We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home again”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Banyan Tree Mayakoba
Ranked #3 of 209 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Kulmbach
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Home again”
Reviewed 21 April 2014

Do you know the feeling of having been far away from home and returning again? This "haaaah, home again"? We felt exactly this returning to Mayakoba. The welcome at the barrier (really!), the drive though the lush jungle, the imposing view of the mighty entrance of the hotel. And after this getting pampered from beginning to the end.

Compared to my last reviews only few has changed (no wedding party, no noise, thats the way I like it). Great and perfectly clean rooms, great service, cleaning of heated pool every day (many leaves were falling because of very dry weeks). Impeccable service in the restaurants, excellent food, one of the best breakfast buffets in the world. Hefty prices, but...this IS six-star holiday, without any doubt.

Ah yes, one thing: we slept in a soft and most creaky bed. Surely this has to be changed (we had no interest in switching rooms. Better test the mattress before opening your suitcases...)

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NurPorsche
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BTMayakoba, General Manager at Banyan Tree Mayakoba, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
Dear Guest:
Thank you for having taken the time to post such positive comments. We are truly happy that you came “home again” and had a wonderful stay.
We very much appreciate your ongoing loyalty, and we all look forward to your next visit,
Michael Näther
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,049 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,714
    214
    81
    26
    14
See reviews for
447
1,207
23
105
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (416)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2014

A totally beautiful place with the highest level of service, staff and amenities. The sanctuary pool villa was sublime - being able to slide back bedroom glass doors and get straight into your own private pool was wonderful. The whole resort has a feeling of beauty, peace and tranquility. Attention to detail in every aspect of the stay was exceptional.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with BanyanTree.com

Helpful?
2 Thank Caroline I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BTMayakoba, General Manager at Banyan Tree Mayakoba, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
Dear Ms. Caroline L.:
Thank you very much for your kind comments and your recent visit to our sanctuary of the senses.
We are happy to hear that you enjoyed the natural beauty and our surroundings and look forward to welcome you back soon.
Warm regards
Michael Näther
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malibu, California
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2014

I had no expectations, no idea what to expect. From the moment you arrive at this magical place and its marvelous staff welcomes you, you know you are in for a real treat. All villas, all with their own pool. The architecture, the natural surroundings, the privacy....spectacular. The pool on the ocean is beautiful, the staff meticulous and attendant to your every request. Ordered lunch poolside, loved it. Sit in the pool on a barstool and order a margarita. It's perfect. Loved the daily brunch in the restaurant...our waiter Roger provided over the top service and treated us like old friends. I've stayed at Four a Seasons, Ritz Carlton's...this wonderful place and its staff rank right up there on the same plain. I shall return!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Murphysjsr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BTMayakoba, General Manager at Banyan Tree Mayakoba, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
Dear Guest:
We are very happy that you enjoyed your recent stay with us. Thank you for your wonderful comments, especially about our staff. We have passed on your posting to Roger, who was extremely happy about your posting.
Hoping to welcome you back soon, we all send you our warmest regards,
Michael Näther
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2014

Banyan Tree Mayakoba is a beautiful resort in a beautiful setting. The food is fantastic, the beach is gorgeous (although not really suited for swimming - but that's not my thing anyway), and the service was above par with every interaction. All of these things are great reasons to visit Banyan Tree Mayakoba but the privacy of the villas is the number one reason to go. The villas are beautifully designed and decorated. My husband and I stayed in villa 515. We woke up to warmth and peace, had coffee, tea and fresh fruit every morning, and spent the majority of our days sitting by our private pool, taking a dip when it got too hot and reconnected with each other - with no distractions. Go with someone you love, someone you want to gaze at and talk too, someone you want to hang out with and beat at gin!

Room Tip: Request a villa that is walking distance to the main hotel area. All restaurants and amenities are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CardinalCouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BTMayakoba, General Manager at Banyan Tree Mayakoba, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Dear Guests:

Thank you for your wonderful comments. We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed the peace, the privacy and service at our Resort. I hope we will be able to welcome you back soon and then you should also see significant improvements with our beach, even though swimming in the ocean might not you priority.
Thank you for taking the time and warm regards,

Michael Näther
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2014

We have stayed in many many top resorts like Jumby bay, Sandy lane Barbados but nothing compares to this place.
The service is brilliant and the villas although showing their age in some parts are amazing .
The food was excellent but I would prefer if they had a daily special at lunchtime at the beach club as the food could be repetitive .
The turn down was good and we never had a problem being transported around the resort.
One thing I would say was that when we were there a large American computer firm turned up for a conference which did slow things down a bit .
The behaviour of their staff was also something to be desired with loud swearing and drunken behaviour around children.
If you come to these places can you behave accordingly and don't forget other people want peace and quiet and have paid large amounts of money to be there.
The management and staff do a great job with the general manager being very hands on.
Jesus at the beach club was excellent and with all the other staff could not do enough for you.
Please take the Eco tour it is a wonderful experience to see all the wild life and Antony did a great job explaining everything to us.
In conclusion this place is excellent with good service nice beach and food but please check and make sure that these large conferences are not visiting while your there has they do spoil the place.
Well done to all the management and staff we will be back.

Mark & Alison Betts
Less

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mbetts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BTMayakoba, General Manager at Banyan Tree Mayakoba, responded to this review, 17 April 2014
Dear Mrs. & Mr. Betts,
Thank you very much for your kind posting on Tripadvisor.
It was a great pleasure meeting and having you at our resort and we are looking forward to your next visit.
Warm regards,
Michael Näther
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2014

This place is beyond words... We spent 3 nights here and had an amazing time. We had the luxury pool villa and it was the perfect romantic setting for my husband and I. The service and treatment from the staff is superb. Everyone is very friendly and always cater to your every need. They have a very good variety of quality food at breakfast in the Oriente restaurant and the drinks and food throughout the different spots in the resort are very good as well. I do agree that it is not a cheap place, so be prepared to spend quite a bit during your stay. It is totally worth it though. As for activities we rode bikes around the resort and got to see some beautiful sights. We also did the Eco Tour which takes you on a boat around the resort and the scenery is beautiful. We got to see a variety of wildlife, including a crocodile! Golf was amazing as well as some of the holes are overlooking the turquoise ocean. The beach is somewhat small but very private and the Sands restaurant has very tasty food and drinks. Overall, it was like 4 days in paradise. It is definitely the perfect place for a romantic stay. I don't think it is a good place to bring kids as it is very tranquil and there is not much going on suitable for kids to do. Will definitely be back to the Banyan Tree Mayakoba soon!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anaimq4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BTMayakoba, General Manager at Banyan Tree Mayakoba, responded to this review, 17 April 2014
Dear guest,
Thank you for your wonderful comments. We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed our beautiful natural surroundings as well as the service and the food provided in our restaurants.
Looking forward to be welcoming you back, we send you our warmest regards
Michael Näther
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2014

The service at Banyan Tree Maykoba is of the highest caliber - 5 stars easily. The rooms are incredible - 5 stars. The property is gorgeous - 5 stars. The beach is pretty awful compared to what we experienced further south in Tulum - 2.5 to 3 stars max for the beach.

This may be a temporary thing, but basically the beach that I had been told about by numerous friends... doesn't exist anymore. It's literally been washed to sea. The hotel is trying to re-build the beach and has put up concrete bunkers 30 feet or so out into the water. The bunkers mess with the surf, churning up sand, and making getting out any further to swim in actual nice water, and back in to the protected area very unpleasant. And at night, the hotel is bringing in huge dump trucks full of sand to try and slowly rebuild the beach. The sand they've brought in is full of rocks, making walking on the beach a little treacherous and getting out for a swim unpleasant. I let the hotel know that while they are working on rebuilding the beach they shouldn't be charging the same rates as they typically charge. Again the quality of the service, the property, and the rooms are amazing, but we would deem this a place we won't revisit unless the beach is dramatically improved by their current efforts (and we are hoping the coral isn't damaged in the process, being flooded with all that sand...)

Room Tip: Don't visit until the beach is improved. Get the romance package if you are there as a couple.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sarah S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BTMayakoba, General Manager at Banyan Tree Mayakoba, responded to this review, 17 April 2014
Dear Ms. Sarah S.,
Thank you for your outstanding review of our facilities and services. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay. It is with our regret that you did not find the beach as large and nice as expected; we are currently working on significant improvements, which should be completed soon.
Hoping to then have you back at Banyan Tree Mayakoba, we send you our warmest regards,
Michael Näther
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
0.3 mi away
Fairmont Mayakoba
Fairmont Mayakoba
#10 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
3,838 reviews
4.1 mi away
Mahekal Beach Resort
Mahekal Beach Resort
#27 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
2,690 reviews
5.5 mi away
Rosewood Mayakoba
Rosewood Mayakoba
#1 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
1,669 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Grand Velas Riviera Maya
Grand Velas Riviera Maya
#2 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
3,127 reviews
6.7 mi away
Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso
Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso
#1 of 11 in Playa Paraiso
5,828 reviews
4.5 mi away
The Royal Playa del Carmen
The Royal Playa del Carmen
#11 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
15,892 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Banyan Tree Mayakoba? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banyan Tree Mayakoba

Property: Banyan Tree Mayakoba
Address: Carretera Federal Chetumal - Pto. Juarez Km. 298, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#3 Luxury Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#3 Spa Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#8 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#16 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Banyan Tree Mayakoba 5*
Number of rooms: 118
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Banyan Tree Mayakoba is a site of almost mythical beauty. It flawlessly blends elegance and nature, taking the Caribbean lifestyle to an unprecedented new height. A breathtaking getaway for relaxation, rejuvenation, romance and world-class dining, it is also the region's most sustainable five-star resort. With its revitalized culinary concepts, Thai-inspired therapies at the Banyan Tree Spa, 14 event-venues and the Greg Norman signature 18- hole El Camaleon golf course, home to the PGA Tour Mayakoba Classic, the resort raises the bar for premium leisure options and event planning. Perfect for private getaways, family trips and group events, the Banyan Tree Mayakoba offers 118 villas, ranging from romantic Bliss and Serenity Pool Villas to Family Residences and Ocean Front Villas. All include outdoor areas with private pools and terraces. Inspired by the interior courtyards of houses in the Far East, each villa is discreetly built to blend with the landscape, integrating the interiors and their idyllic surroundings. East meets West in every subtle detail, from the fragrance of flowers encircling your villa, to the softness of a kimono, fine linens and essential oils on your skin. Here, even world-weary guests discover the eloquence of tranquility. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Preferred Hotels, Holiday Gems, TravelUp, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Destinology, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Banyan Tree Mayakoba reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banyan Tree Mayakoba Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Banyan Tree Mayakoba Mexico/Riviera Maya - Playa Del Carmen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing