We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful”
Review of Hotel El Punto

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel El Punto
Ranked #137 of 211 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Austin, Texas
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“Wonderful”
Reviewed 21 September 2013

I came across this place through a Groupon a year ago but was unable to come at the planned time due to unforeseen circumstances. I finally made it back and Blanca the hotel manager was so helpful in getting everything worked out for me. The place is charming, quaint, accommodating and the staff makes you feel at home. I can't say enough about the location. It is perfect! If you want to be in the heart of everything, including the beach this is the place. You must have ceviche at the Mosquito beach hotel around the corner. Best ceviche I've had at a restaurant. I also went on a fishing trip right off the beach within walking distance of El Punto. Made arrangements with the captain for $180.00 for 4 hours. Caught Grouper & Barracuda. We ate the grouper sashimi style right out of the water. Amazing!!!
Can't say enough. Wonderful staff. I will be coming back. Thank you Blanca.

Leo

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leo M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blanca B, Gerente at Hotel El Punto, responded to this review, 2 October 2013
Dear Leo,, we would like to thank you so much for choose our Hotel EL Punto in your recent stay with us. It was a real pleasure to have you as guests and we are extremely happy to hear that your stay was enjoyable and we exceeded your expectations. We hope to host you again in the near future and we remain at your service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

348 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    172
    94
    45
    18
    19
See reviews for
27
198
27
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed 15 September 2013 via mobile

After checking out of the happy gecko as a very unhappy and disappointed gecko my boyfriend and I were after somewhere to stay for the rest of our stay in Playa.

We stumbled past El Punto and thought we'd have a look and enquire about prices. We were informed of the ever so cheap $90US per night. We thought this has to be to good to be true. After seeing the rooms we realised this is just the perfect hotel for us!

Great location- right in the centre of 5th ave! Great rooms with cable TV, big bathrooms all the amenities to keep us comfortable through out our stay.

Only negative the beds are a tad to hard, although nothing a few mojitos will mask!

All in all very happy that we stumbled into this hotel! Great value and I would recommend to all of my friends!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Drechi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blanca B, General Manager at Hotel El Punto, responded to this review, 16 September 2013
Hola Drechi and thank you for sharing your experience at our Boutique Hotel El Punto. We are extremely happy to hear that your stay was a pleasant one and we hope to host you and your friends again in the near future. Best Regards;
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pembroke, Massachusetts, United States
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2013

I came upon Hotel El Punto through Groupon, for a 3 night stay. The hotel is located only a 2 minute walk from the beachfront which is nice, right on the busiest, arguably nicest street in Playa del Carmen. For those that have never been, Playa Del Carmen is an extreme tourist trap, you won't find any food marts that sell anything aside from junk food, and you can't walk 2 seconds down the drag without being forced into a shop or restaurant. I wish i'd known this before booking my stay, i'm not one for being bombarded, it makes me uncomfortable.
Aside from these aspects, it was a fun vacation, Hotel El Punto is quiet and serene compared to most of the other small hotels we passed. The reception people are very kind and professional, working to accommodate you with whatever you need.
Things you should know however; the rooms do not have clocks, and therefore no alarm clock (we had to be up early and almost missed our pre planed trip to Cozumel because we did not receive the wake up call we put in for). There was also no microwave (I understand a lot of hotels don't have them but it would have been handy). The beds are rather firm, which is good for some people, but not for everyone. We had no idea how to work the television, not the worst thing, but a mild inconvenience.
I recommend bringing your own towels to use at the beach, they have ones you cant rent for the day but if you lose them or ruin them the fee is enormous.
Hotel El Punto has breakfast passes for the restaurant across the street, but only available from 8 to 11am, having to be up earlier to make our day trips in time... we only got one day of breakfast.
The rooftop bar is very trendy and has a beautiful view, we wished we could have spent more time up there.
Overall a good experience, but missing some pretty important amenities.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dazirae R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blanca B, General Manager at Hotel El Punto, responded to this review, 16 September 2013
Hola dear Dazirae R and thank you for your kind comments. We are happy to hear that overall your experience was a positive one and that our staff was professional and hepful at all times as is our motto. We would also like to add that our hotel amenities include hairdryer, electronic safe deposit box, Dolce Gusto Coffee Maker, complimentary waters, minibar, bathrobes to use during stay, beach towels, wood hangers and bathroom amenities. We are sorry that we couldnt provide you with a microwave and apologize for the wake up call. We hope we can host you again in the near future. Greetings from paradise.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
2 reviews
Reviewed 28 August 2013

Where do I start with our one of a kind stay at Hotel El Punto in Playa? Upon arriving, we were amazed to see the hotel in such a prime location. Roberto at the front desk greeted us with a cheerful smile and made checking into our room very easy. The suite we stayed in had a large balcony that overlooked 5th avenue and Mi Pueblo. It was fantastic to be able to people watch from the balcony and see all the different types of people walking the streets. We witnessed several mariachi bands, and even had one play to us on the balcony! The room was spacious, and the bathroom was my favorite part! The shower was so neat. Even with having a room so close to the street, we were still able to fall asleep when we needed to and even nap during the day without any issues of noise. The drinks and snacks in the fridge were convenient and not overly priced like most hotels. We had breakfast at Mi Pueblo each morning and I have been craving it ever since. The staff was kind and helpful and even assisted us when we got caught in the rain and came back soaking wet. Roberto also helped with our ride back to the airport, calling and ensuring they knew what time to pick us up. The AC in the room kept us cool the whole time and we never experienced any issues with noise from it. The room was cleaned and bed was made each day, and the staff was excellent about keeping our stuff neat and organized. It was refreshing to come back after a long day at the beach to a nice clean room. Overall, our stay was fabulous and I would recommend this hotel to anyone. ESP a room with a balcony! You won't want to miss all that 5th avenue has to offer :)

Room Tip: Room 19! Corner room, second floor and overlooks the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hannahs_time
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blanca B, General Manager at Hotel El Punto, responded to this review, 29 August 2013
Dear hannahs_time we would like to thank you for choosing our boutique Hotel El Punto for your past stay as well as your kind comments. We are happy to hear that we exceeded your expectations overall and we hope to host you again in the near future! We remain at your service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kalamazoo, Michigan
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2013

Our experience at Hotel El Punto was amazing, the rooms were clean, comfortable, and in great condition. The staff was excellent! Luis, Lula and Roberto were extremely helpful and kind. They personally assisted us in ensuring our transportation was correct for our departure home. La Azoteca bar on the roof was also great. The food, drinks and service were impeccable and we enjoyed our time spent taking in the wonderful view it offers. Breakfast at Mi Pueblo was an additional benefit! The location is great and within moments of shopping, dinning, and the beach.The free Wi-Fi was also a pro as well as the wonderful housekeeping team. We were so sad to have to say goodbye to Hotel El Punto. We will definitely be recommending it to friends and family and hope to visit again soon.

Room Tip: The Master Suite was definitely worth the extra money!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank L2TOwens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blanca B, General Manager at Hotel El Punto, responded to this review, 29 August 2013
Hola Dear L2TOwens first of all, thank you for choosing our Hotel El Punto for your stay . We truly appreciate your kind comments and wonderful experience about your stay with us. We are devoted to our clients as is what we enjoy the most in this industry. We hope to host you again soon in the near future and once again thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
El Paso, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 August 2013

Positives:
- Rooms in great condition. Looks like recently remodeled
- Housekeeping 7 days a week
- Beach only one block down
- Right in the middle of shops, restaurants, etc.
- Staff extremely courteous
- Free Wi-Fi
- Individual Climate Control with a Split A/C unit that was strong enough to keep the room very cold if you want - a must for me

Be aware of:
- My room did not have an iron / ironing board
- Wi-Fi can be tricky to connect and/or weak signal at times
- No elevator
- I think housekeeping has specific hours only - not sure, but it wasn't important for me as long as I had access to clean towels
- Because it's so close to the beach, it's located where cars cannot access directly; so cars, taxis, etc can only get as close as 1 block from the entrance

Room Tip: All bathrooms were good, but some rooms have much bigger bathrooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jaerheca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blanca B, General Manager at Hotel El Punto, responded to this review, 29 August 2013
Hola Dear Jaerheca and thank you for your review. We are pleased that you have chosen our boutique Hotel El Punto and also that we have surpassed your expectations overall. We would like to add that we do have iron upon request dialing zero from your room. Our housekeeping service works from 8am to 6 pm providing also with daily turn down service, although we respect our clients "do not disturb sign" which could have happened during your stay with us. We believe that being very close to the beach is a positive comment and once more, we truly appreciate your review and we hope to host you again soon in the near future. We remain always at your service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Playa del Carmen, Mexico
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2013

I stayed recently here and I loved it. It is very clean, modern and has great service. It is the best option for young people and young honeymooners who like to have fun. La Azotea bar is on the rooftop and is a great place to have a drink or two. Breakfast at Mi Pueblo is tasty. One block away from the beach.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Azotea G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blanca B, General Manager at Hotel El Punto, responded to this review, 29 August 2013
Dear Iaxiola we would like to thank you for sharing your experience at our boutique Hotel El PUNTO. For us was a pleasure hosting you and we hope to have you again soon in the near future. we remain at your service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
0.2 mi away
Cache Hotel Boutique
Cache Hotel Boutique
#112 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
296 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kinbe Hotel
Kinbe Hotel
#105 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
638 reviews
0.0 mi away
El Secreto Hotel by Bunik
El Secreto Hotel by Bunik
#126 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Los Itzaes Hotel
Los Itzaes Hotel
#82 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
148 reviews
0.6 mi away
Casa La Galeria by Bunik
Casa La Galeria by Bunik
#93 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
211 reviews
0.1 mi away
Siesta Fiesta Hotel
Siesta Fiesta Hotel
#116 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel El Punto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel El Punto

Property: Hotel El Punto
Address: 5th Avenue & 8th Street | Colonia Centro, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#44 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel El Punto 3.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
El Punto is a boutique hotel strategically located in the heart of Playa del Carmen: at the center of its active life and a few steps away from its best beaches. Located on the exuberant Fifth Avenue, with numerous restaurants, shops and entertainment, the hotel offers a cool atmosphere that delights couples, single travelers and groups for its lively vibe, excellent service, modern facilities and "La Azotea" a restaurant lounge on the top floor with the best view of the sea and Cozumel, where to enjoy exclusive events, hot DJs and the best cocktails.Walking distance from the Mexican Caribbean beaches, it offers access exclusive promotions for its guests.With only 16 modern rooms decorated with special style, at El Punto there’s a friendly and relaxed atmosphere, where quality of service is priority number one. All suites include king size beds, minibar, safe deposit, free high speed Wi Fi internet access, flat screen TV and air conditioning. Because details count, we have hairdryer, bathrobes and designer toiletries at disposal.A delicious breakfast, included in the rate, can be enjoyed every morning in front of the hotel, in one of the most popular restaurants in Playa. Front desk is open 24 hours and provides multilingual staff, tour assistance, express check-in and check-out.Minimum age required to stay is 16 years old and minimum age required for check-in is 18 years old. Smoking is not allowed. These requirements complete the concept of a boutique hotel designed for people looking to have the best time in paradise, within a modern context and at the best location for the Mexican scene.About Playa del Carmen Playa del Carmen is now one of the most glamorous places in the Mexican Caribbean. "Playa", as their regular visitors call it, is situated in the heart of the Riviera Maya and gathers the best restaurants, shops and nightclubs, as well as fabulous beaches on the Caribbean Sea.A destination where everyone will find their place: relax, play water sports, go shopping, enjoy nightlife, the finest cuisine and unique cocktails.Beaches invite you to relax and enjoy yourself. For those who love the sea, boats depart daily from the port to the great Mayan reef, home to the world’s second largest reef. When the night falls, a walk down the Fifth Avenue is a must, where you can find a variety of restaurants, bars, clubs, shops and boutiques. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel El Punto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel El Punto Mexico/Riviera Maya - Playa Del Carmen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing