We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Paradise polluted”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Royal Hideaway Playacar
Ranked #28 of 213 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Paradise polluted”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2013 via mobile

I am halfway through a two week stay here and whilst there are many plusses in the overall layout, cleanliness, food and service my main gripe is the beautiful beach spoiled by the noise and fumes of jet skis and parasailing boats, obviously promoted by the hotel. The security guards on the beach seem to be best mates with the constant stream of hawkers and I really lost it today with the guy who spent twenty minutes trying to persuade the octogenarian couple on the sunbeds behind us to spend 150 dollars to visit the Coco Bingo nightclub! I can just about tolerate the inane lunch time beach parties from the rabble two hotels away but the management really must do more to preserve the dignity of this establishment. I will give a further update next week.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Cyderman101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoyalHideaway1, Social Media Coordinator at Royal Hideaway Playacar, responded to this review, 25 August 2013
Dear Cyderman101,

Thank you for send us your review. It is very disappointing to know that you had an overall negative experience with us. We are glad that you enjoyed the beauty of our property; otherwise we regret the inconvenients you encountered during your stay. Each of your points have been shared with our management, we are working on it.

We deeply apologize that your expectations were not met during your recent visit. We hope your next visit will be excellent.

Sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,891 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,859
    683
    211
    92
    46
See reviews for
312
2,517
69
57
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (908)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2013

À réal paradise place
Every thing is fantastic from the arrival to departure
Roofs clean and spacious great service
Every restaurant à la carte amazing good

Amazing beach and location ....not à noisy hôtel everything as class
Wonderfull place for a vacation and to rest ..
All the staff i say all of them .......are amazing people they lové to please you and serve you .

5stars. Every thing

Room Tip: I was section 29 .in the garden ..very quite no noise from other hôtel near by Very good
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Samson8591
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoyalHideaway1, Social Media Coordinator at Royal Hideaway Playacar, responded to this review, 25 August 2013
Dear Samson8591,

For us is a pleasure read your review. Thank you so much for send us your comments.
One of our priorities is to make the best holiday experience for each of our guest, this why we put a special emphasis in each service that we provide to you.

We hope welcome you back very soon.

Sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisbon, Lisboa, Portugal
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2013

I've tried to book another Occidental's hotel. It was already fully booked .. they sent me to this small paradise :)
This hotel just made my honeymoon unforgettable. The service has beaten all my expectations, the staff is incredibly kind and helpful, the place is beautiful, the dinner service is similar to the eiffel tower restaurant (really fancy with great food)... unbelievable!

Pros:
- Great staff (very kind, helpful and hard working.. always with a smile on!)
- Great service (bedrooms, room service, food, etc)
- Great chefs and dinner service (the food is great! not just good looking - the service is from a top restaurant!)
- Great location (the beach is great, quiet place, 20min walk from Playa Del Carmen)

... (too many great things to point)

Cons:
- Poor wireless internet (week or no signal in most areas and keep asking for login on apple devices)
- It might be hard to book dinner (if you don't book them as soon as you get there you might need to have dinner at 6:30 or 22:30 at the best places)

Alert:
- Might be a little to quiet if you came to party (or just take a 20min walk everyday and go to Playa Del Carmen)

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HelioJCD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoyalHideaway1, Social Media Coordinator at Royal Hideaway Playacar, responded to this review, 25 August 2013
Dear HelioJCD,

We appreciate your comments, we are very glad to read you enjoyed your honeymoon. We take note every point in your review. Please apologize us for the inconveninece you encountered with our reservation system.

Please remember you can contact our Customer Service before arrival in order to arrange your dinner reservations.

We hope you welcome back again.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2013

My girlfriend and I traveled to Playa del Carmen in May of 2013 for a 10 day stay at the Royal Hideaway. From the moment we arrived at the resort we were impressed. Everything from the service, ambiance, drink options and to the food. The beach was one of the best I've ever been on and they offer many daytime excursions at fair prices. I would highly recommend anyone looking for an adults only all-inclusive resort.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank David V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoyalHideaway1, Social Media Coordinator at Royal Hideaway Playacar, responded to this review, 25 August 2013
Dear David V,

Thank you for chossing us for your last vacations. Our main priority is to make a dreamed vacation for our entire guest. We felt really happy that this is your case.

Thank you so much for send us your comments. For us it will an honor to have you back again.

Sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2013

Having stayed in some beautiful hotels all over the world, this was truly the best experience we've ever had - beating 5 star hotels in Bali, Barbadoes and everywhere else in between. From the very first minutes of check in with champagne to the incredible attention to every aspect of every detail - including a personal concierge to attend to our every need - to the wonderful, yummy food - to the entertainment team (esp Javier, who is delightful!!) and the stunning beach with emerald water - everything about this stay was amazing and we will be going back year after year.

We had 6 gorgeous days at the Royal Hideaway and then 3 days at the Moon Palace - we check out of the Moon Palace 3 hours after arriving as it was very poor quality (especially compared to the Royal Hideaway) and went straight back. It was like coming home. Although it was full, there was always chairs and shade by the pool, no wait at the bar or any of the restaurants, plenty of space by the beach (included shade and umbrellas) and the beach was unlike anything I've ever seen - white sand, water is very warm, clean, clear and we didn't want to get out.

Food is excellent - there's a Michelin starred restaurant and the Mexican food is of course very good. Service is second to none, very attentive and helpful staff who can't do enough to make this the best stay ever. The rooms were very clean, spacious and well attended to.

Also, the location is great - very close to Playacar and there are bikes available to cycle to the town which takes about 15 mins. The whole area is just beautiful!

Much as I'd like to keep this hotel to ourselves to be able to come back next year without too many people crowding our beloved pool and beach areas, I am writing this review as a big thank you to everyone at the hotel - you made this holiday the best ever!

Room Tip: All rooms are great - central areas are probably quieter but we had no issues with noise or overcrow...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kroppstons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoyalHideaway1, Social Media Coordinator at Royal Hideaway Playacar, responded to this review, 25 August 2013
Dear Kingberks,

We really appreciate the time you took to send us your review.

On behalf of our staff we want to let you know that comments like yours make us love our job and motivate us to keep putting all our effort in making the best vacations as each of our guests deserves.

Thank you again and we hope you welcome back very soon.

Sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2013

My wife and I travelled to the Royal Hideaway Playacar for our honeymoon in the middle of July 2013. She had some family that had stayed at RH for their honeymoon, and our travel agent had stayed there as well. I don’t know where to start to describe this resort…

Service: Unbelievable. From the time you check in until you leave, people are seeking you out to accommodate your wishes. The wait staff was ALWAYS smiling and tolerated our attempts at broken Spanish while we ordered everything on the menu. There are a lot of positives about the resort, but this is their biggest emphasis. There are people constantly walking around the pool and beach areas to take drink and food orders. We had a couple delicious lunches on lounge chairs just 50 yards from the ocean. The staff at the nighttime restaurants is no different. Each dining experience felt like we were eating at 5-star restaurant because of the respect and level of service that each person provided. Sandra was our concierge, and she took care of our reservations and arranged excursions. She was fantastic and facilitated anything we needed. We had problems with our room and a lost reservation our first couple days at RH. When we politely brought these issues up to the front desk, they went to work for us. We had to switch rooms, and asked that we receive nothing less than what we paid for. Incidentally, they upgraded us to the Presidential Suite overlooking the beach! It was a dream come true for honeymooners, and we did not expect it. I feel like those that complain about poor service at Royal Hideaway do not bring their issues to the front desk. Jair, the Rooms Manager could not have been more professional or polite during the process and I encourage those that have an issue with their stay to speak up, because these people are in the business to make your vacation a memorable one.

Food/Drinks: Exceptional. Those that are afraid of the “All-Inclusive” stigma need not worry about the quality of the food at RH. My wife and I are big eaters, and we were blown away at how good the food was. We ate breakfast at the Spices buffet every morning. The only buffet on the property, but it was a good one. They changed up some of the Mexican dishes every day, had fresh fruit, omelet station, and more. You couldn’t go wrong. Lunch came from the Deck, which was a solid grill with a good variety of a la carte choices. Spices also turned into a lunch spot, and we had a great meal of traditional Mexican dishes there while overlooking the Caribbean Sea. Not bad at all…
The nighttime restaurants offered great quality and variety. You needed reservations in advance, which we made the day before or morning of through Sandra. Be aware that they require slacks and closed-toed shoes for the men. I enjoyed that, and the quality of the restaurants warranted it.
Las Ventanas – This is a fine-dining restaurant that is a chain, perhaps like a regional version of Morton’s or Ruth’s Chris. When our friends found out that it was included in the All-Inclusive plan, they were blown away. We showed up early to hang at the bar and soak up the atmosphere. The bartender Joel could not have been more pleasant, and helped us plan our trip into Playa del Carmen for later in the week. He made some darn good drinks as well. Everything about the place is elegant, from the setting to the piano player. We loved it and the food was excellent. We enjoyed a 5-course meal that would have cost several hundred dollars back home.
Azia – This was a fun place that offered dishes from all over the Orient. Still a nice atmosphere, we ate here twice. The first time, we sat at a table and thoroughly enjoyed course after course of delicious food. The second time, we asked to sit at the Hibachi/Teppenyaki table where we were seated with 6 other people while our chef Victor entertained us and cooked a fine meal.
Palazzo – The Italian restaurant in the rotation may have been our favorite. The food was exceptional, and halfway through the meal, they brought us some champagne from the house to commemorate our honeymoon. Once again, we were blown away by the food and exceptional service.
Club Royale – Is a theater outfitted with dining tables and couches to fit couples and groups. They showed two performance the week we were there, a Mexican Fiesta and an Elvis Show. We had planned to skip the two weekly shows in favor of dinner elsewhere, especially when we heard that the buffet food at the Fiesta was average. But we got adventurous about the Elvis Show, especially when we heard that Las Ventanas was catering a 4-course meal (they share a kitchen). We were so happy we went, and were rewarded with enormous lobster and delicious steak along with several other incredible courses. The show itself was wonderful. The band covered some classics like Steely Dan and the Eagles before an Elvis impersonator came out and put on a show. We loved it, as did the others who gave it a shot. The setting of the theater was romantic as well.
Room Service – The food at all the restaurants was exceptional. And with the all-inclusive package, it was your own fault if you went hungry. But sometimes, you want a midnight snack. We sure did, and we ordered nachos, pizza, and quesadillas a number of times before or after dinner. Allow 20-30 minutes for delivery, but it was nice being able to lounge in the room and have food brought to us.

The Grounds at Royal Hideaway: The entire resort was beautiful. The many pools along the walkway from the lobby to the beach made it feel like paradise amidst the vegetation. There were always workers improving the grounds in some way (picking up trash, sweeping the bridges, manicuring the beach, et al) as we walked around. The lobby was immaculate and clean. The spa was incredible. The entire place felt spotless, and the staff worked hard to maintain that.

The Rooms: The rooms are clean, but not spectacular. We started with a Luxury Ocean View and were satisfied. The minibar in every room was fantastic, and they refilled it with water, beer, and sodas every day. The standard rooms, however, are not a big attraction at RH. The two of us had plenty of space to store our luggage and be comfortable, but they are not the luxurious suites with all the amenities you might find elsewhere. The Presidential Suite, on the other hand, was incredible. One bedroom, two bathrooms, large living room, an enormous Jacuzzi tub, a balcony with lounge chairs, a hammock, and a Jacuzzi tub overlooking the pool/beach. For those looking to travel in style, this room category is for you.

Overall: We loved Royal Hideaway and are recommending it to everyone. We want to go back ASAP and aren't interested in looking elsewhere. The atmosphere is relatively subdued. They had a Karaoke Night, salsa lessons, and more, but those looking for more of a party scene would find it too quiet. There were several neighboring resorts that had some music playing and looked more active as we walked the beach. RH is about relaxing and enjoying great food and great service in a beautiful setting.

Room Tip: Ocean View Rooms are closer to the pool/beach/breakfast area. But the resort is intimate enough that...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Scott R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Collingwood, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2013

this was my first travel to Mexico, im soimpressed by all the details we had during our stay, the food is amazing, special Palazzo, just Delicious!!! the drinks are amazing, and theres always smiling to you and asking if you need something special. we had a wonderful concierge Roger, on the first day we stop by and he arranged all dinner on good timing (no problems with dine around 7:30) a waiter by the pool (cant remember his name :(, any way everybody where amazing. Thank you royal hideway till next july 2014.

Room Tip: Ask for Villa 31, looking to garden on top floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank samie m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoyalHideaway1, Reputation Management at Royal Hideaway Playacar, responded to this review, 7 August 2013
Dear Samie M.

It’s great to know that you had beautiful memories from your first trip to Mexico and even more that we were part of this. Thank you so much for your kind words regarding the staff and our resort.

We will be waiting for you next July 2014!

Cordially,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
5.7 mi away
Platinum Yucatan Princess All Suites & Spa Resort
Platinum Yucatan Princess All Su...
#58 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,859 reviews
7.4 mi away
Blue Diamond Luxury Boutique Hotel
Blue Diamond Luxury Boutique Hot...
#47 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,327 reviews
2.6 mi away
Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Perla
Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Pe...
#19 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 8,012 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 mi away
Secrets Capri Riviera Cancun
Secrets Capri Riviera Cancun
#35 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 9,097 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace Riviera Maya
Hotel Riu Palace Riviera Maya
#38 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,287 reviews
1.1 mi away
Playacar Palace
Playacar Palace
#18 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Hideaway Playacar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Hideaway Playacar

Property: Royal Hideaway Playacar
Address: Lote Hotelero No. 6 Fracc., Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico (Formerly Royal Hideaway Playacar & Occidental Resorts)
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#13 Green Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#16 Top resorts Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#18 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#21 Spa Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#23 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#23 Luxury Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Royal Hideaway Playacar 4.5*
Number of rooms: 201
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Award winning luxury all inclusive resort set along the beautiful beaches of Playa del Carmen, Mexico. Ideal setting in a serene environment for complete rest and relaxation. Adults only. Member of The Leading Hotels of the World. 2008 winner of the coveted AAA 5 Diamond Award. 11 villas with private concierge are spread throughout the property's immaculate grounds. Six gourmet restaurants serve delicasies in menu-style dining. A full service spa offers the ultimate in papmering and body treatments. Personalzied service and attention to detail set this resort a world apart. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Barcelo, Ebookers, LoveHolidays, TravelUp, Holiday Gems, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Royal Hideaway Playacar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Hideaway Playacar & Occidental Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Royal Hideaway Playacar And Occidental Resorts
Royal Hideaway Playa Del Carmen
Royal Hideaway Mexico
Occidental Royal Hideaway
Royal Hideaway Playacar Mexico/Riviera Maya - Playa Del Carmen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing