We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best service we have ever had!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Royal Hideaway Playacar
Ranked #35 of 217 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 30 December 2013

We were at this hotel in August. The service far exceeded my expectations. I have a serious allergy, and Angel (one of our servers) remembered my allergies from three days earlier. He found me at the dinner theatre and explained which dishes I should avoid. I was so thankful.
I must say that the entire staff went above and beyond to ensure that we were well looked after. I did not mind the dress code for dinner, it adds to fine dining experience.

We had our photos done at the resort also, and they have top quality photographers onsite.

It is a small, quiet resort... and gave us the perfect opportunity to unwind on the beach. I would highly recommend this to anyone who would like a quiet, upscale getaway. We did go into Playa Del Carmen for one night - as the resort is very quiet after dinner- but we are not "party till you drop" people, so this was the perfect spot for us.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank pamb1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Itze P, Reputation Management at Royal Hideaway Playacar, responded to this reviewResponded 24 January 2014

Dear Pamb1968,

We would like to thank you very much for your comment on Tripadvisor, we always try to do our best to make sure our guests have the best experience while staying with us and it is a great reward to read that you appreciated our facilities as well as our service.

We hope to have the pleasure of seeing you again soon,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (4,720)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,277 - 2,283 of 4,720 reviews

Reviewed 26 December 2013

The Royal Hideaway is quiet, lovely with comfortable beds and for the most part offers very good cuisine. I love swimming in pools as well as the ocean in Mexico but to my great dismay the pools were soooo cold neither of us could enjoy them. Leaving New England to basque in the sun and warm water is is so important. Honestly, we have traveled the Yucatan for the past 15 years and seldom had to watch people sit by the side of the pool due to the water temp being so frigid. The beach/ocean was just beautiful. Afternoon tea was a delight, something I've not seen elsewhere.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mochashad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Itze P, Reputation Management at Royal Hideaway Playacar, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2014

Dear Mochashad,

Thank you for the time you took to send us your comments. We will share your remarks about the pools temperature with our management.

We try hard to make each guest feel at home at Royal Hideaway and so we are pleased that despite this incident you enjoyed your visit with us.

We hope you come back very soon.

Until next time

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 December 2013

The Royal Hideaway is a lovely resort. The beach is breathtaking, the facility is all you can imagine but the staff made the entire stay extraordinary. They could not have been more helpful and genuinely happy to meet the guests. Our room was a suite with three balconies...only problem we did not have enough time to enjoy the views from all sides.

The restaurants were varied and although required reservations there was no problem getting a table. I did enjoy the dress code in the evenings because it made the dining experience a little more special.

This is a resort I highly recommend.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank 321AMG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Itze P, Reputation Management at Royal Hideaway Playacar, responded to this reviewResponded 24 January 2014

Dear 321AMG,

Thank you for your feedback about your stay to Royal Hideaway. We appreciate your kind words. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your trip and found our resort as an outgoing, gorgeous and relaxing place.

Please come and visit us again in the near future for us will be an honor to host you again.

Thank you,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2013

Stayed at Royal Hideaway Dec 16 to 22. Staff are very friendly and efficient. For an all inclusive package the food and drink is amazing. Definitely a place for those that want to relax. If you want to avoid the " drink as much alcohol as I can, all day every day " crowd this is the place to go. Foodies will love this resort.There are no issues getting pool chairs or beach chairs, cabanas are first come first served. All staff were extremely attentive and made us feel like royalty for a week.

Room Tip: Middle of the resort buildings are quieter as the are far removed from the noisy resorts on either s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Neil T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Itze P, Reputation Management at Royal Hideaway Playacar, responded to this reviewResponded 24 January 2014

Dear Neil T,

Thank you very much to share your feedback about your recent stay at Royal Hideaway. We are more than glad to know that you enjoyed the beautiful of our property the variety of our food and the friendly service that the staff offers to our guests.

We are pleased to hear that you had a memorable experience with us and we look forward to welcoming you back the next time.

Warm regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2013

My wife and I returned a week ago from The Royal Hideaway after a wonderful 2 weeks stay.
This was our third year in this hotel and just as we thought it couldn't get any better it did. We were so amazed in 2011 with our first trip to the Hideaway that we returned for a 3 week visit the following year and again in didn't disappoint. We don't usually return to the same place 3 years on the trot but couldn't resist another visit. When we first arrived we found out that it had undergone a recent management restructure and we were a little concerned that things would not be the same, well in some ways that was true, it was even better!! The same wonderful welcome was shown to us on our arrival and it just got better. Plenty of the old staff were still there and to our amazement remembered us very well and the new staff lived up the exceptional standards we
have come to expect of this hotel. The Management made themselves known to us on numerous occasions and we found them so welcoming and obliging and keen to talk to us about our recent visits and if the hotel lived up to our expectations again and if there was any way they could improve, we were invited as returning guests to very nice VIP cocktail party's where we chatted freely and were made to feel very special indeed, wonderful idea! Special thank you for your time and efforts "Jair Palacios".
The overall service in all areas of the Hideaway is the best we have ever experienced, from the waiters, to the Concierge's to the bar staff. Special mention for Jose in Vantanas Cocktail lounge, amazing cocktails! The staff in Allegria bar, Fanny and DJ Chris, we enjoyed our nights in there very much and the evening entertainment was brilliant, would have liked however to see the Latin/Salsa band, we really felt we were in Mexico the week they performed, hope to see them back on our return.
A big mention is to the newly recruited entertainment staff, Sergio, Carlos, Elvis. We feel this is the main area that the new management have greatly improved. The daytime entertainment was so good this year, hope to see them keep up the good work and be there next year!! Hope to see the theatre nights continue to improve as is it is a wonderful venue.
Amazing food in all the restaurants as always, with service second to none and the daytime food and BBQ's are equally as amazing. Nothing is too much trouble for the all the staff and they make you feel so welcome and special, this is why we travel the long journey from Yorkshire,
England each year. Hideaway is more of a boutique style hotel and this is another reason we like it, we prefer the smaller complex to some of the really big one's on the Riveira Mayan Coast. By the way if you haven't been before and you want to find out the history of the area and it's lovely people then go to the show at Xcaret, you won't be disappointed it is worth every penny!! Also Tulum is a must to see the Mayan ruins.
Martin & Leigh Birch

Room Tip: They all seem to be of such a good standard. Some rooms being much nearer to the restaurants and bar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Martin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Itze P, Reputation Management at Royal Hideaway Playacar, responded to this reviewResponded 24 January 2014

Dear Martin B,

We appreciate you taking the time to write a review regarding your recent visit at Royal Hideaway. We are proud to read that you had a wonderful visit and got to experience almost all aspects of the hotel, including our facilities, our services and everything. We are truly grateful to you for your favorable comment on the hotel and we are pleased that you did have a great stay with us.

Thank you for your loyalty and preference.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2013

This was a lovely resort! Excellent service and great food! Here are a few tips... (our trip would have been WAY better if we knew these things).

A week before traveling, make dinner reservations through the resort. Most people do, so if you don't, the only choices for dining will be after 9:30pm.

Tip early and tip often - the bar staff will recognize you and take care of you. (We did not tip early on and still had excellent service but noticed when we did start tipping the service was even better.)

Request (if possible) one of the rooms facing the center of the resort. We had a beautiful room and they tried to make everything beautiful, but still had a view of the alley way the staff use to move around the buildings. Still very pretty, but didn't want to be on this very busy pathway while I was drinking my morning coffee in my bathrobe!

Food was superb at Spices and Palazzo. Avoid the $180 'romantic dinner' and choose the $120 per person beach dinner. More value and much prettier dining at night.

Staff did everything they could to accommodate us and we are definitely going back but will know a few things before we go next year.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Michelle49248
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Itze P, Reputation Management at Royal Hideaway Playacar, responded to this reviewResponded 24 January 2014

DearMichelle49248,

Thank you for the time you took to send us your review. We will pass along your kind words to our staffing. We try hard to make each guest feel at home at Royal Hideaway and so we are pleased that you enjoyed your visit with us. We do hope to see you again to create lifetime memories.

We hope you come back very soon.

Best,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2013

We have just spent a week at the Royal Hideaway and were impressed with the lovely, intimate and peaceful resort. We have never stayed at an "all-inclusive" or a "resort" and did not know what to expect. We had a wonderful location near the pool/beach and the beachfront restaurants. There was always a place to sit and as we walked the beach, many of the other resorts looked jammed packed. No bracelets to wear, and a sense of personal touches.

The activities directors were gems, and a lot of laughs had with Carlos, Sergio & Elvis. Yesterday a surprise synchronized swim show was a real treat by the pool at lunch. Food was wonderful and a variety of options. The Deck restaurant had a variety of snack foods and service fabulous. (thank you Miguel) Each villa had their own concierge who looked after our meal reservations, umbrellas, questions etc. and Rodrigo was awesome!
My only peeve was the dress code which was a little strict by today's standards... no shorts, dress or otherwise for dinner, and generally a collared shirt for men, NO sandals and must have closed toed shoes.This doesn't work when you are travelling with kids... regardless of age. (Can you re-visit this policy?) We were not interested in late night dinner reservations so basically we took whatever was available in our time frame and then worked towards changing it if we were so inclined. The italian restaurant was excellent.
People were very friendly, both staff and guests. We took our 18 year old son, and there were few "kids" early on in week but by end of week when other schools and universities were out, we began to see more.
Definitely would recommend and return again.
Rooms were on the smaller side, especially having 2 beds, however, we were outside most of the time so that was not too much of an issue. Wish they would get a new range of Pillows... only peeve.
Thanks for a great week.

Room Tip: We preferred villa 31 - close proximity to pool/beach etc. and still quiet!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank smithcarter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Itze P, Reputation Management at Royal Hideaway Playacar, responded to this reviewResponded 23 January 2014

Dear Smithcarter,

Thank you for share your review of your recent experience at Royal Hideaway. We always wish for our guests to be totally pleased and comfortable in our property. We shared your comments with our management, for us the guest satisfaction is a priority.

See you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
6.7 mi away
Fairmont Mayakoba
Fairmont Mayakoba
#9 of 217 in Playa del Carmen
4,493 reviews
2.3 mi away
Mahekal Beach Resort
Mahekal Beach Resort
#32 of 217 in Playa del Carmen
2,989 reviews
2 mi away
The Royal Playa del Carmen
The Royal Playa del Carmen
#10 of 217 in Playa del Carmen
17,067 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Perla
Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Pe...
#20 of 217 in Playa del Carmen
9,612 reviews
14.3 mi away
Valentin Imperial Riviera Maya
Valentin Imperial Riviera Maya
#1 of 1 in Playa del Secreto
12,534 reviews
7.4 mi away
Blue Diamond Luxury Boutique Hotel
Blue Diamond Luxury Boutique Hot...
#24 of 217 in Playa del Carmen
1,720 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Hideaway Playacar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Hideaway Playacar

Address: Lote Hotelero No. 6 Fracc., Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico (Formerly Royal Hideaway Playacar & Occidental Resorts)
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#14 Green Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#19 Top resorts Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#23 Spa Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#27 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#28 Luxury Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range: £238 - £516 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Royal Hideaway Playacar 4.5*
Number of rooms: 201
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Award winning luxury all inclusive resort set along the beautiful beaches of Playa del Carmen, Mexico. Ideal setting in a serene environment for complete rest and relaxation. Adults only. Member of The Leading Hotels of the World. 2008 winner of the coveted AAA 5 Diamond Award. 11 villas with private concierge are spread throughout the property's immaculate grounds. Six gourmet restaurants serve delicasies in menu-style dining. A full service spa offers the ultimate in papmering and body treatments. Personalzied service and attention to detail set this resort a world apart. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Barcelo, Holiday Gems, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, Expedia, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Royal Hideaway Playacar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Hideaway Playacar And Occidental Resorts
Royal Hideaway Playacar & Occidental Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Royal Hideaway Playa Del Carmen
Royal Hideaway Mexico
Occidental Royal Hideaway
Royal Hideaway Playacar Mexico/Riviera Maya - Playa Del Carmen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing