We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It was beautiful”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Royal Hideaway Playacar
Ranked #31 of 214 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Chicago Ridge, Illinois
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“It was beautiful”
Reviewed 8 August 2013

I stayed here with my family of 5 for a week and we were all delighted with the service and cleanliness. We would like to thank all of the employees that made our stay pleasurable. We had a fantastic holiday and would strongly advise anyone looking to visit to go! We found it much better than many of the hotels we have stayed in previously. We had a lovely time!

The views were great from our rooms. We had a view of the ocean and a hammock on our balcony which was lovely to sit on at night. The beach was beautiful soft, white sand!

As for the pools, they were gorgeous. They were clear and never had anything floating around on the water. I enjoyed lying on top of the lilos that were provided.

The holiday was amazing and nothing was bad. We loved and I bet you will love it too!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sadie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoyalHideaway1, Social Media Coordinator at Royal Hideaway Playacar, responded to this review, 25 August 2013
Dear Sadie H,

We appreciate your review, thank you so much. Our top priority is to offer an exceptional service to each of our guest and it is very satisfying to read that this was your case.

Thank you for your kind words about our staff, this motivates them to keep putting their best effort in their daily job.

We hope to see you again very soon.

Sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,976 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,914
    704
    217
    94
    47
See reviews for
320
2,579
71
60
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (914)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2013

The food at the resort was fabulous, the service was outstanding. I have never had such a relaxing trip. The location on the beach is perfect, its the nicest beach I've been to in Mexico.
The resort is quiet and not over crowded. I loved every single restaurant although we never went to the theater. We were sad to leave!!!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank smashiesabs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoyalHideaway1, Social Media Coordinator at Royal Hideaway Playacar, responded to this review, 25 August 2013
Dear Smashiesabs,

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience with us, this will be very helpful for future guests. We feel really proud in reading this right now. We are blessed to have wonderful staffs that are so willing in going beyond our guest expectations.

We can’t wait to host you again.

Sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Welland, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2013

Just came back, Sunday, from a second visit to Royal Hideaway and it was as amazing as the first time.

Resort: nice layout, everything is close by, beautiful grounds, very quiet at night.

Beach: most beautiful I have seen so far in the Mayan Riviera. Water clear and calm most of our vacation but very wavy the last day. There are always chairs available.

Room: very comfortable, nicely decorated, lacking a bit of maintenance for some part (like the wall paper in the washroom, the rails of balcony ...) but once your there it’s easy to overlook. Let’s face it you’re not spending all your time in the room!!!!

Food: always well presented, most of it was perfect to our liking and then some. We really enjoyed tea time; great Mexican flaming coffee (thanks Omar).

Service: We cannot say enough about it. Wow! Exceptional! That’s one of the reason we love this resort so much. They are always doing their best to attend everybody needs.

A special thanks to Laura who was always greeting us with a smile at the restaurant and making sure that everything was o.k. Thanks to Christian who made sure that we were always well looked after. Thanks to Leonardo who gave us very good service and recommendation of food and drinks at the Spice restaurant (breakfast and lunch). We could keep on naming names of employees because we found they all did a great job.

We will be back !!!!!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank weluv2travel2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoyalHideaway1, Social Media Coordinator at Royal Hideaway Playacar, responded to this review, 25 August 2013
Dear Weluv2travel201,

Thank you for choosing our resort for your last vacations. Thank so much for sharing your beautiful experience.

Our highest priority is to make you feel comfortable and happy during your vacations, we are very happy to know that this was your case.

Please remember we are always ready to welcome you.

Sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2013

Well, while my husband and I are accustomed to the brand new GRAND resorts in Cabo San Lucas- where a resort is built better than the next each year, the Royal Hideaway made up for it's age (built in 1998) with excellent, TOP-NOTCH service and awesome food! We wanted to try somewhere we had never been before and we stayed at the Hideaway for 7 days. The restaurants were ALL amazing (the only one we didn't try for dinner was The Grille). You can't go wrong no matter where you eat at the resort. Though we particularly loved Azia for sushi and Palazzo for anything. We have never done the 'all-inclusive' hotel-thing before and we were pleasantly surprised by the quality of the food and drinks, as we LOVE to eat and drink GOOD food- spending usually $200 a night in Cabo for dinner. But, even the Hideaway's 'house wine' was so good. The only thing we did not like was the humidity, which can't be avoided, but it is bearable by staying in the pool or ocean and having a constant drink in hand. Cabo has dry heat-like desert with cool nights where in this part of Mexico there was no break from the humidity- day or night. They have an 11:30 am pool-exercise class each day which was fun. We rented a car and that was the only hassle we had to deal with: the people that worked at the car rental place: Budget- apparently no affiliation with USA's Budget car rental- totally harassing us to buy their $50 a day insurance- which we did not do, but had to fight them for a half hour. You really don't need a car, as the cab rides are affordable and any excursion you book will include transportation.
We had a great, relaxing time and thank the staff of the Hideaway for being so good at what they do! Truly Royal!

Room Tip: We stayed in building 31 by the pool and had a tiny view of the ocean through the buildings. We like...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PittsburghChamps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoyalHideaway1, Social Media Coordination at Royal Hideaway Playacar, responded to this review, 25 August 2013
Dear PittsburghChamps,

It is great to know how fantastic these vacations were for you. Thank you for send us your review. Our entire team is dedicated to ensuring you a wonderful vacation and is great to know that we have succeeded with you and your expectations. This review is very motivating for our team.

Thank you again and we hope you come back very soon.

Sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2013

We just returned from out second trip (this year) to the RH. Much like my review earlier this year, we were very pleased with all aspects of the resort. We visited in April, and found several staff members remembered our names upon our return. We found the resort less crowded (end of July, first of August) than it was in April. We did notice several younger children present. RH is advertised as “adult only”, but it appears 13 is the minimum age. The children were not bothersome, however we felt pity for them as RH does not entertain children and they must have been bored out of their minds. Parents with teens, please don’t drag your children to this resort.

This review is for the purposes of reiterating the positives upon a second visit to the RH. Will most likely return next year. Would recommend to a friend.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Cornerlot_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoyalHideaway1, Social Media Coordinator at Royal Hideaway Playacar, responded to this review, 25 August 2013
Dear Cornerlot_10,

We want to take a moment to say thank you so much for choosing us for your holiday destination! We are glad to read that you had a great stay with us. Our commitment is to make a memorable vacation for you.

Your comments will be disscused with our management in order to look into new entertaiment ways for younger guests.

We hope you will return very soon.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2013

Just got home from 8 days vacation at The Royal Hideaway Playacar. After reading some reviews I had little reservations about hotel. Now, after we spent beautiful week there, I can say this place is great in every aspect, grounds, buildings, facilities, rooms, food and people who work there.
Service is unmatched and they did everything to make our stay memorable. Food is the best you can get in all inclusive resort. Drinks are top shelf. Diner reservations were very easy. We made reservation for the first two days in advance (via e-mail) and rest was taken care off when we got there.The beach is excellent (not crowded) with very good service (drinks, food).
I could write a more about this place but not need to repeat what many people stated before me.
Definitely, I would recommend it to everyone.

Room Tip: building # 24 is the closest to beach and pools
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank califor1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoyalHideaway1, Social Media Coordinator at Royal Hideaway Playacar, responded to this review, 25 August 2013
Dear Califor1,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with the Trip Advisor community. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed the beauty of our property and the high quality service which we are known. Our top priority is to make an unforgettable vacation.

We are waiting for your return; will be a pleasure to serve you again.

Sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thiensville, Wisconsin, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2013

My wife and I just returned from an outstanding 8 days at the Royal Hideaway. Okay...everything was amazing. The room was lovely and nice to come back to, which was not very often and our building's concierge, Patricia was so helpful. The attention to detail by all of the staff and the level of personal treatment was 5 star all the way.
The food was wonderful everywhere we went. The breakfast buffet at Spices was great. A large selection, very well prepared and always hot and fresh and what better way to start your day then sitting out on the deck, sipping fresh squeezed orange juice, eating great food and being mesmerized by the beautiful white sand, palm trees and turquoise water. Lunch at the The Deck was great...large selection and again wonderful location overlooking the beach. Each of the restaurants were also wonderful for dinner. We never had even a mediocre meal and the service was always pleasant.
The pools were fun and it was always so relaxing to swim up the the edge of the infinity pool and just lay there looking out at the beach. The water aerobics was fun as were all the activities. A special shout out to Israel and Javier who worked so hard to put a smile on everyone's face and served the most refreshing ice cream every afternoon.
The beach was large, clean and beautiful and the water was clear and that amazing turquoise color that I thought only existed on postcards. The water was warm and great for swimming because there is no tide and the waves are pretty calm. The walk down the beach to Playa Del Carmen was only about 20 minutes and lovely walk at that and just outside the gate to the south is a shopping center with souvenirs and jewelry and of course the Starbucks.
We would definitely recommend the Royal Hideaway to one and all.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Jonathan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoyalHideaway1, Social Media Coordinator at Royal Hideaway Playacar, responded to this review, 25 August 2013
Dear Jonathan D,

We appreciate your comments. These are of great importance to us and allow us to monitor and improve our service continually. We are glad to know you recent stay was unforgettable.

Thank you for staying with us and we hope you come back very soon.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
5.7 mi away
Platinum Yucatan Princess All Suites & Spa Resort
Platinum Yucatan Princess All Su...
#59 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,055 reviews
7.4 mi away
Blue Diamond Luxury Boutique Hotel
Blue Diamond Luxury Boutique Hot...
#50 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,353 reviews
3.4 mi away
Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Perla
Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Pe...
#23 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 8,139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 mi away
Secrets Capri Riviera Cancun
Secrets Capri Riviera Cancun
#39 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 9,193 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace Riviera Maya
Hotel Riu Palace Riviera Maya
#38 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,345 reviews
1.1 mi away
Playacar Palace
Playacar Palace
#19 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,362 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Hideaway Playacar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Hideaway Playacar

Property: Royal Hideaway Playacar
Address: Lote Hotelero No. 6 Fracc., Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico (Formerly Royal Hideaway Playacar & Occidental Resorts)
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#13 Green Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#17 Top resorts Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#18 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#23 Spa Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#26 Luxury Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#26 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Royal Hideaway Playacar 4.5*
Number of rooms: 201
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Award winning luxury all inclusive resort set along the beautiful beaches of Playa del Carmen, Mexico. Ideal setting in a serene environment for complete rest and relaxation. Adults only. Member of The Leading Hotels of the World. 2008 winner of the coveted AAA 5 Diamond Award. 11 villas with private concierge are spread throughout the property's immaculate grounds. Six gourmet restaurants serve delicasies in menu-style dining. A full service spa offers the ultimate in papmering and body treatments. Personalzied service and attention to detail set this resort a world apart. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, LoveHolidays, Barcelo, Priceline, Holiday Gems, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Royal Hideaway Playacar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Hideaway Playacar And Occidental Resorts
Royal Hideaway Playacar & Occidental Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Royal Hideaway Playa Del Carmen
Royal Hideaway Mexico
Occidental Royal Hideaway
Royal Hideaway Playacar Mexico/Riviera Maya - Playa Del Carmen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing