We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just OK, but a good location”
Review of Hotel El Punto

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel El Punto
Ranked #143 of 209 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
kamloops
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Just OK, but a good location”
Reviewed 26 November 2013

At first glance this is a modern hotel, but upon further inspection its really quite cheap, certainly not worth the money, there are nicer places in the area. The location is fantastic, but not much of a view. The AC and an dehumidifier are very loud, makes it hard to sleep. The internet never did work during our one night stay.

The bed was like a brick, this was enough for me to not want to return, if it mean paying a little extra, check out some other options.

Room Tip: Choose something street front, its best the view can get.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blanca B, Director General at Hotel El Punto, responded to this review, 28 November 2013
Hola dear Chrischarlestaylor and thank you for your comments. We are really surprised of your review as we provide with your stay not only with premium amenities but also with Nespresso Coffee each day, bottled water, electronic safety deposit box , bathrobes to use during stay, hairdryer amongst others all complimentary. Regarding the internet, we have resolved the issue for our future guests and apologize for the inconvenience. Regarding the bedding, we would have loved that you have told us so we could provide you with extra cushion. We were at your service 24/7 daily. We hope you can give us the opportunity to host you again in the near future. Best Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

345 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    170
    93
    45
    18
    19
See reviews for
27
198
27
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
yucatan peninsula, mexico
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2013

I live over in Cozumel and often just go over to Playa del Carmen for a day or two. When I do, this is always the hotel I choose. It is a nice little boutique style hotel with exceptional service and is always clean. It is very modern in appearance and looks to be brand new...although I have been going there several years now. It is right in the heart of all the action on 5th Avenue...and only a block down to the beach. Full breakfast is included at their restaurant across the street. I could not find a single negative comment to ever say about this hotel....it gets my top rating!

Room Tip: I like a room that faces 5th Ave. for the view....but the back rooms are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank elicoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blanca B, General Manager at Hotel El Punto, responded to this review, 21 November 2013
Hola dear Elicoz. We would like to thank you for your kind comments. For us is always a pleasure to host you and we truly appreciate your loyalty staying with us. We are extremely happy to hear that your stay with us is always pleasant. We are looking forward to host you again soon and remain always at your service. :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Missouri City, Texas
1 review
Reviewed 12 November 2013

My husband and I found the hotel staff very helpful. Hotel accommodations okay, bed very low to the ground, for older folks it was difficult getting in and out of the bed. The TV was so far away from th bed, no couch to sit on to watch TV. It was difficult to sleep with all the noise from the bar upstairs and music in the streets. The hot water took forever to come through, waited almost 15 minutes most of the time before you could take a hot shower. WiFi was horrible, we never connected until we went downstairs into the lobby. Breakfast at Mi Pueblo was great, the staff very attentive, we enjoyed the restaurant. On check-out, we were charged $4.50 USD for a bottle of Fuji water that they said we had opened. We never opened it, but went ahead and paid the amount to not cause a stink. We had the lady behind the counter toss it in the trash. We were not about to drink it, who knows how it was opened, maybe refilled with tap water? The maid service? I would recommend this hotel for younger folks only.

Room Tip: For the younger partying generation.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wyoming2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blanca B, General Manager at Hotel El Punto, responded to this review, 21 November 2013
Hola dear Wyoming2013, we are truly sorry that you didnt experience our Boutique Hotel El Punto as we have pleased. Nevertheless we are happy to hear that our staff was attentive as well as your included daily Breakfast. Regarding your issue with the bottled water, we would like to point that we would never fill a bottle with tap water as our motto is outstanding service for our guest experience. We are located right in the middle of the Cosmopolitan Pedestrian 5th Avenue where can get noisy until 12:30pm the latest. We remain at your service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbia, Missouri
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2013

During our recent six night stay at Hotel el Punto we were treated like old friends by the staff, especially Lula. The hotel is exceptionally clean and the location is absolutely perfect with easy access to the beach, restaurants, shopping, and taxis if you want to travel a little further. Because of mobility issues, I rented a electric scooter for three of the days we were there, and the staff worked beautifully with us and Playa Mobility to make sure we had a place to store the scooter in the evening and could get in and out of the building.

Love Hotel el Punto!!

Room Tip: Get one of the rooms (only four) with a balcony if you want to watch the people on the avenue. We w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sperry_113
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blanca B, General Manager at Hotel El Punto, responded to this review, 21 November 2013
Hola dear Sperry_113, we truly thank you for making a review regarding your experience at our Boutique Hotel El Punto. For us was a pleasure to have hosted you and we are pleased that we could accomodate your needs. We welcome you again in the near future! We remain always at your service. Very Best Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woodside, New York, United States
1 review
Reviewed 30 September 2013

I love it the location the people everything I had a great experience in playa and the Hotel was great and Roberto he is a very nice person excellence customer service the rooms are very comfortable I really love this place I really recommended. Plus very good location I defiantly coming back to this place... Thank you Roberto

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Marce A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blanca B, Gerente at Hotel El Punto, responded to this review, 2 October 2013
Hola Marce and thank you for sharing your experience at our Boutique Hotel El Punto. We are extremely happy to hear that your stay was a pleasant one and we hope to host you again in the near future. Best Regards;
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami Beach, Florida
1 review
Reviewed 26 September 2013

I have never stayed at a hotel so nice and pleasant like El Punto in playa del carmen I mean actually love this place its one of our favorite place in playa del carmen.The staff are always attentive helpful and professional. I wish i remember the woman name who helped us but she's the only lady who work at the front desk so i assumed anybody who been there will noticed her. she's super nice, friendly. Always smiling with guests. we felt like we were home at some point. i just wanted to say thank you to this awasome staff that made it all worthed for us to be in mexico . Tulum and xelxah was the highlight of my 3 days trip in mexico this time. its our 2nd time within a year. we were in room 222 trip was fabulous we arrived on sunday the 22nd

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rodlinelove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blanca B, Gerente at Hotel El Punto, responded to this review, 2 October 2013
Hola Rodline love . and first of all, thank you for choosing our Hotel El Punto for your upcoming stay. We truly appreciate your kind comments and wonderful experience about your stay with us. We are devoted to our clients as is what we enjoy the most in this industry. We hope to host you again soon in the near future and once again thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 21 September 2013

I came across this place through a Groupon a year ago but was unable to come at the planned time due to unforeseen circumstances. I finally made it back and Blanca the hotel manager was so helpful in getting everything worked out for me. The place is charming, quaint, accommodating and the staff makes you feel at home. I can't say enough about the location. It is perfect! If you want to be in the heart of everything, including the beach this is the place. You must have ceviche at the Mosquito beach hotel around the corner. Best ceviche I've had at a restaurant. I also went on a fishing trip right off the beach within walking distance of El Punto. Made arrangements with the captain for $180.00 for 4 hours. Caught Grouper & Barracuda. We ate the grouper sashimi style right out of the water. Amazing!!!
Can't say enough. Wonderful staff. I will be coming back. Thank you Blanca.

Leo

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leo M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blanca B, Gerente at Hotel El Punto, responded to this review, 2 October 2013
Dear Leo,, we would like to thank you so much for choose our Hotel EL Punto in your recent stay with us. It was a real pleasure to have you as guests and we are extremely happy to hear that your stay was enjoyable and we exceeded your expectations. We hope to host you again in the near future and we remain at your service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
0.2 mi away
Cache Hotel Boutique
Cache Hotel Boutique
#110 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
295 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kinbe Hotel
Kinbe Hotel
#104 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
636 reviews
0.0 mi away
El Secreto Hotel by Bunik
El Secreto Hotel by Bunik
#125 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Barrio Latino Hotel
Barrio Latino Hotel
#67 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
674 reviews
0.0 mi away
Xtudio Comfort Hotel by Xperience Hotels
Xtudio Comfort Hotel by Xperienc...
#74 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
245 reviews
0.1 mi away
Siesta Fiesta Hotel
Siesta Fiesta Hotel
#115 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel El Punto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel El Punto

Property: Hotel El Punto
Address: 5th Avenue & 8th Street | Colonia Centro, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#44 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel El Punto 3.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
El Punto is a boutique hotel strategically located in the heart of Playa del Carmen: at the center of its active life and a few steps away from its best beaches. Located on the exuberant Fifth Avenue, with numerous restaurants, shops and entertainment, the hotel offers a cool atmosphere that delights couples, single travelers and groups for its lively vibe, excellent service, modern facilities and "La Azotea" a restaurant lounge on the top floor with the best view of the sea and Cozumel, where to enjoy exclusive events, hot DJs and the best cocktails.Walking distance from the Mexican Caribbean beaches, it offers access exclusive promotions for its guests.With only 16 modern rooms decorated with special style, at El Punto there’s a friendly and relaxed atmosphere, where quality of service is priority number one. All suites include king size beds, minibar, safe deposit, free high speed Wi Fi internet access, flat screen TV and air conditioning. Because details count, we have hairdryer, bathrobes and designer toiletries at disposal.A delicious breakfast, included in the rate, can be enjoyed every morning in front of the hotel, in one of the most popular restaurants in Playa. Front desk is open 24 hours and provides multilingual staff, tour assistance, express check-in and check-out.Minimum age required to stay is 16 years old and minimum age required for check-in is 18 years old. Smoking is not allowed. These requirements complete the concept of a boutique hotel designed for people looking to have the best time in paradise, within a modern context and at the best location for the Mexican scene.About Playa del Carmen Playa del Carmen is now one of the most glamorous places in the Mexican Caribbean. "Playa", as their regular visitors call it, is situated in the heart of the Riviera Maya and gathers the best restaurants, shops and nightclubs, as well as fabulous beaches on the Caribbean Sea.A destination where everyone will find their place: relax, play water sports, go shopping, enjoy nightlife, the finest cuisine and unique cocktails.Beaches invite you to relax and enjoy yourself. For those who love the sea, boats depart daily from the port to the great Mayan reef, home to the world’s second largest reef. When the night falls, a walk down the Fifth Avenue is a must, where you can find a variety of restaurants, bars, clubs, shops and boutiques. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel El Punto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel El Punto Mexico/Riviera Maya - Playa Del Carmen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing