We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic, Friendly Service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Banyan Tree Mayakoba
Ranked #2 of 211 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 29 May 2014

I'm a bit of a hotel snob, but I was incredibly impressed by the fast, friendly service throughout Banyan Tree Mayakoba. Everyone from the bellmen to the pool cleaners to the "buggy" drivers went out of their way to be helpful, and always did so with a smile. Our golf villa was massive, with a huge rooftop pool and living room/kitchen space. The bedrooms and master bedroom were also large, albeit quite musty. The food throughout the resort was fantastic - especially the breakfast (be sure to ask them about the juice of the day). The beach served the best fish tacos I've ever tasted!

The only negative is the beach itself. The pool/beach combo is clean and well done, and the beach boys were incredibly attentive, but the gigantic sandbags currently in the water (to prevent erosion, perhaps?) really take away from the beauty of the beach. I hope they find a way to solve the problem in a less unsightly manner.

Room Tip: Golf villas provide an excellent value when traveling with a group, pending you can handle the stron...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Elisabeth O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BTMayakoba, General Manager at Banyan Tree Mayakoba, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2014

Dear Ms. Elise O.;
We very much appreciate your wonderful feedback and are happy to hear, that you enjoyed your accommodation and our services. Regarding your comments about our beach, please be assured that improvements are already on their way.
Warmest regards
Michael Näther
Director of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,126)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

943 - 949 of 2,126 reviews

Reviewed 28 May 2014

For my third visit to the Mayakoba properties we stayed at the Banyan Tree as opposed to the Fairmont. First, we enjoyed both properties - setting, service, food, amenities, et cetera. Second, while we recommend both properties, we believe that each has its strong points, depending on what you are seeking. Taking children or teenagers? Choose the Fairmont. The public pool areas allow for great children's play areas while allowing teenagers to be "separate" from their parents - close, but not too close if that is what they want. The children's activity areas at the Fairmont are larger. Beach? Both beaches are fine (white sands, lounge chairs, bar and food), but the beach area is larger at the Fairmont, and the pool area near the beach is larger at the Fairmont than at the Banyan Tree. Grounds for exploring? Fairmont as there is simply far more of it - again, more areas for teenagers to do their own thing between family times. Privacy? Banyan Tree. Romance? Banyan Tree - it is more intimate, and those private pools for each room . . . sunning to "whatever." But, a couple looking for romance will find it easily at the Fairmont. Food? We give the Banyan Tree a nod for dinners, but each one is even when talking about breakfast or lunch. You can eat at each other properties' restaurants and charge it back to your room. Cost, not including food? Fairmont is certainly less pricier, you pay for the privacy at the Banyan Tree. If it is just my wife and me it will be Banyan Tree in the future. If it us and our adult kids, it will be the Fairmont. If it had been us when we were young marrieds, either with children or escaping from the, it would be the Fairmont.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank wjk3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BTMayakoba, General Manager at Banyan Tree Mayakoba, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2014

Dear Guest:
Thank for your thorough analysis and comments. We very much appreciate your feedback and are happy to learn that you enjoyed your most recent stay with us.
Looking forward to your next visit, we send you our warmest regards
Michael Näther
Director of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2014

The villa's are your own private little oasis in a jungle. Sumptuous rooms which open straight into the swimming pool are lovely and I really enjoyed the open air bath.... The hotel is beautiful set down a long road through jungle and elegantly designed. The boat which takes you to the beach is a great touch - staying at this hotel and spa was a fantastic experience. It's a real destination. If you want to leave the luxury of this place then the main road outside is an easy journey south to Playa del Carmen and Tulum and Cancun in the north. Loved it.

Room Tip: The main hotel with its bars and restaurants is open sided so can get a tad breezy and chilly when t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank wilkinson78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BTMayakoba, General Manager at Banyan Tree Mayakoba, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2014

Dear Guest:
Thank you for your wonderful comments. We are happy that you enjoyed the nature and luxury of Banyan Tree Mayakoba, which indeed is a unique blend for private and exclusive vacation in an unspoilt environment. We certainly hope to be able to take you on many more boat rides to the beach in the future and send you our warmest regards
Michael Näther
Director of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2014

Service was terrible and the staff wasn't very friendly and helpful. The internet didn't function properly (although included in price). Hotel is very nice, you feel like you are in Thailand. The beach is not that nice, you can't really swim or even go in. Overall, I wouldn't go back and it was certainly not worth the $$. Rooms are clean and quite big and the private swimming pool is ok (not great). Book your external activities way in advance because the hotel staff for travel was rude and not helpful at all to help you plan on the spot. Weather end of May was great.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Aurel178
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BTMayakoba, General Manager at Banyan Tree Mayakoba, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2014

Dear Guest:
We very much regret that your most recent stay with us did not meet your expectations. We are very concerned as the satisfaction of our guests is most important to us.
Should you wish to further converse about your experience I would be extremely happy to hear from you.
Warmest regards
Michael Näther
Director of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2014

Having stayed at Banyan Tree hotels and villas in Asia, I was interested to see how the Asian inspired aesthetic would translate in Mexico.
Architecturally, the design elements are a sight to see and marvel at all on their own - blending the terracotta colours of the surrounding country with the lush greenery nestled within its own interesting ecosystem. I especially enjoyed the little boat ride to the beach club. (I believe one can cycle there too). The beach club was lovely and made up for the fact that the hotel is not really on the beach itself. The room itself was huge and lovely with a separate courtyard room to relax in in the early afternoons and after a swim. In typical Banyan tree style, they were immaculately appointed with little touches, like presents on your pillow every evening and lovely scents lit to relax the senses.

The only drawback is that hotel is a ways away from Playa Del Carmen and while there are restaurants within the hotel, we found ourselves cabbing to the city center almost everyday, but then again we were in search of tasty street food and found the restaurant in the villa inadequate in this respect.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kampungirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BTMayakoba, General Manager at Banyan Tree Mayakoba, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2014

Dear Guest:
We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay at our sanctuary of the senses. Thank you for mentioning some of our little touches and details and our unique beach transfer by boat (yes, you can cycle there too if you wish). Hoping to welcoming you back soon, we send you our warmest regards
Michael Näther
Director of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2014

Beautiful public spaces, and this being a relatively recent addition to the Banyan Tree network, based on what's been learned the villas are well designed, with thoughtful details to enhance the experience of guests. The large gym has modern equipment. Service is superb, almost at par with the very high Asian properties. It is in the ‘outsourced’ areas where the experience leaves much to be desired. For instance, the Tour/Travel department is outsourced to a company called AMSTAR; while friendly, the staff are inexperienced and not that knowledgeable about local providers, therefore they tend to recommend those that are more expensive and sometimes not all-that-great. Another example: The spa used to provide private yoga sessions with an in-house teacher, at USD 30 per person (plus 16% tax and 15% service charge); now they only have an EXTERNAL teacher, at USD 80 flat per person, for classes up to 6 people (that is certainly NOT private!) By comparison, for private yoga classes the Rosewood spa next door charge USD 95 for the first person, and USD 10 for each additional pax. Pointing out this discrepancy, we managed to get the rate reduced for our group of 4, from a whopping 90% premium to a still-steep 45% one; the irony is it may well be the same teacher from the outside – an enthusiastic lady who just graduated from yoga teaching course a few months ago!! So, do your own research first on the internet before booking via the hotel! Otherwise, the treatments at the spa are excellent – the therapists are trained in Thailand, and the Thai ones are as good as you can get. In terms of dining, Saffron Thai restaurant (see separate entry) is authentic but not top-notch, Tamarind is quite forgettable, and Sands beach restaurant is passable with a more limited offering (in both quality and quantity) than the Mexican eatery Punta Bonita at Rosewood. All restaurants at the 3 Mayakoba hotels are outrageously priced; if you’re a Banyan Tree member, you get a 50% discount, which makes it more reasonable! I would rate BT Mayakoba a 3.5 (as I rated the BT Phuket and BT LiJiang a 4, and BT Bintan a 3) but since half points are not available, I’d give this a 4 with the wish that with time they’ll improve their outsourcing services.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Lam N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BTMayakoba, General Manager at Banyan Tree Mayakoba, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2014

Dear Mr. N.:
Thank you for your candid comments which are most valuable as well as concerning to us. We would like to apologize for the short comings you experienced with our Tour and Travel Company. We have addressed this issue and took measurements to prevent similar incidents in the future.
We also have looked into your comments about our Yoga Classes to make sure to be well aligned and avoid any kind of dissatisfaction.
Dear Mr. N., please rest assured that we are continuously working on improvements and as we are under the impression that you enjoyed your stay in general, you will hopefully return and find out yourself.
In the meantime, we send our warmest regards
Michael Näther
Director of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2014

Banyan Tree is a bit expensive, however you also have your own personal pool. Everything was nice but it also felt very isolating. This seemed like a good place to get way from it all (noise, action, other people). A place to chant and stare at a reflecting pool and meditate. Not really my thing. Also everything comes with a 30% markup (tax or something or other).

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with BanyanTree.com
1  Thank Tina H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BTMayakoba, General Manager at Banyan Tree Mayakoba, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2014

Dear Ms. Tina H.:
We regret that the concept of our resort did not fully meet your expectation and thank you for your open comments. We still would like to thank you for having chosen Banyan Tree Mayakoba for your recent stay and trust that you also carried away some positive memories.
Warmest regards
Michael Näther
Director of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
0.3 mi away
Fairmont Mayakoba
Fairmont Mayakoba
#13 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
4,124 reviews
4.1 mi away
Mahekal Beach Resort
Mahekal Beach Resort
#27 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
2,805 reviews
5.5 mi away
Rosewood Mayakoba
Rosewood Mayakoba
#1 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
1,737 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Grand Velas Riviera Maya
Grand Velas Riviera Maya
#3 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
3,239 reviews
1.4 mi away
Viceroy Riviera Maya
Viceroy Riviera Maya
#9 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
1,158 reviews
4.5 mi away
The Royal Playa del Carmen
The Royal Playa del Carmen
#12 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
16,355 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Banyan Tree Mayakoba? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banyan Tree Mayakoba

Address: Carretera Federal Chetumal - Pto. Juarez Km. 298, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#2 Spa Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#2 Luxury Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#8 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#16 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range: £441 - £1,236 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Banyan Tree Mayakoba 5*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Banyan Tree Mayakoba is a site of almost mythical beauty. It flawlessly blends elegance and nature, taking the Caribbean lifestyle to an unprecedented new height. A breathtaking getaway for relaxation, rejuvenation, romance and world-class dining, it is also the region's most sustainable five-star resort. With its revitalized culinary concepts, Thai-inspired therapies at the Banyan Tree Spa, 14 event-venues and the Greg Norman signature 18- hole El Camaleon golf course, home to the PGA Tour Mayakoba Classic, the resort raises the bar for premium leisure options and event planning. Perfect for private getaways, family trips and group events, the Banyan Tree Mayakoba offers 118 villas, ranging from romantic Bliss and Serenity Pool Villas to Family Residences and Ocean Front Villas. All include outdoor areas with private pools and terraces. Inspired by the interior courtyards of houses in the Far East, each villa is discreetly built to blend with the landscape, integrating the interiors and their idyllic surroundings. East meets West in every subtle detail, from the fragrance of flowers encircling your villa, to the softness of a kimono, fine linens and essential oils on your skin. Here, even world-weary guests discover the eloquence of tranquility. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Holiday Gems, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Banyan Tree Mayakoba reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banyan Tree Mayakoba Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Banyan Tree Mayakoba Mexico/Riviera Maya - Playa Del Carmen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing