We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our Babymoon At In Fashion Boutique Was Top Notch!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
In Fashion Hotel Boutique
Ranked #131 of 209 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Saint Paul, Minnesota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Our Babymoon At In Fashion Boutique Was Top Notch!”
Reviewed 22 February 2011

My husband and I, celebrating our babymoon, just returned from a four-night stay (Thursday - Monday) at the In Fashion Boutique. We loved it! The hotel, which was impeccably clean, is like a modern art museum. The reception staff, especially Edith and Pablo, were very welcoming and quick to offer dining and beach club directions and recommendations. Although we were never disturbed by the maid service, they visited our room, made our bed, and replenished our towels twice a day. We stayed in petit room no. 205 and did not have any noise problems. We expect this should be true for all of the petit rooms because they line the inner courtyard of the hotel and do not face the street. Our room was spacious and the bed and pillows were so comfortable we checked the brand in case we wanted to purchase for our home.

Our room amenities included: refrigerator (with room to keep some of your own items), iron, ironing board, 2 bottles of water, 2 glass drinking glasses, Keisi shampoo, conditioner, lotion, bar soap, comb, shoe cloth, shower cap, sewing kit, and cotton swabs. Our two-headed rain shower had consistant hot water with decent pressure. Our room could have been improved by adding a hair dryer and better lighting near the sinks. Also, when we first arrived our room was programmed for minimal air conditioning which we were unable to override with the room's thermostat . We told the front desk and within minutes the temperature was reset to a comfortable level.

For $108 USD a night (including tax - booked through Orbitz.com), this is a hidden gem and a great bargain of a hotel, especially because of its proximity to the beach, shopping, and nightlife, and because it includes breakfast at your choice of two restaurants. We preferred Indigo's at 14th street and the beach (three blocks walk from the hotel). The easiest route to Indigo's is take 12th street toward the beach, take a left at the Blue Parrot, go straight until you get to 14th street, and take a right. The hotel also provides complimentary blue and white striped beach towels and a beach club pass for free chairs at Wicky's. We did not check out Wicky's but instead followed fellow travelers' recommendations and camped out at Mamita's beach club (28th street and beach). At Mamita's, we rented 2 beach chairs and an umbrella for $9 USD per day. The service here was good, crowd diverse, and swimming beach excellent. We are world travelers and generally stay at hotels ranging from $200-$400 USD per night. We believe that In Fashion Boutique is competitive with other reputable boutique hotels and, once discovered and demand increases, could easily justify higher rates.

For authentic, affordable Mexican cuisine, try Carboncitos at 4th Street between 5th & 10th Avenues.

For travel to/from the Cancun Airport, take the ADO bus. If you arrive at terminal three, after exiting the terminal building, take a right and walk 30 yards. An ADO bus representative sitting at a small wood podium near bus lanes 2 or 3 will sell you a ticket for $22 pesos or $2 USD a person one way. We purchased our return tickets at the same time. This ADO bus will also make a quick stop at Terminal 2 before heading to Playa Del Carmen. Do not get on the ADO bus to Cancun - it's a different bus. It's about a 30-45 min ride to Playa Del Carmen's main bus terminal at Juarez Street (the equivalent of 0 Street) & 5th Avenue. You will exit the bus and take a left onto 5th Avenue. From here, you will walk on 5th Avenue until you get to 12th Street. At 12th Street, take a left and In Fashion Hotel is mid-block on your left. For the average person with wheeled luggage, the walk is not too strenuous, but if you have a lot of luggage, you can also grab a taxi outside the bus station.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Amy_and_Ercu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

362 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    122
    127
    46
    23
    44
See reviews for
17
192
20
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2011

Although the room was great and it was in a good location in regard to shops, beach and nightclubs, the staff were indifferent and service was a joke. We stayed 3 nights and each afternoon had to beg them to clean our room, not to mention, replace glasses and provide drinking water.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Smithenstein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Playa del Carmen hotels

Chicago, Illinois
1 review
Reviewed 19 February 2011

If you are going to playa and wanna sleep and lounge during the day and party at night. This is the best place in Playa. I did not go out at all and I still loved the hotel. Stay here it is one of the est hotels in this town and I have been to all of them.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kitkle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2011

The hotel is in the 12 street, where you'll find only the best nightclubs and night life in Playa del Carmen. Just two blocks away from the beach.

This hotel is great if you're travelling with friends, nice design, comfortable rooms, very nice staff.... but don't think you're getting much sleep. The beds and pillows are OK, the thing is...you're in the middle of the night action, you'll hear the music from until 6 or 7am plus all the drunk people arriving to the hotel and shouting. This is perfect if you're one of them. I really recommend this hotel.... on ly if you're travelling with friends and if nightlife is what you're looking for.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Koush_Ann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2011

My fiance and I just returned from vacation. We stayed here for 5 nights. We were overall happy with our accommodations. The rooms look exactly the way they do in the pictures. The service was fantastic. They cleaned the rooms twice daily and everyone was helpful and very friendly. The dual shower heads was awesome (heat and pressure was just fine). The beds were very comfortable and they always left little candy at night. It is close to everything, two blocks from the beach, close to 5th Ave and 10th Ave (if you want cheaper foods). Complimentary breakfast at Indigo was really good. You also get free chairs at Wicky's (which I would skip and just hang out at Indigos, better chairs, etc). You also get 50% of at the GYM which is a great place to take spin, yoga, pilates classes. You do not, however, get a discount at Coco Bongo.

The CONS:
(1) Please skip the spa, the massage was terrible. The worst I've had ever and definitely not worth the $83 USD nor their promotions.
(2) If you want quiet accommodations, this is not the place for you. Though we didn't have trouble sleeping (mostly because we were so tire of our days activities), you can definitely hear the music bumping from nearby clubs/lounges. And it only gets louder as it approaches the weekend. If it weren't for the inconvenience of changing hotels (especially when we booked online), I would have done it because I really wanted my R&R.
(3) No hot tubs unless you book the spa suite. And the two pools they have are extremely cold (as are all unheated pools during this time of the year in PDC).
(4) Many of the rooms do not have a window (like 1st and 2nd), some may have a balcony (it is the way the building is designed and the fact that it is in the midst of other buildings abutting it). Luckily it was not busy and we had a room with partial ocean view, no balcony. We were happy with it.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lurve2travel143
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winnipeg
Level Contributor
41 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2010

We stayed here for 2 nights. It is very modern, white and full of windows/light. Our window faced the ocean - no balcony. The rooftop area is wonderful for lounging and 360 views but only a dipping pool. Turn down service in the evening was a bonus. Very noisy street full of bars in front like Coco Bongo. Wouldn't recommend for families either as there's no privacy in the bathroom/shower. Beds are the most comfortable I have ever slept in Mexico! Definitely good for a couple nights if you want to be in the heart of all the action and near to 5th Avenue.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mani2ban
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2010

although no so cheap, 3rd night is usually free, beutiful hotel in the heart of playa (12 st. between the 5th & 10th Avenue) room design in remarkable, got 2 sinks, 2 shower heads, just perfect for a couple.
ask for a room with less noise (not facing the street - lots of noise from the coco bongo)
staff are very nice and welcoming, wanted to help with everything, allowed us to bring guests to the roof of the hotel (with the perfect little pool observing the entire area)

Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank eravid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
0.1 mi away
Cache Hotel Boutique
Cache Hotel Boutique
#112 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
290 reviews
0.1 mi away
Villas Sacbe Condo Hotel and Beach Club
Villas Sacbe Condo Hotel and Bea...
#147 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
95 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kinbe Hotel
Kinbe Hotel
#106 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
630 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Maya Bric Hotel
Maya Bric Hotel
#155 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
336 reviews
0.2 mi away
Illusion Boutique Hotel by Xperience Hotels
Illusion Boutique Hotel by Xperi...
#44 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
1,415 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Hacienda Real del Caribe
Hotel Hacienda Real del Caribe
#102 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
541 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to In Fashion Hotel Boutique? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about In Fashion Hotel Boutique

Property: In Fashion Hotel Boutique
Address: 12 Street | between 5th and 10th Ave., Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #131 of 209 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — In Fashion Hotel Boutique 3.5*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In Fashion Hotel Boutique are reflects innumerable topics that wake the imagination up of those who seek to live in style and to dream of the unique spaces that open the door of a metaphor for the paradise, presenting an unfolding of environments, glamour, smells, flavors, sounds and luxury that make it seem to be full of light that delights us in the extraordinary Mayan Riviera in the Mexican Caribbean. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your In Fashion Hotel Boutique reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
In Fashion Hotel Boutique Mexico/Riviera Maya - Playa Del Carmen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing