We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Royal Hideaway Playacar(Playa del Carmen)
Free cancellation until 25/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$358
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$281
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mahekal Beach Resort(Playa del Carmen)
US$248
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$218
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
Fairmont Mayakoba(Playa del Carmen)
US$645
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$451
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
US$302
Barcelo.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
The Royal Playa del Carmen(Playa del Carmen)
US$329
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$274
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Breakfast
US$486
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$436
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
Valentin Imperial Riviera Maya(Playa del Secreto)(Great Value!)
US$456
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$342
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
BlueBay Grand Esmeralda(Playa del Carmen)(Great Value!)
US$177
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$172
Cancelon
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
Rosewood Mayakoba(Playa del Carmen)
US$879
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$747
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$799
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$666
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (14,578)
Filter reviews
14,578 results
Traveller rating
7,649
4,543
1,470
540
376
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
7,649
4,543
1,470
540
376
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmeeting pointriviera sectioncupcake cafeadult sectionhacienda suitesavenue barle gourmetcorderofestival buffetgrand buffetpremium baritalian buffetselect clubswim up barkids clubelite poolfamily section
Filter
Updating list...
46 - 51 of 14,578 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We arrived at the hotel close to midnight, the receptionist spoke broken English. We were asked to pay 120 pasos towards the ECO project, which we were unaware of. We were taken to our room.....well I was expecting some level of luxury but we found a concrete slab with a mattress on top. It rained continuously for 4 days and nights and we found the hotel did not lay on anything extra to entertain the guests. Most of the entertainment was in Spanish. The cupcake café was extremely poor. We had to queue to eat in most of the restaurants for at least 30 minutes and then when you are led to your table you find that the restaurant is half empty. There is a section of beach that is for GOLD band guests apparently - there was no sign up to state this. I sat in this area where only 30% of the sunbeds were taken and was asked to leave....I felt there was too much promotion on upgrade and GOLD bands and major segregation.

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
6  Thank DMWBishopsStortford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Web_Sandos, Director General at Sandos Playacar Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear guest,

We deeply sorry to read of the poor impression you took with you regarding our hotel during your recent stay.
I travel extensively to Euro and the States and nearly in every occasion I see people seating in the business class who get beverages, food, movie selections which I do not get. I do not see this as segregation; I just understand that they did pay a supplement to receive services I have chosen not to have. What you perceive as segmentation in our hotel is just the same thing. You see customers who paid a supplement to have a set of different services which are not part of the all inclusive we promote in our page, catalogues and other means. If you came through a tour operator, they know that and if you booked through our webpage, that information was available as well.

The 120.00 pesos you were asked to pay during check in, was not part of any project as you wrongly assumed, but a State Tax which every person staying at any hotel at the Riviera Maya must pay, Mexican or foreigner.

During the rain you could notice due to the layout of our hotel that it was complicated to have normal entertainment. The hotel does have a project to add facilities late this year which will give you the possibility to recreate special activities and entertainment during such conditions. We are sorry that it seems to have disrupted your vacation experience that much.

We are working to add three brand new restaurants to our hotel between late this year and early next year. That certainly will help a lot in terms of the issue of waiting.

I extend you my sincerest apologies for I see we were not up to your expectations.

Our very best wishes,

Luis Ramirez
General Director
Director.playacar@sandos.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed at Sandos Caracol for 5 nights. One of the benefits of staying at either Playacar or Caracol is that you can visit the other one during your stay and use the facilities, eat, etc. We took an easy taxi ride from Sandos Caracol to Sandos Playacar for a beach day. The beach at this hotel is gorgeous. Nice sand, wide beach with swimmable water/waves. It is a bit crowded but we enjoyed it. Also went to the main lunch buffet here--wow we were impressed. One of the largest most extensive salad bars I have ever seen. I highly recommend checking it out. The pools looked nice although we headed straight to the beach. I should also mention we were able to check out a volleyball from the activities desk (no charge of course). They do have a Royal Elite beach section but it didn't appear that anyone was regulating that or cared b/c there were non members and even people not even staying at the resort at their beach and using their chairs.

Stayed: July 2017
Thank Lisa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Web_Sandos, Web Relations Manager at Sandos Playacar Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear guest,

While extending you a warm regard, I would like to take the opportunity to thank you for taking the time to post a review about your day pass at Sandos Playacar.

It is great to read that you enjoyed our facilities, buffet, pools and the different activities the resort has to offer.

We also appreciate your observations regarding the Royal Elite section, you can be sure that they will be forwarded to the corresponding departments.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you in the future.

Kind regards,

Lizeth Arratia
Web Relations Manager
WhatsApp: +52 1 984 179 4038

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Where to start that's how good we feel this hotel is from the 1st set of staff you meet to the last set of staff, the hotel cleaning staff were very good and efficient ,the bar staff in the adults only and the premium bars were very good especially louis and fabien always happy smiling and more than happy to serve you and they knew there cocktails lol thank you guys overall the entertainment was also very good ,sometimes you could not get a seat they have five speciality restaurant's all very good, go early if you dont want to wait trust me on this one always something to do on the beach and a very good beach it is don't want to bore you too much lol but one of the best places and holidays we have had and will certainly be going back and trying other sandos hotels thank you all at the sandos playacar for making our 1st visit to mexico a memorable one from myself and my wife

Room Tip: Difficult this one as we were in the adults only section and don't think there is a bad section here
  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Geoffrey N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Web_Sandos, Web Relations Manager at Sandos Playacar Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear guest,

While extending you a warm regard, I would like to thank you for choosing Sandos Playacar Beach Resort for your first vacations in Mexico.

It is rewarding to know that you left with such a positive impression of our facilities and especially of the attention provided by the entire team.

It is a pleasure to read that you would recommend us and we will be delighted to host you in the future.

Kindest wishes,

Lizeth Arratia
Web Relations Manager
WhatsApp: +52 1 984 179 4038

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

As always great service from the whole sandos team
Especially paola from the entertainment team that keep our girls entertained and busy with activities and david in the royal elite pool that is always very friendly and helpful with the guests

Stayed: June 2018, travelled with family
Thank Luis J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Web_Sandos, Web Relations Manager at Sandos Playacar Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear guest,

We would like to thank you for taking the time to post a review about your recent vacation at Sandos Playacar Beach Resort.

It is great to read that you enjoyed our facilities, the activities and the attention provided by Paola and David.

Thank you for recommending us and we hope to welcome you in the near future.

Kind regards,

Lizeth Arratia
Web Relations Manager
WhatsApp: +52 1 984 179 4038

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We keep coming back! The front line employees are amazing, especially Nelson the Bell Captain our housekeeper Jesus, and the following restaurant staff Carlos Cetina, Roger Cetina, Gustavo, Nelly, Elizabet, Dominga and Elena. See you all next time:)

Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Germaine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Web_Sandos, Web Relations Manager at Sandos Playacar Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear guest,

I would like to thank you for taking the time to share your comments regarding your recent stay at Sandos Playacar Beach Resort. Your loyalty is very much appreciated.

We are happy to see that once again you enjoyed your stay with us and left with such a positive impression about the attention provided by our staff members. For sure the mentioned ones will be congratulated.

We will be delighted to welcome you back in the future.

Kind regards,

Lizeth Arratia
Web Relations Manager
WhatsApp: +52 1 984 179 4038

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews