We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful place and location”
Review of Hotel El Punto

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel El Punto
Ranked #141 of 214 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Montreal, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful place and location”
Reviewed 28 February 2013

My best friend and I stayed at hotel El Punto February 19-23. This hotel has one of the best locations in Playa Del Carmen. I am very familiar with the area and have been to Playa 15+ times. The hotel looks exactly like the pictures. It is modern and the room is really big when compared to other hotel room sizes. The restaurant/bar upstairs has an amazing view and it is a lovely place to lay back and have some drinks. The hotel provides you with access to a beach club which offers you beds on the beach for free. I wont lie the hotel was a little noisy at night, but it did not bother me. The staff were very helpful and kind. Would definitely go back. Thank you for a beautiful stay :)

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mangie22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blanca B, Director General at Hotel El Punto, responded to this review, 1 March 2013
Thank you dear Mangie for your kind comments and taking the time to write about your experience with us. For us was a pleasure hosting you at our Boutique Hotel and we are looking forward to host you again in the near future. We remain always at your service!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

343 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    170
    92
    45
    17
    19
See reviews for
26
197
27
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 25 February 2013

After countless hotel experiences, this is definitely Top 5. Is in the middle of everything.
We traveled with a large group for a wedding couple weeks ago and it was the perfect spot.

1. Anything you want is in less than a 2 blocks radius (includes: banks, restaurants, pharmacies, boutiques, bars, shops, late night tacos, you name it)
2. Utterly hip
3. Super clean – I am picky about his, I walk barefoot and I hate when my feet get dirty!
4. Excellent restaurant bar upstairs La Azotea
5. Access to beach/bar/hotel – more than one option
6. The staff is friendly, knows the town perfectly and take their time to get to know you. They just make you feel welcome.
7. The fact it doesn’t have a pool is not an issue once you are there. You’ll want to be out and about as soon as you step in La 5ta avenida.

Room Tip: We got a Jr. suite, - If you are traveling alone is great, otherwise get the upgrade.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vi2X
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blanca B, Director General at Hotel El Punto, responded to this review, 1 March 2013
Hola Miss Cruz and thank you so much for taking time to write a review about your experience with us. For all our staff was a pleasure hosting Rolando and Megans wedding group at our Hotel and we are looking forward to host you in the near future. We are very happy to hear that you had a wonderful stay! :) always at your service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2013

I stayed at Hotel El Punto with my sister a few weeks ago, while visiting Playa del Carmen. I have to say that the hotel has an excellent location, as you go out the Hotel you are in la "Quinta avenida", which is where everything happens, there are plenty of restaurants. Also the beach is one block away and the Hotel has 3 beaches that you can use. Staff at the hotel is very friendly and helpful. Finally we have to recomend the "AZOTEA" which is above the Hotel, it has a beautiful view of Playa del Carmen.I will probably go back, next time with my husband and baby.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gabadoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blanca B, Director General at Hotel El Punto, responded to this review, 1 March 2013
Thank you so much for taking time to write regarding your stay with us at our Boutique Hotel El Punto. For all our staff and myself was a pleasure hosting you and we are looking forward to welcome you again in the near future! Always at your service. :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2013

My partner and I just returned from a 3 day stay in Playa Del Carmen, where we stayed at Hotel El Punto room #16. We absolutely loved this Hotel as it was right off the main avenue close to shopping, dinning, restaurants, and the beach. We arrived before the 3pm check in time, but the front desk allowed us to keep our luggage by them. There is a bar at the top which is cool, but it opens later in the day. We experienced just one night where it was really loud in our room which was apparently women's night at the rooftop bar. Other than that the bed was very firm which we loved (you can ask for a topper to make it softer), the AC worked great, and your stay includes free breakfast at El Pueblo which was fantastic! I would definitely stay here again on my next visit.

Room Tip: (There is no swimming pool but I couldn't un-check the above rating.) I would stay on the first...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ronnie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blanca B, General Manager at Hotel El Punto, responded to this review, 7 March 2013
Hola Ronnie and thank you for your review regarding your experience with us. :) It was a pleasure hosting you and we are looking forward to welcome you in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2013

Just returned from Playa del Carmen after staying 3 nights in Hotel El Punto. What a great place! Everything was clean and beautiful. The staff were soo friendly and very helpful. To top it off it was on 5th Avenue so we walked right out the door to go to the beach or shopping. The free breakfast at Mi Pueblo were fantastic as well! We will definitely be coming back to Hotel El Punto. Maybe the Master Suite next time (we had the junior suite)!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank greengirl92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blanca B, Director General at Hotel El Punto, responded to this review, 1 March 2013
Thank you so much for taking your time to write your experience with us. We are extremely happy to hear that you had a wonderful stay at our boutique Hotel and are looking forward to host you again in the near future.. our Master suite will be ready for you! :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Playa del Carmen, Mexico
1 review
Reviewed 14 February 2013

I recently stayed at El Punto Hotel and I had the BEST time ! we stayed in room 29, it was so BEAUTIFUL and CLEAN ! I enjoyed so much the HIGH quality of SERVICE and COMFORT !
Right on 5th avenue ! There was noise at night but Nothing out of the normal !! Especially being SO Close To Everything !
The modern decorations ! Details like the coffee maker in the room !
La Azotea restaurant is one of the best in all Playa !! Delicious ! Everything on the menu was AMAZING !! My top recommendations: tacos tinaco and the Roquefort stuffed chicken ! We went almost every night it was so good ! And the ambiance is fabulous ! Live DJ and a BEUTIFUL view of the ocean an Cozumel !
I hope to go back soon !!!! And I will Always recommend El Punto Hotel and La Azotea !!!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NenaNomad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blanca B, Director General at Hotel El Punto, responded to this review, 21 February 2013
Hola Miss Nomad and thank you so much for taking time to write a review regarding your stay with us recently. We are extremely happy to hear that you had a wonderful stay with us. For all of our staff was a pleasure to host you and we truly hope that you can come to visit us again soon. We are always at your service and once again thank you! :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kamloops, Canada
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2013

We needed a place to rest between flights from Canada before continuing on to Belize. Hotel el Punto was a welcome surprise -- a wonderful little boutique hotel with fabulous sheets, good bed, super clean room, great toilettries and shower, helpful staff and loved the cool little coffee maker. It's right in the hub of Playa but was quiet at night. Having free Internet with a computer in the lobby was super useful as we weren't travelling with our cellphones. And the free passes to the Mosquito Beach club were a real bonus -- how great to kick back for free on a bed on the beach under palm trees (great food there, too; try the red tuna appie). We liked it so much at el Punto that we stayed another two nights on our return and would definitely stay again. Great value for the price -- in fact we paid much more in Belize for less.

Room Tip: We got a master suite both times; found the one at the far end of the hallway to be a bit quieter, b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tracy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blanca B, Director General at Hotel El Punto, responded to this review, 14 February 2013
Dear Mrs. Tracy and Mr. John! What a nice surprise to see that you took time to write your experience with us. It was such a pleasure to host you and also to have the surprise that you came back after 3 weeks to stay with us again :) . We are thrilled to hear that everything in your stay was excellent and we hope to welcome you in the near future again soon. We are always at your service!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
0.2 mi away
Cache Hotel Boutique
Cache Hotel Boutique
#111 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 284 reviews
0.5 mi away
Unic Design Hotel
Unic Design Hotel
#126 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 104 reviews
1.0 mi away
Sunrise 42 Suites Hotel
Sunrise 42 Suites Hotel
#66 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Casa La Galeria by Bunik
Casa La Galeria by Bunik
#86 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 199 reviews
0.6 mi away
Soul Beach Hotel
Soul Beach Hotel
#131 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 23 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kinbe Hotel
Kinbe Hotel
#105 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 623 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel El Punto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel El Punto

Property: Hotel El Punto
Address: 5th Avenue & 8th Street | Colonia Centro, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#44 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel El Punto 3.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
El Punto is a boutique hotel strategically located in the heart of Playa del Carmen: at the center of its active life and a few steps away from its best beaches. Located on the exuberant Fifth Avenue, with numerous restaurants, shops and entertainment, the hotel offers a cool atmosphere that delights couples, single travelers and groups for its lively vibe, excellent service, modern facilities and "La Azotea" a restaurant lounge on the top floor with the best view of the sea and Cozumel, where to enjoy exclusive events, hot DJs and the best cocktails.Walking distance from the Mexican Caribbean beaches, it offers access exclusive promotions for its guests.With only 16 modern rooms decorated with special style, at El Punto there’s a friendly and relaxed atmosphere, where quality of service is priority number one. All suites include king size beds, minibar, safe deposit, free high speed Wi Fi internet access, flat screen TV and air conditioning. Because details count, we have hairdryer, bathrobes and designer toiletries at disposal.A delicious breakfast, included in the rate, can be enjoyed every morning in front of the hotel, in one of the most popular restaurants in Playa. Front desk is open 24 hours and provides multilingual staff, tour assistance, express check-in and check-out.Minimum age required to stay is 16 years old and minimum age required for check-in is 18 years old. Smoking is not allowed. These requirements complete the concept of a boutique hotel designed for people looking to have the best time in paradise, within a modern context and at the best location for the Mexican scene.About Playa del Carmen Playa del Carmen is now one of the most glamorous places in the Mexican Caribbean. "Playa", as their regular visitors call it, is situated in the heart of the Riviera Maya and gathers the best restaurants, shops and nightclubs, as well as fabulous beaches on the Caribbean Sea.A destination where everyone will find their place: relax, play water sports, go shopping, enjoy nightlife, the finest cuisine and unique cocktails.Beaches invite you to relax and enjoy yourself. For those who love the sea, boats depart daily from the port to the great Mayan reef, home to the world’s second largest reef. When the night falls, a walk down the Fifth Avenue is a must, where you can find a variety of restaurants, bars, clubs, shops and boutiques. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Booking.com, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel El Punto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel El Punto Mexico/Riviera Maya - Playa Del Carmen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing