We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Upgrade the beds and we'll be back!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sandos Playacar Beach Resort
Ranked #60 of 214 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Reviewed 6 July 2014

We had a great time at Sandos Playacar. We stayed there from June 25th to July 3rd. Check-in and check-out were a breeze. We stayed in the Riviera Jr Suite section, which we found a bit far away from everything for our 3 and 5 yr old daughters. We did not mind the walk, but we took the golf carts whenever they were available. My youngest daughter loved petting cats and donkeys- this was clearly one of the highlights of her trip. The girls also enjoyed going at the kids club; they went there 2 mornings and one afternoon and had a lot of fun. Erica, the kids club manager, does an excellent job and all the other employees of the KC were nice too.

WE LOVED THE FOOD! Great guacamole, nice ceviche, a lot of choices for breakfast (one of the best breakfast buffet I have seen and I have been more than 10 times to AI resorts the Carribean), great pasta and salads...Really, I do not understand why people would complain about it...Flies? Birds? You are in Mexico and you are eating in an open space where, in fact, you can be in contact with such things. You actually paid to be in such surroundings...That being said, the buffet area was super clean. Yes, some birds flew in the restaurant and some of them were quite persistent, but it was not a big deal. The French restaurant was excellent (we were travelling with another couple who babysat our kids while we enjoyed a calm dinner) and El Gaucho (the steakhouse in the adults-only section) was extremely delicious. We had one of the best steaks in our life (and believe me, we are steak people!) Carlos Chuc was our waiter and he did a great job.

TRUE: the beds and pillow are hard and the room was sort of damp and smelled a bit strange-nothing abnormal, but I guess something could be done about this.

ALSO TRUE: the beach is pristine...but not enough shade space for all the family. The management should install more palapas et let people use their own sun shelter when it is not windy. We were asked to remove our sun shelter from the beach (yes, it was eindy and we understood that it was for security purposee) and it was a bit annoying since the sun was high in the sky and no palapas were available.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank t0mletatac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (13,268)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,911 - 2,917 of 13,268 reviews

Reviewed 6 July 2014

This is our third visit to Sandos Playacar Resort and Spa. The value for the price is excellent, the beach is beautiful, the staff is attentive, and there's plenty to do and eat for everyone. We love that we know where everything is, so we can settle in quickly for vacation. But they also add new features too, like recent cupcake and bagel cafes. To avoid long queues at the Customer Service desk, we email our dinner reservations one week in advance to Daniela Delgado (webrelations.playacar@sandos.com), who takes care of them for us and we pick up tickets upon our arrival. We pick a different restaurant every night and are never disappointed. Following dinner, we enjoy the different shows each night in the plaza. We also recommend a private shuttle to the resort (BestDay.com), which only takes about 35 minutes. If you select a group shuttle, it takes about 90 minutes to get to the resort because they drop off most other groups and Sandos is the last stop. We don't have kids but there seems to be fun kid activities and day camps, and being an eco-friendly resort there are lots of animals to see. The gym is nice, clean, and cool. They offer spinning at 9 a.m. yoga on the beach at 10:30 a.m. Wi-fi is only available in key spots throughout the resort, which we don't mind because we try to go "wireless" on vacation. The one thing I would offer as an improvement point is the hard beds, but after a nice long day in the sun and a few margaritas, I still usually fall fast asleep. :)

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank astevenson76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014

If you are looking for a carefree getaway with aqua blue water on white sand beaches, all the food you eat and nonstop drinks...this might be a great option for you. The site was clean. The service was first rate (Gilda and Donaciano in the bar were fantastic!).
Above all, my kids were absolutely safe and able to run free on the resort property while we slept on the beach.
We stayed a week and I can't wait to return.
The only criticism, I would have would be that the rooms are not well made. Doors don't close, ACs don't work there seems to be electrical problems in the rooms.... But they responded quickly to any request to fix something.
Overall, this was a great experience. I hope they fix these room issues before I return.

Room Tip: Upgrade to Royal Elite... the black wristbands make a big difference.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Mike C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014

Excellent hotel, we spend a great stay there with my family!!! The service and all the amenities were very good!! They have shows every nights and they were excellent, like dancers , karaokee,etc, and at the beach u can play volley ball, and water sports!!!
Amazing!!!

Room Tip: Ask for a room near the pool and the restaurants, ex, the mediterranean, or the buffet!!!, if not u...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MariaM3268
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2014 via mobile

Check-in smooth Argentina clerk very SWEET. Royal elite clerk Sameira Horrible/RUDE. BEACH ROOMS bldng on the right cmng frm buffet.HORRIBLE very old.Per Sandos should be updated by December2014.Go with open mind.Bed-pillow COMFORTABLE decided not 2 change rooms beach so close. Girls@ cupcake cafe so nice. Buffet good.Crepes delicious. Mdtrn/Asian rstrnt good. Juice bar delicious
Arcade/bikes/theater NICE. Please fix seatbelt on child seat broken. My 2yrold
survived the ride. Beach gorgeous.Overall all 5 of us had a BlAST. Returning nxt yr with 14.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lauramateo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2014

My husband and I just returned from a 1 week stay. We very much enjoyed our trip at sandos playacar and I would recommend it. We stayed in the Rivera select, adults only section and I believe that is the way to go. Although it was a quite a walk to the beach the adults only pool is awesome, it's absolutely ginormous like a lake, it's never crowded and has a swim up bar. They also have a entertainment and a lunch buffet set up everyday until about 4. The adults only breakfast buffet was great too. Lots to choose from and fresh squeezed juice blends. The main part of the resort can get very loud from the entertainment at night, so it's nice to be able to escape to a quiet part of the resort. We had a 3rd floor, jungle facing room and it was very clean, private and super relaxing to be able to look out at butterflys and the tree tops. The first night they put us on the ground floor next to the pool, it was dark and stunk of mold so we asked to be moved. The new room was literally a breath of fresh air and everything was better after that. I should also mention that there are golf carts and vans that provide transportation from the two sides of the resort and I recommend making use of that to save those tired legs and your time.

As others have said, the beach is gorgeous with soft sand, lots of shade and crystal clear water. It was absolutely wonderful. Drinks were always flowing, try a "riveria maya" drink, yum! and there was always a place to open get a snack. Everyone working was super friendly and the nightly entertainment was pretty good. Entertainment put on by staff was bilingual and often the English portion was about two words, but it was still a good time. There was lots to do at the resort, but some activities were only open at certain times which was a little annoying. For example mini golf only during the day, while I feel like that's more of an evening activity and archery was only open for 1 hour a day etc.

Food was good, and it's impossible to go hungry here. It just would have been nice to have more options for dinner. The nightly main dinner buffet was hit or miss because they do a different nationality of food each night. I think that they should just have a Mexican station open every night because that is really where they excel. Also don't miss the Mexican restaurant.

All in all I feel like its a good value and a great place. If your on the fence just do it. Also I should mention that no one ever bothered us about a time share although from the reviews on here I was expecting it.

Room Tip: 3rd floor all the way on Riveria select. If you get a moldy smelling first floor room ask to be move...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank fireflyer81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2014

Big 5 star hotel, all inclusive. Service was fast. (room service not that much) We didnt like our room (it smelled like humidity and it had only one king size bed..and I was with my aunt so there was a mistake) and they upgraded us right away.
Food and drinks werent THE BEST. Service and allocation WAS. Beautiful beach service, water sports, fun everywhere!
It is a place to go with your family. I wouldnt recommend it for a fun trip with friends, because it is not fot that. Full on kids, children activity..
Neither for couples...too noisy.
For families..best option. Kids until 16 will have lots of fun.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Eileen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
2.9 mi away
Mahekal Beach Resort
Mahekal Beach Resort
#30 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
2,881 reviews
5.5 mi away
Sandos Caracol Eco Resort
Sandos Caracol Eco Resort
#83 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
13,125 reviews
1.9 mi away
Occidental at Xcaret Destination
Occidental at Xcaret Destination
#71 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
13,436 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Riu Playacar
Hotel Riu Playacar
#52 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
5,152 reviews
0.6 mi away
Royal Hideaway Playacar
Royal Hideaway Playacar
#33 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
4,482 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace Mexico
Hotel Riu Palace Mexico
#34 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
5,713 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandos Playacar Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandos Playacar Beach Resort

Address: Paseo Xaman-Ha | Manzana 1, Lote 1 Fracc.Playacar, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#32 Top resorts Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#41 Luxury Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#43 Spa Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#44 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#53 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range: £161 - £421 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sandos Playacar Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 819
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sandos Playacar Beach Resort & Spa is an all-Inclusive hotel in Playa del Carmen with both family and adult sections. We are ideally located on a magnificent white sandy beach in the gated community of Playacar, within walking distance to downtown Playa and Fifth Avenue. Sandos Playacar Beach Resort & Spa is located only forty-five minutes from the Cancun International Airport, and the pier serving ferries to Cozumel is a short distance from our property.Playacar is a private, master-planned community situated on the southern edge of downtown Playa del Carmen. Guests at Sandos Playacar Beach Resort & Spa enjoy this exclusive community’s impressive infrastructure, including an 18-hole golf course designed by Robert Von Hagge, the Xaman-Ha Aviary, pristine biking paths, and Mayan ruins, accessible to the public for hiking.Riviera Maya is a protected region where many remaining artifacts from the fascinating Mayan civilization can be found. Surrounded by Mayan archeological zones, such as those at Tulum, Coba, and Chicen-Itza, this Playa del Carmen hotel successfully preserves a strong sense of Mayan culture onsite, adding an authentic feel and flavor to the vacation experience in Playacar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Holiday Gems, Hotels.com, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sandos Playacar Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandos Playacar Beach Hotel
Hotel Sandos Playacar Beach
Beach Playacar Resort Sandos
Sandos Playacar Resort
Sandos Playa Del Carmen
Gala Resort Playacar
Sandos Gala Playacar
Sandos Playacar Mexico
Sandos Resort
Playacar Sandos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing