We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place for a family vacation”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Maya Villa Condo Hotel & Beach Club
Ranked #42 of 209 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
New York, New York, United States
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Great place for a family vacation”
Reviewed 29 March 2013

We tend not to like big resorts and wanted a self-catering option, so we chose Maya Villa based on Tripadvisor recommendations. We were not disappointed. The property was lovely: well-run, with friendly staff, and very secluded and calm despite being just a block away from bustling 5th Avenue). We booked room 406, which was on the top floor and had its own private roof terrace with a hot tub, grill and lovely sitting area. (In fact we only used the roof terrace a couple of times, but it was nice to be able to invite another family for a barbecue up there.)

Maid Viki kept our room very clean, and the kids loved swimming in the lizard-shaped swimming pool with its waterfall. One slight disappointment was that, lovely as the pool was, it was rather small and we weren't allowed to use the pool at El Taj, the sister property that includes the Indigo Beach Club. (Next time I might consider booking at El Taj, which has comparable condos.) But this is a fairly minor point as we were very active during the days and had other swimming opportunities at Xel-Ha, Xcaret and Rio Secreto.

For breakfast, guests can either have the breakfast buffet at Indigo Beach Club or an a la carte breakfast at Imprevist, the restaurant in Maya Villa. I'd strongly recommend Indigo unless it's really windy. The buffet was great and you also get a choice of a hot dish, whereas Imprevist had slow service and the food was average. All in all this was a great experience and a wonderful home base from which to explore many of the family-friendly activities that the Yucatan has to offer. Only one final tip: unless you're a beach freak or do water sports I wouldn't recommend going to Blue Venado, the beach club that has a relationship with the Condohotel properties. We did this one day and regretted it. The waves on the beach were too rough for our kids, and the beach club was very basic. It didn't include towels, so we didn't have any as we'd assumed they'd be provided. Once there we were kind of stuck and felt obliged to have lunch in the overpriced restaurant. It's quite pretty and secluded, but it wasn't for us.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front of the property are further away from 5th Avenue and likely to be quieter. The hi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sarah C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

441 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    351
    67
    15
    5
    3
See reviews for
184
124
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2013

My husband and I and our two daughters (18 and 21) stayed at the Maya Villa for spring break, March 11 - 17th. I can't say enough about how wonderful of a stay we had there. We were in a two-bedroom, two bath condo on the second floor (Unit 415). We had everything we needed in the condo, and the furnishings and all the amenities were lovely. The housekeeper, Lordes, did a great job. The front desk staff, particularly Patricia and Carolina were always helpful and pleasant, as was the concierge staff.
We ate breakfast at both Imprevist and Indigo Beach club, and found both the service and food to be first-rate. We spent time on the beach at Indigo, also a great experience. We made the trek down to Blue Verado Beach Club one day (we had a rental car, about a 20 minute trip) and had a great time there. Quiet beach, beautiful setting, great food and service. The location of the condo so close to 5th Avenue was a real plus. The secured parking and included breakfast were very convenient. We did some shopping at the Mega store and had snacks and some lunches on our balcony at the condo.
The discount card recommendations that they condohotels provided were also very helpful. We ate at a number of those restaurants, and found the food excellent, and the extra 10% savings is a nice additional perk. My husband and daughter used the gym, which they found to be a great facility. My other daughter and I had a manicure and pedicure at the spa, and thought the staff there was very nice. We enjoyed both the pool and the hot tub at the condo, and felt safe and secure walking in the neighborhood at all times of the day and night.
We also made the trip to Tulum and Coba one day, and then all the way to Chichenitza another day. Both trips were great. The roads in the Yucatan have improved a great deal since the last time I went out to Chichenitza (23 years ago), the crowds have also grown considerably in that time. You can't climb the pyramid any more, but you can still climb the big pyramid at Coba, although someone told us that this will not be an option in the near future.
We will definitely come back again to Playa del Carmen, and I wouldn't even consider staying any were else than Maya Villa. The price, service, quality and location are absolutely outstanding! Thanks for a great trip!

Room Tip: I thought our second floor room was great. The top floor penthouses looked nice, I might consider o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeri C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Decatur, Alabama, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2013

We really enjoyed our stay at Maya Villa Condos. Our condo was nicely appointed, spacious, and clean. The condo was conveniently located to the beach and shopping areas. The concierge was friendly and helpful. We would definitely consider returning to Maya Villa when we return to Playa del Carmen.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Reggie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2013

Great room, great service, great location. We loved having access to the sister hotel on the beach just down the road. The only downside was that they tried to charge us for our airport transfer that we didn't use when we arrived (couldn't find it), but it was easily sorted out.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2013

Fantastic Stay at Maya Villa #406. I have been to Playa Del Carmen area about 6 times in the past always staying at an all-inclusive resort (located half way between Cancun and Playa). In the past we had always visited Playa for dinner and shopping. This was our first full vacation in Playa del Carmen and we are very happy we chose Maya Villa. I agree with all the positive items mentioned by other travelers on this site, so I won't repeat them. Let me add something different: Initially I was concerned that the Condo, Gym, Restaurants and Beach were not co-located; this was not a problem. In fact if you are standing at 1 Avenida and Calle 14, you can see all the locations without moving. The area is very nicely secluded from busy 5th ave.
Although we felt safe at all times, it was a pleasure meeting Rudy the security professional at the Maya Villa. He was very personable and was vigilant to who was entering or leaving the Maya Villa Condos. The first few times he would ask for your apt number and then he would make it a point to remember how many people were in your party, who was in, who was out, etc. Rudy seemed to be there at all hours. One vacation tip: venture out beyond 5th avenue. My wife and I loved the food at El Fogon Taqueria (across the street from Mega supermarket) on Constituyentes and we even ate twice at a roadside taco stand on Av Benito Juarez at Ave 25th (and we didn't get sick) - great food.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank riverside23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nyc
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 March 2013

We loved our stay at Maya Villas unit #408,it was one block from the beach and around the corner from 5th ave. A perfect location.

Our suite was beautifully decorated with every amenity, even ocean views from the roof garden and a hot tub and outdoor kitchen. The beach club Indigo Blue, where we went every morning for breakfast and stayed for lunch, was wonderful. Our beach lounges were waiting with fresh towels and beach service for drinks, and there was always someone around to move the umbrella shade. The service was friendly and all the employees were helpful. The food was so much better than in the Carribean. I never felt safer in Mexico, plus it's easy to get to from NYC! Playa del Carmen at Maya Villas and the Taj Condo Hotel is certainly one of my favorite places, and we will return often.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank selene s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Park City, Utah
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2013

This is our third time staying at Maya Villa #408. We will come back every year. This particular unit has a private top floor deck overlooking the ocean and Cozumel. There is a hot tub, bbq, shower and furnishings on the deck. There is a second patio overlooking the beautiful courtyard, just off the family room and kitchen area. Perfect for appetizers and cocktails before heading to 5th Ave, just a 5 minute walk away. Equally as close is the beach and beach club. Excellent food and service can be found there. The condo is spacious, clean and very private for 3 couples. We can't wait to come back.

Room Tip: Request #408. It was our third time in this unit. Best location.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SkiQueen007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
0.1 mi away
Porto Playa Condo Hotel & Beachclub
Porto Playa Condo Hotel & Beachc...
#16 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
627 reviews
0.1 mi away
El Taj Oceanfront & Beachside Condos Hotel
El Taj Oceanfront & Beachside Co...
#35 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
1,356 reviews
0.0 mi away
Acanto Hotel & Condominiums Playa del Carmen
Acanto Hotel & Condominiums Play...
#19 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
844 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Thompson Playa Del Carmen
Thompson Playa Del Carmen
#18 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
714 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Palm at Playa
The Palm at Playa
#25 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
1,430 reviews
0.6 mi away
Mahekal Beach Resort
Mahekal Beach Resort
#27 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
2,692 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maya Villa Condo Hotel & Beach Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maya Villa Condo Hotel & Beach Club

Property: Maya Villa Condo Hotel & Beach Club
Address: Avenida 1a Norte, entre Calle 14 y 16, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#18 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#31 Luxury Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#31 Spa Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#32 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Maya Villa Condo Hotel & Beach Club 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Immerse yourself in a unique combination of modern luxury and Mayan magic at this exquisite condo hotel located steps from the white sand beach. Seventeen spacious condominiums are nestled among lush vegetation that make this condo hotel your own tropical oasis. The condominium is surrounded by Mayan art, handcrafted by the region's most talented Mayan artists. Enter trough the great Mayan arch, and find yourself in the midst of greenery, cascading waterfalls, and a sparkling heated pool made of jade-colored and gecko-shaped mosaic and glass that give it the name of “Jewel of Playa.” Some of the penthouses offer amazing views of the Caribbean sea which is just half of a block away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Maya Villa Condo Hotel & Beach Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maya Villa Condo Hotel And Beach Club
Maya Villa Condo Hotel & Beach Club Mexico/Riviera Maya - Playa Del Carmen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing