We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Remarkable Service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Banyan Tree Mayakoba
Ranked #2 of 214 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 21 February 2014

The level of service is astounding. The resort is gorgeous and exceptionally well maintained. Travel here as a family and don't hesitate to bring kids. They will love the pools, biking, beach, paddle boards, catamaran, ecotour etc… Or go as a couple too. Every villa is so private that is really makes no difference. Even at it's most crowded (we were there over a weekend with a big wedding), we were treated like royalty. Each day no matter when we got to the beach/pool, we were greeted by someone (Jesus, Catalino) who was waiting to get us to the perfect spot and make sure we were set-up and comfortable. We checked out the Rosewood and the Fairmont while we were there and could not wait to get back to our spot at the Banyantree. We had a three-bedroom Villa on the golf course. We were worried about not being on the beach but in the end we were actually happy that we weren't. We loved the bike ride to and from the beach each day. And everywhere else for that matter. It was quick, easy, fun and good exercise too. The gym was nice, clean and never crowded. The food is expensive. We did not have breakfast included so each morning for a family of 5, breakfast was $200. However, the buffet at Oriente is as good as everyone says. Our kids LOVED it. The green juice is a highlight. Lunch at Sands is good. Dinner at Sands is nothing special. Saffron was good, although I expected much better based on the reviews. Take the free eco tour. We loved it. So relaxing and interesting too. Aaron was so nice and really made it terrific. Take advantage of the paddle boards and the catamaran at the beach. Understand that if you are looking for action, crazy music, loud voices and a party atmosphere, this is NOT the place for you. It is the opposite of an all-inclusive. For the most part, nothing is inclusive but everything is worth it if you have the money to pay and not worry about it. Again, the customer service is the best. REALLY spectacular. We had one situation at dinner at Tamarind when we tried to get in without a reservation. I hesitate to even mention it because I don't want to besmirch this wonderful place based on one less than perfect manager. I think we had gotten so used to hearing "yes" to every request and were so surprised to hear a "no". So just make sure that you book your dinner reservations ahead of time and you will have no problem. Okay, now for one problem. The villa that we were in definitely smelled of mold. Not bad enough to be a problem while we were there but once we got home and opened our suitcases, it was VERY apparent. I can't decide if this is enough to make us not want to go back but If we do return, I will ask for another villa to see if we can get one without the smell. As I have seen a lot of reviews that mention this issue, the Banyan tree really should look into resolving it. It will only get worse.

Room Tip: 3 bedroom villa's are great for families.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joyce T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,177)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,045 - 1,051 of 2,177 reviews

Reviewed 21 February 2014

This was our second time at Banyan Tree Mayakoba and it was just as good the second time. We stayed in a two bedroom ocean club room and enjoyed the proximity to the beach and the beach pool. The views into the waterway behind the villa was lovely. We arrived on a morning flight and they made it very easy to change to beachwear and enjoy lunch while they prepared our room. We spent four nights and never left the Mayakoba property. We especially enjoyed our dinners at Saffron and at the Tequila bar at Rosewood. I highly recommend the Banyan Tree for families looking for a relaxing beach vacation. The second bedroom isn't attached to the master bedroom so it might not be great for very little children.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with BanyanTree.com
Thank TKJ229
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2014

I was lucky enough to stay for 3 nights at this little piece of Heaven and have only praise for how beautiful it is. We were in a Garden Pool Villa which is the lead in the room type, the rooms are massive and the pool is 35.5 sqm which is much larger than the usual plunge pool you get, each room has a double sun lounger and a day bed which is located in the Garden for some shade. Inside the Villas are decorated to the usual Banyan Tree standards that I have experienced at some of their other locations, simpy beautiful, the bathrooms have stunning ceramic Mayan sinks, you have a walk in closet, a rainfall shower and a lovely outside bath located in a little courtyard with candles all in the walls, very romantic. The bedroom and living space is also gorgeous with really high ceilings giving you a really big space.

We only spent half a day round our own pool, we decided we wanted to explore the Resort and were glad we did. The pool by the beach is in such a pretty location and you get a really nice sea breeze, also Sands restaurant looked amazing. We also spent some time around the Reflections pool, to be honest it didn't matter where we located ourselves we could always find a peaceful spot and a comfy sun lounger, it was also nice that bottled water was supplied although this isn't unusual for a hotel of this standard. The pool Butlers are also always on hand to set your sunbeds up and replenish towells when needed.

Breakfast was at Oriente - anyone that has previously complained about what is included must be very fussy as I have stayed at a lot of high end hotels and the breakfast here was really vast and superb quality. We also sampled food at Saffron and Tamarind and both we of super high quality with great service, yes they were pricey meals but nothing more than we expected for the standard of the hotel and the surroundings, however Saffron did have a set menu which we had and I found to be good value for money.

All in all we had a wonderful time at Banyan Tree and woudn't hesitate to return.

Room Tip: We were in Villa 106 which was in a great location near to the reflections pool and lobby.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kdswestsussex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2014

This place is a gorgeous Asian/Zen oasis in Mexico, with incredible architecture, furnishings, etc and an even more impressive level of service. The commitment to high standards of service was crystal clear.

Room Tip: The 3 bedroom Golf View villas are gorgeous, spacious and great for families. The villa rooftop pool...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with BanyanTree.com
Thank PaulManuel1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2014

My wife and I recently spent 5 days in the luxurious Banyan Tree Mayakoba resort. We are in our mid-30s and were looking for a quiet, relaxing romantic getaway away from work, snow, and kids. Banyan Tree delivered on every front. We looked around at many of the resorts in playa del carmen, isla mujeres, cancun, and cozumel before finding our way to Banyan Tree. It seemed to have the fewest negative reviews on trip advisor although in retrospect, my wife and I joked about how unbelievable it was that anyone had ANY complaints about this place. We have traveled a fair bit and this is by far the only place that has been so consistently 5 star across the board.

We stayed in the luxury villa and had our own pool and outdoor space. We woke every morning to the sounds of tropical birds and went for a swim (yes, the pool is unheated but its 80+ degree weather) and read in our hammock. The resort (including the room) was beautiful and at times it felt we were on some tropical island and not in a resort town in Mexico. The staff treated us like royalty - especially highlighting Paulina, Roussel, Marco, and Roger at the Oriente and Moises at the beach club. Our days were filled w/tropical drinks w/our toes in the sand, strolling on the white sand beach, bike riding on the beautiful mayakoba grounds (my wife also went running daily - very safe - followed by a dip in the pool), and enjoying the delicious food at the 3 restaurants on site (and one of the restaurants at one of the other mayakoba resorts). We had the Romantic Getaway package which included breakfast, one dinner, and an unbelievable couples massage while looking out over the lagoon and a turndown service including a candlelit outdoor bath (available in all villas!). The stay was an expense but the quality of the service, food, experience, and location was so wonderful, that the VALUE of this vacation was unbeatable.

Some Tips for travelers of note.
-The beach is relatively small in front of pool - probably about 50 yards long and 20-25 feet from pool to water. There were always plenty of chairs available with umbrellas but we were arriving to the beach earlier in the day (9-9:30) and less chairs obviously available towards afternoon.
-The water in front of the hotel had small "waves" at time which precluded easy snorkeling off the beach. It was also rocky in spots although you could wade in about 10-20 feet. We walked the beach in both directions and this was the same for all the hotels on this stretch of beach.
-We travelled Mon-Sat. The hotel was only about 1/2 full Mon-Thur but (due to a wedding) was closer to full (there is only like 130 villas, so still relatively uncrowded). When it got busier, the service remained excellent (courtesy, accomodating) although just a little slower. But its Island Time! We were looking for quiet and secluded though and that is what we got but consider travelling earlier in the week of you can to avoid crowds.
-It is not adults only and there were some families staying at the resort. This did not bother us (although there were more babies there on the beach then I would have thought)
-I have seen a number of concerns about the cost of the food. I am no gourmet but thought it was excellent. It was expensive but you are paying for the setting (private, tropical paradise) and service as much as for the food. With that in mind, worth every penny. There were also many options for eating including the other mayakoba resorts so many options to choose from (with free transportation to each hotel)
-If you do not have a beachside villa (we did not), it is about a 20 min walk to the beach (5-10 min bike ride) so we took the shuttle back and forth primarily. They were always available and quick.
-Everyone speaks beautiful english and you can charge everything to the room (including dining at the other mayakoba resorts). VERY convenient
-It was very safe!

All told, it was our best vacation ever. We have no doubt we will return to Banyan Tree, if not in Mayakoba, then to one of the other resorts across the globe.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jon_MichelleB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2014

The Banyan Tree goes above and beyond what you could imagine from seeing the resort online. the villas are so incredible we did not want to leave. Beautiful private beach plus 2 swimming pools-plus your private pool too! We loved the open-air bath tub! Spa-unreal but if you are booking a massage treatment ask to use the spa pool because it should not be missed-sometimes closed for private treatments so book early. Dinners were great. The only downside is that the food is very expensive on the resort so be prepared to spend. Thank you Banyan tree, a truly amazing stay.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sarah T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2014

This is the best hotel in the cancun area hands down. The staff is extremely helpful and professional, ask and you shall receive. The rooms are amazing the beach is amazing the food is AMAZING. We had the most basic room and it came with stunning views, our own pool and an outdoor jacuzzi. The rooms are massive.

Room Tip: You can't go wrong in room selection, they're all great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with BanyanTree.com
Thank Reu61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
0.3 mi away
Fairmont Mayakoba
Fairmont Mayakoba
#10 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
4,278 reviews
0.6 mi away
Rosewood Mayakoba
Rosewood Mayakoba
#1 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
1,772 reviews
0.7 mi away
Grand Velas Riviera Maya
Grand Velas Riviera Maya
#3 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
3,324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso
Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso
#1 of 11 in Playa Paraiso
6,033 reviews
5.4 mi away
Secrets Maroma Beach Riviera Cancun
1.4 mi away
Viceroy Riviera Maya
Viceroy Riviera Maya
#13 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
1,180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Banyan Tree Mayakoba? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banyan Tree Mayakoba

Address: Carretera Federal Chetumal - Pto. Juarez Km. 298, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#2 Spa Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#2 Luxury Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#8 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#11 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range: £502 - £1,405 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Banyan Tree Mayakoba 5*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Banyan Tree Mayakoba is a site of almost mythical beauty. It flawlessly blends elegance and nature, taking the Caribbean lifestyle to an unprecedented new height. A breathtaking getaway for relaxation, rejuvenation, romance and world-class dining, it is also the region's most sustainable five-star resort. With its revitalized culinary concepts, Thai-inspired therapies at the Banyan Tree Spa, 14 event-venues and the Greg Norman signature 18- hole El Camaleon golf course, home to the PGA Tour Mayakoba Classic, the resort raises the bar for premium leisure options and event planning. Perfect for private getaways, family trips and group events, the Banyan Tree Mayakoba offers 118 villas, ranging from romantic Bliss and Serenity Pool Villas to Family Residences and Ocean Front Villas. All include outdoor areas with private pools and terraces. Inspired by the interior courtyards of houses in the Far East, each villa is discreetly built to blend with the landscape, integrating the interiors and their idyllic surroundings. East meets West in every subtle detail, from the fragrance of flowers encircling your villa, to the softness of a kimono, fine linens and essential oils on your skin. Here, even world-weary guests discover the eloquence of tranquility. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Holiday Gems, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Banyan Tree Mayakoba reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banyan Tree Mayakoba Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Banyan Tree Mayakoba Mexico/Riviera Maya - Playa Del Carmen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing