We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing customer service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Grand Velas Riviera Maya
Ranked #4 of 215 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 12 May 2014

Every single employee that I encountered provided stellar customer service. Yes, the food, beach, pool, spa, ocean, view, room, etc. were all fantastic, but the staff (concierge, front desk, restaurant staff, bartenders, drivers, room service, everyone!) made our trip thoroughly enjoyable.

If you plan on spending time on the beach, try to find Pedro & Santiago (they were in the area in front of Azul restaurant at the end of April). I don't know how they did it, but every time we needed something, they were available and ready to assist us with a smile on their faces.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Brian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DirectorGVRM, Director General at Grand Velas Riviera Maya, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2014

Thank you Brian for bringing to light the “fantastic” service that you received during your “thoroughly enjoyable” trip. The personalized service aspect that you mention really helps to complement the cuisine and the infrastructure of the resort resulting in a complete vacation experience. Special kudos will go to Pedro and Santiago (again) as they are certainly proving their warm friendliness and eagerness to please amongst many of our guests. I am glad that the overall experience left you with some happy memories and I hope that those same thoughts encourage you to revisit the place where the customer service was outstanding.

Thank you again Brian and fond greetings to you in Wilmington, Delaware. Take care.

RODOLFO GONZALEZ
DIRECTOR GENERAL
GRAND VELAS RIVIERA MAYA
rgonzalezgvrm@velasresorts.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,375)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,622 - 1,628 of 3,375 reviews

Reviewed 11 May 2014

For me this is the best option of all inclusive hotels in the riviera maya, there is nothing compared, you get excellent food and service, something not very common when you already have everything included. Been there two times and would definitely return, the best rooms are the suites, but the others are also very good and excellent for kids.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Traveler4Leisure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DirectorGVRM, Director General at Grand Velas Riviera Maya, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2014

Thank you for expressing your pleasure in vacationing with us while in Playa del Carmen. It is a real honor for us to be your “best option” especially when travelling all the way from Europe. I am glad that the cuisine and service really stood out in a positive way as they are what we excel in when creating memories for our valued guests. I hope that we can have the pleasure in hosting you again in the resort where you feel confident that your expectations will be met and even eclipsed.

Thank you again and tutto il meglio per voi a Milano, Italia.
Cordiali saluti.

RODOLFO GONZALEZ
DIRECTOR GENERAL
GRAND VELAS RIVIERA MAYA
rgonzalezgvrm@velasresorts.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2014

There is not much you can write about Gran Velas Rivera Maya, I guess PERFECTION is the only word that can describe this place, every detail and service to its greatest perfection! We will like highly recommend the restaurant Sen Lin restaurant and special attention by dream maker Tony, excellent service and experience, not only he was our server last night. He made our last day really special and definitely made every effort to surprise us and make a special experience. Highly recommend if you ever visit the Gran Velas Sen Lin restaurant ask for Tony! You will see what service and new experience means!

Room Tip: We choose the ambassador are as it is next to the pool and beach, it is a little more expensive but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jonathan0654
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DirectorGVRM, Director General at Grand Velas Riviera Maya, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2014

Jonathan, thank you very much for having chosen to spend your vacation time to be with us. To consider us as “perfection” is of the highest compliments and we work as a team in order to achieve as close as possible in attaining that lofty goal. Tony, one of our wait staff in Sen Lin as you point out is really one of the stars of our ample staff.
Your recognition of his contribution towards the success of your holiday will be passed on to him so as he can see firsthand the satisfaction of a valued client. Jonathan, thank you again for your preference and Tony along with all the 1,300 Grand Velas employees gladly await your return.
All the best this summer in paradise.
Take care.

RODOLFO GONZALEZ
DIRECTOR GENERAL
GRAND VELAS RIVIERA MAYA
rgonzalezgvrm@velasresorts.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2014

One of the best to stay in in the Playa del Carmen area. Ambassador suites are large, well-furnished and some have private plunge pools. Everything is included - from the mini-bar to the multiple five-star restaurants on property. Large main pool has plenty of lounge chairs plus the beach so there's no struggle to be outside. During busy season, make dinner reservations well in advance, or you will be dining no earlier than 9:30pm. If fact after three visits I still have not dined in Frida. Piaf (french) is excellent and you must try Cocina de Autor at least once but expect a very long dining experience. Must take a shuttle to reach the large fitness center and spa located in the Zen area. It would be nice if they cut through the jungle to incorporate a sidewalk rather than relying on shuttles.

Certainly an experience that lives up to the cost!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Worldgirl25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DirectorGVRM, Director General at Grand Velas Riviera Maya, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2014

Thank you very much for your delightful comments on your recent business trip with us. I am very pleased that you consider this trip on of the best in your travels to Playa del Carmen. Comments like this really motivate us to continue and to even better the guest experience. Once our guests have confirmed their vacation reservation with us they are then able to reserve for dining on-line or directly with our team of butlers and concierge. In peak times it is a good idea, we only ask of our guests to be as punctual as possible in order for the experience to be enjoyable and fulfilling. Unfortunately due to environmental laws we cannot make a cut in the mangrove as it is an important element to the local eco system. I hope that you have the opportunity to revisit your favorite resort in Playa del Carmen in order to finally enjoy the culinary experience in Frida.

Thank you again for your kind comments and have an excellent summer up in Des Moines, Iowa. Take care.

RODOLFO GONZALEZ
DIRECTOR GENERAL
GRAND VELAS RIVIERA MAYA
rgonzalezgvrm@velasresorts.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2014

Just returned from our 4 nts stay at Grand Velas. And we LOVED IT!
Our room was in Zen section and it was great. Peaceful, spacious and luxurious room on the ground floor w/nice patio. Never heard any noise from our neighbors.
Property is beautiful! Zen pool was always empty. We never stayed there – not sure why would one prefer it to an oceanfront pool by Ambassador or Grand Class sections.
Never had to wait more than a minute for a shuttle (A/C vans) will take you from Zen to any other section of the resort. Very prompt and efficient!
The service by the beach & pools was always good. Some days better than others but no complaints. Plenty of available chairs (both beach & pool).
Restaurants are really good!!! We usually had breakfast and lunch at Azul or Bistro. Dined & loved Autor, Piaf and Sen Lin. Didn’t try Freda. Didn’t care for (neither service nor food) at Luca. I think, service @ Luca was on a different (lower) level than the other 3 restaurants. There are definitely ways for improvements there!
Beach: Beautiful long white beach but if you are a person who likes to swim in the ocean – think twice. Way too many rocks in the ocean. We walked to Mykoba resort and it seems like the ocean was way better there (hardly any rocks).
Saw our concierge once. He showed us our room and very briefly advised us about some amenities. Never called or showed up again.
OVERALL it was great stay and would definitely consider coming back!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ella B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DirectorGVRM, Director General at Grand Velas Riviera Maya, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2014

Thank you Ella for selecting Grand Velas for your May vacation. I am sorry for the disappointment that you felt at our Lucca dining venue. It is normally one of the more favorite selections amongst our valued guests and I wish to see to it that lapses such as the one you experienced do not happen again. Most guests prefer the Ambassador pool area for the liveliness and ocean view, but for guests who yearn for some tranquility the pools of the Zen ambience are the perfect fit. I am glad that you would consider us again as your Playa del Carmen vacation destination and it would honor us greatly to be your hosts.
Thank you again for your preference and we wish you all the best this summer up in Chicago.

Take care.
RODOLFO GONZALEZ
DIRECTOR GENERAL
GRAND VELAS RIVIERA MAYA
rgonzalezgvrm@velasresorts.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2014

We loved everything about our visit! The room was amazing and we loved the Grand Class. Our concierge was very attentive and helpful. We came on a babymoon, but would definitely come back and stay Ambassador with the kids. Great restaurants and pools.

Room Tip: Stay at the top for the best view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AmandaDD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DirectorGVRM, Director General at Grand Velas Riviera Maya, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2014

Thank you Amanda for your brief review on your babymoon here at Grand Velas. I am glad that you got the chance to enjoy and taste the ambience at our Grand Class section before you become proud parents, where of course the Ambassador and Zen ambiences will be more than fine for your young family. I hope that we can be your first Mexican vacation setting when the little one is able to fly and maybe it will be interesting to know if he feels a little familiarity with the surroundings because in a sense it will not have been his first time.Amanda, congratulations to you and your husband on your special and loving moment in life. From all of us at Grand Velas we wish you and your young family the best of wishes and a happy future.

Take care.
RODOLFO GONZALEZ
DIRECTOR GENERAL
GRAND VELAS RIVIERA MAYA
rgonzalezgvrm@velasresorts.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2014

My family and I recently vacationed at Grand Velas. The resort is beautiful. The rooms are extremely spacious and luxurious. The food is amazing at Piaf, Cocina and Frida. Our kids loved the teen center, equipped with video games, pool table, ping pong, etc. Everyday we passed the Dream Art Photography table and marveled at the beautiful photos they had on display. We decided to take a family portrait on the beach. Our photographer made the hour long shoot relaxing and fun. The photos came out gorgeous!! We are so happy to have such beautiful photos to always remember our wonderful memories at Grand Velas!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 36lovetravel17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DirectorGVRM, Director General at Grand Velas Riviera Maya, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2014

Thank you so much for having brought your family to vacation at our resort. I am very happy that everybody enjoyed themselves and that the memories are now forever in your household to behold and enjoy for years to come. I hope that you can return one day with the family in order to create new moments of joy while relaxing and being pampered with that luxurious feeling.
Thank you for your positive comments and all the best to you in Basking Ridge, New Jersey.

Take care.
RODOLFO GONZALEZ
DIRECTOR GENERAL
GRAND VELAS RIVIERA MAYA
rgonzalezgvrm@velasresorts.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
0.7 mi away
Banyan Tree Mayakoba
Banyan Tree Mayakoba
#3 of 215 in Playa del Carmen
2,219 reviews
0.8 mi away
Fairmont Mayakoba
Fairmont Mayakoba
#9 of 215 in Playa del Carmen
4,380 reviews
1.1 mi away
Rosewood Mayakoba
Rosewood Mayakoba
#2 of 215 in Playa del Carmen
1,804 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 mi away
Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso
Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso
#1 of 11 in Playa Paraiso
6,096 reviews
4.2 mi away
The Royal Playa del Carmen
The Royal Playa del Carmen
#12 of 215 in Playa del Carmen
16,877 reviews
5.6 mi away
Secrets Maroma Beach Riviera Cancun
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Velas Riviera Maya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Velas Riviera Maya

Address: Carretera Cancun Tulum Km 62 Playa Del Carmen Municipio De Solidaridad, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#2 Green Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#3 Spa Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#4 Luxury Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#16 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#17 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range: £541 - £1,126 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Velas Riviera Maya 5*
Number of rooms: 493
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Velas Riviera Maya is one of the newest resorts to distinguish Riviera Maya as a premier vacation destination. The uniquely Mexican world-class hospitality we provide is "Beyond All Inclusive, Beyond All Compare", and we are proud to be the only family-friendly All Inclusive resort in the Mexican Caribbean to have been rated Five Diamonds by the AAA. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Expedia, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Grand Velas Riviera Maya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Velas All Suites & Spa Resort, Riviera Maya Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Grand Velas All Suites And Spa Resort, Riviera Maya
Grand Velas Hotel Riviera Maya
Grand Velas Riviera Maya Mexico - Playa Del Carmen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing