We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Wedding Venue”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Banyan Tree Mayakoba
Ranked #3 of 209 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Bethesda, Maryland
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Perfect Wedding Venue”
Reviewed 7 March 2014

My wife and I (and 50 of our friends) celebrated the Wedding of two beautiful people all while staying at the Banyan Tree Mayakoba in Playa del Carmen, Mexico (Cancun).

The Wedding was amazing, perfect weather, great accommodations and the staff was excellent. The food was perfectly created, the SPA was OUTSTANDING, and we had the luxury of playing Golf on the Mayakoba Resort – true PGA experience. The beach was private and perfect for our stay.

Based on the Staff and the Management of the hotel all of our requests were properly handled and it provided for a wonderful event for all parties involved. Mr. Carlos Abaunza, Area General Manager truly has a wonderful resort.

And as a added bonus My wife and I did not want to take away from the celebration of our friend’s wedding – but we were silently celebrating our 20th Wedding Anniversary during our stay.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ronald E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,060 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,725
    214
    81
    26
    14
See reviews for
450
1,213
23
106
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (418)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2014

Banyan Tree Mayakoba is a nice property - decent amenities, great staff and a few nice restaurants (although avoid Saffron at all cost). But it is not a five star luxury and we wished we were elsewhere.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with BanyanTree.com

Helpful?
1 Thank Sheila H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NYC, NY
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2014

We traveled here in Febrary 2011 and I can't beleive i did not review this place. It was perfect start to finish. BY FAR the most romantic place we have ever ventured. The breakfast buffet was by far the best we have EVER had. 5+++ stars!! A pure home run!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bobbydnyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2014 via mobile

I would say it is one of the best breakfast I've ever had. Huge choice of great food. The villas are very spacious and have a private garden with perfect privacy. As for most Banyan Trees (I have seen a few worldwide) materials are sometimes fake, so that often tiles want to look like stone or wood which I regret. The staff was perfectly trained to be always helpfull and very friendly.
The pools were unfortunatly painted (and meanwhile overpainted) with a product that goes off with time, so looked a bit used already. In the area still the best place to stay for a few days while exploring the country.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maxis78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 209 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2014

This was our 5th trip to BTM and we still are great fans of this terrific resort. From early days this remains to be a place with very high quality accommodations, superb and friendliest service,and overall great place for family and romantic vacations.
We will definitely be back in December!!!!!
Alex

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alexshulman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
Reviewed 5 March 2014

Our visit to Banyan Tree Mayakoba was worth every penny. It was a perfect break from winter and work. The villas, even the lower end villas, are amazing. The staff is top notch. We ate our weight in guacamole at Sands. The drifting dinner was an experience I'll forever remember fondly. You can walk on the beach for miles. It's a quick taxi ride into playa del carmen. We found a number of great taquerias on the side streets. The staff could not have been more accomidating. We didn't bring kids, but it is a great place for families. At the same time, it doesn't feel overrun with kids was great for couples. Sumi at the spa gives an excellent facial and Jesus at the Sands pool was a great help in setting up comfortable accomidations at the beach for us! The private yoga lessons in the yoga pavillion are fun. It could not have been a more perfect experience.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with BanyanTree.com

Helpful?
Thank Sr011315
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aspen, Colorado
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2014

Banyan Tree uses the word Villa well since you get a private walled area that includes your pool and sitting area.

Some of the villas have 2 separate buildings one on each side of the pool. This gives you a bit more privacy and quiet between members of your group. I always recommend making contact with management directly and introducing yourself and sharing your individual preferences. Marcos

Room Tip: The 8 Ocean 3 bedroom Villas are the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TripReviews101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
0.3 mi away
Fairmont Mayakoba
Fairmont Mayakoba
#10 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
3,864 reviews
4.1 mi away
Mahekal Beach Resort
Mahekal Beach Resort
#27 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
2,702 reviews
5.5 mi away
Rosewood Mayakoba
Rosewood Mayakoba
#1 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
1,673 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Grand Velas Riviera Maya
Grand Velas Riviera Maya
#2 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
3,142 reviews
6.7 mi away
Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso
Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso
#1 of 11 in Playa Paraiso
5,842 reviews
4.5 mi away
The Royal Playa del Carmen
The Royal Playa del Carmen
#11 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
15,927 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Banyan Tree Mayakoba? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banyan Tree Mayakoba

Property: Banyan Tree Mayakoba
Address: Carretera Federal Chetumal - Pto. Juarez Km. 298, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#3 Spa Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#3 Luxury Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#8 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#16 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Banyan Tree Mayakoba 5*
Number of rooms: 118
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Banyan Tree Mayakoba is a site of almost mythical beauty. It flawlessly blends elegance and nature, taking the Caribbean lifestyle to an unprecedented new height. A breathtaking getaway for relaxation, rejuvenation, romance and world-class dining, it is also the region's most sustainable five-star resort. With its revitalized culinary concepts, Thai-inspired therapies at the Banyan Tree Spa, 14 event-venues and the Greg Norman signature 18- hole El Camaleon golf course, home to the PGA Tour Mayakoba Classic, the resort raises the bar for premium leisure options and event planning. Perfect for private getaways, family trips and group events, the Banyan Tree Mayakoba offers 118 villas, ranging from romantic Bliss and Serenity Pool Villas to Family Residences and Ocean Front Villas. All include outdoor areas with private pools and terraces. Inspired by the interior courtyards of houses in the Far East, each villa is discreetly built to blend with the landscape, integrating the interiors and their idyllic surroundings. East meets West in every subtle detail, from the fragrance of flowers encircling your villa, to the softness of a kimono, fine linens and essential oils on your skin. Here, even world-weary guests discover the eloquence of tranquility. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Destinology, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, TravelUp, Preferred Hotels, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Banyan Tree Mayakoba reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banyan Tree Mayakoba Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Banyan Tree Mayakoba Mexico/Riviera Maya - Playa Del Carmen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing