We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“LOVED our stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Royal Hideaway Playacar
Ranked #31 of 214 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Austin, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“LOVED our stay!”
Reviewed 12 June 2014

My boyfriend and I, along with two other family members, stayed at this amazing resort for five glorious days. We staggered our days and both couples had a great experience. The resort is top notch in all ways, food, accommodations, staff, cleanliness, entertainment, etc. Daniela was our concierge; I wanted to take her home with me! She was fantastic!! She is super friendly, helpful, and polite. The rooms were cleaned multiple times a day. All the employees checked on our needs, but didn't bother us. We had a few favorites that we saw every day that we would like to recognize, of course, fabulous Daniela, and Jhonny, Jesus, Javier, and Carolina. Some of the other reviews I read on this resort were a bit silly. It was not inconvenient to make reservations at the hotels. It was actually kind of nice to walk into the intimate restaurants and have the waiters know your name based on both familiarity and reservations. Not one person came off as "requiring" tips. Up until the last day all of the other customers/vacationers were respectable and pleasant to be around. There was one obnoxious group present on our last day but the resort has many options of places to relax and spend your time at so it was not a problem. I WILL be returning to this resort, hopefully many times in the future. Thank you to the wonderful people who made our stay so incredible.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SCBRAVO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,976 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,914
    704
    217
    94
    47
See reviews for
320
2,579
71
60
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (914)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
34 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Impeccable service from start to finish! The property is a little dated but the quality holds steady. We loved the quiet restfulness of the grounds. The food was without flaw. Complimentary room service was ideal for the lazy afternoons and midnight snacks. The pools and beach were spotless. I would definitely go back without hesitation.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ballthree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2014

We traveled to Playa to celebrate two family birthdays in May. The property was intimate with only about 200 rooms. The staff were very attentive and were able to accommodate our group of 11 people for every dinner reservation which was greatly appreciated! The grounds were well manicured and staff were constantly maintaining the area. The main pool area was a central hang out spot for us. The poolside wait service was awesome! The staff checked on us frequently. We often ordered snacks/lunch and beverages-I recommend the mojitos and carnitas. The food quality was the best we've experienced at an all-inclusive. We truly enjoyed our experience here-they really know how to make you feel special.

We

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 891Rgtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2014

I cannot recommend this place highly enough! By far the most relaxing/clean/luxurious place in the area (we walked up to a few on the beach to confirm). The food was incredible - I had the best steak in my life there - as well as other fantastic meals that made us never leave the resort for a meal. That is a huge complement for an all-inclusive resort. I usually look forward to going to town for a meal, but I was sad the days we had to eat elsewhere (e.g., Chitchen Itza and Cozamel). Additionally, all of the staff were incredibly attentive, even remembering our names at many of the restaurants. My only complaint would be that some of the other guests acted like they were the only people there (i.e., loud and or drunk), but the resort could not help that. One particularly loud twit could be heard across the restaurant turning two of our meals into sessions of trying not to hear about her and how her brother had to shave before her upcoming wedding - I was thankful not to be there for her predictably obnoxious event. Back to the positives! The animators did a great job getting people involved in activities and making our vacation special. I would love to go back to Royal Hideaway Playacar anytime!!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SarahSnoop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport Beach, California
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2014

This was my first stay at RH but its my husbands fav resort in Playa. Everything about RH is 5 star; exceptional customer service, DELICIOUS food, perfect beaches and the friendliest staff. We enjoyed consistently perfect omelets every morning at the breakfast buffet & Oscars perfect service throughout our stay. We had a few couples massages that were AMAZING!! It's hard to pick a favorite restaurant on the property as they were all so good! My husband setup a dinner on the beach one evening (additional cost) & it was SO romantic & worth every penny. Every smart man would do this for his lady on vacation (trust me), did i mention it was SOOO romantic?! We will definitely be returning.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DooleysQueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Appleton, Wisconsin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2014

My wife and I returned to the Royal Hideaway to celebrate our wedding anniversary. The hotel and staff are as good if not better than when we spent our honeymoon there 10 years ago. Our concierge, Delia, at Villa 26 took great care of us, Leonardo welcomed us with a smile at breakfast every morning, and Fanny at Allegria helped us to relax and enjoy the beautiful nights in the Riviera Maya. The grounds are beautiful and the landscaping gives one the feeling being fairly secluded. Overall it's the attentive staff and the beauty of the hotel that will again bring us back to the Royal Hideaway!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Cody R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madison Heights, Michigan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014

What a wonderful resort! The service and food were exceptional. Serjio, Roberto, Ceasar and the whole crew were wonderful, friendly, and attentive to our every need. If you want to know what it feels like to be royalty for a week - spend time at the Royal Hideaway Playacar resort. Dinners at Las Ventanas was our favorite, Azia was an awesome experiance, the Palazzo was supurb. I think I ate my weight in guacamole and chips! We were in Villa 22 - nice but it could use some updating - and the A/C was not the greatest, but we spent very little time in the room. Can't wait to go back!

Room Tip: Villa's 22 and 28 are very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank pinks73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
5.7 mi away
Platinum Yucatan Princess All Suites & Spa Resort
Platinum Yucatan Princess All Su...
#59 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,055 reviews
7.4 mi away
Blue Diamond Luxury Boutique Hotel
Blue Diamond Luxury Boutique Hot...
#50 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,353 reviews
3.4 mi away
Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Perla
Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Pe...
#23 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 8,143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 mi away
Secrets Capri Riviera Cancun
Secrets Capri Riviera Cancun
#39 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 9,192 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace Riviera Maya
Hotel Riu Palace Riviera Maya
#38 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,345 reviews
1.1 mi away
Playacar Palace
Playacar Palace
#19 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,362 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Hideaway Playacar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Hideaway Playacar

Property: Royal Hideaway Playacar
Address: Lote Hotelero No. 6 Fracc., Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico (Formerly Royal Hideaway Playacar & Occidental Resorts)
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#13 Green Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#17 Top resorts Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#18 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#23 Spa Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#26 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#26 Luxury Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Royal Hideaway Playacar 4.5*
Number of rooms: 201
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Award winning luxury all inclusive resort set along the beautiful beaches of Playa del Carmen, Mexico. Ideal setting in a serene environment for complete rest and relaxation. Adults only. Member of The Leading Hotels of the World. 2008 winner of the coveted AAA 5 Diamond Award. 11 villas with private concierge are spread throughout the property's immaculate grounds. Six gourmet restaurants serve delicasies in menu-style dining. A full service spa offers the ultimate in papmering and body treatments. Personalzied service and attention to detail set this resort a world apart. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Barcelo, LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Holiday Gems, Hotels.com, Priceline, TravelUp, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Royal Hideaway Playacar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Hideaway Playacar And Occidental Resorts
Royal Hideaway Playacar & Occidental Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Royal Hideaway Playa Del Carmen
Royal Hideaway Mexico
Occidental Royal Hideaway
Royal Hideaway Playacar Mexico/Riviera Maya - Playa Del Carmen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing