We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“overpriced services”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Banyan Tree Mayakoba
Ranked #2 of 214 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
london
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“overpriced services”
Reviewed 21 March 2014

Location is beautiful. Restaurants are good. Rooms are spacious.

Yet....

Many factors disappointed me (would not return):

1) Absolutely overpriced for what you get. A 15% service charge is always included. Much more expensive than other high end luxury hotels.
2) Other hotels offer same or better spa, restaurant and services at lower costs.
3) Beach is far and club is very basic. Nicer beaches a short drive away. Waiter took 45 mins to bring the first drink we ordered.
4) Uninvited guests entered our room in the morning (received the worng key). Heated pool only heated until the last day we had to leave.
5)Decor and design are not the most modern as you would expect. Rented a movie and quality was not HD as you would expect.
6) Food is overpriced too.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with BanyanTree.com

Helpful?
2 Thank sergio b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BTMayakoba, General Manager at Banyan Tree Mayakoba, responded to this review, 2 April 2014
Dear guest,
Thank you very much for your open comments.
We have shared all the points with the team in order to make everyone aware and work on potential improvements. We very much regret that not all aspects of your stay were up to your expectation and still hope you eventually would give us another chance.
Warm regards,
Michael Näther
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,965 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,640
    206
    79
    26
    14
See reviews for
426
1,156
22
102
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (392)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2014 via mobile

I have never been to a banyan tree but was really looking forward to it based upon its reputation. Unfortunately we were very disappointed. The people were lovely and very accommodating, but the training and service is not up to par with other 5-star resorts such as the four seasons or rosewood.

Families be forewarned there is are no laundry facilities. Bike rentals are $6/day per person and there is no "daily yoga" as promoted on their website. Also, there is no steam, sauna or hot tub as one would expect for a resort in such a locale.

When housekeeping cleared our room-service plates, they were left in a side alcove near the front of our villa but not picked up for two days. This attracted flies and ants.

Lastly, we asked the concierge to book a reservation at a restaurant at another resort nearby and was told 3 different times then that it was closed for the day we were requesting a booking. I decided to call directly only to learn that it was indeed open and they did have an opening as requested. The concierge had gotten our day wrong even though she was quoting us times for the correct day in the beginning. How does this happen, one wonders.

While the locale is beautiful and people very sweet, it is the details that make the difference between passable and excellent service, especially at $800/night.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank G L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BTMayakoba, General Manager at Banyan Tree Mayakoba, responded to this review, 2 April 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your comments.
We are concerned to learn that your experience at Banyan Tree Mayakoba did not fully meet your expectations. Kindly allow us to address your issues with all involved in order to prevent that such shortcomings as mentioned by you will not reoccur.
Continuous improvements are always our main focus and I would still hope that eventually you will give us another opportunity to prove our true standards of service.
Warm regards,
Michael Näther
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2014

We had an amazing stay at the resort. We had stayed at the Rosewood previously and wanted to give this resort a try. We enjoyed this even more than the Rosewood. Service was impeccable! Everyone was extremely friendly and attentive, especially at the pool/beach area. The villas are gorgeous all with a private pool and courtyard area. My husband inadvertently left his iphone and a special notebook (a collection of Spanish phrases that he has cultivated during his travels over the past 17 years) at the beach. It turns out, Lupe, our beach attendant, had chased down the loose pages of this notebook all over the beach and turned both items into security. He truly went above and beyond! We didn't want to leave when our stay was over and met so many friendly guests also staying at the property. We will definitely return and likely bring our children as well.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lizzy023
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BTMayakoba, General Manager at Banyan Tree Mayakoba, responded to this review, 21 March 2014
Dear Guest:

Thank you so much for your lovely and encouraging comments.
We will pass this on to our team, as your feedback is highly motivating.

Hoping to have you back soon,

Michael Näther
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Park City, Utah
1 review
Reviewed 18 March 2014

everything was wonderful about this resort. Beautiful, high level of service, lovely rooms w private pools, great breakfast and lunch at pool! i would absolutely stay there again and recommend it. staff was very friendly and you can rent bikes to ride to beach. fabulous trip.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with BanyanTree.com

Helpful?
Thank sbillanti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 17 March 2014

This is our fifth time staying at the Banyan Tree Mayakoba. Excellent service, wonderful villas and pools, great food - couldn't be more relaxing or peaceful. We love the privacy of having our own pool. We will always go back!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with BanyanTree.com

Helpful?
Thank Meganwh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
2 reviews
Reviewed 16 March 2014

This report is amazing. Everything was fantastic. Our villa was so beautiful and spacious. The service was 5-star. We had a two bedroom villa that was right on the beach. We did not want to leave when it was time to go home. Great resort for families and when you stay at a Myakoba report, you get access to all of the resorts on the property. The Fairmont next door is more like a hotel as opposed to the high-end villa style resort that is the Banyan Tree. However, the Fairmont had a huge pool with a water slide, so it was fun for us to walk over there with the kids so they could use the slide. Rosewood was nice too. We went there for dinner one night. Overall an amazing experience. Nice people. Very service oriented.

Room Tip: If you want to be close to the beach, then get a beachfront villa. It takes time to get back to the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with BanyanTree.com

Helpful?
Thank TravelFam14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2014

Just returned from our second visit to the Banyan Tree in Mayakoba. I was a little wary about returning to the same place twice however there was no possibility for disappointment - it was a wonderful stay. Stunning location with beach, pools, boat trips on the lagoon and amazing wildlife, cycle trails, charming and helpful staff, gorgeous Villa with pool and spa tub - a perfect sanctuary.

Breakfasts are fab, restaurants for dinner at the BT ok, but very pricey. It would be useful to know that you need to book the restaurants quite far in advance, even before arrival. Surprisingly, it can be difficult to get a table. Definitely worth eating out at the other two resorts at Mayakoba. The restaurants at the Rosewood and Fairmont are excellent, particularly the Rosewood. Again, difficult to get reservations and I am wondering how the 3 resorts will cope when the other proposed resorts are completed.

We plan to return again next year but are undecided whether to stay at the Banyan Tree or to choose the Rosewood - a difficult decision! However, whichever one we choose it will be wonderful.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Devontrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
0.3 mi away
Fairmont Mayakoba
Fairmont Mayakoba
#7 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,667 reviews
4.1 mi away
Mahekal Beach Resort
Mahekal Beach Resort
#29 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,598 reviews
5.5 mi away
Rosewood Mayakoba
Rosewood Mayakoba
#1 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,619 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Grand Velas Riviera Maya
Grand Velas Riviera Maya
#3 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,989 reviews
1.4 mi away
Viceroy Riviera Maya
Viceroy Riviera Maya
#11 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,079 reviews
6.7 mi away
Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso
Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso
#1 of 11 in Playa Paraiso
5.0 of 5 bubbles 5,718 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Banyan Tree Mayakoba? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banyan Tree Mayakoba

Property: Banyan Tree Mayakoba
Address: Carretera Federal Chetumal - Pto. Juarez Km. 298, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#2 Spa Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#2 Luxury Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#8 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#16 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Banyan Tree Mayakoba 5*
Number of rooms: 118
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Banyan Tree Mayakoba is a site of almost mythical beauty. It flawlessly blends elegance and nature, taking the Caribbean lifestyle to an unprecedented new height. A breathtaking getaway for relaxation, rejuvenation, romance and world-class dining, it is also the region's most sustainable five-star resort. With its revitalized culinary concepts, Thai-inspired therapies at the Banyan Tree Spa, 14 event-venues and the Greg Norman signature 18- hole El Camaleon golf course, home to the PGA Tour Mayakoba Classic, the resort raises the bar for premium leisure options and event planning. Perfect for private getaways, family trips and group events, the Banyan Tree Mayakoba offers 118 villas, ranging from romantic Bliss and Serenity Pool Villas to Family Residences and Ocean Front Villas. All include outdoor areas with private pools and terraces. Inspired by the interior courtyards of houses in the Far East, each villa is discreetly built to blend with the landscape, integrating the interiors and their idyllic surroundings. East meets West in every subtle detail, from the fragrance of flowers encircling your villa, to the softness of a kimono, fine linens and essential oils on your skin. Here, even world-weary guests discover the eloquence of tranquility. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Preferred Hotels, Odigeo, Holiday Gems, Hotels.com, Priceline, Destinology, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Banyan Tree Mayakoba reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banyan Tree Mayakoba Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Banyan Tree Mayakoba Mexico/Riviera Maya - Playa Del Carmen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing