We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel El Punto = Hotel El MAGNIFICO!!!”
Review of Hotel El Punto

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel El Punto
Ranked #144 of 211 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Reviewed 19 August 2012

Wow. Words seriously escape me to be able to begin to articulate how incredible this spot was. The rooms made you feel like you were part of young Hollywood. Plush/Lavish living in this place. The rooms were ALWAYS a welcoming cool temperature from the hot weather. And every room has an amazing view of Playa Del Carmen. One element that stood out the most was how incredibly welcoming the front desk clerks were. EVERY TIME my wife and I would walk in or leave, they ALWAYS gave us a smile and a greet. The absolute best were Blanca, Diego and Santiago. Those three made the experience incredible. And nothing taken away from the other workers as well. EVERYONE on staff from the front desk clerk to the housekeeping staff are extremely friendly. I LOVE this place. Who needs an overrated, soulless, overpriced HUGE resort, when you have an intimate and p[pleasurable location as Hotel El Punto. And its right in the heart of where ALL of the hot action is on 5th ave. You seriously CANNOT go wrong with this place. If we ever come back to Playa Del Carmen, there isn't any other place that I would stay. I will ALWAYS stay here. THANK YOU HOTEL EL PUNTO! Loved You Guys!!!

Maurice and Christine Proffit

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mproffit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blanca B, Director General at Hotel El Punto, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2012

Hola Maurice and Cristine for your kind comments. It was such a pleasure to have you as guests. We are really thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for your kind email too :) We are looking forward to host you again soon!! very best Regards. El Punto team!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (349)
There are newer reviews for Hotel El Punto
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

121 - 127 of 349 reviews

Reviewed 7 August 2012

I was looking for a place to stay for my 40 Birthday. For the price the place was more than I expected!! The place was perfectly located near the beach only a few minutes walking. the staff was very nice, and was very accomidating and willing to help! Loved the rough top bar which is the best kept secret. Very modern, hip, and sleek! You can see the ocean from the rough top, and the city!! The location could not of been better to all the bars, restaurants and shops,
Loved this place and I would recomend this to anyone looking for a fun get away!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kristine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blanca B, Director General at Hotel El Punto, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2012

Hola Christine and thank you so much for taking the time to write about our boutique Hotel. You guys were such a pleasure to host!! We are very happy that you had a fantastic 40th birthday and we hope to host you again soon!! Big hugs from all the team!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2012

The staff was very helpful and nice. The check in and check out are really quickly. The prices are very good, and the rooms are clean, spacious and the AC works perfectly. Plus the location is very convenient!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Nnmt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blanca B, Director General at Hotel El Punto, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2012

In behalf of our Boutique Hotel El Punto staff we would like to thank you choosing us and also for taking the time to write a comment about your stay. It was a pleasure to host you and we look forward to welcome you again soon! I remain at your service.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2012

I took my 18 year old daughter to Playa Del Carmen to celebrate her high school graduation and spend some special time with her before she leaves home for college. I carefully read all the reviews and decided Hotel El Punto would provide economical, yet clean and safe accommodations close to the beach for a nine-night stay. The hotel exceeded my expectations. Housekeeping did an outstanding job of cleaning the room each day. I loved the coffee machine in the room and the easy-to-use room safe. The hotel staff were very kind and personable. Josue, Diego, Francisco, and Blanca--to name a few on the team--were so helpful. Diego arranged a tour for us to Chichen-itza--much more reasonable than we could have found on our own--with a safe driver and knowledgable guide. We also enjoyed free watermelon martinis at the La Azotea Bar on the roof of the hotel on Thursday Ladies Night. The beach access from the hotel was east breezy--two minute walk from the hotel. (Mosquito Beach beds were so comfortable.) While some reviewing this hotel found it noisy, we found the sounds a part of the charm of being in such a central location. We knew we weren't in Kansas anymore when we could step out on our balcony and listen to Mariachi Bands. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Hotel El Punto!

Room Tip: The corner balcony room is a fun place to watch the fun of 5th Avenue. Not a room for light sleeper...
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MarilynC312
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blanca B, Director General at Hotel El Punto, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2012

Hola Dear Marylin and thank you very much for your kind comments. Was such a pleasure to host you and your daughter at our Hotel El Punto. We are thankful that you took time to write your experience and we are looking forward to host you and your daughter again soon! Please send her my regards and all the best luck for college! :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2012

My boyfriend and I decided to make a trip to Mexico since we had never been there. We got a great deal via Groupon for a 3 night stay at this hotel for only $250. I was a little skeptical, thinking the room might be really cramped or dirty because of the low price, but I was fantastically wrong!

When we first arrived, the check-in was very painless (probably also thanks to groupon). They have little keys with keychains on them for the room keys (not like most hotels that use cards), which was a cute style. The first room we were put in was small but not too small. It was just the two of us and it was perfect. However, apparently there was a problem with the plumbing they hadn't resolved yet so someone was at our door within 2 min of us getting in the room. I'm SO happy we didn't have to find out about this on our own. They moved us to an even bigger, more spacious room with a fantastic view.

The location was also very nice. It's on 5th ave. right across the street from a Mexican restaurant AND a drugstore. The drugstore is something no one else mentioned on here, but we found it to be a HUGE help, whether we were buying sunscreen or stomach medicine when my boyfriend got food poisoning (not from Hotel el Punto). Literally, a lifesaver. We also spent most of our time at the Mosquito Beach club, which the hotel provides a pass to. Mosquito beach has big beds that accompany two comfortably. These beds are right on the beach with a nice shade of palm trees (but not too much so you can still get some color). The food here was also amazing as well (once again, not where he got food poisoning).

The club on the roof was fun and although we were staying on the floor right under it, we didn't have any problems with the noise. However, I could see how this would be a issue for families with younger children. I think the hotel is PERFECT for couples or a family with older children, but if you're looking to get into bed at an early time, I would definitely look elsewhere.

The AC in the rooms also worked wonderfully. There was a noticeable difference in the temperature in our room and just right out in the hallway. My boyfriend is a big guy and requires sub-arctic temperatures, so this worried me a bit. But the AC unit in the rooms are remote control and cool down the room wonderfully.

If and when we go back, this will definitely be the place we go! I just can't believe how much we lucked out.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Elise S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 3 July 2012

Hola Dear Elise and thank you so much for your kind comments. It was a pleasure to have hosted you in our boutique Property. We are thrilled to hear that you had a fantastic time. Let me tell you that the plumbing issue has been fixed for our upcoming clients. We truly appreciate you taking the time to write about us and we truly hope to host you in the future soon! Hope you had a safe trip home.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2012

Very helpful staff. Get free use of beachfront club 1 minute walk away. Must use El Punto towels or get charged extra at the beach club. Rooms are decent size with best rooms being the corner suites with balconies. Hotel's website has same deals as travel sites, I think.

Room Tip: Slight musty smell seems to come in mornings. Corner deluxe rooms with balcony is best.
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeffrey S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blanca B, Director General at Hotel El Punto, responded to this reviewResponded 18 May 2012

Thank you so much for taking your time to write a comment about our Hotel El Punto. We are truly thankful that you enjoyed your stay and hope to host you again in the near future. As Playa del Carmen has a tropical environment with 100% humidity, is hard to have the rooms 100% dry, specially being one block away from the ocean. Were glad you enjoyed also the beach club and took advantage of one of the many amenities we have for our guests. Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2012

Me and my girlfriend rented the master suite for 2 weeks, and paid roughly 15000 pesos.

The hotel staff is really nice, giving us advice on where to go, eat etc. they were always friendly and we felt appriciated.

Included in the price was a daily beach pass to one of three beaches, a complimentary breakfast across the street and clean beach towels.

We only used the mosquito beach club, which had great daybeds by an ok beach. Friendly staff, but food and drink prices where a little on the pricey side.

The breakfast offered little variation. Fruit bowl appetizer and mostly egg based meals with a slice of loaf per person and orange juice/coffee. OK breakfast if you are not to picky and don't want to bother with finding a place to eat in the morning. We quickly got bored of the breakfast so often found other places to eat, like 100% down the street.

The master suite we got was of a really high standard. Lots of room, big bed, mini bar with a selection of beverages (non alcoholic) and snacks. Free nescafe coffee everyday, amazing bathrobes and a big overhead shower. Fresh towels everyday, and shampoo/conditioner was provided. Only down side is that we didn't get any body wash. We had a large balcony stretching around the corner of our room, although the one side was to narrow to use. The balcony overlooked the 5 ave and we could see some of the ocean as well. Nice and windy up there.

The roof bar was just as trendy as the hotel, with a nice selection of drinks, cool music and food (but we didn't eat there)

Some people have complained about the level of noise in the rooms, didn't really bother us except that we can understand that families, old people or generally people that like to go to bed early would go crazy after a couple of days. There is a constant bumping bass above you from around 11 pm to 1 am. But the worst is the mariachis on 5 ave, playing on their tone deaf trumpets and singing really bad. They played the same crap every night, and there were often 2-3 groups playing at the same time, different songs.

Over all, it didn't bother us too much. You could rent a room on the first floor, as far away from 5 ave as you could get, but I think you will still hear it.

If there is anything to complain about regarding the hotel, is just that we didn't get toilet paper, coffee, blankets or bath robes one day, but I'm sure it was a mistake. We talked to the receptionist and she fixed it straight away.

We would definitely stay again, location is sooo nice.

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Horabjorg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blanca B, Director General at Hotel El Punto, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2012

Thank you so much for your comments. I have revised them carefully and we truly apologize on the day that you didnt receive full service on your room, I am glad it got resolved promptly. We appreciate the possitive comments as well as we take customer service seriously, I will pass your comments to the team to mantain our full service. Regarding the noise, I personally have talked to the manager at La Azotea to lower the noise during the night. We truly hope to host you in our Hotel El Punto again soon!
Best Regards; Blanca Bertely

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
0.1 mi away
Los Itzaes Hotel
Los Itzaes Hotel
#80 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
154 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kinbe Hotel
Kinbe Hotel
#106 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
640 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cache Hotel Boutique
Cache Hotel Boutique
#111 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Xtudio Comfort Hotel by Xperience Hotels
Xtudio Comfort Hotel by Xperienc...
#77 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
250 reviews
0.1 mi away
El Secreto Hotel by Bunik
El Secreto Hotel by Bunik
#127 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
126 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Lunata
Hotel Lunata
#90 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel El Punto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel El Punto

Address: 5th Avenue & 8th Street | Colonia Centro, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#44 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range: £44 - £155 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel El Punto 3.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
El Punto is a boutique hotel strategically located in the heart of Playa del Carmen: at the center of its active life and a few steps away from its best beaches. Located on the exuberant Fifth Avenue, with numerous restaurants, shops and entertainment, the hotel offers a cool atmosphere that delights couples, single travelers and groups for its lively vibe, excellent service, modern facilities and "La Azotea" a restaurant lounge on the top floor with the best view of the sea and Cozumel, where to enjoy exclusive events, hot DJs and the best cocktails.Walking distance from the Mexican Caribbean beaches, it offers access exclusive promotions for its guests.With only 16 modern rooms decorated with special style, at El Punto there’s a friendly and relaxed atmosphere, where quality of service is priority number one. All suites include king size beds, minibar, safe deposit, free high speed Wi Fi internet access, flat screen TV and air conditioning. Because details count, we have hairdryer, bathrobes and designer toiletries at disposal.A delicious breakfast, included in the rate, can be enjoyed every morning in front of the hotel, in one of the most popular restaurants in Playa. Front desk is open 24 hours and provides multilingual staff, tour assistance, express check-in and check-out.Minimum age required to stay is 16 years old and minimum age required for check-in is 18 years old. Smoking is not allowed. These requirements complete the concept of a boutique hotel designed for people looking to have the best time in paradise, within a modern context and at the best location for the Mexican scene.About Playa del Carmen Playa del Carmen is now one of the most glamorous places in the Mexican Caribbean. "Playa", as their regular visitors call it, is situated in the heart of the Riviera Maya and gathers the best restaurants, shops and nightclubs, as well as fabulous beaches on the Caribbean Sea.A destination where everyone will find their place: relax, play water sports, go shopping, enjoy nightlife, the finest cuisine and unique cocktails.Beaches invite you to relax and enjoy yourself. For those who love the sea, boats depart daily from the port to the great Mayan reef, home to the world’s second largest reef. When the night falls, a walk down the Fifth Avenue is a must, where you can find a variety of restaurants, bars, clubs, shops and boutiques. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel El Punto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel El Punto Mexico/Riviera Maya - Playa Del Carmen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing