We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Mahekal Beach Resort(Playa del Carmen)
US$249
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$215
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$291
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Fairmont Mayakoba(Playa del Carmen)
US$517
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$344
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Playacar Palace(Playa del Carmen)
Free cancellation until 30/07
US$717
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$598
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Royal Playa del Carmen(Playa del Carmen)
US$355
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$263
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$467
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$436
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Valentin Imperial Riviera Maya(Playa del Secreto)(Great Value!)
US$432
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$363
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Free cancellation until 30/07
US$224
HotelsClick
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Rosewood Mayakoba(Playa del Carmen)
US$879
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$747
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$972
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$749
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (6,128)
Filter reviews
6,128 results
Traveller rating
2,322
2,144
923
405
334
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,322
2,144
923
405
334
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfirst clubrooms are smallthatched rooftime sharedifferent theme every nightpool baritalian restaurantentertainment staffsmall resortferry to cozumelactivity poollunch buffetpalm treesgreat beachguest servicesother resortsgated community
Filter
Updating list...
35 - 40 of 6,128 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Let me say that we have been planning this family trip for awhile! My brother stayed at a different Occidental resort and they were booked during the time we could go. I reluctantly agreed to go. The weather last week was not good. We landed in Cancun and it was raining and didn't stop... Upon checking in, everyone was very nice and accommodating. We checked into the First Club and had all of our questions answered. The First Club gets you access to upgraded rooms, alcohol, free WiFi, and activities. It continued to rain off and on for the next 5 days until our last day the sun decided to come out. During the rainy days, the staff was amazing! They were always very helpful to us. They had plenty of activities to help us our of our funk due to the weather. The entertainment staff was AWESOME!!! Alejandro, Carlos, Fernando and team did everything they could to help make the best of a bad situation. The shows at night were great! The food and service were incredible. We went with a voucher to attend the time share presentation. I will say the 90 presentation turned into more like 4 hours... with that being said, very little pressure from them. We had a great time and really enjoyed ourselves despite the bad weather. The pools were clean. The bartenders were always very pleasant and poured "heavy" for me. The rooms were not big but still had a great time since were not in our rooms very much anyway. My only complaints would be the hardness of the mattresses and WiFi access. A mattress topper would solve that problem and I made that recommendation when asked about our stay. The other complaint was the lack of free WiFi during our stay. The kids hung out in the First Club area and since the wife and I didn't have to have it, we used our own data plan. Other than that, the staff was very accommodating and we would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Charlie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Community M, Gerente at Allegro Playacar, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Mr. Charlie,

We would like to express our gratitude for the comments you have made about your recent visit, since they help us to understand how our guests enjoy their stay with us. It is always our goal to achieve the maximum satisfaction of our customers and we are delighted to hear that they enjoyed their vacations with us. We continually strive to offer the best quality and ensure that all our guests return home with beautiful memories of their vacations.

We are pleased that you have chosen us on your holidays, your opinion is very important to us and we assure you that we will share it internally

We hope you will allow us to make your next stay unforgettable.

Best regards!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This was my first time out of the country. The all-inclusive was nice. The food could have been better. Was nice and quiet which was good since we were on our honeymoon. the staff was ok...had some issues when we had to find a hotel to stay in when we couldn't get home due to a hurricane

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Corinne K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Community M, Gerente at Allegro Playacar, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Mrs. Corinne,

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments about your recent vacation with us.

Our guests' comments provide us with an opportunity to see our hotel through their eyes giving us insight into any service that may have room for improvement to enhance our future guests' stay among us, therefore we are grateful for the time you spent to share a review of your personal experience in the hotel.

We hope you give us the opportunity to welcome you to the hotel again soon.

Warmest Regards!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

Never again will I stay at this hotel. Our room smelled bad, the Ac didn't work properly. Took for ever to get our luggage. We waited the whole day for an umbrella and finally had to goo pick it up at the front desk. Rooms not cleaned in early. Food was not good.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled with family
Thank Mayra E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Community M, Gerente at Allegro Playacar, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Mrs. Mayra,

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments about your recent vacation with us.

We would like to get in touch with you to follow up on what you are saying, since for us the comments of our guests are very important, please write to playacar.socialmedia@allegrohotels.com

Our guests' comments provide us with an opportunity to see our hotel through their eyes giving us insight into any service that may have room for improvement to enhance our future guests' stay among us, therefore we are grateful for the time you spent to share a review of your personal experience in the hotel.

We hope you give us the opportunity to welcome you to the hotel again soon.

Warmest Regards!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

This all-inclusive was packed during our entire stay. We traveled with a group of 17 people spread in 6 rooms. We had trouble with housekeeping...going through our belongings in the evening (caught in the act and investigated), servicing the room despite having "do not disturb" up, etc. The rest of the staff seemed very personable and welcoming. The clientele was a mix of visitors from the US, foreign, and at least 1/2 the guests were Mexican. Most announcements were made first in Spanish then in English. The food was below average in terms of quality and presentation. The grounds and structures were fine. The pool was pretty nice and it got officially inspected by some govt agency while we were there which I was happy to see. The nightly entertainment was billed as "family friendly" but there were several acts that were borderline for suggestive costumes (thongs, enhanced male packages etc), suggestive dancing, and adult themes that many parents were commenting about. The First Club is a great way to have some perks at the resort, private clubhouse, private beach area, premium liquor etc. and this was key to enjoying the parts that we did. The ocean water was not pleasant during the time we visited...smelly, a lot of seaweed that was buried in trash bags each day (very weird) and there were few people enjoying the beach and ocean compared to nearby areas in Riviera Maya. There is no spa on site but they do allow booking next door at the Royal Hideaway which was lovely. There are plenty of activities and places to walk around. There is nearby safe shopping within walking distance which was nice.

Room Tip: ask for a building location closer to the beach, or upgrade to First Club, second floor rooms have much higher thatched roofs
  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChampagneTasteMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Community M, Gerente at Allegro Playacar, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Champagne Taste MD,

First of all, we want to thank you for your comments after your recent visit with us and we are delighted to read that we were able to exceed your holiday expectations.

We are happy to choose you to stay on your vacation, your opinion is very important to us and we assure you that we will share it internally.

Our guests' comments provide us with an opportunity to see our hotel through their eyes giving us insight into any service that may have room for improvement to enhance our future guests' stay among us, therefore we are grateful for the time you spent to share a review of your personal experience in the hotel.

We hope you will allow us to make your next stay unforgettable.

The warmest greetings!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Overall the hotel has improved significantly, Last time we visited Allegro Playacar was in 2012 and it was totally different. Rooms were updated, food and drinks were much better, the only bad thing compared to last time was the beach area, but that's mother nature, nothing to do with this hotel. the animation team was incredible, specially Paco, a lot of activities every day of the week. from all the bars, the pool bar was the best of all, best Mojitos. it was a great vacation.

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Eddy827
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Community M, Gerente at Allegro Playacar, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Mr. Eddy,

We would like to express our gratitude for the comments you have made about your recent visit, since they help us to understand how our guests enjoy their stay with us. It is always our goal to achieve the maximum satisfaction of our customers and we are delighted to hear that they enjoyed their vacations with us. We continually strive to offer the best quality and ensure that all our guests return home with beautiful memories of their vacations.

We are pleased that you have chosen us on your holidays, your opinion is very important to us and we assure you that we will share it internally

We hope you will allow us to make your next stay unforgettable.

Best regards!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews