We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good localisation”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Corto Maltes Ocean Front Luxury Vacation Condos
Reviewed 6 January 2012

We stay in Corto Maltes last december.The place is really nice but unfortunatly we were so disappointed about the service. For exemple, we leave so many mail or post card to the reception to send them and they've lost all of them. Indeed, they are not really serious. Nevertheless, our stay in playa was very pleasant. Kiki

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kiki b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (75)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

28 - 34 of 75 reviews

Reviewed 13 December 2011

I've stayed at both Encanto locations and have to say that although El Faro is nicer than Corto, Corto isn't too bad. The pros: it's on the beach, it's a condo, ours had two restrooms, two bedrooms, and a sofa bed. You get to use the pool at El Faro and we had two complimentary American breakfasts daily. What I didn't like about it is that the water pressure really needs some work done. The water came and went in the showers and it made strange noises when you first turned it on. Then all of a sudden water would come spitting out full force! Also for some odd reason, the tub in one of the rooms was so tall it isn't easy to step into. It's about 2.5 feet tall! The TV's are also really tiny compared to El Faro, and it's much louder than El Faro at night as there's a club downstairs. What I didn't like about it was the housekeeping. At El Faro, I had housekeeping service daily. At Corto, there's only housekeeping service every other day. And we had to throw out the trash ourselves. Not sure why we had the lousy service with housekeeping this time but I still had a wonderful time! Overall: if you have a choice between both hotels go to el Faro. However, if el faro is booked, you will enjoy the amenities of Corto enough to oversee the imperfections. And at least, Corto has doors for both restrooms! So you don't have to watch your loved ones use the facilities as you might have to endure at El Faro!

Room Tip: Ask for one away from the club.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sm27357
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2011

This was our third trip to Playa this year and we have been traveling to Playa with regularity for the past 10 years. I rarely review our accommodations unless I am truly overwhelmed and Corto Maltes exceeded our expectations.

LOCATION: This condo is on the beach and a rather busy 10th street which is central in location and within walking distance to everything. Unless you plan on excursions there is absolutely no need for a rental car. Because it is centrally located, the fishing excursions leave from here about 6:30 AM and the divers leave around 7:30 AM. Also, located on the ground level are a couple of popular beachfront restaurants and beach clubs adding to the activity of this location. It is not busy like Miami Beach but there is enough activity to afford entertainment and people watching. If you are looking for the postcard image with an isolated beach, two beach chairs and the ocean, this is not the place. On the other hand, if you like a little activity with restaurants, beach service and people watching, this place is ideal.

ACCOMMODATIONS: Each condo is decorated, furnished and supplied by its owner so variations exist among units. We stayed in #303 and it was well appointed, tastefully decorated and the kitchen had every appliance and utensil needed for a wonderful, multi-course meal. The balcony was phenomenal with barbeque grill, seating and a beautiful unobstructed ocean view. We could even get internet on the corner of the balcony. This unit also had it own rooftop area complete with bathroom, jacuzzi, lounge chairs and yes, amazing ocean views.

SERVICE: Check-in was a breeze; however, a visual inspection must be scheduled for check-out which I found a little offensive. We had a water pressure issue, more a lack of water issue for our entire stay. It was strange: water for 2 minutes, no water for 2 minutes, water for 2 minutes etc... The pressure was fine for 2 minute intervals. I reported this problem to Sylvia at the front desk after the second day and she assured me it would be fixed tomorrow. Needless to say, tomorrow never arrived. This did not mar our trip as we learned how to soap up, wait 2 minutes, rinse, shampoo, wait 2 minutes, rinse. There were no long luxurious showers on this trip. Sylvia was extremely nice and provided a sweet smile with unfaltering lip service but no solution to our water issue.

NEGATIVES: I mention the water problem to be honest and complete; however, this was not a huge issue for us as we quickly learned how to work with an intermittent water supply. The only other potential negative is high pitched clinging of the oxygen tanks used for diving which were unloaded by the dive masters at 7:30 AM in front of the condo complex. Fortunately, we awaken early each morning for our morning run so this was not a problem for us. Without these two potential negatives, this would be the Perfect Beachfront Condo.

Room Tip: Only 4 or 6 rooms are truly beachfront. Sorry, I do not know the numbers. We stayed in Room 303 an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Regs911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2011

Stayed in Unit 302 this past weekend. My sister and I loved it! Sylvia and the rest of the staff went above and beyond to provide anything we wanted. They were all so sweet. Our unit was beautiful and clean! I would highly recommend.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank teresa0k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2011

First review, although I've stayed here 5-6 times in years past. We rented Unit 104 at Corto over Labor Day via Rockstar Rentals. Condo's are huge, clean, well equipped, have everything you need. Cannot beat the location - 2 blocks up to Quinta Ave (5th Ave) and you're in the heart of everything. No need for a car. Corto condo's have pool privileges at El Faro (next door - the Lighthouse), and you're allowed to bring your own beer to the beach at their club. (Note - Zensi, right below Corto - you cannot bring your own beer!). Both Zensi and El Faro's beach front service is great and plenty of food and bev's available. Ask for specials when renting, sometime breakfast is includes next door for 2 people. I highly recommend this complex (via Rockstar Rentals) and really wouldn't stay anywhere else in Playa!

Room Tip: Rooms that end in 4 and 5 are the direct ocean front. 3, 2 and 1 all have side views, but you can s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Kathy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2011

We stayed in Unit 101 at Corto Maltes. This is a large, beautiful, 3 bedroom, 2 bath contemporary condo. Walk to great restaurants, shopping, and entertainment. Swim, sun bathe, enjoy lunch and finish with a one hour, $30 massage on the beach. We loved our vacation!

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pegbob35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2011

It was a beautiful well equipped condo. Our issues relate to the noise level from the street below in the early morning hours. Lots of banging and clanging of oxygen tanks waking us up and keeping us up. Next door at El Faro, Sylvia was at the front desk. She was very helpful and we appreciated her lovelly demeanor. Wicky's restaurant (also next door at El faro) was super during the day with wonderful, attentive waiters (REALLY good burgers). In the evening however, the service was definitely lacking. We had dinner there a couple of times. Food was good, but it was difficult to find a wine that was on the menu that they had in stock and though well staffed, everything took forever.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chiorstaig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
0.2 mi away
Porto Playa Condo Hotel & Beachclub
Porto Playa Condo Hotel & Beachc...
#15 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
645 reviews
0.1 mi away
El Taj Oceanfront & Beachside Condos Hotel
El Taj Oceanfront & Beachside Co...
#42 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
1,397 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Palm at Playa
The Palm at Playa
#21 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
1,611 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Villas Sacbe Condo Hotel and Beach Club
Villas Sacbe Condo Hotel and Bea...
#149 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
96 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Elements Oceanfront & Beachside Condo Hotel
The Elements Oceanfront & Beachs...
#95 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
179 reviews
0.0 mi away
Residences El Faro
Residences El Faro
#12 of 224 in Playa del Carmen
411 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Corto Maltes Ocean Front Luxury Vacation Condos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Corto Maltes Ocean Front Luxury Vacation Condos

Address: Calle 10 y Zona Federal Maritima, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico (Formerly Encanto Corto Maltes)
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #55 of 224 Speciality Lodging in Playa del Carmen
Price Range: £230 - £321 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Corto Maltes Ocean Front Luxury Vacation Condos 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Corto Maltes is a luxury, privately owned condominium complex directly on the beach in the heart of Playa del Carmen. Each unit is individually decorated by the owner and no two are alike. There is a bar and restaurant downstairs. The Homeowners Association provides a business center with a computer, printer, internet and Vonage phone service. Typical services and amenities are provided by companies that manage the individual units. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick and Cancelon so you can book your Corto Maltes Ocean Front Luxury Vacation Condos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Corto Maltes Ocean Front Luxury Vacation Condos Mexico/Riviera Maya - Playa Del Carmen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing