We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exquisite!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Royal Hideaway Playacar
Ranked #32 of 209 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
El Paso,TX
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Exquisite!!”
Reviewed 25 June 2009

Just got back from an 8 night stay. What a phenomenal resort! I felt like someone called me and asked what I would consider the ideal vacation - the Royal Hideaway was everything I would ask for.

The grounds are absolutely beautiful. Every room has a view of either the gardens, which are perfectly manicured, or the ocean, which is the most beautiful shade of turquoise I've ever seen. As you stroll the grounds and catch the first view of the water, it takes your breath away.

Service is first class - whether you tip or not. The staff seems to really enjoy their job of pampering the guests. It is a shame the beach has eroded - but the views are still amazing and the infinity pool was my favorite location. Carolina our concierge was such a sweetheart and was always available when we had a question or arrangements to make. The housekeeping staff kept the rooms immaculate. Room service was always available and brought whatever we asked for. The food in the restaurants was exquisite - especially considering this was an all inclusive resort. We were not expecting the gourmet meals we were able to enjoy. Each dish was unique and tasted phenomenal. Dinner was never rushed - the service was very attentive.

The resort was quiet and peaceful, a benefit of the low occupancy (and the swine flu threat!) It did not bother us that all the restaurants were not available every night - we were able to eat in each one twice. Breakfast was amazing - the view combined with the wonderful assortment of food (the pastries are to die for!) was very relaxing. I also loved having a cheeseburger by the pool for lunch - no need to move, everything was brought right to my lounge by the amazing poolside waiters. I am a mom of 4 so it was a real treat having someone else wait on me for a change.

I have run out of words to describe this resort! We are hoping to return in the future. I cannot think of a better place to relax and be pampered. Thanks to the staff of the Royal Hideaway for offering such great service.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Louise0723
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,046 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,963
    714
    225
    95
    49
See reviews for
325
2,631
72
61
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (920)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Orleans
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2009

We returned last night from a 4 night stay. The service was excellent and we rarely had to ask for anything twice.

The rooms are super clean and comfortable and 24 hour (limited menu) room service was nice.

The beach has eroded but was adequate and the pool overlooking the ocean was all one could ask for.

The retaurants were closed on a rotating basis so one could experience almost all of them with some planning. Each set of rooms has a concierge so there is little left to chance if you use their services.

The pool servers are astoundingly efficient and food and drinks arrive in minutes of being ordered. I found the selection of Mexican beers a bit limited, but all call brand liquors were available.

We did a reef dive with the adjacent Barrakuda Dive Shop. The instructor will give you a crash course in the pool and one can dive that afternoon on a modest reef 10 minutes from the resort. The instructors were top notch, the equipment good, and safety primary. (Ask for Omar).

All in all very satisfying. If the resort had been full the restaurants might have all been open, but the service might have suffered.

We have stayed at larger resorts like the Rui Palace next door and they are very nice as well. Since Royal is smaller, I found it more intimate and the service better.

We'll certainly go back.

Jesse and Alysha

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank NewOrleansPolo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Memphis
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2009

My wife and I along with another couple just returned from RH and could not have been more impressed with this resort. The food at dinner is comparable to the finest restaurants anywhere and breakfast and lunch are very good. I have never been anywhere where the service was as good as RH. Everyone is very sincere in making sure all your needs are met. For a relaxing getaway, I don't know if you could find a better resort. As the previous post said, the beach is narrow but you can walk for miles up and down the beach. The rooms are set up similar to a Ritz Carlton but slightly larger. The grounds are impeccable but you never see them doing maintenance. As I mentioned, it is very deserving of the AAA 5 diamond award. We look forward to going back

Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank BenMemphis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, OR
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2009

By far the best resort we have stayed at in service. The service is unmatched and now we will be comparing every trip to this one.

Do not go there for the beach though. The beach has been mostly washed away by the hurricane and although there is some beach at the hotel, you cannot walk between resorts because there is so little beach. Kayaking and other water activities are a lot of fun there and included.

The food was great and it was fun to be able to go to a different restaurant each night. The chips and guacamole were awesome and we had those every night.

Everywhere you go in the resort, you are greeted by your last name.

We can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Luv2Run1st
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arkansas, USA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2009

Limited number of guests mean limited dining options. Clean and great rooms--cleanest I have ever stayed in of all my trips to Mexico over many years--- but not what you are expecting from a five star resort. Our travel agent should have been told upfront of the limited way the resort was operating up-front. NO REAL BEACH. The pictures of the beach are before the hurricane Wilma. What beach they do have is so crowded with chairs you can't walk on it. They don't need that many chairs anyway. Nobody laid on them. It looked awkward. If you love the pool it has great proximity to see the ocean and has comfortable beds. No dinner theater or other entertainment except a couple of single musicians. The workers are excellent as they are at all of the higher end Mayan resorts. The spa was the best part. Very professional. I have no clue what you would do if it rained while staying there. No covered beach beads with thatch. Just not Mexico enough to me when there isn't one building with a thatch roof! Wouldn't go again - there are much better choices. I know I've been to them.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank yogadea03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Louis
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2009

My husband and I love this resort. The food is awesome and the service is as well! The infinity pool is great and so are the views! Very romantic and relaxing!

Stayed May 2008, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank stellarose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2009

The advertisements are very misleading with all the resturants when in acuallity only two of the five or seven are acually open. When you try to make a reservation the options are slim to none with the accomodations being offered were room service. We didnt go to an all inclusive to have a limited menue with room service

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank ksumom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa del Carmen
1.7 mi away
Magic Blue Hotel
Magic Blue Hotel
#56 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
638 reviews
5.7 mi away
Platinum Yucatan Princess All Suites & Spa Resort
Platinum Yucatan Princess All Su...
#59 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
5,230 reviews
7.4 mi away
Blue Diamond Luxury Boutique Hotel
Blue Diamond Luxury Boutique Hot...
#47 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
1,381 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Perla
Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Pe...
#24 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
8,309 reviews
7.7 mi away
Secrets Capri Riviera Cancun
Secrets Capri Riviera Cancun
#39 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
9,283 reviews
22.3 mi away
Grand Oasis Tulum
Grand Oasis Tulum
#18 of 23 in Akumal
1,937 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Hideaway Playacar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Hideaway Playacar

Property: Royal Hideaway Playacar
Address: Lote Hotelero No. 6 Fracc., Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico (Formerly Royal Hideaway Playacar & Occidental Resorts)
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#14 Green Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#18 Top resorts Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#18 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#24 Spa Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#26 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#26 Luxury Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Royal Hideaway Playacar 4.5*
Number of rooms: 201
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Award winning luxury all inclusive resort set along the beautiful beaches of Playa del Carmen, Mexico. Ideal setting in a serene environment for complete rest and relaxation. Adults only. Member of The Leading Hotels of the World. 2008 winner of the coveted AAA 5 Diamond Award. 11 villas with private concierge are spread throughout the property's immaculate grounds. Six gourmet restaurants serve delicasies in menu-style dining. A full service spa offers the ultimate in papmering and body treatments. Personalzied service and attention to detail set this resort a world apart. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Barcelo, Booking.com, Holiday Gems, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Royal Hideaway Playacar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Hideaway Playacar And Occidental Resorts
Royal Hideaway Playacar & Occidental Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Royal Hideaway Playa Del Carmen
Royal Hideaway Mexico
Occidental Royal Hideaway
Royal Hideaway Playacar Mexico/Riviera Maya - Playa Del Carmen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing