We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We came back!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Royal Hideaway Playacar
Ranked #35 of 211 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Austin, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“We came back!”
Reviewed 8 July 2014

We LOVE this resort so much we returned for a second stay! Again, everything was perfect. The staff in every location called us by name, our concierge took care of all dining reservations and needs throughout the week, and the we were pampered in every way.

The food at RH is unbelievable! Congratulations to the chefs and staff for the beautiful presentation of courses and the service that accompanies each meal.

The grounds are immaculate, the beach is gorgeous, the pools are pristine, and the lobby, bars, restaurants, business center, and patios are beautiful and spacious.

We had a room in Villa 31 close to the pool and beach, but our patio faced toward the resort next door and we could hear the loud music all day. Ask for a room that faces the inside of the resort area.

Be sure to take the taxi into Playa del Carmen and enjoy shopping and restaurants on 5th Ave. It is fun and taxi ride is very cheap.

We love the Royal Hideaway and will be returning there again!

Room Tip: As mentioned, ask for a room that does NOT face outward toward neighboring resorts if you want to av...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Toesinthesand30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,208 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,067
    743
    239
    104
    55
See reviews for
345
2,743
81
62
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (933)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Milford, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
Reviewed 7 July 2014

We stayed at the Royal Hideaway in June for one week. It was fabulous, everything you would expect at a five star hotel and more. The facilities, dining, and staff were first class. It was the most relaxed, stress free vacation we have had! Our experience was perfect in all ways. The staff was the best! We would especially like to recognize our concierge Juan Luis for his exceptional service. We were also given first class service by Caesar (always waiting on us with a smile), Juan (our waiter at Las Ventanas), and Jesus (directing our activities). There is no question we will go back!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathy1020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Chester, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
Reviewed 7 July 2014

I couldn't ask for a more wonderful resort to spend time away. The staff from manager to grounds keepers were courteous and never hesitated to serve our every need. The food was top notch and the Chef's Table is a once in a lifetime pleasure that's worth every penny. Kudos to Chefs Eugenio, Luis and Ismael! We will definitely be back!

Room Tip: It does pay to ask about rooms away from the utility paths on the sides of the resort where carts ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
El Paso, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 July 2014

The name of the game is great service! From the first greeting and first flute of champaign to the last farewell from the bellman, the entire staff make you feel like a VIP. There are a few drawbacks - the air conditioning is not what you expect of a five star resort, but is typical of the Caribbean / Mayan resorts. There are very limited dining choices for lunch. And you must make reservations well in advance for dinner (also have to dress up for dinner - which in the end is a nice thing). I suggest you make your first night or two dinner reservations at least a couple of days before you arrive. Now for the positives - my wife and I walked up and down the beach from the Hideaway and actually walked through most of the other nice resorts. By far, the Hideaway is the most intimate. Several others had equally impressive landscaping. Some had nicer pools. Several others are designed for families. Hideaway really is more adult oriented than family. Several others had more grandiose lobbies. But absolutely none were as intimate, relaxing and special as the RH. If you want a first class experience that is still close to Playacar, there is no other choice. If you get the chance, we highly recommend The Chef's Table towards the end of your stay. Chef Eugenio is a master! We recommend that you go big! Twelve courses sounds like a lot, but it will be worth it!

Room Tip: It doesn't matter because you don't spend time in the room except to shower and sleep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bill H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2014

Go here. Go here now. Do not wait. Do not shop around. Do not 'think about it'. Do not hesitate. Get on a plane right now and go here.

This is a place where they do everything right. It's perfect. The hotel, the staff, the beach, the food, the pools... all of it.

GO NOW.

ALSO: no kids! There's no children!!!! Don't get me wrong, I have two kids - but not being around any kids for a few days? WOW!!!!!

Room Tip: There isn't a bad thing to be said.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jakdracula
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newton, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2014

We just got back from an insanely amazing vacation at The Royal Hideaway in Playacar Mexico (June 14-18). I would and have been recommending this resort to anyone that asks about the trip. It was paradise!

We had a HORRIBLE experience at the Iberostar in Dominican Republic some years ago so I researched for months to find what I had hoped to be the perfect fit for us. The food was superb, the drinks were all top shelf, service was top notch (had our own concierge, waiters at restaurants all knew our names and the staff overall bent over backwards for us), the beach was huge and pristine and overall it was relaxation heaven.

There were two staff members there that deserve recognition for all they did for us there. Delia our concierge and Rodolfo in Spices.

Our villa, 26, was very quiet as it was centrally located but the AC in our first room was broken and after two days of sweltering they moved us to another room in the villa thankfully.

People's comments about the resort starting to look its age are true but what else can be expected for a property in that climate? After time, railings will rust but there were always workers quietly fixing things like that around. The grounds were always clean as well as the pools.

As for the restaurants we did not have a bad meal while there but our two favorite dinners were at Azia and Las Ventanas (smoked duck appetizer is AMAZING). Lunch at Spices or the Deck was great each day too with tuna tartare and out of this world fish tacos

It is the world's first adult-only all-inclusive resort to earn the prestigious AAA 5- Diamond Award and it is part of the association of The Leading Hotels of the World. It is no mystery why once you experience being a guest there.

We are already planning to go back!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tina0614
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, GA
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2014

Recently went to the Royal Hideaway for a girl's weekend and loved every minute! The food was fantastic - definitely a great quality for an all-inclusive resort. Our room was large and very nice (I slept like a baby!) The pools are gorgeous, including an infinity pool that looks out at the beautiful beach. Although it was a little tough to get a poolside chair, we were easily able to use a covered cabana, and there was always plentiful seating on the beach. I can't say enough how gorgeous the beach was here. I also got a massage that was truly excellent - one of the best I've ever had! My only complaints would be that the resort is fairly small, so options for pools, bars, and restaurants is somewhat limited compared to other, larger resorts. Similarly, there aren't many activities - this was fine with us since we spent most of our time just relaxing by the beach, but having some more options might have been nice. Still, the Royal Hideaway was an excellent place to get away from it all!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Megan O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa del Carmen
1.7 mi away
Magic Blue Hotel
Magic Blue Hotel
#50 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
664 reviews
5.7 mi away
Platinum Yucatan Princess All Suites & Spa Resort
Platinum Yucatan Princess All Su...
#59 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
5,528 reviews
7.4 mi away
Blue Diamond Luxury Boutique Hotel
Blue Diamond Luxury Boutique Hot...
#41 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
1,421 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Perla
Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Pe...
#22 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
8,701 reviews
7.7 mi away
Secrets Capri Riviera Cancun
Secrets Capri Riviera Cancun
#40 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
9,507 reviews
22.3 mi away
Grand Oasis Tulum
Grand Oasis Tulum
#18 of 23 in Akumal
2,054 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Hideaway Playacar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Hideaway Playacar

Property: Royal Hideaway Playacar
Address: Lote Hotelero No. 6 Fracc., Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico (Formerly Royal Hideaway Playacar & Occidental Resorts)
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#14 Green Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#18 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#19 Top resorts Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#26 Spa Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#27 Luxury Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#28 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Royal Hideaway Playacar 4.5*
Number of rooms: 201
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Award winning luxury all inclusive resort set along the beautiful beaches of Playa del Carmen, Mexico. Ideal setting in a serene environment for complete rest and relaxation. Adults only. Member of The Leading Hotels of the World. 2008 winner of the coveted AAA 5 Diamond Award. 11 villas with private concierge are spread throughout the property's immaculate grounds. Six gourmet restaurants serve delicasies in menu-style dining. A full service spa offers the ultimate in papmering and body treatments. Personalzied service and attention to detail set this resort a world apart. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Expedia, Barcelo, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Royal Hideaway Playacar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Hideaway Playacar & Occidental Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Royal Hideaway Playacar And Occidental Resorts
Royal Hideaway Playa Del Carmen
Royal Hideaway Mexico
Occidental Royal Hideaway
Royal Hideaway Playacar Mexico/Riviera Maya - Playa Del Carmen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing