We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply Amazing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Elements Oceanfront & Beachside Condo Hotel
Ranked #98 of 217 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 July 2013

This has got be one of the best places to stay. Private beach which is amazing...swimming pool which is also amazing. Even though there were a lot of families and kids around they were all well behaved and you never noticed them! Peaceful, clean, relaxing, chilled. We came to get away from it all and it certainly did the job!
Location is fantastic... five minutes walk from 38th and 5th, easily the best place to eat and drink away from the mass crowds. Canibal Royal next door on the beach is amazing to chill and eat!
All in all one of the best places to stay! We will def be back.
The place is clean, well kept, comfortable. Damien who runs the property is amazing and will sort anything you want out! You even get a Mexican cell for any local calls you want!
Met some amazing people here to hang out with.
If you just want to get away from it all or head to 5th it's the perfect location! Book it now! We will see you here

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Will0ldham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (188)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

107 - 113 of 188 reviews

Reviewed 21 June 2013

I'll start with saying I am a complete foodie and snob when it comes to travel so much so, I have never travelled with my kids before. So this is based on a family friendly not single romantic vacation. So the town of Playa is pretty nice with tons of stores and great little restaurants. The town is literally a 3 block walk up and 3 block walk over to get there. Not a pretty walk by any means, but I felt absolutely safe at all times. I visited with an infant and a 3 year old. Once in the town, as a romantic setting for dinner etc , it works. There are many restaurants that are kid friendly in terms of the menu.
The condo complex was truly convenient, having a microwave and fridge for young finicky eaters is great. Washer and dryer is even better - pack less for the kids and bring tide pods and it works.
The pool is shallow for young swimmers, my son just learned how to swim the week before an he did great. The pool has shallow shelves the kids can sit on.
The beach was pretty nice, not that wide of a beach once you got off the private part, but decent. Boats were right there to the left of the beach and so you did sometimes get the oil slick and they gut fish right there. Otherwise the water was pretty nice for kids.
You can walk 1 minute down the beach to the beach club, food is decent, drinks very watered down. The other beach club is a 10 minute walk down the beach in the opposite direction.
Pros - pool and condo itself great for children. Gym had decent equipment, slippery floor mats (weird). Staff was very nice.
Cons- walk to town not that great. Beach not pristine but decent. no food or drink service at condos.

If you like bustle and noise, you could stay closer to town. Nights in town seem very loud and crowded so I am sure places like El Taj etc are very noisy.

Tips - if you go bring lots of OFF.

BUT... if you want a cool rustic vacation even with kids, I would look at rentals in Akumel. They have a great beach, near tulum, diving and snorkeling right off the beach. Turtles everywhere, beautiful beach. Buena Vida restaurant on the beach was fantastic. I could have sat there every day eating and drinking. So my next trip if I ever go back will be to stay in Akumel. Or just skip Mexico completely and go to Parrot Cay in Turks or Victoria House in Belize.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank danielle t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2013

Did a quick 5 day getaway with 3 other couples. Very clean condos. Beach is amazing with a private beach area. On the edge of 5th avenue but well worth the walk (bring a good pair of walking shoes). Caribbean Royal is an amazing restaurant right next door for lunch. Staff are very friendly. We will come back next year.

Room Tip: Get the upper floors to have less people looking in. Ground floor is better for young families.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rick B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2013

Construction in a unit near us with three hours of hammering drove me over the edge. But what did me in was the initial response from the general manager that he was not responsible for what individual units did, including construction.

Fast forward, another day of hammering, several emails and calls, we have moved units and can now use our bedroom. And it was the actual person on the ground managing the property who helped us. So kudos to him.

So if you decide to book, here are some questions to ask.

What is the policy about noise. If construction is taking place on property what are the times construction can take place?

How long does it take to have a taxi pick you up?

What side of the building will the unit be.? Different sides have different ocean views. Our first unit great view and our second one not as much.

I hope the elements gets its management act together. Until it does, I would recommend booking elsewhere.

Stayed: February 2013, travelled on business
2  Thank DCMomInChief
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2013

Booked a room here based on photos and reviews for several nights in Playa. Spent the first three nights at Elements ( unit 223 ) before leaving for a three day break at Al Cielo in Xpa-Ha ( separate review) and jumped ship without ever returning to Elements, booking instead at Porto Playa Condotel right in PDC. Also a separate review. We thought nothing of forfeiting the $1000.00 we had prepaid to Elements in order to fully enjoy our five nights remaining in our vacation. We go to Playa every year and thought we would stray from our usual property preferences and try something new. BIG mistake. The photos and descriptions of Elements are accurate on Tripadvisor, but some things worth considering:
1. The location is marginal at best. Several blocks to nearest restaurants, etc.
2. These "condos" ( apartments, really) are each furnished by the individual owners and not professionally, so there is no standard as far as quality goes. You are sleeping on their personal sheets, bathing with their personal towels, etc.So if you're lucky, you"ll like the styling, quality, etc. hard to appreciate through photographs.
3. No Concierge in the lobby. There is an attendant but the three that we encountered in 3 days were all different and none of them spoke ANY English. All communication has to be done through Damien, the appointed Concierge, available only through cell phone. The phone is given to you for your stay which was helpful, but although we got immediate pick-up from Damien, wait time to resolve some amenity issues required a lengthy wait for maintenance to arrive.
4. First floor rooms are on display to all guests as the sidewalk leading to elevators/stairs runs the entire perimeter of the property. So take care-more than once we saw partially clad ( and unclad) guests unaware that they were that exposed.
5. Nearby beach club caters to younger set...inferior chairs, umbrellas, etc. and loud techno music.
That all said, the property is pretty and the pool is divine, with plenty of lounge chairs, etc.Eventually the town will incorporate Elements, but will never be a first rate condo hotel, which is fine unless you're looking for a first rate, service oriented condo hotel, which we were.

Room Tip: Request upper level rooms for better privacy and pleasant ocean views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank pape51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2013

My husband, baby boy and I stayed here for 2 weeks and enjoyed the Ground Floor #2 condominium. This condo was perfect for us with our baby boy. He could nap and we had a monitor that reached to the pool area so we could relax. The pool and hot tub were very nice and we used them daily. The pool was great, they have a shallow children's pool attached to the large pool...the pool is not heated but it was very refreshing!

Our Condo unit had all of the amenities that we needed to cook breakfast and lunch daily. There is a new organic store(bio-natural) on 5th ave that we got a lot of food from. There was also a fresh vegetable shop on CTM.

The architecture is modern type. We really liked the private beach area a couple of meters away. The condo is next to Cannibal Royal which has great music, excellent food and beach bar!

The condo is located in a residential area, about 2-3 minutes away walking time from 5th ave. It makes it a quieter place to stay if that is what you are looking for.

We can't wait to go back and hopefully next year we can go for an entire month!

Room Tip: Condos on the South Side are shady in the afternoon!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ANogai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2012

My girlfriend and stayed at Penthouse 1 at the Elements a week ago. Penhouse 1 is called "El Presidente" for a reason. Our friend stayed at another penthouse. We paid about 20% more and had a pad that was outstanding in upgrades. From a larger kitchen to sat. tv from prime time US and Canada, to the furnishings. The 180 degree view from the living area and terraces
was fabulous. The condo was very private and the large roof top area had a wet bar, hot tub and outside living room area.

The Elements itself was beautiful. Nice gardens, clean, safe with a large pool and its out private beach. As has been said before the Elements is not a hotel or a resort. The services you get are based on who you use to rent the property from. We talked to other guests and some had minimal services some had pretty much what ever they rquested. We used BRIC to rent Penthouse 1. We had our own consierge "Damion" who took care of everything we requested from arrival to departure.

I read a review from quests that stayed the same time as we did. They gave a negative review saying that they were told that the Elements was all inclusive. Huh? I can not see how anyone could find anywhere that the Elements is anything close to being that. There isn't any food for sale on the property. The quests complained about noise and police. That part of the review seems to me to be very misleading. The noise came from a restuarant on the beach and to the left of the Elements. The Elements was quiet as can be everynight we were there. I asked security what was up with the police that night and was told that the party at the restuarant was having government officials there and security was hieghtened. Other than that nice there was not a police pressence.

You will love the Elements. I believe that the many positive reviews are about the norm and one one negative was about a unusual set of circumstances.

Room Tip: Pay the 20% extra and you will find Penthouse 1 "El Presidente" worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tyler m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
0.2 mi away
Mahekal Beach Resort
Mahekal Beach Resort
#32 of 217 in Playa del Carmen
2,978 reviews
0.8 mi away
El Taj Oceanfront & Beachside Condos Hotel
El Taj Oceanfront & Beachside Co...
#47 of 217 in Playa del Carmen
1,447 reviews
0.8 mi away
Maya Villa Condo Hotel & Beach Club
Maya Villa Condo Hotel & Beach C...
#67 of 217 in Playa del Carmen
478 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Grand Hyatt Playa Del Carmen Resort
Grand Hyatt Playa Del Carmen Res...
#41 of 217 in Playa del Carmen
2,175 reviews
0.7 mi away
Porto Playa Condo Hotel & Beachclub
Porto Playa Condo Hotel & Beachc...
#14 of 217 in Playa del Carmen
665 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Royal Haciendas All Suites Resort & Spa
The Royal Haciendas All Suites R...
#40 of 217 in Playa del Carmen
3,951 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Elements Oceanfront & Beachside Condo Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Elements Oceanfront & Beachside Condo Hotel

Address: Avenida Flamingo Calle 46, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico (Formerly The Elements)
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#55 Luxury Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#70 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#76 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range: £157 - £383 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Elements Oceanfront & Beachside Condo Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Elements, perfectly located at the beach, features Playa Del Carmen's only private beach and beach club! Our white sandy beaches and emerald green waters are just steps from your private patio. And after the sun goes down, Playa Del Carmen's famous 5th Avenue is mere blocks away! Each of our spacious 1, 2, & 3 bedroom units feature an awe-inspiring ocean view, natural stones, plush furnishings and contemporary decor. Additional amenities include high thread count linens, plasma satellite televisions, upscale appliances, a washer/dryer, premium organic toiletries and a fully-appointed kitchen. In addition to our unobstructed ocean views and private beach and beach club, The Elements features one of Playa's largest pools, a fitness center and spa services right on the beach! Stretch out and make yourself at home during your perfect beach vacation in our "home-like" accommodations! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Elements Oceanfront & Beachside Condo Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Elements Oceanfront & Beachside Condo Hotel Mexico/Riviera Maya - Playa Del Carmen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing