We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Restaurants”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Grand Velas Riviera Maya
Ranked #3 of 213 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 29 July 2014

The menu at Sen Lin is the most unique among one's choices at the Grand Velas Riviera Maya. If you don't have children then I recommend a reservation after 8pm so you miss the family crowd. Second to this I enjoyed Piaf and lastly Autor. The romantic decor is at Piaf. The Bistro is the best spot for Breakfast and Lunch as the view and tranquility may be enjoyed. Also recommend a shopping day in Playa del Carmen. Fine women's resort wear boutiques are easily found along 5th Avenue and some lovely 'Freda' paraphernalia.

Room Tip: Select a room on the 3rd and 4th floor and choose room number 3045 or 4045 and up so that your room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank ModeTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DirectorGVRM, Director General at Grand Velas Riviera Maya, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2014

Thank you very much for your delightful insights and tips on dining in Grand Velas and shopping in Playa del Carmen. It is nice that you took the time to study and evaluate exactly what culinary venues and schedules would optimize your vacation time, leaving you even more time in which to enjoy some shopping. I hope that in the future you can return to enjoy each of our eight culinary options and also see the latest in ladies apparel on 5th Avenue, Playa del Carmen. Thank you again and have an excellent fall in fashionable Toronto, Ontario. Take care.

RODOLFO GONZALEZ
DIRECTOR GENERAL
GRAND VELAS RIVIERA MAYA
rgonzalezgvrm@velasresorts.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,326)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,473 - 1,479 of 3,326 reviews

Reviewed 29 July 2014

We are a family of four with two boys of 4 and 6. We had a great time at this hotel. the place was packed and we never felt it crowded. The kids had an awesome time enjoying the beach and pools. The staff is really good, nice and warm people. I can't mention all names though I would say a few, Paco the concierge, Luis our beach waiter and the the girls at the kid's club in the smaller facility, really nice people.
Just two more comments, it's a bit dark at night for kids and spoons, always need to ask for them as they are never set on the table, don't know why.

Room Tip: I would stay in the rooms near the Spa.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank iohamil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DirectorGVRM, Director General at Grand Velas Riviera Maya, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2014

It is always nice when I know that another family had an extraordinary time on their visit to Grand Velas. We realize the importance of keeping the little ones well entertained and with big hearty smiles on their faces. After all they are just as much our clients as the parents are and our girls in the kids club hold the highest value in the happiness of the children. I am pleased that you felt the openness and freedom that our resort provides and as it is beautifully blended into the nature of the area it truly lends itself to a very unique and inspiring experience. Your comment on providing spoons to the children during dining is a valid one. I will advise my restaurant managers to be alert to that detail in order to help the little ones enjoy their culinary experience even that much more.

Thank you also for your fine recognition of Paco and Luis who were an integral part of your experience and overall happiness. I will have the personal pleasure of having them recognized on your behalf for their positive contributions to your vacation. I wish you and the family a fabulous summer in beautiful South Miami, Florida and I hope that you and the kids keep these great memories right up to your next holiday with us. Take care.

RODOLFO GONZALEZ
DIRECTOR GENERAL
GRAND VELAS RIVIERA MAYA
rgonzalezgvrm@velasresorts.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2014

If you plan on vacationing in Riviera Maya, you MUST stay at Grand Velas! The entrance to the property is magnificent as is the hotel itself. My family and I stayed in an Ambassador suite on the fourth floor. The suite was very spacious with high ceilings, yet it did not feel empty since it was well decorated with modern furniture and artwork all around. Our balcony was the best part-- we had a lovely view of the hotel's multiple infinity pools and, of course, the beautiful ocean. Food was hands down the best I've ever had in terms of quality and variety. I'm a foodie from New York City and have vacationed in many different countries where I've tried a variety of cultural cuisines. Grand Velas' restaurants are top of the line. My family and I got introduced to the hotel's head chef, Eric De Maeyer, upon first arriving to the hotel. Each night after, we were privileged to meet the head chef of each restaurant we dined at for dinner. We even shared a meal with the F&B manager, Caesar Camacho! It was such a pleasure being greeted and served by such a friendly staff at each of the restaurants we visited. Quality of service is everything to me; the staff at the hotel (i.e. staff working at restaurants, beach/pool, front desk, housekeeping, suite service, bell boys, etc.) was absolutely phenomenal. As for the property itself, all greenery was kept neat and flowers blooming. The building, too, was kept in pristine condition. From the time we entered the hotel to the time we left, the staff at Grand Velas made our vacation the best yet. We have zero complaints and are already planning our next trip back there! I HIGHLY RECOMMEND THIS HOTEL!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank anb94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DirectorGVRM, Director General at Grand Velas Riviera Maya, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2014

Thank you so much for your robust feelings and observations on your summer vacation with us. Our market is of course an astute and distinguished clientele whose high end preferences bring out the best in us. It seems that the expectations that you had upon your arrival were a perfect match to the service and product that we pride ourselves on. And not only in delivering innovative culinary dishes per se, but to provide those personal and professional details such as meeting the chefs and managers who really do like to intermingle with the guests in order know the culinary preferences of each one and of course also to get a good measure of the guest´s satisfaction. I must say that with your travelling experience, to be considered as #1 in all of Mexico certainly makes us feel proud that we are doing everything very well. From all of us here at Grand Velas we send you and your family a hearty thank you for your fine recommendation of us. And of course all 1,300 Grand Velas employees will be equally pleased to host you and your lovely family again in the future. Take care and all the best to everyone in NYC.

RODOLFO GONZALEZ
DIRECTOR GENERAL
GRAND VELAS RIVIERA MAYA
rgonzalezgvrm@velasresorts.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2014

Just got back from our vacation at Grand Velas last week. We've been to a lot of luxury hotels and this resort definitely exceeded our expectations. The rooms were very spacious, the beach was beautiful, the service was excellent, and the food was spectacular!!! Everyone was so warm, welcoming and very accommodating especially Cesar and Eric, who really went out of their way to make our stay that much more enjoyable. We were treated royally from the minute we arrived till the day we checked-out. Whether you're vacationing with family or going on a romantic getaway, this resort offers something for everyone. Be sure to try all their restaurants especially the soft shell crabs at Sen Lin. We highly, highly recommend this resort to anyone looking to go to the Riviera Maya. Our experience at Grand Velas was truly "heaven on earth".

Room Tip: If travelling with children request for one of the ambassador suites which is near the pool and the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Agnes B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DirectorGVRM, Director General at Grand Velas Riviera Maya, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2014

Thank you very much Agnes for reserving your recent vacation with us and also for your very kind accolades toward the resort, its service and cuisine. To exceed your expectations to the extent that you describe, considering your ample luxury hotel experience, certainly speaks volumes that we are reaching our goal of being the best. I can confidently rave about the unique qualities of Grand Velas, but your views and those of the many other happy guests say it much better than I do.

From your ample suite, pristine public areas, excellent service and the spectacular cuisine that you so greatly enjoyed says it all. And of course the personal touches of Cesar and Eric, who were your personal stars of the visit, helped to make you sense that this really is a feeling of “heaven on earth”. Thank you again Agnes for your splendid words and your high recommendation of Grand Velas. As I mentioned, your review is the true essence of what a memorable vacation should be. From the 1,300 Grand Velas employees, we send to you and your family our special greetings all the way to your little slice of heaven up in New York. Take care and we look forward to hosting you again.

RODOLFO GONZALEZ
DIRECTOR GENERAL
GRAND VELAS RIVIERA MAYA
rgonzalezgvrm@velasresorts.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2014

Starting from the grand entrance you will incessantly hear yourself exclaiming WOW at every turn and experiences this magnificent hotel has to offer. The staff's hospitality is heartwarming and genuine. The wine selection and food are fit for a royalty. The restaurants are truly world class. This resort exceeds and surpasses our idea of a 5 star hotel with superior service and attentive workers.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank phil b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DirectorGVRM, Director General at Grand Velas Riviera Maya, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2014

Phi,l I can really envision your “wow” expression very well as you were driven through our front gates for the first time while entering the property. Each and every morning I too get that feeling as I arrive to the resort and it truly invigorates the senses and curiosity as to what lies ahead for me each day. The mammoth facade is a great motivator for me and an inspirational sign of things to come for our arriving guests. I am very pleased that our culinary tour exceeded your expectations.

That is just one area that we focus on as being either perfect or as close as one can get to perfection. It is always ideal that guests can enjoy all of our dining venues and the select wines that accompany each one. It is fitting that you mention that our culinary experience is “fit for a royalty” as the very same dining venues have actually had the pleasure of hosting royalty over the years. So you description is very well based. It would please all of us here at Grand Velas if you could find the opportunity to bless us with your personal royalty in the future and relive that “wow experience” all over again. Thank you for your warm comments Phil and we wish you nothing but the best in your endeavors up in lively New York take care.

RODOLFO GONZALEZ
DIRECTOR GENERAL
GRAND VELAS RIVIERA MAYA
rgonzalezgvrm@velasresorts.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2014

We recently stayed at Grand Velas for a week and didn't want to leave! The resort is gorgeous and the staff is super friendly and welcoming. We had a ground floor suite facing the beach. It was really nice for our family to be able to run right out the doors and turn the corner to be at the pool as well. The room was beautiful and well maintained by housekeeping. We really enjoyed the unlimited food and drinks- ceviche and margaritas poolside can't be beaten! We tried Piaf, Sen Lin, and Cocina de Autor. Hope to try the others next time! I would like to recommend our server Tony at Sen Lin. He was wonderful with our kids and at making suggestions from the menu. Most especially, we LOVED Tayde, our pool server. He is fantastic at his job and when we come back, we will find him and camp out in his section! Thanks, Grand Velas!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank MNO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DirectorGVRM, Director General at Grand Velas Riviera Maya, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2014

Thank you for sharing your family´s happiness on your July vacation with everybody on TripAdvisor. Our goal is to have all aspects of your vacation with us to be above your expectations. Everything from your ample suite, snacks and drinks, dining experiences all the way to the fine service provided must be to your great liking, so that not only will you enjoy this vacation, but to feel a need and want to return in the future. Persons such as Tony in Sen Lin and Tayde in our pool area often make good friends with the clients that have the fortune of having them as servers. And we as an organization feel very fortunate as well to have them as part of our staff. Thank you for your kind recognition of their great work and I am sure that when you and your family return they will be right there for you again. Take care and warm greetings to you and everybody in the great state of Georgia.

RODOLFO GONZALEZ
DIRECTOR GENERAL
GRAND VELAS RIVIERA MAYA
rgonzalezgvrm@velasresorts.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2014

The hotel is breathtaking with a choice of beach side or a zen/jungle area which is amazing. The service is the best I have ever experienced. The spa will attend to your inner peace.The restaurants are excellent and we especially enjoyed the Sen Lin. The soft shell crab and wine were spectacular. Our waiter Aaron and servers Pablo and Jesus met our every need. The chef Issac and maître d Roberto also came to our table to make sure we had a fantastic experience. We will definitely be back ! hasta que nos encontremos de nuevo

Room Tip: If you prefer the beach rooms there for families or just adults. If you prefer a natural setting th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Jean L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DirectorGVRM, Director General at Grand Velas Riviera Maya, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2014

Thank you very much Jean for your kind words on your July vacation with us. I see that our culinary venue Sen Lin was a favorite of yours. I am glad that the restaurant´s ambience, culinary selection and service made a very memorable impact on you. Aaron, Pablo and Jesus, under the guidance of Chef Isaac and the manager Roberto form a team that functions in sync so that your selections arrive to your table just the way you desired, in the order that is optimum for the palate and at the right temperature and tenderness. It is very pleasing also that you took the time to indulge in our spa where you could spend relaxing and solitary moments in peace and self reflection; especially important when in need for a temporary change of pace from real life. Please know Jean that we will be at your service at all times in order to cater to your fine tastes and to provide you another successful and pampered vacation. All the best to you and yours and kind wishes to all up in Brick, New Jersey. Take care.

RODOLFO GONZALEZ
DIRECTOR GENERAL
GRAND VELAS RIVIERA MAYA
rgonzalezgvrm@velasresorts.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
0.7 mi away
Banyan Tree Mayakoba
Banyan Tree Mayakoba
#2 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
2,181 reviews
0.8 mi away
Fairmont Mayakoba
Fairmont Mayakoba
#10 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
4,289 reviews
1.1 mi away
Rosewood Mayakoba
Rosewood Mayakoba
#1 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
1,776 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 mi away
Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso
Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso
#1 of 11 in Playa Paraiso
6,045 reviews
4.2 mi away
The Royal Playa del Carmen
The Royal Playa del Carmen
#11 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
16,661 reviews
5.6 mi away
Secrets Maroma Beach Riviera Cancun
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Velas Riviera Maya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Velas Riviera Maya

Address: Carretera Cancun Tulum Km 62 Playa Del Carmen Municipio De Solidaridad, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#2 Green Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#3 Spa Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#3 Luxury Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#16 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#17 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range: £575 - £1,531 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Velas Riviera Maya 5*
Number of rooms: 493
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Velas Riviera Maya is one of the newest resorts to distinguish Riviera Maya as a premier vacation destination. The uniquely Mexican world-class hospitality we provide is "Beyond All Inclusive, Beyond All Compare", and we are proud to be the only family-friendly All Inclusive resort in the Mexican Caribbean to have been rated Five Diamonds by the AAA. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Booking.com, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Ebookers so you can book your Grand Velas Riviera Maya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Velas All Suites & Spa Resort, Riviera Maya Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Grand Velas All Suites And Spa Resort, Riviera Maya
Grand Velas Hotel Riviera Maya
Grand Velas Riviera Maya Mexico - Playa Del Carmen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing