We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect all inclusive”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Royal Hideaway Playacar
Ranked #37 of 211 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 5 June 2014

This was my first stay at RH but its my husbands fav resort in Playa. Everything about RH is 5 star; exceptional customer service, DELICIOUS food, perfect beaches and the friendliest staff. We enjoyed consistently perfect omelets every morning at the breakfast buffet & Oscars perfect service throughout our stay. We had a few couples massages that were AMAZING!! It's hard to pick a favorite restaurant on the property as they were all so good! My husband setup a dinner on the beach one evening (additional cost) & it was SO romantic & worth every penny. Every smart man would do this for his lady on vacation (trust me), did i mention it was SOOO romantic?! We will definitely be returning.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DooleysQueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (4,329)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,742 - 1,748 of 4,329 reviews

Reviewed 4 June 2014

My wife and I returned to the Royal Hideaway to celebrate our wedding anniversary. The hotel and staff are as good if not better than when we spent our honeymoon there 10 years ago. Our concierge, Delia, at Villa 26 took great care of us, Leonardo welcomed us with a smile at breakfast every morning, and Fanny at Allegria helped us to relax and enjoy the beautiful nights in the Riviera Maya. The grounds are beautiful and the landscaping gives one the feeling being fairly secluded. Overall it's the attentive staff and the beauty of the hotel that will again bring us back to the Royal Hideaway!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Cody R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

What a wonderful resort! The service and food were exceptional. Serjio, Roberto, Ceasar and the whole crew were wonderful, friendly, and attentive to our every need. If you want to know what it feels like to be royalty for a week - spend time at the Royal Hideaway Playacar resort. Dinners at Las Ventanas was our favorite, Azia was an awesome experiance, the Palazzo was supurb. I think I ate my weight in guacamole and chips! We were in Villa 22 - nice but it could use some updating - and the A/C was not the greatest, but we spent very little time in the room. Can't wait to go back!

Room Tip: Villa's 22 and 28 are very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank pinks73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Fantastic service and location. Benito, a server in Spices, greeted us warmly every day whether he had our table or not. William (concierge at Villa) went out of his way to assure all was taken care of. Great staff and facility.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cpdaddyo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014

Just returned from our second trip to Royal Hideaway and as on our first trip, everything was amazing. The service is unparalleled and the location is beautiful. We appreciate how hard the staff work to make sure your needs are met and that you are able to relax and enjoy all that the resort has to offer. The food and drinks are incredible and the entertainment was fantastic. We were happy to see that there were more evening entertainment options this time around (nice job Elvis!). Our room was very comfortable and love the turn down service in the evening. The beach is great - water is warm and sand is soft. Always enjoy going into Playa del Carmen for shopping and lunch! If you are looking for a resort where you can relax and enjoy fantastic service, food, accomodations, drinks, and entertainment, Royal Hideaway is the place!

Room Tip: We've stayed in 2 different villas and as far as we are concerned, there is not a bad room at th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kreynolds16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Bury, United Kingdom
13
Reviewed 1 June 2014

We have just returned from a fantastic 2 weeks stay at this beautiful hotel , and witnessed our daughter's wonderful wedding on the beach on 21st May. The hotel is without doubt the best we have stayed at , service was exceptional , restaurants and bars are 5 star ,the wedding was beautiful ,thank you so much to Karina who planned everything perfectly ! The staff are exceptional and nothing was too much trouble . Waiter service was exceptional,and the meals in all the restaurants could not be faulted. The Las Ventanas restaurant must be experienced , it was perfect ! We would definitely return to this brilliant hotel ,maybe for our daughter's first wedding anniversary !

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Virgin Holidays
3  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2014

Taking into consideration the out of season rate we paid, this place is always a favorite of ours. I think we like the close proximity to town the best. Yes the resort is old, worn and weathered. The rooms are bit small and our a/c was on the fritz. The food is good and the drinks are good. The beach is nice. The 5 minute taxi ride to town is what we love. Lots of bars/restaurants/shopping/people watching along 5th Ave. The resort is clean and the restaurants are nice. It would be a great place to go with a group of friends. Be sure to pack lots of 5's and 1's -- it'll make your life easier! We have been there 3 times and I am sure we will go back, especially with friends! Email me any questions.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank cheryl5418
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa del Carmen
1.7 mi away
Magic Blue Hotel
Magic Blue Hotel
#52 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
685 reviews
5.7 mi away
Platinum Yucatan Princess All Suites & Spa Resort
Platinum Yucatan Princess All Su...
#61 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
5,671 reviews
7.4 mi away
Blue Diamond Luxury Boutique Hotel
Blue Diamond Luxury Boutique Hot...
#38 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
1,453 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.7 mi away
Bel Air Collection Xpu Ha Riviera Maya
22.3 mi away
Grand Oasis Tulum
Grand Oasis Tulum
#16 of 21 in Akumal
2,131 reviews
3.4 mi away
Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Perla
Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Pe...
#20 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
9,011 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Hideaway Playacar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Hideaway Playacar

Address: Lote Hotelero No. 6 Fracc., Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico (Formerly Royal Hideaway Playacar & Occidental Resorts)
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#14 Green Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#18 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#20 Top resorts Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#26 Spa Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#28 Luxury Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#28 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range: £226 - £493 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Royal Hideaway Playacar 4.5*
Number of rooms: 201
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Award winning luxury all inclusive resort set along the beautiful beaches of Playa del Carmen, Mexico. Ideal setting in a serene environment for complete rest and relaxation. Adults only. Member of The Leading Hotels of the World. 2008 winner of the coveted AAA 5 Diamond Award. 11 villas with private concierge are spread throughout the property's immaculate grounds. Six gourmet restaurants serve delicasies in menu-style dining. A full service spa offers the ultimate in papmering and body treatments. Personalzied service and attention to detail set this resort a world apart. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Holiday Gems, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, Barcelo, Expedia, HotelsClick, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Royal Hideaway Playacar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Hideaway Playacar And Occidental Resorts
Royal Hideaway Playacar & Occidental Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Royal Hideaway Playa Del Carmen
Royal Hideaway Mexico
Occidental Royal Hideaway
Royal Hideaway Playacar Mexico/Riviera Maya - Playa Del Carmen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing