We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Formed some of our best memories of Playa Del Carmen”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Banyan Tree Mayakoba
Ranked #2 of 211 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 23 May 2014

Having stayed at Banyan Tree hotels and villas in Asia, I was interested to see how the Asian inspired aesthetic would translate in Mexico.
Architecturally, the design elements are a sight to see and marvel at all on their own - blending the terracotta colours of the surrounding country with the lush greenery nestled within its own interesting ecosystem. I especially enjoyed the little boat ride to the beach club. (I believe one can cycle there too). The beach club was lovely and made up for the fact that the hotel is not really on the beach itself. The room itself was huge and lovely with a separate courtyard room to relax in in the early afternoons and after a swim. In typical Banyan tree style, they were immaculately appointed with little touches, like presents on your pillow every evening and lovely scents lit to relax the senses.

The only drawback is that hotel is a ways away from Playa Del Carmen and while there are restaurants within the hotel, we found ourselves cabbing to the city center almost everyday, but then again we were in search of tasty street food and found the restaurant in the villa inadequate in this respect.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kampungirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BTMayakoba, General Manager at Banyan Tree Mayakoba, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2014

Dear Guest:
We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay at our sanctuary of the senses. Thank you for mentioning some of our little touches and details and our unique beach transfer by boat (yes, you can cycle there too if you wish). Hoping to welcoming you back soon, we send you our warmest regards
Michael Näther
Director of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,130)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

950 - 956 of 2,130 reviews

Reviewed 22 May 2014

Beautiful public spaces, and this being a relatively recent addition to the Banyan Tree network, based on what's been learned the villas are well designed, with thoughtful details to enhance the experience of guests. The large gym has modern equipment. Service is superb, almost at par with the very high Asian properties. It is in the ‘outsourced’ areas where the experience leaves much to be desired. For instance, the Tour/Travel department is outsourced to a company called AMSTAR; while friendly, the staff are inexperienced and not that knowledgeable about local providers, therefore they tend to recommend those that are more expensive and sometimes not all-that-great. Another example: The spa used to provide private yoga sessions with an in-house teacher, at USD 30 per person (plus 16% tax and 15% service charge); now they only have an EXTERNAL teacher, at USD 80 flat per person, for classes up to 6 people (that is certainly NOT private!) By comparison, for private yoga classes the Rosewood spa next door charge USD 95 for the first person, and USD 10 for each additional pax. Pointing out this discrepancy, we managed to get the rate reduced for our group of 4, from a whopping 90% premium to a still-steep 45% one; the irony is it may well be the same teacher from the outside – an enthusiastic lady who just graduated from yoga teaching course a few months ago!! So, do your own research first on the internet before booking via the hotel! Otherwise, the treatments at the spa are excellent – the therapists are trained in Thailand, and the Thai ones are as good as you can get. In terms of dining, Saffron Thai restaurant (see separate entry) is authentic but not top-notch, Tamarind is quite forgettable, and Sands beach restaurant is passable with a more limited offering (in both quality and quantity) than the Mexican eatery Punta Bonita at Rosewood. All restaurants at the 3 Mayakoba hotels are outrageously priced; if you’re a Banyan Tree member, you get a 50% discount, which makes it more reasonable! I would rate BT Mayakoba a 3.5 (as I rated the BT Phuket and BT LiJiang a 4, and BT Bintan a 3) but since half points are not available, I’d give this a 4 with the wish that with time they’ll improve their outsourcing services.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Lam N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BTMayakoba, General Manager at Banyan Tree Mayakoba, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2014

Dear Mr. N.:
Thank you for your candid comments which are most valuable as well as concerning to us. We would like to apologize for the short comings you experienced with our Tour and Travel Company. We have addressed this issue and took measurements to prevent similar incidents in the future.
We also have looked into your comments about our Yoga Classes to make sure to be well aligned and avoid any kind of dissatisfaction.
Dear Mr. N., please rest assured that we are continuously working on improvements and as we are under the impression that you enjoyed your stay in general, you will hopefully return and find out yourself.
In the meantime, we send our warmest regards
Michael Näther
Director of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2014

Banyan Tree is a bit expensive, however you also have your own personal pool. Everything was nice but it also felt very isolating. This seemed like a good place to get way from it all (noise, action, other people). A place to chant and stare at a reflecting pool and meditate. Not really my thing. Also everything comes with a 30% markup (tax or something or other).

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with BanyanTree.com
1  Thank Tina H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BTMayakoba, General Manager at Banyan Tree Mayakoba, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2014

Dear Ms. Tina H.:
We regret that the concept of our resort did not fully meet your expectation and thank you for your open comments. We still would like to thank you for having chosen Banyan Tree Mayakoba for your recent stay and trust that you also carried away some positive memories.
Warmest regards
Michael Näther
Director of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2014 via mobile

Pros
Friendly staff
Large heated plunge pools
Nice breakfast buffet
Nice gym
Boat tour is fun

Cons
Beach: very encumbered view with cement blocks
Rooms small for the pricing
No Mexican food (I realize this is an Asian chain -/ but it's in Mexico!)
Spa very lacking they price for 95 minute service but give you a 60 minute treatment and then drop you off in a small room for tea (awful)
Restaurants some good some not good at all (make reservations even if it looks empty)

I've been to all the hotels in the Mayakoba, this was my least favorite. I think they for the price it should be better. Rosewood gets my vote. For 1000 a day I expect better.





Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank SSemone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BTMayakoba, General Manager at Banyan Tree Mayakoba, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2014

Dear Guest:
Thank you for your detailed review and the positive comments about the friendliness of our staff.
We carefully took note of your constructive criticism, as comments like yours help us to continuously improve.
We appreciate that you chose Banyan Tree Mayakoba for your stay and hope to see you back either as a guest or a visitor.
Warm regards
Michael Näther
Director of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2014

We enjoyed our stay a lot! However our private pool was dirty and filled with bird feathers.... The should skim and clean pool daily. They cleaned pool 1time over 5 days. Would go back again and again ! Best place to just chill!

Room Tip: Hard to use the movie ordering...most evenings it said unable to process
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with BanyanTree.com
Thank Joshua R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BTMayakoba, General Manager at Banyan Tree Mayakoba, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2014

Dear Mr. Joshua R.:
We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your most recent stay with us and hope to be welcoming you back soon. Our standard is to clean all pools on a daily basis, so we have taken note of your comments to follow up and make sure that short comings like these will not happen again.
Warmest regards
Michael Näther
Director of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014 via mobile

Private pools attached to your private villa. Grounds/buildings are kept immaculately clean. Service was prompt/almost intuitive, with a smile and NEVER in your face. Not commercialized at all. So close to historic, cultural and natural explorations. Security is amazing. World class a+++spa.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Goodfood72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BTMayakoba, General Manager at Banyan Tree Mayakoba, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2014

Dear Guest:
Thank you for taking the time to post such a wonderful comment. It is our true pleasure that you fully enjoyed your stay and we hope to be welcoming you back at the soonest.
Warm regards
Michael Näther
Director of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2014

Real luxury in very large villas, with private pools and real privacy if you want it. However this is a huge luxury resort. If you are looking for exclusive, boutique style, intimate luxury don't stay here. If resort size Is not important and you are happy to get a 10 mins golf buggy ride to the beach, or a 5-10 minute walk to the main hotel facilities then stay here. Staff as you would expect excellent, food very good, extensive breakfast - continental at $28 - with no alternative as the resort is a drive away from any alternative. Gym a little small and some of the equipment a little dated. If you are a keen scuba diver go to Dive Aventuras - a great set up, excellent dive masters and good value. So, terrific resort hotel - but big!

Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
Thank DK63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BTMayakoba, General Manager at Banyan Tree Mayakoba, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2014

Dear Guest:
Due to our villa concept, the resort is indeed very extensive and blending into nature throughout a rather large area. We are delighted to learn that you have enjoyed your recent stay with us and would be happy to welcoming you back soon.
Warmest regards
Michael Näther
Director of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
0.3 mi away
Fairmont Mayakoba
Fairmont Mayakoba
#9 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
4,133 reviews
4.1 mi away
Mahekal Beach Resort
Mahekal Beach Resort
#27 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
2,808 reviews
5.5 mi away
Rosewood Mayakoba
Rosewood Mayakoba
#1 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
1,739 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Grand Velas Riviera Maya
Grand Velas Riviera Maya
#3 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
3,245 reviews
1.4 mi away
Viceroy Riviera Maya
Viceroy Riviera Maya
#12 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
1,160 reviews
4.5 mi away
The Royal Playa del Carmen
The Royal Playa del Carmen
#10 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
16,369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Banyan Tree Mayakoba? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banyan Tree Mayakoba

Address: Carretera Federal Chetumal - Pto. Juarez Km. 298, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#2 Luxury Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#2 Spa Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#8 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#16 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range: £446 - £1,257 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Banyan Tree Mayakoba 5*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Banyan Tree Mayakoba is a site of almost mythical beauty. It flawlessly blends elegance and nature, taking the Caribbean lifestyle to an unprecedented new height. A breathtaking getaway for relaxation, rejuvenation, romance and world-class dining, it is also the region's most sustainable five-star resort. With its revitalized culinary concepts, Thai-inspired therapies at the Banyan Tree Spa, 14 event-venues and the Greg Norman signature 18- hole El Camaleon golf course, home to the PGA Tour Mayakoba Classic, the resort raises the bar for premium leisure options and event planning. Perfect for private getaways, family trips and group events, the Banyan Tree Mayakoba offers 118 villas, ranging from romantic Bliss and Serenity Pool Villas to Family Residences and Ocean Front Villas. All include outdoor areas with private pools and terraces. Inspired by the interior courtyards of houses in the Far East, each villa is discreetly built to blend with the landscape, integrating the interiors and their idyllic surroundings. East meets West in every subtle detail, from the fragrance of flowers encircling your villa, to the softness of a kimono, fine linens and essential oils on your skin. Here, even world-weary guests discover the eloquence of tranquility. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with seekda GmbH, Booking.com, Holiday Gems, LoveHolidays, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Banyan Tree Mayakoba reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banyan Tree Mayakoba Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Banyan Tree Mayakoba Mexico/Riviera Maya - Playa Del Carmen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing