We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Robbed by the Hotel Staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Maya Turquesa
Ranked #197 of 212 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Reviewed 4 January 2013

I was traveling to Mexico with a group of 5 friends to visit the ancient Mayan pyramids in Tulum for December 21st 2012. Once we were done with all the ceremonies and get togethers, we had to look up a hotel in a rush because we had forgotten to get a room previously. We stopped at a internet cafe in Tulum and made the reservation online, which required you to supply a card number to reserve the room.

Once I got there the staff was sort of rude (Saturday night 11 pm) but since I'm fluent in Spanish things went a little bit better. I had to wait for them to confirm my reservation on the phone, in which they said that I had to make my payment in cash because the card was only to save my room. I was strung out on 3 days no sleep with my friends and my attention span was off (my fault). I asked staff for a receipt and they handed me my reservation papers back and told me they were as good as the receipt.

Upon arrival, I noticed the Air Conditioner didn't work, our door wouldn't close (had to sleep with an open room), the jacuzzi tubs were unfunctional, no hot water, bad room service, close to no towels, and the water gushed out of the tub whenever you tried to take a shower. The beds were terribly stiff as well, it was nothing short of an awful night.

After leaving the hotel, we proceeded to go to the airport, when I try to use my card to buy a coffee, it gets declined. I had to make a pricy international call to my bank to find out that Hotel Maya Turquesa had also charged my card that night through the booking agency, coming to a price of a wooping 370 dollars for a hostel style hotel for 6 in middle of Playa del Carmen.

The booking agency has been good enough to me to help me solve the situation but the hotel staff keeps reassuring I never paid cash, when I actually have a group of 6 people seeing me pay cash at the counter as well as 2 hotel staff members that were probably laughing behind that "good service" smile. I now have an overdraft in my account and no money to get through the month.

Please stay away from this hotel at all costs. There are cheaper and better places around playa del carmen or cancun/tulum. The other 3 hotel experiences I had in Mexico were beyond amazing compared to this, so I'm guessing it was just the wrong night at the wrong place, with the wrong dishonest staff.

I accept my loss, I would just absolutely hate for anyone to become a victim as I did. Please be safe and keep 100 eyes open when you travel out of the country.

Safe Travels.

Room Tip: Book all your hotels prior to leaving the country.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank AG0nzal3z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (89)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

27 - 33 of 89 reviews

Reviewed 7 April 2012

Cement walls, noisy and few redeeming qualities. The only positive is that it is close to the beach. Arrived at 6PM and no receptionist. Claimed he did not have our reservation until I showed him proof. Put us on the 3rd floor with no elevator and no offer to help us. No evidence of any concern or service. Be sure you speak some Spanish as they do not understand any English.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JDO84050
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2012

its a very good place.... its close to beach, very quit,familiar, couple, etc. i love maya turquesa, very clean, confortable, economic, pacific,. very nice

Room Tip: in front for see the beach, and back for sleep
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Ernesto Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2012

I would not definitely recommend this hotel to anyone. First of all, it looks more like a hostel. I got a room with mold in the wardrobe, which was disgusting. It was changed for another room, double instead of single. Looked like a cell with double beds and air con. Water was either hot or bloody cold. Stuff was unprofessional and lousy. Even tho I stayed alone, receptionist open the door in the middle of the night to my friends who said they were visiting me. In fact, were not even my friends, just people I met at the party. Location is quite good, but its so close to the bar that you can hear music all the time. At 8 a.m. some people started parting and drinking in the pool with loud music, and stuff didn't care nada. Overall, too expensive for its quality, so better go for any other place. Total DISLIKE

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ksenia P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2011

If you should go to this resort do not accept a room in building 1 room 1106.This is where I
received several bed bug bites that are still bothersome a week after my return.
Other than the lack of musical entertainment I have no other serious complaint.
If you want a lounger at the beach or the poolside stake your claim before 7am as there is a
severe shortage of loungers at both spots and they are taken very early.
The rest is typical resort life and others on the trip with us did not have the bug problem.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank johntrep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2010

this is a large hotel which someone forgot to decorate....we stayed in a huge cavernous room with bare cement walls...kind of a very large cell. the lighting was poor and the water pressure was non existent the toilet barely flushed and they charged $150 a night no breakfast. the staff tried but they spoke almost no english.
to top it off we had cancaled part of our stay there because of the situation...and of course we were charged almost 2000 dollars instead of the 600 we owed them. on our crediy card..now we have to fight to get a credit.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank upsetinplaya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
7
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with friends
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
0.5 mi away
Caracol Suite Hotel
Caracol Suite Hotel
#189 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
117 reviews
0.6 mi away
Angelo's Hotel
Angelo's Hotel
#111 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
120 reviews
0.4 mi away
Koox Caribbean Paradise Hotel
Koox Caribbean Paradise Hotel
#125 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
387 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Bambu Suites
Hotel Bambu Suites
#134 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
105 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Hacienda Maria Bonita
Hotel Hacienda Maria Bonita
#148 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
258 reviews
0.1 mi away
Siesta Fiesta Hotel
Siesta Fiesta Hotel
#112 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Maya Turquesa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Maya Turquesa

Address: Calle 8 Norte Entre 10 y 15 Avenida 876 | Colonia Centro, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #197 of 212 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Price Range: £25 - £132 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Maya Turquesa 2.5*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Maya Turquesa, has beautiful rooms a few steps from the sea in a privileged central area of the Playa del Carmen, with a family atmosphere, excellent service and personalized attention.Located in the heart of Playa del Carmen, approximately 60 kilometers south of Cancún.Blessed by its turquoise blue sea, white sands of the Mexican Caribbean and that typical atmosphere of a small Mexican town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Maya Turquesa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Maya Turquesa Mexico/Riviera Maya - Playa Del Carmen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing