We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“My favorite place in the world!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Banyan Tree Mayakoba

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Banyan Tree Mayakoba
Ranked #3 of 212 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“My favorite place in the world!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2012

I cannot rave about this resort enough! The stunning villas with private pools and outdoor bathtubs, the perfect white sand beach, the friendliness of the staff, the incredible service, the lush landscaping, the architectural details, the over-the-top brunches.... Our hosts, Priscilla and Francisco, were both extraordinary, and took care of our every need. I have been to Banyan Tree 3 times and plan to return soon!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with BanyanTree.com

Helpful?
1 Thank 2014alice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BTGroup, General Manager at Banyan Tree Mayakoba, responded to this review, 3 October 2012
Dear Viajero de BanyanTree.com

On behalf of Banyan Tree Mayakoba, I would like to thank you for visiting us again. Your nice notes have been shared with our staff, thank you for taking the time to write about your stay with us.

We hope that we will be able to welcome you back for a fourth stay to our resort and we will make sure your stay is nothing else but a amazing experience again.

Wit Best Wishes,

Maximilian Lennkh
Vice President
Area General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,891 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,569
    204
    78
    26
    14
See reviews for
410
1,121
21
93
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (378)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2012

i was told about the beauty of the hotel , but it overcome my expectations
the privacy of the villa is so good, the kindness of people, the beach, the services, i dont have any complaint . is simple amazing

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with BanyanTree.com

Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BTGroup, General Manager at Banyan Tree Mayakoba, responded to this review, 3 October 2012
Dear viajero de BanyanTree.com

On behalf of the Banyan Tree Mayakoba, I would like to thank you for letting us know that we have exceeded your expectations.

We hope that we will be able to welcome you back to our resort.

With best Regards,

Maximilian Lennkh
Vice President
Area General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, U.K.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2012

We as a family enjoyed a 5 day vacation at the Banyan Tree Mayakoba. The standards of accommodation and service were of the highest standard and in addition the staff always managed to personalise thir approach which added to the overall experience.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RobertLondon00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BTGroup, General Manager at Banyan Tree Mayakoba, responded to this review, 3 October 2012
Dear RobertLondon00

Thank you very much for coming with your family to Banyan Tree Mayakoba and for writing on Trip Advisor about your great experience.

It is nice to know that you have enjoyed our service and the hotel facilities.

We all are looking forward to welcome you soon again,
With best regards

Max Lennkh
Vice President
Area General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2012

Amazing! Great rooms, great service. Delicious breakfast, lunch and dinner. We really enjoyed our stay here, also the spa was incredible. Highly recommended for a quick getaway and honeymoon style trip, even if you go with other couples. There is time to be alone and to be with friends if you want.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with BanyanTree.com

Helpful?
5 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BTGroup, General Manager at Banyan Tree Mayakoba, responded to this review, 3 October 2012
Dear viajero de Banyan Tree.com

It is of great satisfaction for me to know that you have really enjoyed your time at Banyan Tree Mayakoba.

Thank you for your recommendations for other guests.

I hope we will be able to welcome you again soon,

With best Regards

Maximilian Lennkh
Vice President
Area general Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2012

This property is absolut paradise, Banyan Tree knows how to treat their guests. As soon as you enter the hotel, the staff is very nice. The room is beautifully decorated in a thai chic style, the pool is heated and the villa is private. Can you ask for more?
The pool near the beach is amazing and the view is breathtaking. The breakfast buffet was delicious!! the restaurants for dinner were a little expensive, but worthy.
Definitely the BEST anniversary ever!! Can't hardly wait to come back :)

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with BanyanTree.com

Helpful?
2 Thank Alejandra G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BTGroup, General Manager at Banyan Tree Mayakoba, responded to this review, 3 October 2012
Dear Alejandra G

Thank you for choosing the BanyanTree Mayakoba Hotel for celebrating your wedding anniversary. It is an honor to serve you during such a unique event and to know that we have made your stay a memorable experience.

Awaiting the moment of welcome you again,

Wishing you all the best,

Maximilian Lennkh
Vice President
Area General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
35 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2012

This hotel is stunning in every way. As you enter the grounds, you know that this place is special. The building is beautiful and the check in process is quick and easy while you sit and wait on comfortable chairs.
We stayed in a garden room villa which was very well equipped. It had a lovely pool and the villa itself was roomy and decorated in a contemporary asian style. I really enjoy using the complementary products that they provide you with when you stay in Banyan Tree hotels. The bed was very large and comfortable and we slept well whilst we were there.

We had room service one evening and then ate at Saffron on our second night. The room service was quick and efficient but not cheap. A burger was $29 USD. The food at Saffron was amazing! I had the grouper and pineapple and my boyfriend had the beef curry. Both mains were delicious and the starter and deserts were also very good. I would definitely recommend the Mayan mojito which comes in a martini glass. The breakfast was the best I have seen in a large hotel. The selection was huge so we couldn't have asked for more.
William at the reflections pool bar is worth speaking to. He is so knowledgable about the area and different drinks. We had a real education with him on different spirits one afternoon. He also makes a great cocktail.

My one criticism: when I booked this hotel I had to give my credit card details which I believed was to cover the room rate for the stay and then any other extras would be paid for on departure. However, I was surprised on our last day that we had not been charged when I booked the villa and we had a huge bill for the entire stay to pay. This left me with a bitter taste in my mouth at the end of our stay which is a shame as our actual experience on Banyan Tree Mayakoba had otherwise been excellent. However discovering that I had in fact not paid for the hotel ruined my last day here which meant that I couldn't wait to leave. I think that the process needs to be made much clearer when guests are booking their rooms with a credit card that they aren't actually paying for the hotel at all.

On payment, be aware that several taxes are added to the bill including a government tax, VAT and a service tax/charge which amounts to an extra 29% on top of your quoted room rate. The hotel says that all of these charges are mandatory but neither of the 2 other accommodations that I stayed in whilst I was in Mexico added these on. This really makes a difference to the amount that you pay. I was not impressed. Maybe this isn't a problem in the other BT hotels. I stayed at the Bangkok Banyan Tree 2 years ago and they certainly didn't charge for these extras.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Twiggy84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BTGroup, General Manager at Banyan Tree Mayakoba, responded to this review, 3 October 2012
Dear Twiggy84

Thank you very much for your feedback on Trip Advisor and for praising our bartender William, your nice comments were shared with all associates, and of course with William, and his supervisor.

We appreciate very much that you took the time to write your impressions on our hotel. In regards to the charges which were processed only on the last day, this is the normal and correct procedure, your credit card is only used before to guarantee the booking. The tax and other charges are communicated in writing to all guests from the very beginning and are also clearly spelled out on your reservation confirmation.

I sincerely do hope that we will be given the opportunity to welcome you back again.

I remain with best wishes,

Maximilian Lennkh
Vice President
Area General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greenpoint, Brooklyn
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2012

Banyan Tree Mayakoba has provided us with wonderful, memorable vacations two years in a row now. July 2011 we planned to spend six and extended a day because we didn't want to leave. For our visit this year, in the last week of August, we planned for seven days but extended to eight, pushing the bounds of good sense because it is absurd to think that anyone deserves to be treated this well for so many days in a row. My wife and I like to try different properties in different places. When we were planning our annual beach trip this year, we compared places we had visited - various Ritz Carlton and Four Seasons, etc. - to BT and we concluded that there was no place we preferred to be.

What sets BT Mayakoba apart is the service, the natural setting in which the resort was laid out, the beautiful beach, the spa and the food The service is remarkable. The staff at all levels that face the guests are bilingual and meet the standards one would expect in a leading hotel in any major city in the world. Many of the staff members were still at their posts during our second visit, which was thirteen months after our first visit. This consistency is very important for training purposes, which as in any organization - and yes, this is an organization - takes place not only as a formal matter but on-the-job by more senior employees. If you don't have senior employees, the service will always suffer. The lack of attrition has a direct impact on the quality of guests' experiences.

A few further observations regarding the staff. They are integrated. In fifteen days of residence there, I have never had a staff member tell me that I have to speak to someone else to have a matter addressed. Remarkable. If you make a request or inquiry of someone that is outside the scope of their responsibility, they speak into their little communication device and someone contacts you with a response or an answer. I can't get this kind of help in my field of work, in which I am supposed to be a big deal.

The staff strikes the right balance between attentiveness and suffocation. They are charming and engaging, do what you need, and then disappear. They understand, no doubt through training and management, the optimal level of interaction desired by the kinds of guests that visit properties like this.

The food is sensational. The ingredients are fresh and locally-sourced, preparation occurs at the time an order is placed, and the recipies are simple. The chefs are experts. These are not guys trained locally who have worked themselves up from the dish room. Even the Sands, the beachfront restaurant, prepares exceptional food. The wine selections are superb and we learned more from the sommellier last year than from anyone we have ever met.

The rooms deserve special mention. A picture is worth a thousand words, so I refer you to the property's web site for a view of these wonderfully conceived spaces.

The region is a medium-length flight from New York, and safe with more entertainment options than I anticipated having available on my first trip down. There are archeological sites, cheesy but fun shopping in nearby Playa del Carmen, trips to cenotes, diving, eco tours, and activity-oriented parks with zip lines and water slides. This property and this region has made the rest of Caribbean irrelevant to me for quite a while.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Orostein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BTGroup, General Manager at Banyan Tree Mayakoba, responded to this review, 3 October 2012
Dear David G

We feel very honored to read your kind remarks in regards of your second visit to our hotel. On behalf of all the associates of the Banyan Tree Mayakoba, I want to express our appreciation for the time you took to write and describe your appreciations of the service we provide.

Thank you for staying with us already twice, and we look forward to be able to welcome you back for a third time.

With best regards,
Maximilian Lennkh
Vice President
Area General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
0.7 mi away
Fairmont Mayakoba
Fairmont Mayakoba
#7 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,473 reviews
0.6 mi away
Rosewood Mayakoba
Rosewood Mayakoba
#1 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,574 reviews
0.7 mi away
Grand Velas Riviera Maya
Grand Velas Riviera Maya
#2 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,833 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Viceroy Riviera Maya
Viceroy Riviera Maya
#14 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,039 reviews
6.7 mi away
Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso
Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso
#1 of 11 in Playa Paraiso
5.0 of 5 bubbles 5,569 reviews
4.5 mi away
The Royal Playa del Carmen
The Royal Playa del Carmen
#12 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 15,147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Banyan Tree Mayakoba? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banyan Tree Mayakoba

Property: Banyan Tree Mayakoba
Address: Carretera Federal Chetumal - Pto. Juarez Km. 298, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#3 Spa Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#3 Luxury Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#8 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#16 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Banyan Tree Mayakoba 5*
Number of rooms: 118
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Banyan Tree Mayakoba is a site of almost mythical beauty. It flawlessly blends elegance and nature, taking the Caribbean lifestyle to an unprecedented new height. A breathtaking getaway for relaxation, rejuvenation, romance and world-class dining, it is also the region's most sustainable five-star resort. With its revitalized culinary concepts, Thai-inspired therapies at the Banyan Tree Spa, 14 event-venues and the Greg Norman signature 18- hole El Camaleon golf course, home to the PGA Tour Mayakoba Classic, the resort raises the bar for premium leisure options and event planning. Perfect for private getaways, family trips and group events, the Banyan Tree Mayakoba offers 118 villas, ranging from romantic Bliss and Serenity Pool Villas to Family Residences and Ocean Front Villas. All include outdoor areas with private pools and terraces. Inspired by the interior courtyards of houses in the Far East, each villa is discreetly built to blend with the landscape, integrating the interiors and their idyllic surroundings. East meets West in every subtle detail, from the fragrance of flowers encircling your villa, to the softness of a kimono, fine linens and essential oils on your skin. Here, even world-weary guests discover the eloquence of tranquility. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Booking.com, Odigeo, TravelUp, Hotels.com, Holiday Gems, LoveHolidays, Destinology and Travelbag so you can book your Banyan Tree Mayakoba reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banyan Tree Mayakoba Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Banyan Tree Mayakoba Mexico/Riviera Maya - Playa Del Carmen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing