We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing food, price and service”
Review of Mosquito Blue Restaurant - CLOSED

Mosquito Blue Restaurant
Price range: US$10 - US$30
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Reservations
Description: Mosquito Blue Restaurant and Lounge has been a trendsetter in Playa del Carmen, unequaled in quality and sophistication for both its menu and design. When it opened in 2003, the restaurant became the first in Playa to offer a chic gourmet dining experience on the popular 5th Avenue, in the heart of Playa del Carmen’s tourism district. A team of Italian chefs transforms ingredients from the Mexican Caribbean kitchen into a delicious Mediterranean Italian culinary experience. Indoor and outdoor seating available. Enjoy a superb collection of Italian wines carefully imported exclusively for Mosquito Restaurants.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing food, price and service”
Reviewed 21 July 2013

This place is all decorated in white, has little tables outside and looks very chic and expensive so we never even stopped to look at the menu in front. When we finally did we realized it was the same price (or cheaper) than other restaurants for tourists that look cheap and have bad food. The service here was excellent, although a little overwhelming sometimes. They brought to the table a long plate with many different kinds of bread as well as olive oil, balsamic vinegar and some aioli dip. I ordered the tagliatelle bolognese which was amazing (and in large portion) and my friend has a blue cheese salad which she said was good and in large portion as well. Overall the food was amazing, the ambiance felt exclusive (although a little "cold" inside) and the price was very fair if not cheap for 5th avenue. Beautiful!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LouiseG9292
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

139 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    78
    32
    11
    9
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Jose CA
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Don't avoid this restaurant because it looks expensive”
Reviewed 19 May 2013

After having a really bad service experience at one of the other 5th Ave restaurants decided to try something more exclusive and thought it was probably going to be much more expensive. Surprise everything was good, the food, the service, the wine, the atmosphere and the price! We have been traveling to Playa del Carmen every year for almost 20 years. This was by far best dining experience and best value we've had --- only thing we did not like was that every couple of minutes a group of mariachis walked by wanting to play for us -- but that happens at all of the restaurants, would be nice if there were some way to keep them from interrupting your nice meal.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ruielu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Amazing food and atmosphere”
Reviewed 6 May 2013

Very innovative cuisine. The sauces for the dishes are some of the most fascinating combination of flavors I have ever had. The Imperial Shrip is just amazing. The citrus sauce is the best I have ever had on shrimp and I don't think it even has any sugar in it. A great place to eat elegantly and be healthy at the same time. The atmosphere and staff are amazing as well.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank JTC72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Providence, UT
Level Contributor
70 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“A Great Restaurant in the Midst of Many Mediocre Ones”
Reviewed 1 May 2013

The Italian chefs here do a great job--even with Mexican dishes like fish fillet Veracruz style, a favorite of mine--and the white table cloths and nice table settings are a cut above the usual in Playa. In the years we've been eating there, we've never been disappointed in service or food or prices. ("Terrible" must've caught this 4 or 5 star restaurant on an off day!)

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RWSmith6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isla, Spain
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great Find!”
Reviewed 18 April 2013

This beautiful restaurant is located right on 5th avenue, tastefully decorated, great food and amazing service. Our server Hugo took such great care to be sure we were well taken care of and we enjoyed the food and wine, we went back a second time during our two day stay. Definitely a place not to miss during a visit to Playa

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank IamanIslandGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mosquito Blue Restaurant also viewed

Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
Playa Maroma, Playa del Carmen
 
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing