We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“DISAPPOINTING”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sandos Playacar Beach Resort
Ranked #59 of 214 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Reviewed 4 July 2014

We paid a lot of money for this hotel on recommendation from a family member who had been there a few years back, big mistake, the rooms are very tired looking we had very large cockroaches on a few occasions, awful damp musty smell, the pillows are rock hard, we both had sore necks by the end of holiday, the tiles in the lobby area are broken and beside pool, we both came down with a bug for two days, the entertainment is the same from week to week, and the the food is not what I expected at all , there are flies around the open buffet area which put me off, and the maids knock your door at 8am to clean your room, we asked them to come back and we didn't get our room done that day , the a la carte booking system is a joke we were sent from the main reception to the lobby at the other end of hotel to book these, then to be told we could only get 6. 30.. the only one we enjoyed was the french the others are not worth it, we also had a problem with our safe not opening during the holiday and had to wait in our room half an hour until an employee came to fix it , we would certainly not return to sandos playacar, oh and you don't get premuim drinks, they are watered down

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sk199
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (13,259)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,914 - 2,920 of 13,259 reviews

Reviewed 4 July 2014

Arrived at sandos after long long journey and was greeted by very friendly man at reception who gave us a glass of champagne (wine).Check in was quick then we got taken to room . Lovely huge space with jacuzzi in bathroom. Had view of pool and riviera blue snack bar. Was 10 to 15 min walk to main area of restaurants etc but it was such a lovely walk. We saw iguanas, coatamundi and a couple of times monkeys. Tried all a la cartes and french was best. Food in main restaurant not brill and got annoyed with birds keep flying in all over the food. Cocktails were lovely. The whole area paths, gardens pools etc. Were always lovely and clean. The beach is to die for. White sand and clear water. Went on couple trips. Chitchen itza and mayan trip. Both very good. Would like to thank everyone at the sandos for making our holiday enjoyable.

Room Tip: Family rooms were lovely and quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank linda j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2014

The only down side to this stay was the check-in was a fiasco at the front desk, getting dinner reservations after 6-6:30 and skimping on room keys. The beach is beautiful, no rocks and lots of space, very little seaweed, plenty of lounge chairs, lovely staff, very clean surroundings.

We had reserved Haciendas which are near the Meeting Point in what I call the central area of the resort. A hacienda has 10 rooms, and a pool with lounge chairs and some have hammocks with large patio all attached to the 10 rooms. We were a group of 13 with 3 teens just finishing a bi-annual mission trip in the area. 3 of our rooms were "upgraded" to the adults only section and only one room was in a hacienda. We had all chosen and paid for an upgrade to hacienda so we could be closer to one another, which we had done on our last trip with 6 people when we were all in the same hacienda. Three couples took the adults only section, the others with teens, had to be moved after spending one night in a regular room then moving the next morning, waiting until their next room was available, going to the front desk to get another key, losing valuable relaxation/vacation time. Another gripe: apparently they were running short of room keys and wanted us to take one key and return tomorrow for another. Ridiculous and un-called for! Who wants to spend their vacation running back to the front desk day after day? Fix the front desk and it would be an excellent stay!

Dinner reservations were easier to get than our first visit but they were all at 6 or 6:30. Nothing later was available. Food is delicious! The food at the buffets gets better every time we visit. Many choices from healthy to decadent. Fish, chicken and mushroom rice at the buffet near the beach was my favorite. The staff is always courteous and friendly and more than willing to help.

Our adult section rooms were large and clean. Beds in Mexico tend to be hard, here is no exception. The AC works well. The decor seemed a little worn from our stay in this type of room 6 years ago, but very acceptable.

Pool decks in the adult section are pristine, the entire resort is clean and people are working to keep it that way around the clock. The food there is excellent too. The pool near the beach seems to be more crowded and noisy, with more kids obviously. Water exercise, water games, etc are offered there.

We enjoyed the entertainment on the beach, it's very nice there after dark with the ocean breeze. Other entertainment is offered at the plaza also. This might seem noisy if your room is between the Meeting Point and the beach.

We took a one and one-half hour snorkeling tour from the dive shop for $35 which was very nice. A couple of the masks didn't seat well, so check it before you head out. We saw two turtles. The guide seemed to speak to everyone and was very helpful, even lending his personal mask to one of us.

I feel like we will return and understand that our reservation will be mishandled and some of us will have to move mid-stay. Wish this didn't happen, very sad for an otherwise wonderful stay.

Room Tip: Quietest rooms are not near the beach, which means a walk or catch a shuttle to beach and Meeting Po...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank cpixok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandos_Playacar, Director General at Sandos Playacar Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 5 July 2014

Dear cpixok,

First of all I appreciate you are taking your time to share with us your feedback. Please accept our most sincere apologies for the inconvenience you had during your stay. I deeply regret that we have not met your expectations in this third stay.

Let me tell you that all your comments are very important because of this comments we are immediately in the prompt solution of this.

I reiterate once again our sincere apologies for any inconvenience we cause and hope you will give us the opportunity to welcome you again in this home.

I kindly remain at your total disposal for any further comments.

Best Regards

Miguel Vargas
Director General
Sandos Playacar Beach Resort & Spa
webrelations.playacar@sandos.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2014

This was my second trip to Mexico. Just a few years before, I stayed at the Iberostar right next door to Sandos. I was excited that my brother chose to go here for his destination wedding. I love this stretch of the beach since it is towards the end of the strip of the beach-front resorts in the area. However, the bus you catch from the Cancun airport drops you off last. Make sure you get a good stretch before boarding the bus.
Upon arrival we were greeted by a friendly staff member with yummy fruity juice drinks. Check-in was a breeze and we got on a golf cart to be driven to our room. The block of rooms we had were all together except for several of us who were on the other side of the compound. I would have preferred being closer together, but there were over 20 of us total, so I'm sure the staff did their best to accommodate us.
Our spacious room had 2 fairly comfortable beds and a gross pull-out couch that had a huge stain on it. Good thing we didn't need to use it. It was nice having our own semi-private pool right outside our door as well as a mini fridge stocked with beer. Room service came in real handy when we stayed up pretty late one night. I have no complaints about any of the food served here (restaurants, buffets, etc.) They even had a giant paella cooking on the beach one day!
The nightly shows were just okay.
The wedding coordinator was very helpful and my brother's wedding photos turned out amazing! They also did a nice job of decorating the reception room. I'm definitely considering a destination wedding now.
I took a free scuba lesson on-site at the resort. I paid extra for a scuba excursion off-site. If you're a beginner, I don't recommend this. There's a risk that your ears won't adjust to the depth and you'll have to miss out and not be able to get your money back. (This doesn't have anything to do with the hotel, but I just thought you should know)

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Laura F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandos_Playacar, Director General at Sandos Playacar Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 5 July 2014

Dear Laura F,

We appreciate the time you have taken to write this positive feedback about your stay in Sandos Playacar

At Sandos Hotels we have a commitment to provide quality service beyond our guests’ expectations, and it is a real pleasure for us to know that we have achieved our goal.

This definitely strengthens our philosophy of seeking the highest level of service excellence, we are proud to know that Lupita provide a high quality service, we will pass your kind comments to her.

We would be glad to welcome you again when visiting the Mexican Caribbean next time or for your wedding destination as well..

Kind regards,
Miguel Vargas
General Manager
Sandos Playacar Beach Resort & Spa
webrelations.playacar@sandos.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2014

This was our first time here in the All Inclusive "Adults Only" section of this resort. There is a very large "Family" AI section here too. The place is huge.....but they offer golf cart and van transport regular service to all points. The wait times were typically less then five minutes for a ride - but the walk could take 10-15 minutes to the beach depending on where you stay.

We chose the location primarily for the beach - and it was spectacular. The service from Jasmine at the beach area was always with a smile. We read many reviews that mentioned it was hard to find a chair in the beach area, but we never experienced a problem with this.

Food.......the restaurants we went to (you must make reservations) were all very good. We particularly liked the French restaurant. The adults only breakfast buffet was also very good. We had a romantic dinner on the beach served by Roberto Carlos that was a highlight for us. This did cost a little extra, but was well worth it.

Daniela Delgado will take excellent care of any special requests. You simply need to email them and she will be quick to respond with reservations and menus and suggestions. I suspect she was behind some of the unexpected extras that mysteriously showed up for our anniversary.

You are greeted from the moment you arrive with smiles and drinks. Be sure to join the sandos4u rewards before you travel there. Mini bar in room is not the best, but I think if you ask, they will provide more than just the beer and soft drinks as part of the rewards program.

Rooms were spacious and clean in the Adults Only section. We had heard and read that some rooms had issues with mold, cooling and refrigerators, but we did not experience this. One couple we talked with had a problem like this and the staff was very quick to provide alternative rooms for them to choose from.

Be sure to take advantage of the 1 hour of spa time available for hydro, aroma, sauna therapy. This was a welcome way to end the day at the beach.

We had a fabulous time here, and look forward to returning.

Room Tip: Adult Only section appears to be the most recently remodeled. If you ask for a room that is NOT fac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Chris M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandos_Playacar, Director General at Sandos Playacar Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 5 July 2014

Dear Chris M,

We are glad that you spent your vacations in Sandos Playacar and that we were able to meet your expectations. It is a pleasure for us to know that you had a delightful stay here in our resort and that you completely enjoyed our services.

We are glad to hear that the service of our staff was to your satisfaction.

We are waiting for you in your next vacation in our little paradise.

Sincerely,
Miguel Vargas
General Manager
Sandos Playacar Beach Resort & Spa
webrelations.playacar@sandos.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014 via mobile

We arrived at playacar in playa del Carmen on the 25th of April, which was my 25th birthday and our honeymoon. We arrived late because we had been at Xel-ha having a great day snorkeling and hanging out at the lazy river. We checked in and everything went really well. I then suggested to my wife that we go to one of the many restaurants on the property. We called the reception desk and they told us we had to make reservations a day in advance however we were told something completely different when we checked in. We tried explaining that over the phone with the reception and instead of them going out of their way to help or providing an alternative (like any decent hotel or resort should do) she said no sorry and hung up. We then tried to call room service and were put on hold for 20 minutes and then finally decided it wasn't worth it. We booked this hotel because of the great reviews and all that is has to offer especially the all inclusive however, had we known we would get this piss poor service we wouldn't have ever considered staying here. I am very, very disappointed with my stay and sadly would not recommend this hotel to anyone after my experience. I have traveled the world and stayed at many prestigious and luxurious hotels and this place ranks at the very bottom. They promised us the moon when we first arrived offering free massages and free golf carts to ride around in. All we asked the first night was dinner in one of the many restaurants on property and that wasn't even an option so we were stuck with the buffet. We decided to do room service the second night which was about the equivalent to dog food. I never write bad reviews because everywhere I have stayed has always been a pleasant experience but this was not and everyone out there deserves to know the real truth about the accommodations at this hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Joseph M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Just returned from Sandos. This is the best AI we have stayed in. We stayed in the Haciendas. Room was very nice and our bed was comfortable. Walk is a little long to beach but we had to work off all the food anyway. This AI has the best food of all that we have visited. We normally avoid AIs as have been so disappointed in food selections in past. We were invited by friends so decided to go and glad we did. Our 16 year old even said that he ate more on this trip than any past vacation. No illnesses either which is also a plus. The staff was all very friendly. We did not find one rude person. Reading reviews prior to going, I anticipated certain issues and waited but found none. We plan on returning and visiting their other properties as well.

Room Tip: If you have a group, book a hacienda,
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Lookingforsun4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandos_Playacar, Director General at Sandos Playacar Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2014

Dear Lookingforsun4,

While extending cordial regards from this “Su Casa” Sandos Playacar Beach Resort & Spa, I would like to thank you for posting this kind review, and sharing the wonderful experience you had during your stay.

We are glad to know that our services exceeded your holiday expectations, thank you for recognizing our hard working staff. I am filled with pride knowing their hospitality and service made your stay the more pleasurable.

We hope to have the honor of serving you in the future.

Kindest Wishes,
Miguel Vargas
General Manager
Sandos Playacar Beach Resort & Spa
webrelations.playacar@sandos.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
2.9 mi away
Mahekal Beach Resort
Mahekal Beach Resort
#28 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
2,876 reviews
5.5 mi away
Sandos Caracol Eco Resort
Sandos Caracol Eco Resort
#83 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
13,116 reviews
1.9 mi away
Occidental at Xcaret Destination
Occidental at Xcaret Destination
#71 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
13,416 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Riu Playacar
Hotel Riu Playacar
#52 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
5,150 reviews
0.6 mi away
Royal Hideaway Playacar
Royal Hideaway Playacar
#31 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
4,472 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace Mexico
Hotel Riu Palace Mexico
#32 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
5,712 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandos Playacar Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandos Playacar Beach Resort

Address: Paseo Xaman-Ha | Manzana 1, Lote 1 Fracc.Playacar, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#32 Top resorts Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#35 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#40 Luxury Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#42 Spa Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#43 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#53 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range: £161 - £416 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sandos Playacar Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 819
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sandos Playacar Beach Resort & Spa is an all-Inclusive hotel in Playa del Carmen with both family and adult sections. We are ideally located on a magnificent white sandy beach in the gated community of Playacar, within walking distance to downtown Playa and Fifth Avenue. Sandos Playacar Beach Resort & Spa is located only forty-five minutes from the Cancun International Airport, and the pier serving ferries to Cozumel is a short distance from our property.Playacar is a private, master-planned community situated on the southern edge of downtown Playa del Carmen. Guests at Sandos Playacar Beach Resort & Spa enjoy this exclusive community’s impressive infrastructure, including an 18-hole golf course designed by Robert Von Hagge, the Xaman-Ha Aviary, pristine biking paths, and Mayan ruins, accessible to the public for hiking.Riviera Maya is a protected region where many remaining artifacts from the fascinating Mayan civilization can be found. Surrounded by Mayan archeological zones, such as those at Tulum, Coba, and Chicen-Itza, this Playa del Carmen hotel successfully preserves a strong sense of Mayan culture onsite, adding an authentic feel and flavor to the vacation experience in Playacar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Holiday Gems, LoveHolidays, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sandos Playacar Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandos Playacar Beach Hotel
Hotel Sandos Playacar Beach
Beach Playacar Resort Sandos
Sandos Playacar Resort
Sandos Playa Del Carmen
Gala Resort Playacar
Sandos Gala Playacar
Sandos Playacar Mexico
Sandos Resort
Playacar Sandos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing