We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing vacation”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Grand Velas Riviera Maya
Ranked #3 of 214 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
San Antonio, Texas
2 reviews
“Amazing vacation”
Reviewed 23 June 2014

The amazing resort was beyond expectation. The poolside/beachside service from Jose & Carlos were as if we were celebrities!! Highly recommend this resort if you need to be pampered with spectacular service & delicious food!! Thank you Grand Velas!!!

Room Tip: Grand Class if you want to escape the younger generation.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shannon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,985 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,410
    380
    107
    54
    34
See reviews for
1,251
925
23
388
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (771)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
san francisco
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014

We just got back from a lovely 7 day vacation at this beautiful resort. The property is gorgeous, the pools beautiful, the food fantastic and the beds are the most comfortable beds I've slept in in a really long time (LOVE THE PILLOWS!!). I thought the Gran Velas was a beautiful vacation spot and a perfect place for couples, honeymooners, calm families or even a group of friends who appreciate fine dining and relaxation. We were with a pretty energetic group of 13 (8 adults and 5 kids ages 7-14). When we chose the Gran Velas, we thought that it being an all-inclusive with a teen and kid club meant something along the line of an upscale Club Med with organized activities, sports, water activities etc…., honestly, the all-inclusive really meant all food and drink (which we certainly got our monies worth of). At first we were a little disappointed that there wasn't more to do there, but we all seemed to settle in to a more mellow type of vacation with a daily water polo game as well as beach volleyball. Sergio, Tote and Carina were really instrumental in getting people to participate in these games and they were a lot of fun. It would have been nice if there was also a volleyball net in the pool and more than just one daily game.

Another thing we were told was that as an all-inclusive package..everything including tips was covered in the price we paid for our vacation. Unfortunately, after every meal or activity we were also given a bill with a space for tips (which we ignored). After speaking to other guests that gave daily tips, we started to feel a little guilty every time we signed for something (and didn't leave extra). That being said, the service at the resort was PHENOMENAL! Everyone was super friendly and accommodating. Our concierge Cesar was warm and attentive and even went out of the resort to find exercise "noodles" for my mother-in-law to use in the pool.

We tended to sit in the same location every day and therefore had the same attendant poolside who catered to our every need. Henri Romero was fantastic. When we arrived at the pool, our towels would be put out for us, the umbrella would be opened for my in-laws, fresh water in ice buckets would promptly arrive and we never went very long without being asked if we wanted a drink or something to eat. Henri even went out of his way to make up drinks for us based on what we liked. Everything was always done with a smile. Miguel, Erik and Tayde were also extremely helpful on the couple of days Henri was not there or we sat elsewhere.

The food at this resort is different from what you would expect at a Mexican hotel. There are 7 restaurants including one that serves "molecular" food. If you are someone who appreciates fine dining, this is the place for you. While most of the restaurants served small portions, you could order whatever you wanted so if you were hungry, you could just order more. A few of the restaurants are adult only so on those nights, the kids ordered room service or went to one of the casual restaurants while the adults dined alone. The resort was not full this past week and it felt extremely safe and the kids felt very "adult" eating together without their parents.

We stayed in the Ambassador section of the hotel and our rooms were 30 feet from the pool. The rooms are spacious and well appointed with a big jacuzzi tub and a lovely deck. We were in the section closest to the beach and most of the activities. Because we were with the kids, this was perfect for us. There is also the Zen area where the spa is and the Gran Class which I believe is adult only. There really is something for everyone.

All in all it was a lovely week. I would highly recommend the Gran Velas if you are looking to be pampered, relax and get away from it all. If you are looking for a place that is a little more high energy with constant activities, nightly entertainment (shows, organized events etc…) and a lot of organized games etc…, this probably isn't the place for you. There really wasn't a lot of water activities (sail boats, snorkeling, paddle boards, kayaks, etc..) and while beautiful, the water was a little rocky at the beach.

Thank you to the Gran Velas for making our family vacation so easy.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ltshaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014

My college girlfriends and myself traveled to this beautiful, serene, perfectly manicured destination where the service was impecable. Eduardo and his highly professional staff catered to our every need at all times. The resort is all inclusive so no need to bring your wallet...all is taken care of prior to your arrival so you do not need to worry about having cash. The concierge scheduled a wonderful adventure for zip-lining, snorkeling through caves and overall fun! The restaurants were perfect. We stayed in Grand Class beachfront and the views were phenomenal! I have nothing negative to say. Absolute perfection!

Room Tip: Beachfront Suites are beautiful especially at sunrise and sunset!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AimeeS1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
61 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014

I stayed at the Grand Velas over the Memorial Day weekend 2014. This is by far the nicest all-inclusive that I have stayed at. I secured my own transportation with Cancun Valet. Their private vans are clean and the drivers are very courteous. We stayed in the Ambassador section. What an impressive property. I loved the check in process at Grand Velas. No standing at the counter! We were escorted to our room and given a “tour”. I requested to be changed to a room closer to the elevators and was given a beautiful 2 king bed room.
The pool, pool side service, and swim up bar were excellent. There was never an issue securing pool chairs. The beach area was well cleaned and you can walk north and south of the resort. I did take part in the “free” snorkeling. A lifeguard takes a group out in ocean kayaks to a nearby reef. That is a work out for sure on a windy day. We then got out and snorkeled for about 30 minutes. What a lovely excursion!
We ate most breakfast and lunch meals at the buffet restaurant Azul. The tropical fruit is to die for. Sometimes we had lunch on the outdoor patio at Bistro. The pizza there was tasty! We never did eat poolside due to the windy conditions. For dinner we tried Sen Lin, Lucca, Frida and for the last night Cocina de Autor. We had excellent meals and the included wine was great! The creative cuisine at Cocina was interesting at times, but overall an enjoyable experience.
As other people have posted, night life is bit sparse here. We did watch a hockey game in the sports bar in the Zen area after dinner one night and it was pretty empty. The piano and karaoke bars were also not busy.

Again as on other posts, the staff at the Grand Velas is attentive, friendly and hardworking and this property is amazing. I never needed to use my concierge but was comforted knowing I had a contact person. I would return to this resort in a heartbeat.

Room Tip: The top floor has vaulted ceilings and a great view of the ocean and grounds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chicagoTRVLR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014

My partner and our 5 year old just finished a 6 day vacation at Grand Velas and we were not disappointed. We initially booked the Zen Garden but on arrival we decided to upgrade to the Ambassador Suites so that we could be closer to the pool and beach. If you are able to and are traveling with a child I would recommend. The service, from start to finish, was pure perfection. The staff was on point, welcoming, gracious and hospitable. I am in the hotel business so these points of service are important to me. A special shout out to Fernanda and Dinorah who were especially present throughout our stay. There is no need to leave the resort but if you chose to I would suggest a day trip to Tulum for breathtaking beach and relaxation. As a gay couple we are always in search of environments that are safe and friendly and this was all that and then some. We highly recommend this hotel if you have Mexico on your radar as a vacation destination.

Room Tip: Ambassador suites had amazing views and more accessible to "kid friendly" locations (pool...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Michael P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
38 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 202 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2014

We stayed at Grand Velas Resort in Riviera Maya for a gal’s weekend away. This resort is truly lovely and luxury in every sense. Our suite was huge with a wonderful full view of the ocean. We had the plunge pool on our balcony in the adult’s section. We did explore all over the property to try to see it all. One thing that many may not realize is that although the resort says “adult’s area” this section of the resort is really like its own hotel. You don’t have to be worried that it’s a small area just for adults---it’s a big place with its own restaurant, pool and lobby where you also have full access to the other 2 sections of the entire resort. I realize that this review is a bit late (stayed a few months back in Dec. 2014) so thought I’d write a short review and post some pictures since the pictures really say it all…it’s a beautiful place! Enjoy this fabulous resort with great grounds, beautiful accommodations, wonderful accommodating staff and probably the best food I’ve ever had in a Mexico resort property. Our purpose was to get away for a few days before the holiday hectic time and just rest and relax. It was exactly what we were hoping for.

Room Tip: Ocean views are fabulous from the adult's section.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ali123travels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2014

Terrific hotel. Beautiful facility, attentive and friendly staff, outstanding restaurants. Pricey, but all inclusive is worth it, especially dinner. Wines served were very good Ambassador pool is terrific. Includes pool bar.

Room Tip: Grand zen is a two minute ride to beach area. Views aren't as good, but seems quieter at night...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa del Carmen
6.9 mi away
Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso
Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso
#1 of 11 in Playa Paraiso
5.0 of 5 bubbles 5,716 reviews
2.7 mi away
Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Esmeralda
Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Es...
#33 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,739 reviews
13.6 mi away
Now Jade Riviera Cancun
Now Jade Riviera Cancun
#9 of 25 in Puerto Morelos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 8,365 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Perla
Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Pe...
#23 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 8,140 reviews
5.6 mi away
Secrets Maroma Beach Riviera Cancun
2.7 mi away
Occidental at Xcaret Destination
Occidental at Xcaret Destination
#75 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 11,803 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Velas Riviera Maya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Velas Riviera Maya

Property: Grand Velas Riviera Maya
Address: Carretera Cancun Tulum Km. 62 | Municipio de Solidaridad, Quintana Roo, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#3 Luxury Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#3 Spa Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#17 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#23 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Velas Riviera Maya 5*
Number of rooms: 493
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Opened in 2008, the luxurious All Inclusive Luxury Resort Grand Velas Riviera Maya is one of the newest resorts to distinguish Riviera Maya as a premier vacation destination. The uniquely Mexican world-class hospitality we provide is "Beyond All Inclusive, Beyond All Compare", and we are proud to be the only family-friendly All Inclusive resort in the Mexican Caribbean to have been rated Five Diamonds by the AAA. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Velas Riviera Maya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Velas All Suites And Spa Resort, Riviera Maya
Grand Velas All Suites & Spa Resort, Riviera Maya Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Grand Velas Hotel Riviera Maya
Grand Velas Riviera Maya Mexico - Playa Del Carmen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing