We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“World class service. Totally blown away”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Banyan Tree Mayakoba
Ranked #2 of 211 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 17 June 2014

My wife and I stayed with our 2 year old daughter for 6 nights in a Sanctuary Pool Villa. First off, you should definitely book your trip through a Virtuoso travel agent - we got a free room upgrade, breakfast and other perks; and the price was better than I could find anywhere on the net. On to the stay. The service is what stands out from the minute you step out of your car. Everyone on the property says hello with a smile on their face. The staff should be commended for their high standard of service. My favorites were Ceidi at Oriente Restaurant and the beach staff (Jesus, Cristiano, Luz). Such warm and amazing people.

The room is amazing and was perfect for staying with our daughter. We set up her crib in the room across the way and used a baby monitor to make sure she was ok. The first few days, we had torrential rains and it was great to have the villa pools and hot tub. We got lots of use out of them and they were totally private.

Our favorite meal of the day was definitely breakfast. The buffet is wonderful and has tons to choose from. We were a bit disappointed by Sands for lunch (the pizza is pretty terrible despite the wood stove) but the other Mayakoba lunches weren't much better. I think Rosewood probably has the best lunch - we loved Punta Bonita for dinner. Saffron is a wonderful choice for dinner - unfortunately we didn't get to eat over the water because of the weather.

Overall I would highly recommend Banyan Tree. It is an amazing place.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank wang923
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BTMayakoba, General Manager at Banyan Tree Mayakoba, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2014

Dear Guest:
Thank you for your lovely and detailed comments about your most recent family vacation here at Banyan Tree Mayakobá. It is indeed our pleasure to hear that you enjoyed the natural surroundings of our resort and in particular the service provided by our people. We have passed on your comments to Ceidi, Jesus, Cristiano and Luz, who were very happy to hear that they were mentioned by you in particular.
Thank you also for mentioning our unique breakfast buffet and your Thai dining experience at Saffron and be assured that our Chef already looked into the consistency of our pizza at Sands. Thank you for bringing it up.
Warmest regards,
Michael Näther

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,110)
There are newer reviews for Banyan Tree Mayakoba
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

920 - 926 of 2,111 reviews

Reviewed 10 June 2014

I stayed 1 week and I loved it. What I realy appreciated was the great and courteous service from absolutely everybody at the hotel. They were all so caring, helpful and friendly that I wanted to take some people with me to show Switzerland how 5 Star service is supposed to be. A big big thank you to all those men and women who made my stay so lovely and unforgettable!

Another thing I really liked is the architecture and the way the villas are built into the jungle, with lots of vegetation, water lagoons and mangroves all around the place. You never have the impression of staying in a concrete hotel city. There is also a lot of space, everywhere.... between the tables in the dinning restaurants, between the chairs at the beach... you never hear your neighbours or will be disturbed by their conversations whatsoever.

The only little weakness, you can see that the hotel is not the newest. My shower showed clear signs of deterioration and for a 5 star hotel I would have expected a newer shower.

Also the private pool has always leaves and little bugs. I would have loved quickly cleaning it in the morning before I went in. It would have taken me max. 3 minutes. So I suggest the hotel provides smaller pool strainers for each Villa.

Though food was lovely, the price for it was somehow too expensive. My favorite was the Beach restaurant. I had several lunches there and everything was fresh and so in match with the beach sight. I just loved it!

I will definitely explore more Banyan Trees at other destinations. And if possible also go bach to Mayacoba! People there were just so amazingly nice!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with BanyanTree.com
4  Thank veve2908
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BTMayakoba, General Manager at Banyan Tree Mayakoba, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2014

Dear Guest:
Thank you for your wonderful comments about the beauty of our natural surroundings and the warm service provided by our people. It makes us truly happy that you enjoyed the privacy and ambiance of our resort and that you feel motivated to visit more Banyan Tree Resorts throughout the world. That said, please be assured that it is our utmost wish to soon welcome you back to Mayakoba.
Thank you also for mentioning the flaw with your shower. Such defects should indeed not occur and we have corrected it right away. Your suggestion to provide small pool strainers in each villa was well noted.
Hoping to see you back soon, please receive my warmest regards,
Michael Näther

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2014

I think that a lot of people get really confused when they travel to Mexico. They are not really sure what to expect or what their money buys them in Mexico with regard to hotels. Especially Cancun and the Riviera Maya. So many choices. You can go cheap and very Mexican authentic near Playa Del Carmen. Or you can go all inclusive all along the Riviera Maya and you never have to leave the hotel. These hotels are huge and you never really have to make a decision during your stay. Or you can stay in a very nice hotel on the strip which is one long party all day long.Your choice is entirely on what makes you comfortable. But if you want luxury and probably some of the best hotels in the country, then you should do Mayakoba. There are three hotels on the grounds of Mayakoba and all of them are very high end. They are not all inclusive and there is no permanent party in the pool or anywhere in the hotel. They are set apart in the Mexican jungle near the ocean and there are very few experiences like this in Mexico. They are expensive but I promise that you can't get anything like this close to where you live. I loved both the Rosewood and the Banyan Tree. They are Mexican versions of The Four Seasons and The Ritz Carlton. But they are different because they are in Mexico which is the whole point of going to Mexico in the first place. You pay for the experience of being in the Mexican jungle. You pay for the huge rooms and the tranquility, and you pay for the individual service. You pay for the private pools and the romance. You pay for privacy. You pay for the ability to get anything that you want on a moment's notice. You experience Mexico in a way that few others do and if you insist on comparing it to other hotels in other parts of the world? Then you are wasting your experience here and certainly your money also. The Banyan Tree is a spectacular hotel in a spectacular setting with vey good food and service that is totally set apart from other hotels in Mexico. Spend the money if you can afford it and enjoy the experience. It's a terrific experience.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank bobjusacoils
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BTMayakoba, General Manager at Banyan Tree Mayakoba, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2014

Dear Guest:
Thank you for your detailed review and your lovely comments about Mayakoba and Banyan Tree Mayakoba in particular. I really enjoyed reading your comments as they truly highlight the variety of styles and categories you can find for a vacation in this rather large destination.
Our philosophy is to provide a unique and exclusive experience with personalized service surrounded by nature. We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed that privacy with all the services provided by our people.
Warm regards and we all hope to see you back soon,
Michael Näther

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2014

It was our honeymoon trip. The service is absolutely great. The staff is always prompt to help. Great atmosphere. All the facilities are great as well. The breakfast (basically a brunch) is full of options including local food (Mexican). We would love to return.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with BanyanTree.com
2  Thank igorfst81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BTMayakoba, General Manager at Banyan Tree Mayakoba, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2014

Dear Guest:
Thank you for choosing Banyan Tree Mayakoba for the very special occasion of your honeymoon.
We are delighted that you had a wonderful time and would like to thank you for your gracious comments about our people and our food. We would love to welcome you back for your first anniversary or even before. In the meantime we send you our warmest regards
Michael Näther
Director of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014 via mobile

Husband and I stayed 4 nights. Villa was to die for, truly. Upgrade to spa pool villa if available, we looked at a sanctuary pool villa first and spa pool was in a better location and outdoor area seemed more open (they are right off of lagoon).
Major area for improvement--Sands beach club! For the $$$ this place costs major service upgrades are desperately needed there. Staff was not very friendly or helpful. I left a pair if flip flops on a ledge by the outdoor pool shower for literally 15 min to walk on the beach and they disappeared/-staff was not eager to help find them at all. Strange reaction. There seemed to be a lot of staff standing around at beach bar, chatting. There was also much too long a wait for drinks there--should never have to flag anyone down at a place like this. Staff just seemed put out by every request. It was such a contrast to the rest of the resort, where staff was truly nice, warm and helpful. As others have noted, beach is man-made and not great, but very pretty still with turquoise water and soft white sand. Very rocky near ocean but husband was still able to swim a bit.

Food is ok, not stellar at Banyan. For the price (with 31% tax/service charge) it is not amazing for sure. We went to Rosewood for 2 dinners, food seemed slightly better and actually a bit less $. Saffron was our best meal there for sure. Rosewood seemed very nice, but had a much more sterile and cold feeling to it. Staff and guests alike seemed very pretentious there. Just not our crowd I guess.
I don't know how you can beat the villas at Banyan. Amazing for ultimate relaxation and privacy.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
6  Thank shanmac00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BTMayakoba, General Manager at Banyan Tree Mayakoba, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2014

Dear Guest:
Thank you for your lovely comments about our villas. We are happy that you enjoyed the privacy and comfort of your accommodation.
We also very much appreciate your feedback about our beach club area and are concerned that your experience apparently was not up to standard. Please be assured that we have addressed the issues with all involved in order to make sure that more attention will be given to this area.
Hopefully you will give us the pleasure of welcoming you back and prove our true standards of service throughout.
Warm regards
Michael Näther
Director of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

From arrival to departure, the staff was extremely helpful, gracious, and accommodating. The grounds were beautiful and the Villa was incredible, From the private pool to the jacuzzi to the outside shower it was top notch accommodations. The spa was fantastic and teh weather gorgeous. I would recommend anyone who wants to get away and enjoy privacy and relaxation to come here.

Room Tip: All the villas are very similar with each level adding a little something. So decide what is importa...
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HotelLounger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BTMayakoba, General Manager at Banyan Tree Mayakoba, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2014

Dear Guest:
Thank you for your very nice feedback regarding your most recent stay at out resort.
We are happy that you enjoyed the beautiful surroundings of our facilities and the service provided by our people.
Hoping to have you back soon, we send you our warmest regards
Michael Näther
Director of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014

The property is lovely as are the villas. Ours had an AC issue and we had to move 4 times at 1 am to find a villa to sleep in. The manager on duty told us that all the villas had AC problems and that actually 'it wasn't a problem'. It was. The staff was nice the next day, but not getting to sleep until 3 am was definitely a problem.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank swankyhotels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BTMayakoba, General Manager at Banyan Tree Mayakoba, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2014

Dear Guest:
We are terribly sorry that the incident with your air condition affected the comfort of your stay.
The issue was addressed right away and ensured that it should not reoccur. Thank you for your honest feedback.
Best regards
Michael Näther
Director of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
0.3 mi away
Fairmont Mayakoba
Fairmont Mayakoba
#13 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
4,092 reviews
4.1 mi away
Mahekal Beach Resort
Mahekal Beach Resort
#28 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
2,775 reviews
5.5 mi away
Rosewood Mayakoba
Rosewood Mayakoba
#1 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
1,728 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Grand Velas Riviera Maya
Grand Velas Riviera Maya
#3 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
3,221 reviews
4.5 mi away
The Royal Playa del Carmen
The Royal Playa del Carmen
#12 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
16,213 reviews
6.7 mi away
Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso
Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso
#1 of 11 in Playa Paraiso
5,916 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Banyan Tree Mayakoba? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banyan Tree Mayakoba

Address: Carretera Federal Chetumal - Pto. Juarez Km. 298, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#2 Spa Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#2 Luxury Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#8 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#16 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range: £425 - £1,277 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Banyan Tree Mayakoba 5*
Number of rooms: 118
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Banyan Tree Mayakoba is a site of almost mythical beauty. It flawlessly blends elegance and nature, taking the Caribbean lifestyle to an unprecedented new height. A breathtaking getaway for relaxation, rejuvenation, romance and world-class dining, it is also the region's most sustainable five-star resort. With its revitalized culinary concepts, Thai-inspired therapies at the Banyan Tree Spa, 14 event-venues and the Greg Norman signature 18- hole El Camaleon golf course, home to the PGA Tour Mayakoba Classic, the resort raises the bar for premium leisure options and event planning. Perfect for private getaways, family trips and group events, the Banyan Tree Mayakoba offers 118 villas, ranging from romantic Bliss and Serenity Pool Villas to Family Residences and Ocean Front Villas. All include outdoor areas with private pools and terraces. Inspired by the interior courtyards of houses in the Far East, each villa is discreetly built to blend with the landscape, integrating the interiors and their idyllic surroundings. East meets West in every subtle detail, from the fragrance of flowers encircling your villa, to the softness of a kimono, fine linens and essential oils on your skin. Here, even world-weary guests discover the eloquence of tranquility. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Sabre Hospitality Solutions, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Banyan Tree Mayakoba reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banyan Tree Mayakoba Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Banyan Tree Mayakoba Mexico/Riviera Maya - Playa Del Carmen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing