We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sandos Playacar Beach Resort
Ranked #57 of 217 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Reviewed 4 August 2011

We went to Sandos Playacar in April and had a wonderful vacation. The food was plentiful and there were plenty of variety. The grounds were absolutely spotless and well maintained. The room in the older section were a bit small as were the beds, but they were clean. The staff were also great and always polite. The beach was absolutely awesome, the water, the sand , and scenery were a blessing. I woul not hesitate to go back to this resort again. Oh yeah and the monkeys were very entertaining.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jpepCt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (13,658)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4,775 - 4,781 of 13,658 reviews

Reviewed 4 August 2011

Arrived at the resort, given a very smaill room that had a view of a Tree, an elevator out of order and the fourth floor accommodation.
Moved to another room where the air conditioner did not work, four technicians in our room until 11:00PM not fixed, switched room again. By the time we were settled we had moved from three rooms.
Service very basic, food, nothing too good everything tasted the same.
The only thing worth about this resort is the BEACH. Beautiful white sand a crystal clear sea.
Do not bother to book an all inclusive here, find a better on

Room Tip: not at this resort
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank vedado52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2011

We just got back last night from a wonderful weeklong vacation at this resort and it was fabulous! The staff was very friendly and accommodating. There really isn't anything bad to say about this place. The drinks were great, my three boys (12, 7, 5) had a wonderful time, and it was just absolutely beautiful. Rafael at the pool bar in the Riviera section was incredible!!! How he kept all the orders straight was beyond me. The Sandos Animacion people were great -- and we LOVED Vicky!!! She was very good with the younger kids. The food was delicious, but the Riviera Maya restaurant took awhile to get our food and to get seated (go early!!) but the food there was very tasty. We loved the Italian buffet too -- and our last night there were ate at El Gaucho and the food was, once again, DELICIOUS. We loved the shuttle between the lobby and meeting point, but we also loved the walk from our room to the main pool. I did not, however, like the fact that the Royal Elite people who said it's not a timeshare would not accept the word no. Oh, and the 90-minute presentation ended up being almost three hours. That's the only bad thing I can say about this place. We had a great time!!! Thanks Sandos! Can't wait to see you again. :)

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mommy23boys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2011

I went to Sandos with my boyfriend in last October. We joined club sandos and had free pick up and drop off in Cancun Airport. Also for joining we had a wine bottle waiting in our room. The hotel was not full at all so we got an room upgrade. We stayed in the Riviera section which is on the back of the complex, and by the map we were kind of disapointed by the distance to the beach. But not at all, first they had golf carts all day long, but we never got them. the walk was super pleasant and about 5 minutes, great exercise! We just had everything we needed in my beach bag so we didnt have to go to the room often. Other nice point in staying in Riviera is the pool complex, that is great because almost all guests used the front pool, so we had a gigantic private pool!
The beach is clean and they have all sorts of activities if you want to do some sports or dance, there are also activities in the front pool (we won a coco bongo pass on a game)!Also the hotel is the last one on the complex so if you walk to your right you have this beatiful beach almost dessert place.
The spa is the best, first the gym is very equipped and new, and there is an awsome massage pool, only adults, very relaxing. After we discovered it, it was a daily stop.
You can also get out of the hotel and walk on the complex, not far you have a mini plaza with shops, internet, etc.
We also hired a snorkel trip with the hotel, it has awesome. A boat from the hotel took us and another cople to coral area not far and we snorkeled for about 30 minutes, with none of those boat entretainment (which i hate).
The only complain of the hotel would be the food, it was very good but almost the same every day so i just couldnt have the same for 12 days...we went to playa del carmen town and ate there a few times (have a haggen das icecream place) there are excelent restaurants, and i was good to have a different food once in a while.
So at the end it was great, the staff super friendly, the room always clean with no tips, clean beach and pool! Want to go back!

Room Tip: Rooms in the Riviera section all have a big jacuzzi either on bathroom or balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank DaniFerreira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2011

Just returned from our second stay at Sandos. We were there in May and raved about what a wonderful experience we had. Our daughter and her husband decided we had such a good time that they decided to go and convinced us to return with them; did not take much convincing. Last summer we had each stayed in different hotels in the Playacar area and we all agreed that Sandos was heads and shoulders above these other more expensive hotels in terms of ambience, service, food quality and entertainment.

Impressions:
Stayed in the Riviera section and had adjoining rooms with the bed configurations we requested by e-mail prior to arrival. We found the Riviera section the ideal place to stay. Rooms are large and air conditioning is highly efficient. We have travelled to Mexico for over 20 years and this was one of the few times that humidity and mustiness was not a problem in the room. Limited access wireless internet signal was received on balcony, in room and around Riviera pool making it easy to keep up with email and current news. Riviera pool is large, chairs were always available, great drinks at land bar, did not use swim up bar and food cart made great hot dogs and hamburgers.
Room was short walk to main reception area with air conditioned bar serving fantastic coffee drinks as well as mixed drinks. Crepes are also available and were delicious. Nice place for pre dinner drinks and a light snack. For more substantial fare, buffet with limited breakfast menu was available and we would have breakfast there on days we walked into Playa del Carmen. An adult only pool, bar and poolside buffet serving limited breakfast and lunch items is also found in the Riviera section. The numerous food, beverage and pool options make the Riviera section a low key, self contained enjoyable restful resort providing what we are looking for in our vacation. As my wife uses a wheelchair and we thus do not use the beach, we would return to Sandos even if the Riviera section constituted the entire resort.
There is however much more than the Riviera section. A short walk through beautifully landscaped grounds brings one to the beach area of Sandos. Although others complain about the length of the walk, it is one of the more delightful features of the resort. If you take the provided transportation between the two areas you miss out on seeing the wild coatis, the cats, the donkey, hearing the singing rocks and viewing the monkey family in the trees near the meeting point. Our biggest disappointment this trip was that the monkeys we saw and heard in May were apparently on vacation. Need to check their vacation schedule before we return!
The beach section is a much more crowded high energy area. A main plaza with tables is flanked by the main buffet with extensive breakfast lunch and dinner selections and the sports bar serving coffee as well as mixed drinks. This is the site of evening activities providing a nice outdoor area for before dinner drinks and after dinner entertainment. The theatre with excellent shows is a few steps away. Activities staff organizes numerous activities on beach and pool in this area. Closer to the beach is a bar/outdoor buffet that is Mediterranean restaurant in evening offering slightly fewer lunch choices than main buffet. Lots of children in this area clearly having a fantastic time in pool. Clearly two very different experiences separated by delightful work providing ability to tailor type of vacation on daily or even hourly basis. For us, we would start at beach and slowly unwind moving from restaurant/bar to restaurant/bar returning by late afternoon to relaxing Riviera pool.
I would like to point out that Sandos is fully wheelchair accessible. Walked to Playa del Carmen twice without any problems and had no accessibility issues within Playa del Carmen. In contrast to much of Mexico, this is a wheel chair friendly area.

Details:

Food: Wide variety of well prepared dishes including cooked to order entrees at the buffets. Lack of air conditioning not a problem. Wait staff attentive. Never wanted for drinks or removal of dirty dishes. Italian buffet had some interesting dishes especially deserts and it was nice to be able to take these back to the interconnected main buffet. Ala carte restaurants have interesting menus. Food is very good and presentation excellent. Ate at French restaurant twice and it was worth long pants and tied shoes. All dishes tried were superb. Food good in steakhouse but atmosphere needs improvement. Very noisy as a large room lacking sound absorbing material. Kitchen noises detracted from enjoyment of meal. As this is new venue for this restaurant can hope that atmosphere will improve. Brazilian on par with similar types we have eaten at; typical meat cut from a stick tableside. Our party of four felt that Mediterranean restaurant had a good atmosphere with some dishes superb and others lacking.
Service: From Darren in web relations promptly answering pre arrival e-mail questions to taking care of pre-arrival requests to check in to housekeeping to bar service to meal service we always encountered a how can I help you can do attitude. Service with a smile epitomizes the Sandos experience.

To summarize, Sandos provides two different types of vacation experiences that can be enjoyed by toddlers as well as older empty nester baby boomers such as ourselves on one property. It is an excellent value. We have found our Mexico destination. Next year in Sandos. We will return.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank sdschwrt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2011

Stayed here in January with my daughter. Grounds were lovely, staff was awesome. Rooms were so so, beds kind if gard. Had a leaking shower, the door wouldn't close and water ran all over the floor. Solution? Turn the door upside down so it doesn't close all the way inside. I like all the "go green" concept, but everything shuts off in your room when you leave. Fridge shuts off, clock resets, so everytime you come in, you have to reset the clock and the fridge is hot. Entertainment staff was very good. Food was so so, but we did find things to eat. I would possibly go back again for the right price. Great beach and staff.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lynsmom427
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2011

Bit late writing this review, but here goes.
Went to the Sandos Playacar with my wife at the end of April for 2 weeks and I must say we had a great time. On arrival we were met by our Thomas Cook rep and we were swiftly shown where our coach was. Upon getting on the coach however I felt like I hadn't left the UK. Take that was playing on the radio followed by boyzone. I thought at least a bit of Mexican music to make you feel like you were in Mexico would have been a good start. When we went to Jamaica it was Bob Marley from start to finish, and whether you like it or not, you certainly felt like you were in Jamaica.
On arriving at the Sandos resort we were quickly checked in with no problem and shown to our room. We were at the far end of the resort which is about a 6 or 7 minute walk to the beach and pick up point which for us was quite nice as we were away from all the hustle and bustle but not out of reach.
The room was very clean and overlooked our blocks swimming pool and bar/restaurant. and was ideally situated for the Asian, Mexican and Brazillian restaraunts, as well as the lovely lobby bar which was a great place to meet up with people later in the evening.
The beach was loveley, and as this hotel is the end one along this particular strip, if you walk up to the right of the beach over the the rocks and through the bays it is absolutely beautiful and tranquil with crystal clear water.
The food was good and if you were too full to walk back later there was a free shuttle transfer pretty much every 10 mins from the meeting point to the main reception which was ideal for some of the less mobile.
We tried all the restaurants, and most of the a-la-carte ones twice (never had a problem booking at any time of day for a next day reservation) and our favourite was the Gourmet. Lovely food, exceptional service and lovely atmosphere.
We met some lovely people out there (Hi Steph and Andy, Ben and Nicole) and all used to meet later in the evenings either for the theatre shows (which are typical holiday theatre shows - i.e. bad Michael Jackson tributes etc) althought the mexican dance show was very good. or we would meet at the aforementioned Lobby Bar.
We did stay around the main entertainment area a few times, but to be honest this is probably the only area I feel that let the hotel down. The in joke amongst us was that we had just had an hour or 2 at Butlins as you could have been anywhere in the world in this area and it seemed to have lost it's own Mexican identity in trying too hard to please the Brits and Americans by trying to become what we go on holiday to get away from.
We took a taxi into town a couple of times to 5th Avenue and this is well worth doing just to get a feel for the town if nothing else, however if you go into Signor Frogs be prepared to be ripped off. There are plenty of other nice little bars where you can get a decent drink for a very decent price if you look around.
For us the only thing that you have to be aware of is that at the time of year we went I think we were at the back end of the American Spring break and there were a hell of a lot of very noisy Americans / Canadians who seem to think that they have to be heard to be noticed and speak at full volume so everyone can hear them even if they are speaking to the person next to them, but by our second week most of them had gone and it was a lot quieter.
Overall we had a lovely time and although we personally wouldn't rush back there like we would to Jamaica, It is certainly worth going to if you can get your holiday at the right price as we did.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KaybeeBedfordshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
5.5 mi away
Sandos Caracol Eco Resort
Sandos Caracol Eco Resort
#82 of 217 in Playa del Carmen
13,494 reviews
1.9 mi away
Occidental at Xcaret Destination
Occidental at Xcaret Destination
#77 of 217 in Playa del Carmen
13,909 reviews
0.6 mi away
Royal Hideaway Playacar
Royal Hideaway Playacar
#34 of 217 in Playa del Carmen
4,717 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Riu Playacar
Hotel Riu Playacar
#49 of 217 in Playa del Carmen
5,303 reviews
0.1 mi away
Iberostar Tucan Hotel
Iberostar Tucan Hotel
#51 of 217 in Playa del Carmen
6,872 reviews
4 mi away
Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Perla
Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Pe...
#20 of 217 in Playa del Carmen
9,608 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandos Playacar Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandos Playacar Beach Resort

Address: Paseo Xaman-Ha | Manzana 1, Lote 1 Fracc.Playacar, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#31 Top resorts Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#39 Luxury Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#40 Spa Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#42 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#53 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range: £169 - £350 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sandos Playacar Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 819
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sandos Playacar Beach Resort & Spa is an all-Inclusive hotel in Playa del Carmen with both family and adult sections. We are ideally located on a magnificent white sandy beach in the gated community of Playacar, within walking distance to downtown Playa and Fifth Avenue. Sandos Playacar Beach Resort & Spa is located only forty-five minutes from the Cancun International Airport, and the pier serving ferries to Cozumel is a short distance from our property.Playacar is a private, master-planned community situated on the southern edge of downtown Playa del Carmen. Guests at Sandos Playacar Beach Resort & Spa enjoy this exclusive community’s impressive infrastructure, including an 18-hole golf course designed by Robert Von Hagge, the Xaman-Ha Aviary, pristine biking paths, and Mayan ruins, accessible to the public for hiking.Riviera Maya is a protected region where many remaining artifacts from the fascinating Mayan civilization can be found. Surrounded by Mayan archeological zones, such as those at Tulum, Coba, and Chicen-Itza, this Playa del Carmen hotel successfully preserves a strong sense of Mayan culture onsite, adding an authentic feel and flavor to the vacation experience in Playacar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Expedia, Holiday Gems, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Sandos Playacar Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandos Playacar Beach Hotel
Hotel Sandos Playacar Beach
Beach Playacar Resort Sandos
Sandos Playacar Resort
Sandos Playa Del Carmen
Gala Resort Playacar
Sandos Gala Playacar
Sandos Playacar Mexico
Sandos Resort
Playacar Sandos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing