We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“We go every year, but there are improvements to be made”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Grand Velas Riviera Maya
Ranked #3 of 214 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Oak View, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“We go every year, but there are improvements to be made”
Reviewed 10 July 2014

We love the service, the pools, the food, the rooms. We'll continue to go, but over the years they have been cutting back on special touches. They used to provide a wonderful lavender spray for the linens--no more. The mouthwash is terrible---don't try it. The toilet paper is rough and obviously the cheapest brand.
Worst change: they CHARGE for internet usage. Guests cannot use the business center (for even 10 minutes) without a hefty charge. They need to take a clue from Marriott and other resorts. They should not charge this much for a vacation and have this insulting charge added on. We would rate them Excellent if it weren't for this terrible policy. All the guests discuss it and find it to be very bad form.

Concierge services are the best ever and we look forward to seeing them every year!!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Candice L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,989 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,414
    380
    107
    54
    34
See reviews for
1,252
925
23
390
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (773)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ferndale, Michigan, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2014

Great resort. Amazing restaurants- some of the best food I've ever had. Not a place for those seeking night life - pretty low-key after sunset. Pool was one of the best I've ever seen. Spa amazing - treat your wife! Service - concierge for you hallway - was amazing. Absolutely first class all the way.

Minus a star for charging for internet service. For the all-inclusive premium you pay, you should not be charged for wifi in my opinion.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Brian P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
1 review
Reviewed 9 July 2014

My mother, my sister in law and I spent a wonderful week at Grand Velas Riviera Maya. The resort was extremely well run and well kept. The rooms were very clean and the hotel staff was very courteous and catered to our every need. We stayed in the Grand class and each room had its own private plunge pool. We would return and stay in the same area. The food was excellent at all of the restaurants on the property. Marco was also an excellent server at the pool in the Grand Class. We would highly recommend finding Marco to serve you!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank B8951UCamandac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iowa City, Iowa
1 review
Reviewed 8 July 2014

I cannot say enough about how wonderful this resort is! From the very first moment we arrived, we were treated like royalty, and this continued for the entire week that we were there. We stayed in the Grand Class section (adults only) and would highly recommend splurging for the ocean views and quiet atmosphere. The concierge staff were always so helpful in answering any questions we had or giving recommendations. Ana and Claudia were especially kind and helpful. They truly made our vacation amazing and unforgettable! Everyone throughout the resort has a smile on their face!

The food at Grand Velas is fabulous. We tried every restaurant except for Cocina de Autor and loved every experience. The food presentation was beautiful and the quality of food excellent.

We especially loved the atmosphere at the Grand Class infinity pool. We spent most of our afternoons enjoying the perfect views, relaxing pool, and great service (special thank you to Carlos for this). The beach is also beautiful and clean. Grand Velas works very hard to keep it that way. I walked up and down the beach and found that nearby resorts were full of seaweed and people had to wait in lines for food/drinks. Not us! We were well taken care of and had the best beach by far. I also enjoyed the free kayak rentals...nothing quite like it!

This was truly a trip of a lifetime. It may be more expensive than other resorts, but the experience is worth EVERY PENNY! I am already saving up to visit again! Thank you Grand Velas, for a beautiful experience!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nichole E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014 via mobile

The lush vegetation, gorgeous entrance, the grand lobby with breathtaking views. If that's not enough for you, the delectable cuisine and superb service are just one of the many reasons why Grand Velas riviera Maya is above the rest, on a class on its own. From the moment you enter the property, you will be treated as if you are the only guest at the hotel. The accommodations are way above standard, and please don't leave without visiting the Spa.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alb0871
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York, NY
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014

My husband and I stayed from June 23rd – July 1st on our honeymoon. I labored a lot on the best hotel so this review will include the information I look for when researching.

First Impression: AMAZING! The entrance is grand and it takes two minutes to get to the Zen Lobby. You’re surrounded by plush immaculately manicured jungle. I was concerned that the Zen area wouldn’t have the “wow” factor since it was cheaper than the other two sections (Still expensive for an average traveler), but I was pleasantly surprised and preferred these quarters compared to the other two hotels.

Transportation – I emailed the hotel a few times to find out about the transportation, but never received a response. There was a bit of a hiccup with the alternative transportation we planned, but when I called the hotel at the airport, G, which picked us up shortly. I was a little annoyed, but they upgraded our Zen property to a room with a pool. The hotel shuttle is $75USD one way. We took a cab when we checked out, which was $67USD.

Check-In – We arrived around 1:00pm and were escorted to our room within 10 minutes. Check-in is a breeze. The concierge comes to you and explains your package the amenities, etc. all while you drink their delicious tea and cool off with a cold towel. My husband and I appreciated not having to wait until check-in.

Room – It’s huge, more than enough room for two people. Very clean with cute slipper and his and her robes. I was concerned the room wouldn’t be cool enough, but some nights we had to lower it. In fact, our glasses would fog up as we left for the day given the difference of temperature between our rooms and outside. The pond is lovely, but I don’t think the extra $125 a night is worth it for a pond and a very small plunge pool, nevertheless, my husband and I appreciated the upgrade for our honeymoon.

Pools – In order of preference. By far, the Ambassador is where it’s at. The pool is amazing!! Service is great and it’s next to Azul, the buffet restaurant for breakfast and lunch. The beach is a few steps away. Because we were there during the off season, it felt very empty, which we liked. The Zen Pool is lovely, surrounded by plush jungle. My only complaint is there were leaves because of the foliage, but really, lovely and quite. Grand Class was a smaller, infinity layout and also by the beach. I didn’t have a desire to swim in this pool, but I learned that you can order from Bistro and eat it poolside, which is definitely a plus.

Beach - Soft white sand, but a little rocky.

Transportation throughout the Resort – The resort is not really walkable expect from Ambassador to Grand Class. They have 12 prompt Nilsson and Mercedes shuttles; traveling from one part to another shouldn’t be an issue.

Food – 6 out of the 8 restaurants are gourmet, which means, if you’re a picky eater you may find the menus limiting. Here is my breakdown in order of preference.
Frida’s - Ate here twice. Fine Mexican cuisine, no tacos, guacamole or burritos on this menu. Food is simply amazing. Gilberto was our waiter twice and made our experience. The poblano soup was delish and the rib eye outstanding. Churros were divine.
Lucca – Ate here twice. Italian fine dining. Very very good.
Bistro – Ate here twice for lunch. Simple Mediterranean cuisine. Catch of the day was outstanding.
Chackka – Ate here for breakfast and lunch. Fine
Azul – Buffet breakfast and lunch. Okay, nothing amazing.
Cocina Artur – For the foodie or Adventurous kind. You are served an 8 course tasting menu of the Chef’s choosing. Some of the items were out there and although I wouldn’t eat here again, I’m glad I had the experience.
Zen Lin - Hated it. Nothing on the menu appealed to me. This is what we ate the first night and I was nervous this would be our whole dining experience.

Tipping – It’s all inclusive so you don’t have to, but I feel they work very hard so what is a few dollars. My advice would be to have a $100USD in singles on hand and tip at your discretion. The staff gratefully accepted tips, which may be frowned upon in other chains.

Overall Impression – You will be in the lap of luxury. The staff is amazing and willing to make your trip unforgettable. I thought 8-days may be too long, but we really didn’t want to leave. There is not much nightlife or nearby cultural institutes, but we still had a wonderful time.

Tips for the Traveler: This is the information I will take with me next time we go.
- Stop at Walmart to buy toiletries and snorkel gear, and inflatable rafts for the pool / beach.
- Rent a car if you’re going to frequent town as a cab will cost you $23USD one way.
- Tour to Telum and Xel-ha was great, but very long. I would have liked to swim in the ocean, but we didn’t have enough time and I didn’t want to get back on the bus wet. We we arrived at Xel-ha at 11:30 and weren’t picked up until 6pm. For me this was way too long. Next time I would drive to both.
- Use sunblock. I tan, but burned a bit here. Don’t worry about the weather reports. Our forecast was cloudy and rainy all week and didn’t rain once.

Tips for the Hotel: Our stay was perfect, but here are some things that would make it even better
- Provide a shuttle into town every few hours, perhaps 9, 12, 3, 6, and 8pm
- Allow your guests to shower in the spa if they have a late flight home or create a partially enclosed shower on the beach.
- Better guacamole. There was only a mild version, which was very disappointing

Room Tip: Zen Suite is It’s huge, more than enough room for two people. Very clean with cute slipper and his a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank JLRO R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glendale, California
1 review
Reviewed 6 July 2014

Ludovic is the man!!! He was able to capture the most unbelievable photos that i will cherish forever. Ludovic made me feel comfortable and brought out the best in me. It is so important to find someone that makes you feel comfortable and confident especially for me because I am sensitive and shy but he definitely made it super relaxed for me. I recommend Ludovic Deforscau for all occasion photos and cant wait to go back to Grand Velas to do another session and have the most amazing time.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank G C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa del Carmen
6.9 mi away
Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso
Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso
#1 of 11 in Playa Paraiso
5.0 of 5 bubbles 5,720 reviews
2.7 mi away
Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Esmeralda
Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Es...
#33 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,747 reviews
13.6 mi away
Now Jade Riviera Cancun
Now Jade Riviera Cancun
#9 of 25 in Puerto Morelos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 8,377 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Perla
Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Pe...
#23 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 8,147 reviews
5.6 mi away
Secrets Maroma Beach Riviera Cancun
2.7 mi away
Occidental at Xcaret Destination
Occidental at Xcaret Destination
#75 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 11,824 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Velas Riviera Maya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Velas Riviera Maya

Property: Grand Velas Riviera Maya
Address: Carretera Cancun Tulum Km. 62 | Municipio de Solidaridad, Quintana Roo, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#2 Green Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#3 Spa Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#3 Luxury Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#17 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#23 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Velas Riviera Maya 5*
Number of rooms: 493
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Opened in 2008, the luxurious All Inclusive Luxury Resort Grand Velas Riviera Maya is one of the newest resorts to distinguish Riviera Maya as a premier vacation destination. The uniquely Mexican world-class hospitality we provide is "Beyond All Inclusive, Beyond All Compare", and we are proud to be the only family-friendly All Inclusive resort in the Mexican Caribbean to have been rated Five Diamonds by the AAA. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Velas Riviera Maya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Velas All Suites And Spa Resort, Riviera Maya
Grand Velas All Suites & Spa Resort, Riviera Maya Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Grand Velas Hotel Riviera Maya
Grand Velas Riviera Maya Mexico - Playa Del Carmen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing