We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely location and beach”
Review of Allegro Playacar

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Allegro Playacar
Ranked #89 of 209 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Saskatoon, Canada
1 review
“Lovely location and beach”
Reviewed 27 January 2014

There were both good and bad things about this property.

The very best of the good included the most wonderful holistic massages - thank you Mollismo (sorry about the spelling) and Jasmyn! The location is perfect, an easy trip into town by foot or taxi. The beach atmosphere was friendly and fun, without being desperate. The cleaning, front desk and food staff were great - we tipped and they deserved it. Wonderful coffee at breakfast. Excellent thin crust pizza at lunch. The buffet was good (nice fish selection), which was a good thing because there is only a small window to reserve your two sit-down meals. In general the tourists (mostly Italian and Canadian) were polite to the staff - if they aren't it makes us uncomfortable. We met some lovely people, especially some Brits. Sylvia was our friendly connection through social media. We requested a room near the sand, and we were accommodated, with a catch. We were given the wheelchair accessible room which was fine, except it does not have a bathroom door! Awkward! We figured ways around this problem without complaining (thankfully neither one of us were ill) but thought it should have been better acknowledged by the girls who were managing. I don't imagine a room without a bathroom door is every easy to sell. One had "absolutely no idea" there was no bathroom door in our room. Another gave us information that just wasn't true. We were in the "first club" area which I wouldn't recommend. There were some nice quiet lovely people there, but in general I've never seen so many sour faces on women in my life. One was loudly complaining about the angle the sun was hitting her face. I travel a lot and have thought about purchasing a membership, but now I'll definitely wait. The bed was firm but good, and the air conditioning was lovely and quiet.

You can tell it is an older property. The outlets sparked a few times, and we had a towel ready whenever the people above us showered, because water (only a small amount) would drip out of the ceiling vent. The wine was basically undrinkable, but the scotch was surprisingly good! The property is set up beautifully, with lovely grounds EXCEPT they have the property pushers right where you can't avoid them. We were accosted immediately upon arriving tired from our flight. We didn't have to get rude then, but did have to later with a more aggressive salesman. Whatever thoughts we might have had with looking around the area were smashed right there and then.

Overall I wouldn't recommend this property, but would try some of the other hotels in the immediate area!

Room Tip: blocks 55 and 56
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jay876
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,789 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,563
    1,760
    793
    366
    307
See reviews for
1,245
1,866
158
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (711)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2014

I've been in 5 stars hotels before and we never had an excellent service like we did at the Allegro. From the help desk to the maids, they will do anything to make your stay enjoyable. I would like to mention a few names like Julieta at guest service (wonderful person), Jorges from the Italian Restaurant who made sure I get my birthday cake and Emanuel who would find us a table at lunch. The entire staff is dedictated to customer service.

The beach is absolutely beaufiful. The clear and turquoise waters are lovely. You can walk for miles. Comparable to Punta Cana. You can walk from the beach or the street to 5th Avenue. It took us 20 minutes. Add 10 minutes and your at Walmart.

Would go back anytime.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank chipbbq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Alberni, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2014

We just returned from the Allegro Playa Car. Luv2trvl46 pretty well summed it up. There was a large contingent of Italian's and also french canadians, which seemed to be catered to by the activities staff. The food was good with a great selection, but often it was cold, even if you were there just after dinner started. Breakfast was the best part of the day for eating, though the lunch was good as well. We did reserve for the Mexican restaurant one night which was delicious so i reccomend you eat there at least one night. We had a upper room, as soon as we arrived i used the toilet to tinkle and the toilet did not flush, we called to have it fixed and it was attended to immediately, But it continued to be a problem, we were told to not put toilet paper into the toilet, believe it or not, i was shocked. The allegro is a 35 year old hotel, so there fore it was to be expected that there may be problems, but to not be able to put in the toilet paper, well this was not acceptable. We asked to be changed to another room and once we were in another room this toilet worked ok. The beach was beautiful, but there were cigarette butts here and there, and the odd drink lid as well. Even though the hotel asks people to not reserve the lounge chairs at the beach and pool,People do and by 7:30 am when the hotel is busy all the shade spots are taken. The staff are all very nice, and go out of their way to make your stay nice. There is a shop down by the beach on the left and the man there is very nice and does not push you to buy anything,he has a very nice selection of jewelery. When you go into Play del carmen on 5th ave it's another story, every 10 feet are venders trying to hawk their wares, and ask people over and over to come into their shops. But it was an experience. One man standing on a corner of a intersection said ollah don't you recognize me? i work at your hotel, today is my day off, he tried to say oh my father and grandfather handmake mayan products, come with me to see it's just up the street ;a side street of 5th ave. We said no maybe later on our way back. We walked around and when we were coming back down this side street, i said to my husband look there's that mayan shop but the funny thing was it was closed. To get to it you had to pass a couple of alley's . So just to be safe do not go off with this person. We asked at our hotel if someone by the name he gave us worked there and they said no. All in all the vacation was ok, we have stayed at other hotels in this area and liked them better, but for the cost i guess the Allergro is ok, but we will spend more next time and stay somewhere else. We will not return to the Allergro. Apparently they are slowly upgrading the rooms changing the bathtubs to showers ect, but i am sure that they make enough money that it could be done alot sooner. There was also some noise from this construction. We usually travel to Playa car or maroma area in november, this year it was in january the first couple of nights it was unseasonably cold, so just in case pack a light jacket and extra pants.

Room Tip: Bungalows on the right side and closer to the beach are quieter. STAY away from room 1512 as it has...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank jan y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2014

Just returned from Allegro. While I agree with a lot of the reviewers as far as the staff being really good and the breakfast and lunch menu's being great, I feel that for the couple of hundred dollars less that we paid for this resort I would rather have paid the extra and had a far better hotel to stay in.
Although we paid extra to be in a premier room we were first given a floor level room with no view. We were not given any hassle when we requested a change but I feel that we should not have had to request the change in the first place.
I am surprised that no one has mentioned the large Italian contingent at this hotel. So large in fact that they have their own activities team! There were days while we were around the activities pool that It was hard to tell that we were actually in Mexico. Everything was in Italian. Any activities were first held for the Italians and then the Mexican activities team took over and the rest of the population were invited to join in. Don't misunderstand me, I have nothing against any other country but I went to Mexico to experience Mexico!
Again the staff are really good at this hotel and really make it what it is.
I would recommend this hotel to new travellers because of the staff and the beach and it's closeness to downtown Playa, but I personally would not return to this hotel since there are so many other hotels of the same or better calibre to try.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank luv2trvl46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingston, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2014 via mobile

Myself, 29 and my boyfriend, 33, just traveled to Mexico for the first time after staying twice in Jamaica at large "power resorts" both times. We love jamaica.. Prob too much. So we forced ourselves to pick another destination for what we hoped to be a cheap, semi-relaxing last minute vaca after a busy holiday... And horrible -25 to -35 temps here in Ontario Canada.
We both really enjoyed our stay at this resort (Mexico was clean and beautiful) and with a few minor suggestions for improvement, we will gladly recommend this resort for anyone in a similar travel situation looking to take an affordable chance on a great little last minute vacation spot!

I loved the food.. Like REALLY loved it. Buffet was a different theme every night so I never got bored.. My bf is a meat and potatoes kinda guy and doesn't often stray to try new things, so some of his staple items weren't always around... But he always found some plain'ish beef/pork/chicken and always had bacon and eggs in the morning... The lunch buffet is down by the poor bar with a pretty extensive selection, a cook to order pasta station, a separate hamburger bar that had chicken, beef and veggie burgers.. annnnd a pizza/panini bar on the other side all open from lunch til between 4-6. I waited almost everyday for the beef hamburgers and some fresh made tortilla chips and guacamole.. Burger bar had so many toppings. Bf ate pizza or Burgers everyday and only complained pizza was a lil dry one day.. Drink selection was awesome.. I'm a beer drinker myself and had no problem with the draft dos Equis but the bf drank vodka/orange and a variety of slushy drinks... Try the layered drink the "Riviera Mya" SO good. It was our "fancy drink" of the week.. Haha.
Beach and location to the town of playacar and 5th avenue (all the shops and bars) were unreal. Each resort had its own sectioned off beach area with loungers specific to each hotel.. Allegro has tons of basic loungers and lots of pallapa style shade huts, but all were always reserved and then full from 7am on everyday. So annoying; but I guess if your willing to get up that early... 'early bird gets the worm'.
My bf doesn't like baking in the sun all day without shade so we normally ended up moving from pool to pool and eventually to the beach once the glare/heat of the sun was passed a certain point in the day, we managed.
The water was clear and bright turquoise. Just what you wanna see every morning :). It also goes on forever both ways, walk out from the resort to the left and a 15min walk down the beach and you are in the town if Playa del Carmen and the ferry to Cozumel... Señor Frog is right at the end of the beach.. We stopped in there a few nights after shopping for a bevy.. So fun. You can walk forever down the right side of the beach as well and it eventually runs out of resorts but is a beautiful walk to keep going.
Rooms were all pretty basic..... We started in an older room but a plumbing issue moved us to another room which was a newly renovated.. Bed was nicer and bathtub was replaced with a walk in shower.
The resort was a smaller more intimate setting. Buildings were small, only 8 units per building 4 on the ground level and 4 up.. All in palapa style bungalows. Each balcony had a hammock which was awesome.
All in all, everything we were looking for on this trip, we got.

Suggestions for improvement;

Have water activities for guests. There were no kayaks, catamarans or even snorkel stuff, bf brought his own but both places in Jamaica offered the rentals of all. Would have been nice to be able to wheel around with him in the water and see some of the cool stuff he did.

Stereo equipment in theatre and by pool is old and needs to be replaced, or turned down, I loveee loud music, but not loud crackling broken music :/

One bar needs to be open 24/hrs.. Either the upstairs lobby bar, or the beach bar... Same with snacks/late night munchies. Sometimes at the end of a long night of drinking at the Cocobongo, food needs to be available at that time. And some nights were up playing cards on our balcony and 130 just is too early to cut us off ;)

Get in touch with me at samantha0818@hotmail.com if you need any further information.... Also: GLEN AND TRACY, if you are reading this... Get in touch with us! It's Sam and Matt from Ontario!!

Hope this helps!

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
7 Thank Sam V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rocky Mtn House AB Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2014

Arrived at Allegro , Request we asked for were met , and very surprised with a up grade, close to the beach, amazing ,From check in to check out ,the staff was amazing , Sylvia, the sweetest most amazing person in the world, make you feel at home the minute you walk in .The food was very good , the staff again could not ask for better ,Victor Jacob , Roberto ,Freddy, and so many more , Pool Bar , good drinks, never a empty glass , hats off to Emanual , Nester, and again Victor ,Jacob ,. Will be returning to Allegro , our new found family , we will miss all of you !!!!!!!@

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Heather C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2014

So many people and yes friends of ours enjoy trying new places at every vacation opportunity.
We do as well, there is nothing like the excitement of venturing out and exploring unknown areas. Having said that, familiarity is also a wonderful, calming feeling as well. We just got back from a one week sabbatical from our Mexican home.(The Allegro) we have been returning religiously for about 8 years sometimes for multiple yearly jaunts. At times with friends and sometimes for just a romantic interlude to replenish our spirits. As usual we enjoyed some of the best in hotel dining anywhere. The wonderful staff welcome us genuinely by name each year even remembering our favorite beverages. From the hotel it is a short walk to town which we do at different times but always daily.. ( 25 minute stroll down the road or down the beach)
The beach infront of the hotel is a 10 and the grounds like your own private garden. The rooms are all updated and fresh.....did I mention the food....WOW!!!
Whether you are young or old this is your place....When you go say hi to Able, and Nestor at the pool bar and our favorite servers, Victor , Jacob, Umberto, and in the Mexican Rest. Miguel.
If you read this Yvonne, you are one of the main reasons we come back each year with our friends and family!!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Mark F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa del Carmen
1.6 mi away
Magic Blue Hotel
Magic Blue Hotel
#53 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
650 reviews
13.8 mi away
Bel Air Collection Xpu Ha Riviera Maya
22.4 mi away
Grand Oasis Tulum
Grand Oasis Tulum
#18 of 23 in Akumal
2,003 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace Riviera Maya
Hotel Riu Palace Riviera Maya
#39 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
5,454 reviews
13.0 mi away
Barcelo Maya Tropical
Barcelo Maya Tropical
#7 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
4,503 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Riu Lupita
Hotel Riu Lupita
#80 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
2,782 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Allegro Playacar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Allegro Playacar

Property: Allegro Playacar
Address: Lote Hotelero No. 7 | Playacar, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#47 Top resorts Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#54 Spa Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#60 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Allegro Playacar 3.5*
Number of rooms: 286
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Barcelo, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, Priceline, Expedia, Holiday Gems, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Allegro Playacar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Occidental Allegro Playacar Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Allegro Playacar Occidental
Playacar Resort
Occidental Playacar
Playa Del Carmen Allegro
Allegro Playa Del Carmen
Allegro Playacar Mexico/Riviera Maya - Playa Del Carmen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing