We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Save your money and go elsewhere”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel El Punto

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel El Punto
Ranked #138 of 213 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Save your money and go elsewhere”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2014

This hotel is not as flash as they try to market it as (or charge for!), in fact the only thing that it has going for it is it's geographical location to the strip.
The Hotel has only 2 rooms with balcony's and these are the top priced suites, the other rooms don't even have opening windows. There is the constant twang of moldy aircon in the air and various noises from restaurant fans that must pass by nearby walls.
If I was to come to this area again I would maybe book into one of the hacienda style hotels a few doors down that look a lot more worth the money, or failing that rent a house in the nearby playacar and taxi in (2 mins).
The rooms are in disrepair, one of the suites I was in had cheap laminate repaired with even cheaper mastic.
To top off my bad experience of this hotel, they have some noddy system with towels and towel cards, I brought my own and used this for the whole duration of my holiday but still got charged £25 for a towel I didn't use once because of the stupid "system".
Poor quality rooms, Poor value for money, Poor holiday experience.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jason L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lgaxiola, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel El Punto, responded to this review, 3 May 2014
Dear Jason L, first of all thank you for choosing El Punto Hotel Boutique. We truly regret that your stay with us has not been pleasant, since we are commited to offer a top quality stay. All of our rooms offer views to different points of the cosmopolitan 5th Avenue, and access to the rooftop with one of the best views of Cozumel. As you mention, our 2 master suites offer a balcony. Although strategic, being located on the heart of 5th Avenue naturally can get noisy due to pedestrians and nearby restaurants. However, the activity ceases shortly after midnight.

Our service provides complimentary bottled water every day, bathrobes to use during your stay, hairdryer and electronic safe deposit available at no additional cost. In regards towels, we deliver a control card at checkin for our guests to be able to use towels at their convenience in an organized way. It is stated at the register form that in case of loss of a towel or the card, the hotel needs to charge a fee. It is in our records that, unfortunately, you lost one of your cards and we needed to follow this process.

Customer service is our number one priority. I remain at your service and in behalf of myself and all the team, I truly apologize we couldn´t meet your expectations.
We hope you give us another chance in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

341 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    170
    91
    44
    17
    19
See reviews for
25
196
27
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Monterrey, Mexico
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2014

It is our first night here, and although the hotel seems nice and staff seems nice. The bar upstairs supposedly closes at 12:00 am, which would not be a problem, except, right now it is still in full action at 1:30 am. Staff says they will check it iut and talk to them tommorrow. Thanks a lot.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank robms52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lgaxiola, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel El Punto, responded to this review, 21 April 2014
robms52, first of all we apologize for the inconvenience as you are right, last saturday night we had a special Semana Santa event which it got a little bit noisier and extended more than usual. We hope that did not spoil your night at our hotel and we wish you could enjoy the rest of your stay. Thank you for choosing our Boutique Hotel and hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2014

This hotel makes you sign a non smoking form however the corridors have an overwhelming stench of smoke smell that enters your room when you open the door. then when you open your windows all you smell is grease from the vents and hear the roar of kitchen fans. Very disappointed as when we pre-purchased this hotel it looks and sounds so relaxing. We moved rooms because of the smells and they then billed me for additional funds that I have disputed. Imagine that!! Such a shame as this property is in a great location with much potential,

Room Tip: Maybe a higher floor would not smell so disgusting.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank saavytraveler0305
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lgaxiola, Public Relations Manager at Hotel El Punto, responded to this review, 15 April 2014
saavytraveler0305 thank you for your review. We regret you were not satisfied during your stay with us. As you mentioned we do not allow smoking on our premises and try that our guests comply with our rules. We take not of your comments and will address them to improve our services and future guests stays. Thank you for choosing Hotel El Punto.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2014

the location is very good, bed are pretty comfy
however, the noise from the bar upstairs can be quite noisy, being 21 year olds it didn't bother us that much but if you were a bit older i know that it would impact your view on the hotel a lot
everything ran smoothly and the service was helpful and good
however, on check out we were charged because of make up on the towels........ as far as i know make up does come off in the wash. they claimed they have to use a 'different wash' for this. im sure there are far worse things on sheets than a bit of make up
other than that good hotel

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank georgia m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lula S, Gerente at Hotel El Punto, responded to this review, 19 April 2014
Hola Georgia m , thanks to take the time to share your experience in our Hotel Boutique El Punto. We hope to host you son.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2014

When we first arrived in Mexico, we travelled from Cancun to Playa del Carmen for our first night stay. Hotel El Punto was easy to find on the main strip from the bus station. The staff were very pleasant, provided us with information about the area and what to look out for. The room was clean and large with a modern vibe to it. We did find that not being able to open the windows was slightly annoying but it did obviously have air conditioning. It was a great location for restaurants and getting to the beach, and although it had a bar on top, you didnt hear any noise from it and it was a great escape from the city below.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank simon v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lula S, Gerente at Hotel El Punto, responded to this review, 19 April 2014
Dear simon v, thank you so much for taking the time to make a review about our Boutique Hotel El Punto. We are delighted to hear such great comments as they are extremely important to us. We always remain at your service. Best Regards;
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2014

Stayed at Hotel El Punto for a week in February 2014. Friendly staff at the front desk providing 24 hour assistance and providing towels for your trips down to the beach.

We stayed in a room two floors up and away from Quinta Av.- no view on the back side. While there was noise (music) from the restaurant/bar on the top floor, nothing that we wouldn't have expected and it disappeared by 11:00pm. The room was clean and well-presented. The bathroom cozy (small) also clean. Hot water was fine - typically took a couple minutes for it to warm up. Lighting in the bathroom also good. As well, the wifi service was great - consistently strong signal and good speed. Only problem - there was a small fridge in the room but it didn't seem to keep our drinks very cold.

Starbucks lovers - did I mention this is 50m (150 feet) from the nearest location. Enjoy!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andr3w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lula S, Gerente at Hotel El Punto, responded to this review, 14 March 2014
Dear Andr3w, thank you for choosing Hotel El Punto and we are happy to hear that you had a fantastic stay with us. we do have strong internet access as well as a computer in the lobby for our guests to get connected as well in case we have some problems with it. We hope to host you again in the near future. We remain always at your service
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
111 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2014

This hotel is located at 5th avenue, the pedestrian walk filled with stores and restaurants. Surprisingly, you can still sleep at night - I was there during New Year's Eve, the place was packed, my window faced 5th avenue, and we were just fine (there seems to be some noise protection at the window). The room is comfortable and clean. The shower is great. You walk like 60 mts to the beach. Need I say more? Oh, yes, the staff is great! Lula, the concierge, was super duper!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank polipatah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lula S, Gerente at Hotel El Punto, responded to this review, 14 March 2014
Dear Poli2209, thank you for choosing Hotel El Punto and we are happy to hear that you had a fantastic stay with us. And we hope to host you again in the near future. We remain always at your service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
0.2 mi away
Cache Hotel Boutique
Cache Hotel Boutique
#109 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 277 reviews
0.5 mi away
Unic Design Hotel
Unic Design Hotel
#128 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 100 reviews
1.0 mi away
Sunrise 42 Suites Hotel
Sunrise 42 Suites Hotel
#63 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Casa La Galeria by Bunik
Casa La Galeria by Bunik
#86 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 196 reviews
0.6 mi away
Soul Beach Hotel
Soul Beach Hotel
#144 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 21 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kinbe Hotel
Kinbe Hotel
#106 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 612 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel El Punto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel El Punto

Property: Hotel El Punto
Address: 5th Avenue & 8th Street | Colonia Centro, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#44 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel El Punto 3.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
El Punto is a boutique hotel strategically located in the heart of Playa del Carmen: at the center of its active life and a few steps away from its best beaches. Located on the exuberant Fifth Avenue, with numerous restaurants, shops and entertainment, the hotel offers a cool atmosphere that delights couples, single travelers and groups for its lively vibe, excellent service, modern facilities and "La Azotea" a restaurant lounge on the top floor with the best view of the sea and Cozumel, where to enjoy exclusive events, hot DJs and the best cocktails.Walking distance from the Mexican Caribbean beaches, it offers access exclusive promotions for its guests.With only 16 modern rooms decorated with special style, at El Punto there’s a friendly and relaxed atmosphere, where quality of service is priority number one. All suites include king size beds, minibar, safe deposit, free high speed Wi Fi internet access, flat screen TV and air conditioning. Because details count, we have hairdryer, bathrobes and designer toiletries at disposal.A delicious breakfast, included in the rate, can be enjoyed every morning in front of the hotel, in one of the most popular restaurants in Playa. Front desk is open 24 hours and provides multilingual staff, tour assistance, express check-in and check-out.Minimum age required to stay is 16 years old and minimum age required for check-in is 18 years old. Smoking is not allowed. These requirements complete the concept of a boutique hotel designed for people looking to have the best time in paradise, within a modern context and at the best location for the Mexican scene.About Playa del Carmen Playa del Carmen is now one of the most glamorous places in the Mexican Caribbean. "Playa", as their regular visitors call it, is situated in the heart of the Riviera Maya and gathers the best restaurants, shops and nightclubs, as well as fabulous beaches on the Caribbean Sea.A destination where everyone will find their place: relax, play water sports, go shopping, enjoy nightlife, the finest cuisine and unique cocktails.Beaches invite you to relax and enjoy yourself. For those who love the sea, boats depart daily from the port to the great Mayan reef, home to the world’s second largest reef. When the night falls, a walk down the Fifth Avenue is a must, where you can find a variety of restaurants, bars, clubs, shops and boutiques. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Hotels.com, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel El Punto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel El Punto Mexico/Riviera Maya - Playa Del Carmen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing