be that we had ANTS bad! Also the staff were not very attentive and good was mediocre. Our room overlooked the ocean and was quite expensive but we took a tram over to the jungle rooms which would have been half the price and they looked nice. I would not recommend the restaurant with the tastings it was not good whatsoever!! I loved the gourmet Mexican restaurant

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pradaprincess2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GVRM, Gerente at Grand Velas Riviera Maya, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2013

Dear guest,

We would like thank you for choosing us as your destination. All your wonderful comments are very appreciated and motivate us to continue offering the highest quality services to our guests in search for their satisfaction!

We are so looking forward to have you with us in a near future!

Sunny regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,371)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,934 - 1,940 of 3,371 reviews

Reviewed 25 April 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Grand Velas for a couple of nights on our way to Cancun. I wish we had stayed longer and forgotten all about Cancun! This is a truly first-class resort with luxury appointments and decor, and wonderful service. Our room was magnificent. And you have a view of the beach and ocean beyond from the bathtub!

From the moment you arrive, you can see the ocean (past the infinity pool) from the open air lobby.

The food was fantastic, as was the service. I have allergies and they accommodated special requests gladly and with many smiles.

I would rate the spa and salon as better than good, but not five star.

We had a wonderful stay. I would go back in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cyntamar52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GVRM, Gerente at Grand Velas Riviera Maya, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2013

Dear guest,

We would like thank you for choosing us as your destination on your most recent business trip. All your wonderful comments are very appreciated and motivate us to continue offering the highest quality services to our guests in search for their satisfaction!

We are so looking forward to have you with us in a near future!

Sunny regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2013

We were fortunate to have this vacation given to us by my husbands company. It is expensive but if you can afford it you will not be disappointed. The resort is modern, clean and beautiful. Our suite was very large with sunken tub, sitting area, snack and mini bar, balcony with chaise lounge and breathtaking views. The pool is enormous with vanishing edge all the way around and a swim up bar. The service was excellent with most employees speaking very good English. The spa is not to be missed! Make sure you go early to do the water experience. The food and restaurants were very good. We took an excursion to Xel ha which was really fun. I hope that we can go back again, definitely recommend this resort.
.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hhhoff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GVRM, Gerente at Grand Velas Riviera Maya, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2013

Dear Guest,

Warm greetings from Grand Velas Riviera Maya! We would like to thank you for your visit on your most recent stay in paradise and for your invaluable comments. We hope to have the opportunity to serve you in your next vacations!!

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2013

I was invited to Grand Velas as part of a reward trip at work. I have to say that, by far, this exceeded my expectations. As many others have noted, there are three main sections - Zen (in the jungle), Ambassador (near the main pool) and the Grand. We were fortunate enough to stay in the Grand with a plunge pool.

Check in was a breeze. The resort is magnificent and has a fairly grandiose entrance. Within a few minutes, we were led to our room (2063). As others have noted, the rooms are huge and very nicely appointed. There is a nice bottle of tequila to greet you (ole!), and when you are done with that, "mas, por favor!" will bring you another. The mini bar is full of stuff to eat if you happen to get hungry, which wasn't very often.

While the plunge pool was a nice touch, we thought it was a little cold. Would have been nice to have the ability to change the temperature, or add some bubbles or whatever. Consequently, we only used it a couple of times.

We spent most of the time at the beach. We'd go down in the morning (usually between 9 & 10) and get a cabana on the beach. The towel guys (located near the pool) are happy to bring you towels and set them up for you. But the best part was the service on the beach. I tipped the guy $20 every morning when we saw him, and he took excellent care of us. Beers, water, food, it was all very, very nice.

Pools were nice as well, and never seemed to be crowded. And even though my company took over the entire resort, there were always tons of places to sit. No getting down to the pool at 6AM, put your copy of Love's Tender Fury on your chair and go back to sleep. A *huge* pet peeve of mine is a resort with 1,000 people and 500 chairs. No so at the Grand Velas.

What really surprised me was the food. It was really, really good. We ate at Frida and Piaf. I'm pretty much a foodie, and I was expecting All Inclusive Food -- basically, something that the masses would like, with 10X more food that you needed, but Applebee's quality. I couldn't have been more wrong. The food was absolutely outstanding. Make your reservations before you get there. Dress code is strictly enforced, which is a great thing. Note - I know they bring your bill at every meal that you have to sign, and I am sure that one of the reasons is to get a tip, but they made it clear to us that all tips were included, and frankly, at $1,100/night for two people, that has got to include some tips for the staff. Consequently, I rarely tipped at meals.

Service was always top notch, and we never had to wait long for anything. Room service was always about 30 minutes, and was very delicious.

Gyms were nice - there was one kind of smaller one between the Grand and the Ambassador sections, and a very nice one at Zen. We chose the smaller due to proximity. It had 3-4 treadmills, a couple of bikes, free weights, a handful of basic machines, and a workout room.

One kind of weird thing. There were several people in our group who insisted on going for a run, not on the beach, and not in the gym, but on the road. The problem was, there was only a two lane road in and out of the complex. In order to protect the runners, they would have a guy drive behind the person while they were running. I like the fact that they were protecting runners, but what this resulted in (a couple of times) was a big traffic jam as 10-15 cars backed up behind this one runner, until we could get around. Now, I think it's quite selfish of the runners to do this (go to the beach or the gym!), but the resort could build a running path quite easily, I would imagine.

All in all, this was a magnificent trip. I highly recommend the Grand Velas.

Room Tip: I prefer the Grand section. Quieter with beautiful, unobstructed views. Higher is better!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Unpaintedhuffhines
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GVRM, Gerente at Grand Velas Riviera Maya, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2013
Google Translation

Estimado Huesped,

Saludos cordiales desde Grand Velas Riviera Maya! Queremos agradecerle su mas reciente estancia con nosotros y sus invaluables comentarios. Esperamos volver a tener la oportunidad de recibirlo en sus proximas vacaciones.

Saludos Cordiales,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2013

This year we chose to go to Riviera Maya for our family vacation and some friends recommended this hotel. We tried to book near the beach but it was too late and already full, so we went to the jungle. I had my doubts thinking that it would be too far, too hot and not nice enough. Well, I was wrong. The Grand Velas is wondeful everywhere you go. The rooms are enormous and well equiped (jacuzy, huge shower, terrace, king size bed with two extra beds if required, sofa, a desk with chairs) and the room service and mini bar is included if you take the all inclusive option. There is a variety of restaurants with bufet or 'a la carte', restaurants for the whole family or only for adults, Mexican cuisine, French, Asian as well as international. The food is excellent no matter what you choose. The service impecable. There is a very flexible kids club where the kids like to stay while the parents enjoy a bit of time on their own and even a fantastic baby sitter service for the little ones (to be paid as an extra but with fair prices). The food extremely good... We loved it!
The only thing that I can say, is that the beach was not what I was expecting in the Caribean. However I would go back anytime. We really had a lovely family vacation.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pgantonpacheco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GVRM, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Grand Velas Riviera Maya, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2013

Dear guest,

Warm greetings from Grand Velas Riviera Maya, Thank you so much for taking the time and for our support to our Resort to thank you for sharing your impressions of your recent vacation with us, all of them are invaluable since they give us the opportunity to enhance the quality of the services we provide every day.


We are so looking forward to have you with us in a near future!

Sunny regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2013

Just got back from a four day stay at the Grand Velas and it was fabulous. My husband and I plus our two kids (12 and 11) had an amazing experience. We stayed in the Ambassador section and had a lovely room overlooking the pool and the ocean. The resort was relatively quiet until a large corporate group came the last day. The employees catered to our every need, especially the wait staff at the pool. They were incredibly attentive, yet unobtrusive. We ate all of the lunch meals poolside. Going into the vacation I was a bit skeptical about the food at this all-inclusive resort, but my skepticism was quickly quelled. The meals were delicious and the service, again, was exceptional. We enjoyed one of our best meals ever at the Italian restaurant with the 8 course tasting menu. Truly innovative food and beautiful presentation.
The resort grounds are spectacular and well kept. We walked along the beach and passed the Banyan Tree and Fairmont hotels in Myakoba. The beaches at these two resorts were not nearly as wide as the beach at the Grand Velas. The chairs, umbrellas and tables at both resorts looked a little tired. While the Fairmont had rooms directly on the beach, their view was obscured by the lounge chairs occupied by hotel guests on the beach.
Our sole complaint of the Grand Velas is the lack of free Wi fi. When you're paying these rates, the expectation is that this would be included.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CJMRidgefield_CT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GVRM, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Grand Velas Riviera Maya, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2013

Dear guests,

On behalf of Grand Velas Riviera Maya we would like to thank you for your preference. It is our mission to search for excellence and guest’s satisfaction every day and your comments encourage us to continue with this effort, we will be glad to share them with all the members of our staff.
The internet connection is a priority for us to ensure our guests are connected properly while they are on vacation, for that reason the necessary measures are being taken in order to improve the quality of this service.

We really hope to have the opportunity to serve you in your future vacations.

Warmest regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2013

The Grand Velas is not a cheap vacation, but you get what you pay for and this Resort is worth paying more for the experience you receive. The only issue I have with the resort is the Xen resort is a long way from the beach. You have to take a shuttle and it is very hot and humid at the Xen.
The food and restaurants are outstanding and the service is well above average. We stayed at the main pool on the water and it was a perfect location. The rooms were outstanding and the beds, shower and pillows were perfect..the beach was fine and swimming was fun..there are not many events sponsored by the resort, but I think that is by design. Not as much a kid friendly resort as others with that focus. Overall I would strongly recommend Grand Velas..it will be enjoyable.

Room Tip: If you like the ocean do not stay at the Xen location
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rich B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GVRM, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Grand Velas Riviera Maya, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2013

Dear guest,

Warm greetings from Grand Velas Riviera Maya! We would like to thank you for your visit on your most recent stay in paradise and for your invaluable comments. We hope to have the opportunity to serve you in your next vacations!!

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
0.7 mi away
Banyan Tree Mayakoba
Banyan Tree Mayakoba
#3 of 215 in Playa del Carmen
2,218 reviews
0.8 mi away
Fairmont Mayakoba
Fairmont Mayakoba
#10 of 215 in Playa del Carmen
4,371 reviews
1.1 mi away
Rosewood Mayakoba
Rosewood Mayakoba
#2 of 215 in Playa del Carmen
1,802 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 mi away
Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso
Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso
#1 of 11 in Playa Paraiso
6,090 reviews
4.2 mi away
The Royal Playa del Carmen
The Royal Playa del Carmen
#12 of 215 in Playa del Carmen
16,862 reviews
5.6 mi away
Secrets Maroma Beach Riviera Cancun
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Velas Riviera Maya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Velas Riviera Maya

Address: Carretera Cancun Tulum Km 62 Playa Del Carmen Municipio De Solidaridad, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#3 Spa Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#4 Luxury Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#16 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#17 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range: £547 - £1,138 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Velas Riviera Maya 5*
Number of rooms: 493
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Velas Riviera Maya is one of the newest resorts to distinguish Riviera Maya as a premier vacation destination. The uniquely Mexican world-class hospitality we provide is "Beyond All Inclusive, Beyond All Compare", and we are proud to be the only family-friendly All Inclusive resort in the Mexican Caribbean to have been rated Five Diamonds by the AAA. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Expedia, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Grand Velas Riviera Maya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Velas All Suites & Spa Resort, Riviera Maya Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Grand Velas All Suites And Spa Resort, Riviera Maya
Grand Velas Hotel Riviera Maya
Grand Velas Riviera Maya Mexico - Playa Del Carmen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing