We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (3,751)
Filter reviews
3,751 results
Traveller rating
3,112
366
128
47
98
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
3,112
366
128
47
98
Show reviews that mention
All reviews la cantina del rio photo package xenotes tour river view cave restaurant parks included mercado buffet service manager main infinity pool kids pool dinner show guest services zip lining airport shuttle amazing resort taco
Filter
Updating list...
89 - 94 of 3,751 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This is our second visit in Jan 2019 (we went in Jan 2018 as well) to this resort which is unusual since we never go to the same resort twice. It has the best combination for people that want either quiet time or active time.
"This resort continues to impress us and we recommend it to our friends to try out."
They continue to maintain and improve the resort amenities. We hear they will be adding a healthy restaurant (ie. Vegetarian, Natural foods etc..), Xavage (another park) and new Hotel section in 2019.
We view this resort as 4.5 out of 5. They have taken feedback from last year and improved accordingly but they still have some kinks to work out. Either way, we anticipate to continue to visit this resort as their standards are quite high and we believe you obtain excellent value here for an all inclusive resort.

PROS
-If you like quiet, this resort is quiet (not a party resort)
-If you like being active, this resort includes their activity parks.
-If you like beach, they have great lagoon beaches. Their Gulf beaches are rough water and mostly rocky with some patches of sand.
-Exceptionally clean resort.
-Check-in and check out process was much better this year for us but we arrived and left when it wasn't busy so I don't know if they can handle large volumes at 1 time well
-3 of the pools were heated this year (2 were heated last year)
-Food quality and variety is very good to excellent.
-Both times, the resort does not seem over-crowded
-Maintenance service was excellent like last year for minor room issues
-Room mini-fridge was stocked daily (this was a problem last year but its fixed now; note to bar service person, don't take maid service tip that i left under her dessert treat box because you got to room first, be happy with tip i left you in room fridge. I stopped leaving you tips after that and waited until after you left to leave tip for maid service)
-Room service was convenient and the food was generally very good (It takes about 30-45 minutes to receive your order so plan accordingly.
-Their concierge was more focused this year on providing service and less pushy about attending their 'Xcaret club'/'timeshare like' offering.
-Restaurant and bar service was generally excellent but some people are just not meant to be in the service industry (sometimes attitude, sometimes inefficient, sometimes expecting a tip versus happy to be surprised with one) which reduces the excellent experience provided by the majority of the workers there (this is the main reason I think they are still a 4.5 and not quite a 5 star resort)
-Daily maid service was thorough (time would vary depending on where you were on their schedule).
-The Sunday church buffet was excellent (new this visit; it was under construction last year)
-The boat ride to Xcaret park was a nice option (new this visit)
-There are so many parks to visit, it's difficult to see them all on 1 trip. This year we visited Xenotes again, Xcaret again, Xplor Fuego 1st time, Coba/Xelha 1st time, Xenses again. Which parks are our favourites in no particular order?
Xplor or Xplor Fuego, Xenotes, XelHa, Xcaret Evening Spectacular Show (the others are fine and interesting too but not our favourites)
The only Mayan ruin we have not visited yet is Telum. We have seen 2 of the 3 Mayan ruins. Xichen is where you go to learn, see the most, quite commercialized, has street vendors but you can't climb the pyramid and its a long day. The only reason you would go to Coba is to climb the pyramid. We think Tulum would be between a Coba and Xichen experience.

Things to improve upon:
-They need to do a better job of informing their guests on what's available at the resort, where and at what times (ie. map of resorts, times of restaurant opening, where and when is Yoga, is there somewhere to dance to music at night etc..). It's like a treasure hunt every visit.
-Their room service pizza is not very good. They should use the Playa's brick oven pizza for room service.
-It's also disappointing you can't get Playa's brick oven pizza in the evening. This is excellent pizza.
-HA restaurant is not worth the price. It's mostly empty again this year. You need to change something about it.
-The signs on the resort are better than last year but they still need to improve it.
-The bike path signs are confusing and needs to be re-visited. We did better when we ignored the bike path signs.
-We did not visit Xoxomilco this year although we did last year. We originally booked it again this year, then canceled it when we heard what it was like this year. We like the concept to see the different cultural dances/songs at each boat stop. The drinking is fine for those that want to drink (this is mostly a booze cruise). It's definitely not for kids. The food was average. We don't like the excessive mosquitos and the raunchiness from some of the boat captains we heard about this year.
-Not the best place for a great Gulf beach experience but they have nice beach lagoons.
-It surprised us there was absolutely no benefit to being a repeat customer. ie. upgraded room, coupon for Xcaret plus activity, even acknowledging our re-visit with something special in our room etc...
-It would be a nice benefit if when we referred a 1st time visitor to the resort that both parties received some sort of discount or perk. Not doing this benefit would not stop me from recommending this resort, it would just be a nice benefit when referring 1st time visitors without being a Club member.
-They have a 3-hour tour to PlayaDelCarmen 5th Avenue but you have to attend a 1-hour presentation in a jewellery store so we took a taxi. 5th Avenue is an interesting place to visit but we would only go there on a rainy day.

Overall, we will be back again. Thank you for such a great vacation again Hotel Xcaret!

Date of stay: January 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
8  Thank ZZUnique963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Xcaret_Mexico, Director General at Hotel Xcaret Mexico, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear ZZUnique963,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us at Hotel Xcaret Mexico. We always appreciate feedback we were delighted to read your kind comments, and to hear that you rated your time with us so very highly and enjoyed our enviable restaurants.

We have taken note of all the comments made to better our services.
Thank you once again for taking time off your busy schedule to share us this fantastic review and should you ever require another exquisite retreat, we will be more than happy to accommodate you once again.

Until then, have a wonderful week ahead of you.

Kindest regards,

Jorge Ducoing
Hotel Manager
Hotel Xcaret Mexico

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Spent 6 nights with our 6 adolescent and young adult children. I can’t even think of one thing this hotel could do better The food was delicious, the hotel is gorgeous, the excursions were super fun... kayaking, snorkeling, zip lining, propelling into caves... the staff was friendly and helpful at all times. One of our favorite vacations ever

Date of stay: January 2019
Trip type: Travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
5  Thank Molly H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Xcaret_Mexico, Director General at Hotel Xcaret Mexico, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Molly H,

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts on Hotel Xcaret México.

We are delighted to hear that our standards and services have been consistent through your stay with us, and your compliments on the good food, service and unique concept are greatly appreciated.

We look forward to sharing your kind words with the team, and to welcoming you back to Hotel Xcaret México for many more years to come.

Kind regards,

Jorge Ducoing
Hotel Manager
Hotel Xcaret Mexico

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

While you'r at xcaret hotel dont forget to visit sonora grill for dinner jose lopez and aydee guichad the cheff will awesome your palate , and please dont forget to leave a tip since i saw a lot of pleple just walk out the restaurants like nothing just cause is all inclusive .

Date of stay: January 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank rubasm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Xcaret_Mexico, Director General at Hotel Xcaret Mexico, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear rubasm,

We would like to thank you for taking the time to share this very positive comment on TripAdvisor.

It is a real pleasure to read that you appreciated the welcoming service that was provided as much as our mexican spirit and delicate balance between our heritage and modernity.

We wish you have an excellent day ahead of you and look forward to welcoming you back soon at Hotel Xcaret México for another All Fun Inclusive journey.

Sincerely,

Jorge Ducoing
Hotel Manager
Hotel Xcaret Mexico

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We just got back from our second time at this resort. Once again, Hotel Xcaret did not disappoint. This is truly the standard for an all inclusive hotel that other hotels should strive for.

There are a couple hidden gems in the resort that I would like to share. We went to the buffet on the Sunday morning, and there was a bit of a wait. The hostess of the buffet came along the line and let us know of other options and buffets. One of them was the restaurant "La Cantina", which was about a 200 feet from where we were standing. We went over, and there was no lineup, and barely anybody there. It gave full menu/table service for breakfast. We went there every morning to eat, and most often there would only be one or two other tables of guests.

Another hidden gem that my wife absolutely loved was that they held catholic mass up in the top of the spiral at 10am Sunday morning. She loved it.

Last year when we went, the restaurant under the infinity pool serviced a giant hamburger. I was sorry to see it gone from the menu this year, but could certainly understand it's absence as it led to a lot of waste. Instead, they had a sirloin burger on the menu. I think I had that for lunch the majority of our visit there.

A new touch was the taco cart outside the main buffet. We really enjoyed that, although I have to say the steak tacos inside the buffet are about the best I have had anywhere.

There is a boat service that will take you to Xcaret park. We walked along the sidewalk by this river, and as you go past the roadway, you will be amazed by the river systems and bridges they have created. There is actually a river beneath a river, and roadways and paths still unfinished. Obviously there is much more to come to this unbelievable area.

As most other reviewers have mentioned, the food is one of the highlights of the resort. The presentation of the deserts especially are like works of art.

We did have an issue arise with our ocean-view room after a few days there, and the hotel immediately moved us. At that time of evening, they only had a swim up room available in the building we were in, but moved us the next day to an ocean side, which was great. Issues happen in life, it's how the hotel handles it that is the measure of quality.

Our thanks goes to this Hotel and especially the staff, who provided us with an unparalleled holiday.

My only regret of the whole week is that I did not buy one of the Hotel Xcaret coffee cups from the gift shop. That way, I could be reminded every morning about where my next vacation is going to be.

Room tip: Ocean view is good, ocean side is great. But there is nothing wrong with river view either.
Date of stay: January 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank sunnyshilo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Xcaret_Mexico, Director General at Hotel Xcaret Mexico, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear sunnyshilo,

It is with great pleasure that we read of your visit to Hotel Xcaret México and we are delighted that you and your family enjoyed every aspect of your stay with us, every detail and service throughout your stay which made you feel nothing less than royalty!

We strive to deliver perfection to each and every guest and it is a pleasure to hear that our efforts have not gone unnoticed.

It is a wonderful to read that you appreciated the welcoming service that was provided as much as our mexican spirit and delicate balance between our heritage and modernity.

We hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you back very soon to your new home at the Mayan Riviera.

Kind regards,

Jorge Ducoing
Hotel Manager
Hotel Xcaret Mexico

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed for a week in January. Nice clean beach! We enjoyed the long chairs, and there were bar service on the beach area also. That's a great plus. The pool was huge and warm. For those who likes to swim and work out its a must! Great gym. Everywhere we go, it always smells so good. The food is excellent, the room was always clean. Our cleaning person in room 1656 was great and really attentive to small details. Also, we forgot to take her name but the attendant in front of the Trajineras restaurant at night was incredible. Even when we came around 10pm to eat after our excursions, she was enthusiastic and always so welcoming compared to other restaurantes like the Xin Gao restaurant or the buffet we ate. Some of the waiters should take her as an example. Myself, who work in the hotel industry, I wouldn't give the hotel a 5 stars for their hospitality. It's lacking a lot in that department. The people behind the kitchen area were not always welcoming, we felt like we were a pain in the ass when we asked for something. Even when the cook had to pans to do the pastas, he was using one by one when they were a line up for pastas... It blew my mind. Fortunately, the pool attendants were incredible I wish people would give them more tip ; they fold your clothes while you're out swimming or eating in the buffet next to it without even asking them what to do. The service at the Teppanyaki restaurant were excellent also. Overall, some services in the hotel were worth a 5*, but also some were extremely lacking. Another thing we noticed, the people working in the hotel in the restaurants especially in the buffet were a lot more welcoming to the people who spoke spanish compared to us who only speaks english. BEWARE a lot of false advertisings. We needed to book for the Las Cuevas restaurant which turned out to be a buffet... Another unfortunate false advertising : We book a oceanview room and at our surprise the day we check in, we got a pool view... We went at the front desk and they only change us the next day for an oceanview... since no room was available. The room didn't have any oceanview... Lastly, we went to Xplor Fuego on one of the night. Seriously, it's also lacking a lot in customer service. The people working there for the Ziplining where actually so in a hurry to close even though it was not the time to close, that we needed to run and do the 7 ziplining stations as fast as we could. BEWARE also for the excursions! We took the excursion for the Xenotes AND WE HAD TO GO TO SEVERAL DIFFERENT HOTELS TO PICK UP SOME GUESTS. WE HAD TO LEAVE THE HOTEL AT 8H30 AM AND WE WERE LITTERALLY PICKING PEOPLE UP TO 10h30 AM. Yet again, at the end of the day, the tour guy was literally dropping people at custom place in Playa del Carmen. It was not in hotel anymore but in specific area requested by some of the guests which was not in the hotel. It was on Saturday January 12. We complained at the front desk saying that for the other excursions we didn't want to live again the same thing we just did. Overall, the hotel is great but is still lacking a lot in customer service. The hotel cleanliness is a 5 stars but the customer service is poor 3*. The food is a 5 *with great varieties of cocktails. If you really want to do everything everyday , this is the resort for you! You won't be bored.

Date of stay: January 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
4  Thank VinnyGambini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Xcaret_Mexico, Director General at Hotel Xcaret Mexico, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear VinnyGambini,

Thank you very much for the exquisite and detailed review of your stay with us. We cannot thank you enough for such kind words and staying as honest with your review.

We have taken note of all the comments made to better our services. We are happy to read that there are indeed parts of the stay that had met your expectations and we hope that this does not deter you from returning for another luxurious stay in the future.

We do hope that you will allow us another opportunity of being your host again in the future.

Sincerely yours,

Jorge Ducoing
Hotel Manager
Hotel Xcaret Mexico

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews